MAC Lipstick in Bombshell

4.1

130 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/19/2009 12:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a gorgeous light pink with some sparkle. I'll be able to use this every day.

I love all MAC lipsticks. This has the nice 'cake' smell to it, goes on smooth and doesn't flake or bleed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/12/2009 3:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

ok i am so NOT a frost girl, but for some reason i felt like a change and i had my B2M free lippie. i really like it!!! it is a beautiful pink color. for people who like frosts i think this is a must. the only down i have noticed after wearing this is when it fades it leaves a yucky frosty line on your lips- weird!!! maybe this is a frost thing?? idk but it doesn't look cute when it fades.


on 5/22/2009 9:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this color. It is a lovely rosy pink with golden frost and very appropriate for day or night. It lasts quite long and applies very smoothly. would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a rosy shade.


on 3/14/2009 12:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was really excited to get this, but this colour does not suit me at all.

I tried layering various glosses over it to tame it down, with no luck, and I am sad to report that it is not meant to be on my lips.

The colour is gorgeous in the tube, but on my lips, it is a ridiculously loud colour (Hollywood cerise?).

On the plus side, it smells decent, felt nice texture wise, did not have a gross taste, and I am sure it must look great on someone - just not me :( Maybe I am too pale for it? Oh well.

me = NW15

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

On my pigmented lips, this shows up a darkish-medium gold-toned pink. It's a true pink - not a pale rose or mauvey-undertone pink. It's pink. Almost Barbie's Corvette pink.

However, it is a lovely colour. With Sugar Trance l/g from the Fafi Collection, it makes my lips/mouth/smile the focus. By itself, Carmex underneath, it's great for an everyday, amplified natural look lipstick.

I noticed in the reviews for B-Babe from the BBR collection, B-Babe l/s was being compared to Bombshell. Personally, other than fact that they're both in the pink family, I don't think there's that much of a comparison. I find B-Babe goes on really frosty, whereas Bombshell... not so much. Not that I'm complaining - I'm thrilled to have found a pink lipstick that doesn't look like frosting from an overly-sugary grocery store birthday cake. But Bombshell is more day friendly. It's easy to make night-time friendly with a peachy/golden pink gloss on top and a dramatic eye, but I don't really find it porn-star-esque in the least. MAYBE if you threw on a dark lip liner, then filled the lips in with Bombshell. But as is? No.

That said, I could've had just really low expectations. I got this for my Back to MAC. But once I run out, I'm sure I'll re-buy.

[For reference, N3, warm undertones.]

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2009 4:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this because of the name Bombshell and wanted to have sultry, slutty, frosty, hott bombshell pornstar lips... but this is anything BUT pornstar! It's garish, drying, and gross... I don't even know if it classifies as cool-toned or what, it just blends into my face and looks dull and dusty. Even when I used lip primer to blank out my pigmented lips, it still looks like a dead and corpse-y tone of dulled out hot pink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2009 3:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

It seems like this looks flattering on everyone but me.
In the tube it looks like medium rosy pink with suble shimmer. When I swatched in a store it looked pretty much the same but after I tried it at home it beared no resemblance to the color in the tube.
I have very cool toned pink lips(not bright pink but more of natural pink, Revlon's Mineral Glaze in Eternal Blossom is MLBB color for me and it matches my lips pretty well). However, Bombshell looked like violet tinged extremely cool pink that had a bluiish cast on my lips. I looked like a corpse!
Because I read so many good reviews on this I was determined to make it work-tried covering my lips with foundation to cancel out any pigment and result was still the same. Lipliner, no lipliner, made no difference. Well, actually with brighter pink lipliner it doesn't look quite as cool but at this point I really don't want to bother.
Also, I used to wear MAC lipsticks 10 years ago or so and don't remember them being so slippery. I like moisturizing but this one was half gone after I took few sips of water. WTH?!
Very dissapointing. In part I blame my darn lips with its weird color changing ways but quality of this line is not the best imo. Revlon totally blows MAC out of the water with superior lasting power and wide color range. Up for swap it goes. UPDATE: Not sure what happened but I changed my mind about this color. I tried it again with pink lipliner and for some reason it looks the way it supposed to look-light to med pink, very bride/wedding like. I finally can see what the fuss is all about. I actually wore it last few days and this is color that would probably be suitable for any occasion. On my lips its still cooler than in the tube but its a pretty color now, not courpse like as before. Still not sure why it looked so horrible before, maybe it was lipliner I was wearing or something. Not sure if i will repurchase but I'll definately use the tube I have. Changing rating to 4 lippies

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2009 9:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't have to say much since all the great reviews about it is already mentioned below by many MUAers. I had forgotten about this lipstick for many years until now when the MU artist applied this on me for my engagement ceremony. I was shocked to find out that this was the lipstick she used on me because I had always thought it too be too bright/garnish light pink but on the contrary, it looked super gorgeous. It was a nice violet tinted sheer to light babydoll pink which at the same time was also pigmented enough to show up on my lips. It looked totally sexy, glarmours and yet natural at the same time. It also shows up very well in pictures. So, I hopped off to the mall to purchase it and for some reason, I guess because I had very minimal makeup on, this lipstick did not look as gorgeous anymore as it did on my engagement day. Am bummed about it. Will give it 3 lippies because I think this will look good if i had done proper full makeup. Since I can't wear this on a regular basis, I won't purchase this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Holy Grail Pink lipstick! A light-medium girly pink lipstick in frost formula.I had no idea what to expect when I ordered this with my BACK to MAC's. I know I needed a light pink lipstick to mix up my collection of mostly warm colored lipsticks- tans, browns, and peachy and peachy pink colors. I thought oh no! this is going the kind of lipstick that works for the blonde hair and blue eyed type..Anyways... suprisingly this works for my NC 30 yellow toned complexion, with brown hair and brown eyes. It lights up my face and looks good with any blush and eyeshadow. Doesn't wash me out in the least bit. Very wearable and perfect when doing a smoky eye.If you need a true wearable lighter medium frosty pink for any skintone, I think this is it! I feel like a bombshell when wearing it!.. haha.. the name is perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/22/2008 3:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

hate hate hate hate HATE this frosty lipstick on it's own. actually, I hate anything with glimmer, frost, glitter or shimmer in it. I prefer Matte finishes even if it is aging.

BUT I ab-so-lutely LOVE Bombshell with sugarrimmed or babysparks dazzle glass. LOVE it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Vamp It Up 919b
34 Reviews
Velvet Teddy
204 Reviews
CB96
53 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top