Joico K-Pak Reconstruct Daily Conditioner

3.8

153 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Deionized Water, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Cetyl Alcohol, Glycol Stearate, Ceteth-2, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Hydrolyzed Human Hair Keratin (Quadramine Complex), Laurdimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Human Hair Keratin, Hydrolyzed Keratin PG-Propyl Methylsilanediol, Thioctic Acid, Psidium Guajava Fruit Extract, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Aleurites Moluccana (Kukui) Seed Oil, Glycolipids, Allantoin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Benzophenone-4, Hyaluronic Acid, Cetrimonium Bromide, Disodium EDTA, PEG-20 Almond Glycerides, Sodium Chloride, Myristyl Myristate, Citric Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, Fragrance (Parfum), Sorbic Acid, Keratin Amino Acids, PEG/PPG-20/23 Dimethicone, Glycerin, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.


on 6/2/2010 2:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

NOTE: If your hair is protein-sensitive, this is NOT the product for you. Protein-sensitive hair (usually coarse-textured) will get dry/strawlike/matted and even might break-off with use of high-protein products.

On the other hand, if your hair is chemically damaged (say, you bleach or regularly flat-iron) or your hair is fine (fine hair tends to like protein, not always, but generally), or you dye your hair and have your cuticle blasted open with those harsh products--you can benefit from this conditioner.

You can trust Joico to provide quality products, but the reconstruct/K-Pak line is protein-rich. Know whether your hair likes protein BEFORE you try this (or just let your hairdresser advise after examining your hair type/properties).

If, like me, you get overconditioned or dye or just need a shot of protein on occasion, this is great. I generally don't use protein products daily, but when my curls start looking "off"--frizzy, droopy, weird, or overmoisturized from my weekly deep treatments and stylers--I find using Joico's reconstruct products (namely the deep penetrating reconstruct once or twice a year, and this conditioner on occasion as needed) is just the trick. My curls spring up, my frizz tames, and my hair just comes to life.

"REconstruct" as a term generally means it's gonna add protein to your strands/cuticle. So, beware if you're coarse-haired or protein-sensitive. And if you don't know, Google it up to find out before buying protein-rich stuff. (If you're fine-haired and you dye/chemically process, it's almost guaranteed to be good for you.)

It's all about knowing what you need. NOT EVERYBODY NEEDS PROTEIN-RICH products, and NOT EVERYONE TOLERATES protein rich products.

But if you do, and if you think you do, this is worth a try even with the price. It's great stuff. Dependably good for those who need the protein shot.

And right now, Drugstore dot com is having a buy one get one half-off on Joico, so I'm gonna get a couple other products for my "When I Need Protein" stock.

Hope this helps....wishing you happy hair....

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.



on 5/24/2010 1:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

I have healthy, almost virgin to heat products hair, so this didn't do much for my hair. A little control as a leave-in conditioner, but otherwise not for my hair type. Oh well.


on 5/11/2010 1:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Joico K-Pak was recommended to me by the lady at the beauty supply store and i really loved this when i first started using it but after a month or so my hair got really stiff and then one day it just snapped off, I'm not kidding i had tiny short hairs mixed in with my waist length hair it looked ridiculous. when i told my hairdresser she said it has far too much protein in it (which caused my hair to become brittle)and would only recommend using it once a week.


on 3/10/2010 4:48:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I got sample bottles of this and the shampoo, both fabulous. They have left my hair soft, shiny and for some reason enhances my waves! I'm really impressed and will prob. end up purchasing full size bottles.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2010 7:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My hair was very damaged from flat ironing and bleaching it was breaking off and very dry so i started using this along with the matching shampoo and the reconstructor im now happy to say that my hair is on the road to recovery its almost completely stop breaking and its starting to look healthy and shiney again. If your hair is damaged i would get this it has saved my hair. I will buy again when i run out :)


on 1/25/2010 3:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favourite conditioner. I ALWAYS go back to it! I used to use it in conjunction with the kpak shampoo but I found that by day 2 my roots were greasy so now I use vitamino or loreal intense repair. It's not that moisturising, but that's not what its set out to do - it is meant to repair damage and that is what it does! I have bleached frizzy dry hair prone to breakage, this stuff is perfect. It also helps detangle (not overly but enough to be noticible) and stregnthen my hair - my hair is so much stronger now and I rarely find split ends. I honestly can't say much more, just know that it's a reconstructor not a moisturiser - it will rebuild distressed dry hair and it acts fast. I noticed the difference first wash and it keeps getting better! It's my miracle :)


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this is conjuction with the shampoo, reconstructor and liquid leave in reconstructor.

This shampoo + conditioner is for repairing damaged dry hair.

Although this conditioner (and shampoo) is doing the job of repairing my abused hair, i dont find it leaving my hair really moisturized. That could just be cause of my fried hair or using this daily, though. I am wanting to get the Moisture recovery shampoo and conditioner to alternate between them, as i do think using this daily isnt the way to go. I will update this when i have gotten the moisture recovery and alternate and see how it goes :)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this conditioner along with the corresponding shampoo for this line, and overall I am pleased. I have long, dry, highlighted hair and I am always looking to to try a product that claims to make my hair more healthy. This isn't the most moisturizing conditioner out there, but I do feel like it helps my hair with breakage and adding more resiliency. I also do not use this every time I wash my hair due to the protein in it, only once a week or so. I will continue to buy this, and you can usually find it on sale at Ulta or Trade Secret too.


on 12/16/2009 11:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm pretty disappointed in this conditioner. I have dry, overprocessed, damaged hair. I was using the Loreal Professional Intense Repair Lotion for a few months but it was pretty expensive and I wanted to get something a bit cheaper so I went for the Joico Reconstruct. Not a good idea!! I find that even though the conditioner smells great and goes on smoothly in the shower, after about 2 or 3 minutes when I touch my hair it feels all tangly as though I had never put any conditioner on in the first place. I keep adding more but it realy doesnt make a difference. On the positive side, it smells really nice


on 11/27/2009 8:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love it.
smells like cream cheese icing and coconuts :D(sounds nasty i know but it really does smell good to me)
the shampoo smells the same but this has a better scent :P




Back to Top