Ulta • automatic eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(142 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aquamarine11 on 4/13/2010 9:41:00 PM more reviews by aquamarine11

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

These work pretty well and are cheap at $2 on sale. They go on fairly easily, and do almost stay put. Whether I use primer or not, there is always one smudge right at the crease, which may be from before it has dried after I just put it on. This is a little bit annoying, so maybe I can tweak my application technique a bit to avoid this. Other than that, they stay put all day. I will repurchase-hope to find more shades the next time I look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chichibaby on 4/10/2010 7:39:00 PM more reviews by chichibaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've used eyeliners from Urban Decay, Stila, Revlon, and so much more.. but none of those compare to this eyeliner. I have it in black and It's SO easy to apply and like it says, it's definitely LONGLASTING. I have somewhat droopy, sensitive contact lens-wearing eyes and whenever I apply this eyeliner to my waterline, it seriously does not budge. I even went to go work out, sweated a bunch... went dancing in a club, sweated even MORE... but this eyeliner never ran and it just made me feel SO assured that I didnt have to go running back and forth to the bathroom to check my eyes or get doubtful enough to finger-swipe underneath my eyes. It's a great price. Even though I got them on sale from Ulta (4 for $15), they're STILL a great price at about $7 because they're so worth it and it has a decent amount of product. I would seriously recommend these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ochocho on 4/2/2010 5:16:00 PM more reviews by ochocho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG eyeliner! I've tried eyeliners from Rimmel, Revlon, Maybelline, Urban Decay, L'oreal, Shiseido and more. Mostly I was looking for an eyeliner that wouldn't smudge, but none worked- except for the Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner, which was wonderful, except for the price- $17. Uh, yeah, I don't love it THAT much. So I was stuck with a rather crappy eyeliner that still cost me $8...until I read the MUA reviews for this eyeliner.

First off, I love the price. The original price is $7, which I would gladly pay for. But if that's not enough, there are CONSTANTLY sales for this eyeliner! BOGO, one for $2, even one for $1. Great, great deal.

Packaging is good, I guess I don't have much to say about it.

The first thing I noticed when I applied was that it was creamy-although not as creamy as the 24/7 one, but hey, I'm not complaining. It was creamy -enough-. I noticed the darkness of the color was pretty good (btw, this is for the black eyeliner), but I had to apply two times to get the right color that I wanted. I liked that the end was pointy which made it easy for application, but over time it became rounded but still great for application.

The staying power was good. The first few minutes after I applied it smudged a little but I brushed it away. After that, no smudging whatsoever.

It's also def waterproof! I've worn this to the pool, the beach, the shower...and it has stayed on without fail. in fact, i don't even reapply after i swim because it still looks great!

One thing to keep in mind is to cap this!!!! it might just have been me but before i never capped my eyeliner, causing it to dry out. now i cap it after each use and since then it has remained super creamy and great!

def would purchase this again, and again, and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tpzhearts on 3/31/2010 10:59:00 PM more reviews by tpzhearts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really nice eyeliner! If you are looking for an eyeliner to line your waterline but don't want to splurge for HE liners, give this a try. It goes on sale all the time, currently this week it's $2 and I got some for only $1.. a steal!! The lasting power is nice, however I have not tried any other HE or DS liners, but from what I've heard about other DS liners, this one is good! It pretty much lasts all day, at the end of the day there is very slight smudging onto the bottom waterline (from when you blink) and if you have watery eyes, it might go slightly below your lower lash line. Overall very nice, good color selection, good price, definitely should give it a try -- pick one up when they are on sale!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* careypiper on 3/31/2010 9:35:00 AM more reviews by careypiper

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Moss - Shimmer - Dark Green w/Gold Shimmer
Olive - Shimmer - Light Olive Green w/Gold Shimmer
Raisin - Shimmer - Muted Plum w/Gold Shimmer*
Chocolate - Shimmer - True Brown w/Gold Shimmer
Teal - Metallic - Dark Very Pretty Teal*
Bronze - Metallic -Bronze/Cooper
Golden Eye - Metallic - True Gold*
Starlet - Metallic - True Silver*
Deep Brown - Flat - True Brown*
Black/Brown - Flat - Very Dark Brown*
Black - Flat - Black *almost as black as 24/7 zero*
Charcoal - Flat - Medium Gray*
Indigo - Sheen - Great Indigo Blue *Doesn't swatch well, but wears wonderfully*


I wanted a inexpensive good wearing eyeliner and after many fails, I found these with the MUA help. I've always preferred Automatic pencils because it doesn't waste product with sharpening and they just work for me. I'm not really into shimmering eye products, but Ulta's site is not that informative. So when they went on sale for $2 I purchased 1 of each, the *ed ones are the one I love and the others I put up for swap.


I did swatch each one, and my DS ones and 24/7 liners and rubbed with a tissue as a wear test. The DS disappeared, these faded some and the 24/7 of coarse stuck around the longest. Since I prefer flat colored eyeliners in Grays and Browns and you can get these for cheap, they are a winner for me.


UPDATE (01/01/2011) These are still my favorites, you just can't beat the staying power and the cost when they are on sale.


7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PeachFuzzz on 3/25/2010 9:18:00 PM more reviews by PeachFuzzz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I was so excited to try this eyeliner. I am an avid user of Make Up Forever's eyeliner and hated spending that much money on a pencil liner. The price was right and I bought it. The eyeliner worked great for the first few usings but then it became less smooth and barely any color was going onto my eyes. I started using a lighter to make the liner creamy. Something I hate doing. Also, the cap never stays on!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vwzen81 on 3/3/2010 9:27:00 AM more reviews by vwzen81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This liner rocks my world; I use it on my waterline and it has very good staying power. Iíve tried many different liners for my waterline (Urban Decay 24/7, Stila Kajal, Styli-Style, Prestige, Revlon, etc) and they either donít stay at all or a little stays and the rest smudges all around my eye. The Ulta liner doesnít go on as smoothly as say the Urban Decay, it takes a few swipes to get a solid black line but I donít mind since it stays on almost all day. I actually lost my black Ulta liner a few weeks ago and I turned my apartment upside down to find it but it was nowhere to be found and I wanted to cry because my nearest Ulta is about an hour away and I couldnít make the trip to get another one. So I had to use the next best thing which for me is the Revlon Colorstay. Then this past weekend my cat knocked something behind my dresser and when I pulled out the dresser to get it, there on the floor was my Ulta liner (cue the hallelujah music). Iím planning on going back to Ulta soon and stocking up so I donít run into this problem again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vitaaa09 on 2/27/2010 2:22:00 AM more reviews by vitaaa09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't a big fan of Ulta cosmetics before I tried they're automatic eyeliner in Teal Blue. I looove it! It's the first eyeliner I've used that actually stays all day and the color is amazing. I also have Raisin, Olive, and Black. They're relatively affordable, and Ulta often has great sales so I always take advantage and stock up :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cosec00 on 2/24/2010 10:50:00 PM more reviews by cosec00

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have FINALLY found my HG eyeliner. I've been searching for a dark brown/black eyeliner for months. Black is just too harsh for me at my age. Anyway, all the other high end lines seemed to only carry true browns....which is was weird because maybelline carried a brown/black since I was a teen (several decades ago). Granted, it sux, but its the right shade.

Anywho--I picked this up based on the recommendations here after trying brown eyeliners from MAC, BB, Stila and UD and did find any that were quite dark enough. This is the PRECISE shade I was looking for--easy to apply packaging, stays put, cute packaging--and dirt cheap. What more can you ask for?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* egoh on 2/16/2010 2:18:00 PM more reviews by egoh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Every so often, you will find something that totally blows your mind, well, for me, that would be the Ulta automatic eyeliner. It is surprisedly smudge-free and yet it's quite soft, so it glides easily on the eyelid :) I bought quite a few when Ulta was having a buy 1 get 1 free promotion. The only thing I can wish for is for the pencil to come with a "sharpener" :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ulta products

More Eyeliner products