Neutrogena Rapid Clear Acne Defense Face Lotion

4.0

153 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (2%) (Acne Treatment) Inactive Ingredients: Water, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Dimethiconol Beeswax, Dimethicone, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG 100 Stearate, Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides, Capryloyl Glycine, Sarcosine, Cinnamomum Zeylanicum Bark Extract, Hexylene Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Cedrus Atlantica Bark Extract, Bisabolol, Allantoin, Propylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Hydroxide, Fragrance


on 8/30/2008 8:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

absoutely love this! works good for me...definitley will be usin this for awhile!



Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was at Target and I actually wanted to buy the Rapid Clear Acne Eliminating Gel for spot treating my occasional acne (I just ran out). At first I thought that this was the replacement but decided to purchase it anyway. My reasoning was that since the Gel didn't break me out, the Rapid line shouldn't either (I have fairly sensitive skin so I don't like to experiment), AND it was HUGE! It was more than double the size of the Gel so if this worked for me, it would be a steal! Anyway, it was only $6.99 US so it wasn't that hard on my wallet.

When I bought the Defense, I was going through a good skin period where my face was very clear with only acne scars slowly fading. I had a one or two small, hidden whiteheads along my hair line, so I dotted the Defense on them. The smell was nice - like cucumbers? - and the consistency was very watery. That worried me a bit since when I spot treat, the stuff I used was always a little thicker. The next day they were gone so I thought I had a great product!

Then I had a small white head on my forehead and one on my left cheek, so again, I spot treated them. At first it seemed like it got rid of them, but then my forehead got a few more little bumps. No big deal, I widened the range of the Defense on my forehead. THEN the spot on my cheek become VERY dry (and I have oily skin!) and a rough,flaky, red patch developed. My forehead broke out into lots of tiny bumps. Now that I've stopped using it, those areas are beginning to clear up. I'm very certain it was because of this product, because the rest of my face is fine. =( Oh well...

The reasons I gave it 3 lippies are because it's a good deal, it smelled nice, and it DID work for a little while. I don't know what was in it that made me react this way, but I know it's not because I'm allergic to the saylic acid. I've read that the reviewers use it as a sort of primer and I think the consistancy would work well as one. It sinks quickly into the skin and leaves a soft finish. If it doesn't break you out, I'd highly recommend you try this. Since it broke me out, I returned it.


on 6/29/2008 11:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i really liked this product it made my face feal smooth. But like any other acne clearing product u cant just put it on and expect it to work. U still have 2 wash ur face so it can improve ur face but overall i loved it. I would buy it again becuse wahen i run ot im gonna need more so i would not say that it is a miracle worker because we all know that nothing is that great but yes it does work. im not gonna say that it doesnt dry ur face out because it doese but if it clears up ur acne but dries out ur face, USE LOTION


on 5/15/2008 11:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the product that has replaced Clear Pore Treatment????? Sad, sad, sad....I have been using it for over a month and don't see any real imporvement. The Clear Pore Treatment was much better. It goes on smooth and it dries pretty quickly and leaves a matte finish. As far as the acne clearing claims, they are false!


on 4/15/2008 4:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Didn't work, actually caused MORE breakouts. When used on pimples that are coming out, it actually making them turn cystic, huge and painful. I guess some people are allergic to the salicylic acid. What's annoying, I can't get a refund since I lost my receipt!! :(


on 3/16/2008 10:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I may be jumping the gun a little on this review since I've had it under a week, but so far I LOVE this lotion. I thought that the idea of an acne fighting LOTION was a bit of an oxymoron, but this really doesn't dry me out, and my face feels softer and looks smoother already. I actually enjoy the smell and love knowing that it's working hard all day long and when I sleep at night.


on 3/5/2008 2:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have combo/oily skin and love this face lotion! I bought it to use it as a night treatment for my problem areas and does a wonderful job. I usually don't pay attention to those claims that say 'results after 8 hrs' and so, beacause I know that's made up by companies for marketing purposes, however this stuff really works. After a few days I can see my skin clearer and softer. It absorbs quickly into the skin and is really lightweight and non-greasy. At night I use it under my favorite moisturizer --for those with drier skin please be sure to use one, because it can be a little drying for you-- and sometimes I apply it for daytime just on certain spots followed by my sunscreen --this is very important!--, which is Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock SPF 55. I'm about to finish my first tube and will keep purchasing, for sure! :)

Active ingredient: Salycilic Acid 2% --great BHA product!


on 2/26/2008 10:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lotion really does help combat breakouts, however I do not recommend it for the winter. It can dry out your skin, then you're left with breakouts AND scaly skin! Not a good combination. If you use it during the winter, I suggest putting a lotion, like Cetaphil, over it for extra moisture. I wish this product had an sunscreen. I feel like I can't use it under my makeup for that reason. I want my face to be clear, but I don't want the sun's rays to give me pre-mature aging! So, to really wrap it up, I think this is a good lotion for breakouts, but it needs sunscreen in it in order to really be the perfect lotion for the daytime.


on 1/13/2008 8:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

Can clear up skin but over drying can happen, I think I may have used to much because now my eyelids are sensitive. I never put any around my eyes but I think I may have an allergic reaction to this stuff. This is the stuff that is bothering my eyes. I tied it again and it made my yes swell up!!!


on 12/22/2007 3:42:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I meant to buy Rapid Clear Acne Eliminating Gel, but accidentally bought the Rapid Clear Acne Defense Face Lotion. I couldn't return it because I had already opened it. It did help, but it definitely did not clear up acne in 8 hours as it claimed.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
139 Reviews
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
Back to Top