Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1074 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 4/17/2013 10:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm done with modified corn starch as oil-controlling agent. It makes my skin super dry and uncomfortable. At first I thought it was because of the benzoproxide in my acne-fighting treatments, which could cause dryness. I was wrong. As soon as I discontinued using it, my skin quickly came back to normal and my acne started to heal as well. For those who find that it works, lucky you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/31/2013 7:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I either use this with the bare minerals foundation or over another foundation to set it depending on what MU look I'm going for. I like how nice it looks and that it seems to last all day in whichever combination I use it. The thing I sort of, kind of dislike about it is the packaging--it's messy no matter how it's used and I always end up with trace amounts of powder all over my makeup table. Not a big deal in the long run when the product works so well, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2013 10:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm reviewing this, not because it is 100% the best powder for me because my skin tens to be combo-dry,.. but because despite that, it's never broken me out, irritated me or felt heavy,..etc.

I really wish that I could use this, but it makes my skin look dryer than it is...I have rosacea, I am allergic to fragrance, preservatives,..can't tolerate mica or silica, there isn't much I've been able to use. so, with great sadness,..I have put it on my shelf for a bit...perhaps, it will suit my skin in the summer.

nonetheless, it is a find choice otherwise if your skin isn't as picky as mine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2013 3:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very fine, very soft finishing powder. It glides on smoothly and evenly and helps my foundation look even more natural and perfect.


on 3/9/2013 12:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Apply the mineral veil on before applying the foundation and warmth. It will make you look flawless, especially for us women of color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got really into using bare minerals a few months back. I used to use everyday minerals foundation, but it has dramatically gone up in price since I started buying it in 2006, and with the shipping charges on top of that it seemed to make more sense to just buy from my local sephora.
I really liked the BM blushes, kind of liked the foundation but I find my face looks greasy halfway through the day. On impulse one day I grabbed mineral veil without researching it at all.

I used it for a few days and noticed a slight difference. Then one day I flipped it over and read the ingredients. The first two? CORN STARCH. The second two? Fillers. I paid $30 for a tiny little contained of flipping corn starch. I used to buy the same thing as a face powder by Sally Hansen, but at least they openly called it Cornsilk, charged about $3, and didn't try to pretend it was a premium blend of minerals.

Ladies, you can pick up corn starch at your grocery store, and you can order zinc stearate and magnesium stearate incredibly cheap online. No joke, 8oz of magnesium stearate will run you about $4...While an entire tub of Mineral Veil is about 0.3oz of product. Don't waste your money!

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil is a corn starch and mineral based setting powder. The brand says that this powder will "make the most of your makeup" and calls it a "see through but spectacular finale for any kind of complexion. Minimizing lines, absorbing oils, and softening your complexion. It gives you a flawless finish that's too good to miss. And best of all, it's utterly weightless. Just a bare veil of minerals that locks makeup in place and give your skin an airbrushed perfection." Bare Minerals offers a few different formulations of their Mineral Veil, I just have the regular one, no SPF or anything. I have a 2g (.6oz) jar of this setting powder, it was passed on to me by my sister in law, who didn't like it. A full size jar retails on it's own for $20, but this product is also available in several value kits. Bare Escentuals and it's subsidiary brands Bare Minerals and Buxom are cruelty free. I'm not sure where this product was made. Bare Minerals products can be bought through the brand's website and free standing stores, as well as at Ulta and Sephora.
Packaging isn't anything to get excited about. A clear plastic jar with a screw on black cap. The name of the product can be found on the lid. An ingredient list can be found on the bottom of the jar. This jar includes a sifter, which is convenient at first when you have a load of product, but gets in the way of dispensing product when you barely have anything left, like I currently do. Luckily the sifter pops out without much of a fight. Plain but very functional packaging, I can't complain.
Bare Minerals Mineral Veil is a very finely milled, soft powder. Bare Minerals has a very specific application method that they recommend for this powder. I'm pretty sure "Swirl, Tap, Buff" is the brand mantra, and it works well for this product. Mineral Veil is very different from the only other loose powder I've used; Palladio's Rice Powder. I feel like I only need to use a very small amount of product per application. And the results? Amazing. Bare Minerals Mineral Veil sets any liquid foundation or concealer and really provides a flawless look as promised. It gives a more refined, almost airbrushed, but very natural look to the skin, all while being practically invisible. I've used this powder with every foundation I own, and in a variety of weather conditions, and never once has my skin looked powdery or cakey. Mineral Veil blends and buffs in beautifully. This look powder even provides a touch of coverage all on it's own. Not lots, just a slight reduction in redness, and some oil absorbtion. Mineral Veil lasts all day when applied over foundation, but it will need reapplied if you wear it alone over bare skin. Obviously, like any loose powder, this isn't the best product for on the go touch ups, so it isn't travel friendly. Bare Minerals calls the color of their regular Mineral Veil "translucent", but honestly it seems to be just about the same color of my skin; more of an ivory than translucent. I hate when brands call very light ivory colors translucent; they usually match my skin tone (which I do not consider translucent). I don't think this powder would work out too well for those with darker skin. I think Bare Minerals may offer a darker shade as well, I certainly hope they do.
I really enjoy Bare Minerals Mineral Veil. I'm not a fan of their bronzer or mineral foundation, but their Mineral Veil setting powder totally makes up for their fail. The packaging is boring, but does loose powder really need a cute container? The texture of this powder is great and that totally translates into application, which is smooth and easy to blend. This powder is very natural looking on the skin and so lightweight. While I really enjoy this loose powder, I doubt I'd repurchase it. The price isn't too bad, but $20 seems a little bit much to spend on a powder that's comprised of corn starch and stuff. If you're on the hunt for a very good loose powder and don't mind spending a bit more for a great quality product, please consider Bare Minerals Mineral Veil. Thanks for this awesome powder, sister in law.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2013 2:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Blurs imperfections, is a nice colour and keeps your face fairly matte all day.
BUT it runs out fast as the amount in each package is small and it's costly to keep up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2012 2:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

i always come back to this. its great to combat shine, and generally lasts a fair amount of time bc you dont need much. my only complaint is that it can make me look a bit chalky, i always have to put bronzer or blush over it, so im always looking for something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2012 9:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot beleive I have not reviewed this yet. HG HG HG! I love this stuff.
I have sensitive combo skin (NC30) that depending on the weather acts dry or can get too oily. I put my moisturizer on and then my foundaton or concealor depending on how much coverage I want or where I am going and then apply the mineral veil. After that I finish off with blush, eyeshadow etc. before no matter what I did my makeup would not last. it would slide off my face and disappear or be sitting on top of my skin waiting for me to make a mistake and it would smear on anything that would get close to my face. After I have started using mineral veil I can apply my makeup in the morning or for a party and it stays on all night. I do not have to look in the mirror once. I am a mom of 2 toddlers and I just do not have the time to sit and apply a million things to my face once a day forget checking ten times in a day and retouching.
I have taken one lippie off only for the packaging. Its jsut so messy. first the sticker in the container that is supposed keep the product in the bottom came off so half my product is in the top on the container and I have to pour some out onto the lid to use it.I also cannot use this stuff without getting some on my counter or sink. I wish BE would change to their new click and twist containers so I remove only as much I need. other than that I will not be without my mineral veil ever

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top