Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1078 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 5/1/2013 4:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this to set my foundation. My foundation has a dewy finish so this powder really helps to mattify my face. However, you have to be careful on using this powder. Super slight amount= good, even just a little bit excess= cakey. When I use it on my bare face, (no foundation, just to make my face look less oily) , it looks kind of strange.. In my country (HK) this comes in only one shade, so I don't know if it doesn't match my skin or anything, but it turn my face kind of greyish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/23/2013 12:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I somehow ended up with 6 of the sample sizes of this powder and I'm glad I did. This powder gives an airbrushed look to any type of foundation: liquid, powder, cream, mousse, tinted moisturizer.
Great product!


on 4/20/2013 7:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My cheeks are red and dry from Benzoyl Peroxide overload so every day and night for the last few days, I've been doing a new routine: Estee Lauder serum, Aveeno ultra-calming moisturizer w spf 15, Wei East Chestnut Extra Firming Cream, and by then I have not a greasy face, but a shiny face, so lastly I apply Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Primer. It takes away shine, blurs pores and lines (forehead and undereye area for me personally) and keeps my moisturizers working better by locking them in. I don't use the WE product for firming, I'm only 21, Beautypedia describes it as a good basic moisturizer with no negatives except the high price but I got it for free from my mum anyways. Think Vaseline but more hard and golden. I think the golden color cancels out redness too which is great for me, I know I read one review that did not like that because it added a yellowness to her cool fair skin.

So today, I decided I should try the Revlon photoready BB cream I bought days ago. I applied another one on top of it because the coverage is sheer and only sheer on its own. So finally I ended it all with the mineral veil (which I got for free, I know this is just corn starch and some other ingredients for slip and staying ability). I love how my skin feels with it on. I love how my skin looks with it on, especially after so many moisturizing products (but remember: antioxidants, moisturization, and protection should be apart of every beauty regimine if you want your skin to look its best). I took a nap, it's gone from morning to night, and my makeup looks even better than when I first finished. Everything just seemed to take to my skin's color and blend. And I really think the primer and this veil is why my makeup stayed. If I just applied the two BB creams, I would have woken up from that nap and wonder where did my makeup go ? I'm not a blush girl but I have the BE blush and 5 shades of the maybelline bouncy blushes just incase haha. They were free, I'm sure they would go well over.


on 4/18/2013 3:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This came with my Get Started Complexion Pack and of all the items, I find myself going back to this from time & time again. The powder is so fine and although my skin tone is medium with yellow base, it gave me a natural and fresh finish. Unlike most loose powder, that have that 'powdery' effect on the face that made me look pale, this sets my liquid foundation well. Love it because it's versatile, I can use it with any liquid foundation shades & during my less-makeup is more days, I use it to mattify my face after moisturizer application.

The con however is the packaging. For on-the-go woman like me, I rush to work every mornings and you need to spend time opening the lid slowly to ensure the powder does not fall out. It's really messy for me because onceI tried using it in car, the whole plastic separator came off and there's product on my lap and everywhere! Best used at home & stay on my vanity table after that incident.


on 4/17/2013 10:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm done with modified corn starch as oil-controlling agent. It makes my skin super dry and uncomfortable. At first I thought it was because of the benzoproxide in my acne-fighting treatments, which could cause dryness. I was wrong. As soon as I discontinued using it, my skin quickly came back to normal and my acne started to heal as well. For those who find that it works, lucky you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2013 7:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I either use this with the bare minerals foundation or over another foundation to set it depending on what MU look I'm going for. I like how nice it looks and that it seems to last all day in whichever combination I use it. The thing I sort of, kind of dislike about it is the packaging--it's messy no matter how it's used and I always end up with trace amounts of powder all over my makeup table. Not a big deal in the long run when the product works so well, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2013 10:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm reviewing this, not because it is 100% the best powder for me because my skin tens to be combo-dry,.. but because despite that, it's never broken me out, irritated me or felt heavy,..etc.

I really wish that I could use this, but it makes my skin look dryer than it is...I have rosacea, I am allergic to fragrance, preservatives,..can't tolerate mica or silica, there isn't much I've been able to use. so, with great sadness,..I have put it on my shelf for a bit...perhaps, it will suit my skin in the summer.

nonetheless, it is a find choice otherwise if your skin isn't as picky as mine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2013 3:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very fine, very soft finishing powder. It glides on smoothly and evenly and helps my foundation look even more natural and perfect.


on 3/9/2013 12:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Apply the mineral veil on before applying the foundation and warmth. It will make you look flawless, especially for us women of color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got really into using bare minerals a few months back. I used to use everyday minerals foundation, but it has dramatically gone up in price since I started buying it in 2006, and with the shipping charges on top of that it seemed to make more sense to just buy from my local sephora.
I really liked the BM blushes, kind of liked the foundation but I find my face looks greasy halfway through the day. On impulse one day I grabbed mineral veil without researching it at all.

I used it for a few days and noticed a slight difference. Then one day I flipped it over and read the ingredients. The first two? CORN STARCH. The second two? Fillers. I paid $30 for a tiny little contained of flipping corn starch. I used to buy the same thing as a face powder by Sally Hansen, but at least they openly called it Cornsilk, charged about $3, and didn't try to pretend it was a premium blend of minerals.

Ladies, you can pick up corn starch at your grocery store, and you can order zinc stearate and magnesium stearate incredibly cheap online. No joke, 8oz of magnesium stearate will run you about $4...While an entire tub of Mineral Veil is about 0.3oz of product. Don't waste your money!

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top