Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1046 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 zuba84 on 3/22/2012 5:35:00 PM more reviews by zuba84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I want to preface this by saying I didnt buy this product, actually I went into the bare minerals store by me to try out the undereye concealer and for some reason the woman also put this all over my face without asking! I guess she thought it would add to the effect...and it did in a bad way! First of all I found that it looked like it was just sitting on top of my skin, it never blended in at all. Mostly the problem was that it made me look OLD (im 29) and not only made my face three shades lighter but it made my face look WHITE, not even a lighter shade of my normal skin color. I actually raced home to wash it off within two hours. Also I have to say I found it itched! Just a warning from a totally non biased customer since I had no idea about this product prior to today!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mohayes1402 on 3/9/2012 2:58:00 PM more reviews by mohayes1402

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is lovely over mineral powder foundation. It really does give a soft focus effect which for me means my pores are less visible - certainly a good thing! My only gripes are that it is not as good over liquid/cream foundations (which to be fair I am not sure it is designed for). It can cake a bit on me that way. Also in the summer if I wear it and it is hot, it almost stings. I think this is a reaction to the bismuth oxide in it when I perspire (note, not sweat). I know friends who don't have this reaction so I think it is an individual thing. It's also a shocker in flash photography but the pros definately outweight the cons!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elfodimontagna on 2/25/2012 6:13:00 PM more reviews by elfodimontagna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I do like this product a lot! But I run out of it too quickly! Because it is preatty expensive and it doesn't last long I will not purchase it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KOuilhon on 2/23/2012 2:13:00 PM more reviews by KOuilhon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this after returning the tinted veil for being too orange. I think BE products just are not for me! I wanted to try it because so many people I know use it. I didn't like this at all. I intended to use it to set my liquid foundation. But I found it to be very chalky and streaky and not flawless looking at all. It also made my face feel sandpapery. I am returning this today.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Amsi on 2/8/2012 5:41:00 AM more reviews by Amsi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as a setting powder over my liquid foundation. I have oily skin and use a light dusting of this to mattify my face. It doesn't control oil that well since the product is so fine, but that's not necessarily what it's meant to do. Even used on bare skin, it helps even out my complexion. I know this product will work differently on different people, but at the moment, this fine and light powder is exactly what I need.
..
Before this, I was using various drugstore powder compacts which did the job but were a little chalky in comparison with this. I dust a VERY light layer of this over my face using a patting, rather than rubbing, motion. I then go over my face again with another light layer to really set my foundation.
...
I have no idea how this product looks over Bare Minerals, but I do like it over my liquid foundation. Some of my drugstore powders were a little heavier, and once they absorbed into my oily skin, they just contributed to the shine and clogged pore situation. I feel like this is light enough that it won't fuss with your makeup underneath and won't make your skin fight back with oiliness.
...
The loose powder can get a little messy, but now that the new packaging has a sifter you can open and close, my pot of powder still looks clean and new!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BlueLaTifa on 2/6/2012 9:39:00 AM more reviews by BlueLaTifa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I think this is a good loose powder. I use it over (and sometimes under as well) my BE foundation. It is NOT sparkly as I read some people say, at least not on me. It looks pink in the box, but it is transparent on the skin. A bit expensive, but worth the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Leannne on 2/3/2012 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Leannne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product did not work for me at all. It could be because my skin is on the oilier side, but either way.. I would not buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bhindhazeleyez on 1/29/2012 4:20:00 PM more reviews by bhindhazeleyez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had grown tired of my BE makeup and all of the loose, messy powders and had gone back to all of my pressed powders/eyeshadows and liquid makeup. I ran out of my usual setting powder and was searching for something I could use since I am trying to use up the makeup I have instead of buying more. I found my long ago hidden mineral veil and fell in love again. I have gotten into wearing liquid foundation more, but setting it is a must with my combo skin. This stuff is amazing for that. It literally blurs my skin imperfections and makes my skin look flawless. I don't feel that it comes off as glittery, but just gives my skin a healthy sheen. I'm sooo glad they finally came out with the closable sifters since that makes it way less messy for travel Now I am running out of this and will be buying more. LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 1/29/2012 12:28:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like Mineral Veil. I first got it years ago in a Bare Escentuals Starter Kit, but I didn't use it too much at first. I feel like this is unnecessary to use over Bare Escentuals foundations, because it's just like putting powder over powder. But over liquid foundations and tinted moisturizers, this is great! I simply use this as a setting powder and it helps control oil and gives my skin a glowing finish. I'm not a big fan of setting powders in general. I feel that certain brands of powder work well over some brands of foundation and not so well over others. But Mineral Veil has worked wonderfully over every foundation I have tried. It never fails to give me a healthy, radiant look.
You do have to be careful with this, though. The packaging is awful. This powder is thinner than the Bare Escentuals foundation, so when you tap the product from the container into the lid, much more spills into the lid than you need. And if you use too much of this, it will make you look pale. But using this enough, you'll eventually get the hang of it.
The best thing I found out about this product is how to use it alone. I'm not overly self-conscious or anything, but every now and then I'll have taken my makeup off for the day, only to remember I have to run to the store, or have my friends invite me over. Sometimes in these cases, I don't want to do a full face of makeup, but I want to at least look presentable. When this happens, I dust Mineral Veil all over my face, maybe add a little mascara, and viola! I look much better than I did with hardly any effort. Alone, this obviously won't cover up redness or blemishes or anything, but it helps mattify your face while making you glow. I can't tell you how many times this little trick has helped me out.
I'm really glad I found Mineral Veil, because it's honestly a product I would have always passed by and never tried. I believe Bare Escentuals now makes this in a pressed powder form, which I will definitely be trying out when I run out of my current Mineral Veil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EscalatorKid on 1/21/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by EscalatorKid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have combination-to-oily skin, and I have to say, this helps. I touch up later in the day to take some of the oil out

I do use it with the Bare Minerals foundation, though. I know it isn't necessary seeing that it's a powder setting a powder, but it feels nice.

My solution to the oily skin issues was to give up on liquid foundation. It is like spreading grease on top of grease into my skin, no matter what brand I use. I recently switched to the BE products because my old standby, CoverGirl, switched to crappy packaging and raised the price...

BE's mineral veil is kind of pricey, and my main complaint about the packaging is that, for some reason, the Mineral Veil comes FLYING out of the container in VERY large amounts in comparison to the foundation. Even only slightly twisting the container so that only one of the three holes is open, I still get a TON of powder.

I think it's because the mineral veil is much finer than the foundation, but I'm not entirely sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products