Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1056 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 beautyaddict96 on 7/10/2012 12:46:00 PM more reviews by beautyaddict96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This claims to impart a flawless, airbrushed complexion. I did not get that at all. I have relatively good skin, I just wanted something to blur whatever slight imperfections/flaws my skin had. I saw no difference at all. When trying o layer this, I looked so powdery. Not oil absorbing whatsoever. I've had people comment on how shiny my face looks. Embarrassing! Does not cover pores. Overall, did not achieve what it said it would. Disappointing. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blythegraves on 7/2/2012 4:22:00 PM more reviews by blythegraves

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Good setting powder, but I prefer Everyday Minerals "Finishing Dust". They both are corn starch, but Bare Minerals contain stearate fillers, EM does not. The sheer/original Mineral Veil has an orange hue that does not really work for my fair skin. When I used Bare Minerals when they first came out (~10 years ago) I remember that the veil was not this orangey, so I'm not happy with that. It does control oil and sets foundation well, but it's not the best. For a better, but similar option, I use Everyday Minerals Finishing Dust; it's pure and works well (for less $, too), if not better, than Bare Minerals. Overall, it's not a bad product, but it's not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ECLion on 6/30/2012 5:07:00 PM more reviews by ECLion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I believe whole-heartedly in natural products. Ever since I was a young teen! After realizing my foundation was filled with junk, I decided to look for a more natural product, and friends (and the intertoobz) recommended this one, and the accompanying foundation. I'd always used liquid foundations, since my skin is on the oilier side. I really should have stuck with the less natural options. I could NOT, for the life of me, figure out why I was breaking out! The foundation and powder left my skin pretty irritated (or maybe that was just the brushes, which I regularly deep-cleaned!). It also looked cakey and blah. Great concept, poor execution, now back to chemical-filled fragrance free/oil free/noncomedogenic drugstore makeup. *sigh*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 6/29/2012 8:58:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Woot! Review number 1,001!!! Sorry, just had to point it out. I love the Mineral Veil. It is a great setting powder, I bought it with the bareMinerals Your Starting Lineup set, and it works quite well. I'm generally not a fan of powders, but this helped me like them a little more. It works as an awesome setting powder for my bareMinerals foundation. I would not say that it has awesome staying power itself and I'd recommend to keep away from water or humidity when you're wearing this. It sets foundation, but not itself haha. I do not like that (the staying power isn't great and) the color of it is way off from my foundation color. I bought it in a set with a light, golden-olive foundation, but the veil itself is SO light it's not even funny. It does not say the color, but it is VERY light. It's kind of like a paler. I will use it in the winter to even out my skin tone if my foundation ends up being too dark, but if you're one who loves to tan, don't wear this on top of your face makeup. It's very sheer, yeah, but you can still see the difference. It honestly does not control oil too well, like I said, not great in humidity. The price isn't bad on this product, just $20. So in conclusion, great setting powder, result and price, but not great staying power or color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kloud04 on 6/22/2012 12:16:00 AM more reviews by kloud04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have super oily skin and this is just completely useless. I have tried this several times over the years and finally just pitched it. It is dusty and has a scent that I cannot stand. just not for me. Cornstarch? Really? I was surprised by finding that out in other reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tiptoemousey on 4/12/2012 1:04:00 PM more reviews by Tiptoemousey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I enjoy this product a lot I use it everyday and it is just so nice and light weight. I have tried many loose powders and a lot of them have glitter or shimmer this does not. It is a little pricey but not as much as many of the fails I have tried I have one plus three back-ups.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 betel on 4/12/2012 12:45:00 PM more reviews by betel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not good at all for oil control at all! It does nothing for oil it looks good for about 15 minutes then oil everywhere yuk. Will not buy again the Everyday Minerals finishing dust is waaay better they both contain Corn starch so watch out if you are very acne prone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tasha27 on 4/12/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by tasha27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

HELP!! i tried it over my liquid foundation, major fail. i took a picture with the flash on and my face is completely white. and it looks fine without the flash. ahhhh! what am i doing wrong?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hpunkinway on 3/28/2012 3:36:00 AM more reviews by hpunkinway

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I hate powder. I needed to let you know that so that you can take my review into consideration. I thought this product would be different, so my expectations were there. I do not care for this product, so heavy. I should also explain, however, that I am allergic to the Bare Minerals foundation. This product is only corn starch.
If you care to try this product, maybe you should just try corn starch. It will save you a lot of $.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Luscious1104 on 3/27/2012 4:04:00 PM more reviews by Luscious1104

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really good powder. I used it to set my makeup or my undereye concealer. Works really well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products