Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3291 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 12/7/2014 4:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This mousse foundation is super easy to apply. No need for sponges or brushes, works great with my fingers. It goes on great and has wonderful coverage AT FIRST. With or without a primer, this foundation makes me sooo oily w/in 30min after applying. I mean really, really greasy.... even more oily than my plain skin gets alone w/out make-up. If I run my finger over my face and touch something it will even leave an oily smudge. YUCK! No other foundation has ever done this to my skin, and it doesn't naturally ever get that oily either. It also beads up over my pores and I don't have bad skin. I've also noticed it quickly turns orange on my skin as well. I might try one more mousse foundation before trying a different texture.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/7/2014 3:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Got this randomly at Ulta along with the Dream Wonder Fluid Foundation (which is what I really purposed to get at first) since its buy 1 get 1 half off. Been looking for something that gives full coverage with a matte-airbrush finish so when I tried this and realized this does both of those things, I was SO happy. Until I looked at the back and saw the ingredients- I was shocked that it contains TONS of parabens! As you may or may not know, parabens are known to cause breast cancer. There are different types of parabens and usually in drugstore makeup, I see one or two types in a single bottle. But this one, oh my goodness...contains 5! I could not believe it. So now I'm thinking of returning it soon. But since I don't want to be biased, I still gave this 3 stars because it still gives a very good coverage and the finish is undeniably beautiful. When I wore it, it lasted all day and til the end of the night my face still looked flawless with one touch up.


on 11/29/2014 10:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used this product for years and really enjoy it. I have noticed that different shades have different textures and covers differently. I like the soft airbrushed look this foundation gives. It doesn't last all day, but I have yet to find a foundation that does.


on 11/19/2014 8:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Blends nicely and has a nice unique texture but is gone in spots where i need it by midday and clings to dry patches.


on 11/16/2014 10:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought this foundation was 'OK'. I got the shade light porcelain 004 which was a good match but a bit too light (the darker shades were too dark). I have oily skin so thought it would be good to keep me matte. However, it just started to completely dry out my face and it was going all flaky and didnt look healthy when I put the foundation on. It also looked a bit cakey and you could definitely tell I had it on. I did like the coverage as it was medium - full on my skin and doubled as my concealer at the time. I stopped using this because I went to put it on I twisted the lid off and it fell to pieces on the floor! The glass just broke! I don't think it was very strong because I had never dropped it so dont know what happened. Wouldn't repurchase because too drying and bad for skin. Think it have me more breakouts


on 11/13/2014 6:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

SKIN BACKGROUND: normal/dry, acne prone, mild to severe acne marks and scars, dominant yellow-olive undertones.
COVERAGE: full (when applied on top of a powder)
FINISH: matte
TEXTURE: very smooth and spongey
LASTING POWER: 10-12 hours
SHADES: I’m NC20 in Mac and the shade Nude (Light 4) is almost perfect for me. It's slightly more orange than yellow, but it's one of those things where only I really notice it.
DID THIS BREAK ME OUT?: no
WOULD I REPURCHASE?: yes
FINAL VERDICT: When I first tried this foundation, I didn't like it whatsoever. It was streaky, barely medium coverage, and lasted maybe 2-3 hours. After reading different makeup tips, I decided to put on powder before applying the foundation with my clean fingers. I know that sounds weird and gives the impression that it'd make the foundation chalky but it really doesn't! It makes the foundation apply smoothly and makes the coverage flawless. I use Mac Studio Fix Powder beforehand which works great, but using a translucent powder works just as well. After applying the foundation, I set the foundation with the same powder and it lasts even longer. If you didn't like the foundation, don't let it go to waste! Try different methods of applying the foundation to see what suits you best.

UPDATE: Because it's winter, my skin naturally becomes more dry and oddly textured (my acne scars become emphasized). This foundation didn't smooth over my skin as well as it did when I had more moisture in it, so I mixed a bit of silicone primer in it to apply and now it looks even better than before!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2014 4:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this product due to Google reviews... I've been purchasing drug store foundations of all brands so I have no "higher end" foundations to compare to. I rated 2/5 because I love the way this product went on. It's smooth and creamy, gave me a semi matte finish, but after about 2 hours I was super greasy. I wouldn't suggest to someone with combination / oily skin. It just didn't last :( I was excited when I was done with my make up to see how natural it looked and I wanted to love it, but it didn't even last.


on 11/3/2014 8:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm surprised that hardly anyone seems to like this. Personally, I have been loving this ever since I started wearing makeup. I have strayed, of course, as you do when you are young and wild at heart - from the expensive crap in pretty bottles, to the liquid frauds of the high street. But I always come back to this. Convinced it's true love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2014 11:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really did not like this foundation. It hardly did anything to my skin! I felt like it just made me look orange. I hated this product! Which is weird because my friend absolutely loved this foundation. I guess if depends on the person. I would not recommend this foundation though.


on 10/14/2014 8:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

This was the first "real" foundation I used and I love it! My T-Zone gets super oily but this foundation completely stops that! I use the Rimmel Stay Matte powder with this and I never get oily skin whilst wearing it!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top