Philosophy • When Hope Is Not Enough - Serum • Skincare - Face

rated 3.5(130 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Justbeinme on 10/27/2008 2:29:00 AM more reviews by Justbeinme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Just a serum. Sure it has ingredients but.... they simply haven't done a single thing for my skin. Not one. I've wanted to believe in this line. Wanted to somehow actually get makeup optional skin so much that I've shelled out hundreds of dollars for more than 1 kit yes I've done it multiple times and have been left with nothing in return except lost cash. Sorry but I don't get it with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IntheFall on 10/1/2008 6:19:00 PM more reviews by IntheFall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to really like this product and purchased it again. I can't tell that it is doing anything except long term prevention. It does seem to keep my skin clear and soaks in really well. Not sure what I think of it but I will probably not purchase it again because of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 8/23/2008 12:19:00 PM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this more for prevention than treatment, so it's difficult for me to tell how effective it is on existing lines. I like that this serum is light, non-sticky and absorbs quickly. Hope contains peptides, soy and vitamins C and E which probably do something, but the combo isn't nearly as powerful as others on the market. What I really dislike about this is that it contains fragrance, which is highly toxic and not nearly well-enough defined in ingredient lists, and the overall serum scores a 6/10 hazard rating on cosmeticdatabase.com.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Julie888 on 8/14/2008 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Julie888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this in the winter when just using the Hope in a Jar Moisturizer didn't seem to be moisturizing my skin enough. Wow what a difference. This serum sinks in and doesn't feel sticky. I then put my Hope in a Jar Moisturizer over it and no longer is my skin dry. I only need it in the winter when my skin is extra dry but I love it and it lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 quartergoddess on 8/10/2008 10:52:00 PM more reviews by quartergoddess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

It doesn't feel like this product did anything for me. I didn't break out or anything, but I can't tell that it's doing anything to make my skin look/feel better. I'm going to finish the bottle, but unless there's a noticeable difference after I stop using it I probably won't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblysteph on 7/16/2008 11:41:00 AM more reviews by bubblysteph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I'm not sure with the effect of this when using this alone as I only use this in conjunction with the vit C powder (hope and a prayer). But it's quite moisturizing and I feel that my skin is better pampered without getting really greasy. However I think it's better for more mature skin - my mom loves this thing for the firming effect. I probably will repurchase unless I find sth that can work with the vit C powder at a lower price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iloveMnMs on 6/30/2008 7:56:00 AM more reviews by iloveMnMs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as part of the “Makeup Optional” 6-piece skin care kit. What a joke, I had HUGE cystic breakouts after using the kit. (Note that I can't point to this product in particular as causing the breakouts.) I thought this serum smelled like greasy French fries. I hated using it! I couldn’t get past the smell enough to see if it would do anything for my skin. I’m probably better off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzxtine on 6/18/2008 4:11:00 AM more reviews by mzxtine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So far, not a lot of effect... will continue to use until gone and then probably will not repurchase... it is quite on the high end and not sure if I want to invest in something that doesn't do me any good...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MYV12 on 6/12/2008 8:47:00 PM more reviews by MYV12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot say that I feel like I have noticed a significant difference in my skin after using nearly an entire bottle of this serum. I will say that it did not cause any additional breakouts. It did not do much for my pore size. I have been using the vitamin c powder with it, as well as in other creams. I do like the vitamin c powder, however. Also, it is hard to get the last bit of the serum out of the bottle when it is nearly gone. I have considered buying it again, as it is a reasonable price, however I have decided to purchase another serum instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skeeto21 on 6/8/2008 11:20:00 PM more reviews by skeeto21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Can't go a day without it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Skincare - Face products