Philosophy • When Hope Is Not Enough - Serum • Skincare - Face

rated 3.5(132 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cutebrnis on 1/29/2009 9:53:00 PM more reviews by cutebrnis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I have been using this product for a few years now and its the one thing I wont go with out in this line. It really does improve my skin and in the summer this is all I use at night and morning. I get tickled when I see girls in late teens and twenties saying they see no difference. Your not going to your skin is young. This product is not for you. Its is for more matue skin. If you like this line and your still young call philosophy and they will tell you what to use. I also know that the key to firmer looking skin is moisture. Its not rocket science moisturizers cause your skin to plump up making it look smoother. So really the only way to get rid of aging signs is surgery, Not willing to do that So this product helps and makes me feel better about myself and after all isnt that whats important.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 reema2 on 11/17/2008 7:04:00 AM more reviews by reema2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Though the packaging is good it absolutly does nothing. Absolute waste of money. Will never buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Justbeinme on 10/27/2008 2:29:00 AM more reviews by Justbeinme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Just a serum. Sure it has ingredients but.... they simply haven't done a single thing for my skin. Not one. I've wanted to believe in this line. Wanted to somehow actually get makeup optional skin so much that I've shelled out hundreds of dollars for more than 1 kit yes I've done it multiple times and have been left with nothing in return except lost cash. Sorry but I don't get it with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IntheFall on 10/1/2008 6:19:00 PM more reviews by IntheFall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I used to really like this product and purchased it again. I can't tell that it is doing anything except long term prevention. It does seem to keep my skin clear and soaks in really well. Not sure what I think of it but I will probably not purchase it again because of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 8/23/2008 12:19:00 PM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this more for prevention than treatment, so it's difficult for me to tell how effective it is on existing lines. I like that this serum is light, non-sticky and absorbs quickly. Hope contains peptides, soy and vitamins C and E which probably do something, but the combo isn't nearly as powerful as others on the market. What I really dislike about this is that it contains fragrance, which is highly toxic and not nearly well-enough defined in ingredient lists, and the overall serum scores a 6/10 hazard rating on cosmeticdatabase.com.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Julie888 on 8/14/2008 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Julie888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this in the winter when just using the Hope in a Jar Moisturizer didn't seem to be moisturizing my skin enough. Wow what a difference. This serum sinks in and doesn't feel sticky. I then put my Hope in a Jar Moisturizer over it and no longer is my skin dry. I only need it in the winter when my skin is extra dry but I love it and it lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 quartergoddess on 8/10/2008 10:52:00 PM more reviews by quartergoddess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

It doesn't feel like this product did anything for me. I didn't break out or anything, but I can't tell that it's doing anything to make my skin look/feel better. I'm going to finish the bottle, but unless there's a noticeable difference after I stop using it I probably won't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblysteph on 7/16/2008 11:41:00 AM more reviews by bubblysteph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I'm not sure with the effect of this when using this alone as I only use this in conjunction with the vit C powder (hope and a prayer). But it's quite moisturizing and I feel that my skin is better pampered without getting really greasy. However I think it's better for more mature skin - my mom loves this thing for the firming effect. I probably will repurchase unless I find sth that can work with the vit C powder at a lower price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iloveMnMs on 6/30/2008 7:56:00 AM more reviews by iloveMnMs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as part of the “Makeup Optional” 6-piece skin care kit. What a joke, I had HUGE cystic breakouts after using the kit. (Note that I can't point to this product in particular as causing the breakouts.) I thought this serum smelled like greasy French fries. I hated using it! I couldn’t get past the smell enough to see if it would do anything for my skin. I’m probably better off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzxtine on 6/18/2008 4:11:00 AM more reviews by mzxtine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So far, not a lot of effect... will continue to use until gone and then probably will not repurchase... it is quite on the high end and not sure if I want to invest in something that doesn't do me any good...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Skincare - Face products