MAC • Satin - Smut • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(133 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 carrie94 on 6/2/2009 11:21:00 AM more reviews by carrie94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This has become my new favourite eyeshadow from MAC! The color is very pretty and blends really well! Recommend this as a staple for any makeup bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 micipici on 4/29/2009 3:44:00 PM more reviews by micipici

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

im in love with this eyeshadow
i wear it all over the lid alone it looks multidimensional on me like dark dark grey with purple sheen i love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Spurklie on 3/29/2009 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Spurklie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This one is definitely a grower. When I first got it I rarely used it but now I find myself using it at least once a week as a crease shade. For me it's the softer, more interesting version of Carbon. Great for adding definition without the look becoming too harsh, it softens lines and smokes out almost any lid colour you choose. It's a velvet finish so blends and smudges really well. Haven't really used it as an all over lid colour, bit too dark for that. I'd describe the colour as deep slightly reddish charcoal. Doesn't sound like it would work but it does. A staple.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arikabh on 2/17/2009 5:09:00 AM more reviews by arikabh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this velvet shade for smokey eyes. It doesnt pack on easily but shows up dusty and matte. This is really nice with brown eyes. This looks so good on the lid but Ricepaper underneath. I love Smolder eye pencil with this especially. This color works great for Blondes as well as darker haired ladies,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Milena on 1/5/2009 2:04:00 PM more reviews by Milena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Smut is a dark sooty grey with slight purplish tones. Most greys end up turning a little blue on my eyelids, but Smut is the only one I've found that doesn't. This is great blended all over the lid for a smoky eye, used in the crease or outer V, or applied with a dampened eyeliner brush and used a liner. It has a nice, soft texture that's long-lasting. A highly versatile eyeshadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HellsBelles on 12/13/2008 11:50:00 PM more reviews by HellsBelles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I swapped for this eyeshadow a few weeks back, and it just sat in my palette until last night. I was running late for a date with my fiancee and I needed to put together something fast. I applied Smut to my entire eyelid, and used Dazzlelight to blend it up into my brow bone, and I had the perfect smokey eye. I used Smut underneath my lower lashline added some black liner and mascara, and voila! I had the perfect, easy, fast smokey look. I can't believe that I had ignored this gorgeous eyeshadow with so much potential! It's such a pretty color and really makes my green-grey eyes stand out. The next combo I will try with this will be Seedy Pearl on the lid with Smut in the crease and Carbon in the outer V. I think the Seedy Pearl will help bring out the gorgeous purple tones in Smut. This is one of my favorite MAC shadows and I know that I will purchase it again when I run out.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 utopiancity on 10/30/2008 11:40:00 PM more reviews by utopiancity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use this one sparingly, because it is quite dark. But I also use it as an eye liner -- just wet a liner brush and mix it with the smut and then line away! I like it, will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Steph0891 on 8/23/2008 10:11:00 PM more reviews by Steph0891

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i love this eyeshadow. i like to pair it w/ patina and ricepaper. this is definately something i could use up and would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ginger9 on 8/7/2008 9:16:00 AM more reviews by ginger9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Yes I would buy this over and over and over again. I have this in a palette and ignored it for the longest time. Looked uninteresting until I gave it a whirl. The texture is excellent, super pigmented, it's dark enough for a C35 (me) but not harsh like black e/s can be. I own quite a few e/s and this one is going to be HG for me, stands next to woodwinked my other HG so that is saying a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ShimmerRay on 7/14/2008 8:48:00 AM more reviews by ShimmerRay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

This eyeshadow is great for creating a smoky effect but for people like me who prefer to use a single colour most of the time, would rather go for other colours as smut is a little too strong on its own.
So match it with other eyeshadows like "Forgery", "Crystal Avalanche", you know along those line; shimmery and whitish, and it'll bring out smut's full potential in creating a smoky effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products