MAC Satin - Smut

4.5

136 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/10/2009 3:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Smut ... it's everything I was hoping Embark would be. I agree with reviewer below that says if you were to buy one MAC, this would be a good one to start with. Pretty, blendable, color - great for a smoky eye. Like someone below says, it's not black, gray, brown or purple - it's kinda all of these colors! Long lasting. Love this!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 8/4/2009 8:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my smokey eye staple, amazingly easy to blend, and like someone else said, it's mistake-proof. With a pot of Smut and a really good quality eyeshadow brush, say a MAC 217, it really does make a gorgeous just-the-right-amount-of-smokiness-eye. I use this for night's out - I used to use Carbon/Print before I found this - it's an amazing eyeshadow. I'm on my first pot, but I have a back-up already.


on 7/17/2009 10:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favourite eyeshadow formula/colour EVER!

Whoever said its a staple for any makeup-bag, you are spot-on. I have found this product to be great for smokey heavy eye looks, blending, or wearing even alone along the lashline. The colour's fantastic with my brown/hazel eyes, and great when i'm my natural hair colour (light red), blonde and dark.

Seriously - if you are going to buy ONE dark shadow from MAC, get this one. Not Carbon, or Contrast, or Cloudburst - SMUT. Simply because its not grey, its not black, its not purple and its not brown. Its a perfect blend of them all.

The wear of course is impeccable as with all MAC shadows, and also almost fault-proof.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2009 11:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This has become my new favourite eyeshadow from MAC! The color is very pretty and blends really well! Recommend this as a staple for any makeup bag!


on 4/29/2009 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

im in love with this eyeshadow
i wear it all over the lid alone it looks multidimensional on me like dark dark grey with purple sheen i love it


on 3/29/2009 3:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This one is definitely a grower. When I first got it I rarely used it but now I find myself using it at least once a week as a crease shade. For me it's the softer, more interesting version of Carbon. Great for adding definition without the look becoming too harsh, it softens lines and smokes out almost any lid colour you choose. It's a velvet finish so blends and smudges really well. Haven't really used it as an all over lid colour, bit too dark for that. I'd describe the colour as deep slightly reddish charcoal. Doesn't sound like it would work but it does. A staple.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2009 5:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like this velvet shade for smokey eyes. It doesnt pack on easily but shows up dusty and matte. This is really nice with brown eyes. This looks so good on the lid but Ricepaper underneath. I love Smolder eye pencil with this especially. This color works great for Blondes as well as darker haired ladies,


on 1/5/2009 2:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Smut is a dark sooty grey with slight purplish tones. Most greys end up turning a little blue on my eyelids, but Smut is the only one I've found that doesn't. This is great blended all over the lid for a smoky eye, used in the crease or outer V, or applied with a dampened eyeliner brush and used a liner. It has a nice, soft texture that's long-lasting. A highly versatile eyeshadow.


on 12/13/2008 11:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I swapped for this eyeshadow a few weeks back, and it just sat in my palette until last night. I was running late for a date with my fiancee and I needed to put together something fast. I applied Smut to my entire eyelid, and used Dazzlelight to blend it up into my brow bone, and I had the perfect smokey eye. I used Smut underneath my lower lashline added some black liner and mascara, and voila! I had the perfect, easy, fast smokey look. I can't believe that I had ignored this gorgeous eyeshadow with so much potential! It's such a pretty color and really makes my green-grey eyes stand out. The next combo I will try with this will be Seedy Pearl on the lid with Smut in the crease and Carbon in the outer V. I think the Seedy Pearl will help bring out the gorgeous purple tones in Smut. This is one of my favorite MAC shadows and I know that I will purchase it again when I run out.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 10/30/2008 11:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this one sparingly, because it is quite dark. But I also use it as an eye liner -- just wet a liner brush and mix it with the smut and then line away! I like it, will repurchase.


Back to Top