Paul Mitchell • Super Skinny Daily Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 2.8(154 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 juicymelons on 5/12/2008 8:27:00 PM more reviews by juicymelons

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Let me start off by saying that I am a stylist myself, but have never been too much of a fan of PM products. But I used the Super Skinny Serum on a client one day, and her hair came out wonderfully, and it smelled like apple jolly ranchers! I am not somebody who is bothered by strong smelling products, and in fact I like them, because I am a smoker, and I like to use things with a strong scent to cover up the smoke smell. Anyway, another girl I work with recommended I try this after I inquired about it, she said it really tames curls and, as a bonus, it also has that same green apple scent. I was sold.

I have normal textured hair, not at all fine, but not what you'd call thick, but I have a LOT of it. I blow dry and flat iron almost every day, because when left to air dry, my hair has a very strange, half wavy-half pin straight texture, and tends to be frizzy. It is, however, in fairly good condition, because I work hard to keep it that way, and I ALWAYS use professional products, keep up on my trims, etc. etc.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this hardly lathers. I use a little bit and work it into my hair, then rinse, and repeat. The conditioner works wonderfully to detangle, and actually, the shampoo doesn't leave my hair feeling tangled at all, which is nice, and the smell is fabulous. Those are the only redeeming qualities this product has. I got a conditioning treatment last Friday which a product with an extremely strong scent. Today is Monday night, and 3 shampoos later, and I can still smell the aforementioned conditioning treatment...which doesn't say much for the cleansing quality of the product. It didn't cut down on my drying time at all and, as a matter of fact, made it longer, I think. My hair feels greasy while I'm blowdrying and only feels normal after I have flat ironed it and am completely done with my hair. I will say that during the day, my hair feels nice, and there is definitely no frizz, and it doesn't feel greasy at all, only while I'm blowdrying. I will obviously need to use a clarifying treatment under the dryer, and I will be tossing both the shampoo and conditioner in the trash. For me, another PM product that I absolutely hate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iamtr0uble on 4/1/2008 12:11:00 AM more reviews by iamtr0uble

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love how Paul Mitchell is cruelty-free:) The shampoo I find to be very moisturizing & smoothing for my hair. The smell is the only thing that puts me off a lil' bit.....like sour green apples or something of that sort. However, I think I'm going to try to find a shampoo that has a matching conditioner that I love as well, b/c the Super Skinny conditioner felt like I was putting Elmer's glue in my hair:( Very weird, very unenjoyable. Did, weirdly enough after rinsing it out though, leave my hair to be soft & smooth.....but texture of product is just too weird for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Arbybarbie1979 on 3/11/2008 3:39:00 PM more reviews by Arbybarbie1979

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in a kit because I wanted to try the super skinny serum. I left the shampoo sitting in a drawer for a long while before using. I have given this about 3-4 tries. It seems to not cleanse as well as I would like. I have fine, color treated, past shoulder length hair with some damage to the ends. I don't like my hair on the days I use this. It leaves my hair just blah, dull, lifeless and no bounce whatsoever. This is going in the trash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perklunk9 on 3/4/2008 5:59:00 PM more reviews by perklunk9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I just can't understand why this product has so many bad reviews, I have dry hair down to my waist, and this shampoo/conditioner really worked for me. it's probably definatley not for shorter hair, because it would weigh it down a whole lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kayabea on 2/19/2008 3:22:00 PM more reviews by Kayabea

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This shampo and conditioner is perfect for my thick,curly, kinky hair. It helps smooth it out beautifully when I blow it dry, and it looks very straight and healthy. I've had many compliments since using both.. However, I can see how it would be too much for people who have thinner and straighter hair, I use very little conditioner, like the amount of a dime, rub it on my hands and then my hair. That is more than enough. I will buy both the shampoo and conditioner again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EmmaJohnson on 2/14/2008 6:19:00 PM more reviews by EmmaJohnson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay let me give you some background on myself. I have very long (down to the middle of my back) hair. It is light brown with natural red and blonde highlights, and I have never colored it in my life. It, however, is very "poofy". It isn't straight, and it isn't curly. It has a very slight wave to it, but it's just a frizz monster. My hair itself is dry, but my roots and scalp are both very oily. I absolutely hate it. One day I got my hair cut and my hair was so straight and silky so I asked the lady what shampoo she used. She told me paul mitchell smoothing super skinny shampoo. Of course, being the sucker that I am, I went and purchased the shampoo, the conditioner, and the serum. As soon as I got home I immediately hopped in the shower. This shampoo is absolutely horrible. I simply could not get it to lather. It's practically a liquid astringent! I couldn't work it through my hair either. After washing, I found a handful of my hair between my fingers. This stuff is drying and it RIPS your hair out. It left that squeaky, tight feeling you get when you overwash your hair. And I didn't even use that much product! After I got out of the shower, my hair was tangly, dry, and frizzier than before. I also noticed a few brand new split ends courtesy of Paul Mitchell himself. I couldn't get my wide-toothed comb through it, so I was forced to use a BRUSH even though everyone knows you're not supposed to brush your hair when it's wet. My brush was covered in snagged, tugged-out hair. I blow-dryed, and it took the same amount of time as it normally would. My hair was still frizzy. It wasn't smooth or silky, or straight for that matter. This stuff is also very expensive. My hair felt like straw and I just cannot even fathom how this stuff is endorsed by hairstylists. DO NOT buy this. It's just so horrible...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 alanafelicia on 2/2/2008 2:56:00 PM more reviews by alanafelicia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wrote a great review for this shampoo after tring it 1 time. i am now back after trying it a bunch of times and it is HORRIBLE. i totally changed my opinion on this one as it ended up making my hair dry dry dry and it had a greasy coating and film! what could be worse? i had bought a HUGE bottle of it and now i am going to toss it out. yuk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sarahviolett on 1/31/2008 6:59:00 PM more reviews by sarahviolett

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Thanks Paul Mitchell, I now have straw as hair!
I purchased this last time I was at the salon, tried it, along with the conditioner and serum once, and will never touch it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChristinaSF on 1/29/2008 5:45:00 PM more reviews by ChristinaSF

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

My HG Shampoo/Conditioner!

I have a lot of fine, long, straight hair that is prone to frizz.

The shampoo and conditioner both smell like apples.

I always use the shampoo and conditioner together, and find that, on the days I use them, my hair dries about 5 minutes faster than usual, using a hairdryer. If I let my hair air dry, it's less frizzy than normal, straighter with some frizzy body towards the ends of my hair. If I blowdry my hair straight, it becomes very manageable, shiny, little to no frizz (depending on the weather). I can also style it to have lots of shiny body using curlers - and get curly body instead of frizzy body.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtalla27 on 1/29/2008 12:58:00 PM more reviews by mtalla27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the worst shampoo ever. About four months ago I decided to try something new so I picked this up from CVS along with the Skinny Conditioner. Washed and dried my hair. Horrible. My hair felt like starchy like straw. Now I am blessed with good hair and it isn't processed, dyed, etc...This shampoo/cond thickened my hair to the point where I couldn't even run my fingers through it. Naturally after this awful experience I switched to Aveda, which is the best haircare ever. Stupidly I left this stuff in my shower rack and when my cousin came to visit she used it. Of course she had the same reaction to the shampoo and was extremely disappointed by the texture of her hair. Now it is in the back of my linen closet-it should be in the trash b.c I can't think of anyone who would like this. The good reviews on this product were shocking to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paul Mitchell products

More Shampoo products