Almay • One Coat Mascara (lengthening) • Mascara

rated 3.7(141 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 saphire82 on 5/28/2008 8:35:00 PM more reviews by saphire82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'll just get to the point, its too natural like you dont even have anything on, just slightly changes the color of you lashes (I had black), therefore the lengthening aspect of it isnt even there. I think think would only be good if you wanted to look REALLY natural. Takes too long to keep swiping and swiping to get anything on...good think I got it for extremely cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 libra4 on 5/6/2008 1:35:00 AM more reviews by libra4

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this as my everyday mascara; I buy both Black and Black/Brown. My lashes are long and thick, but straight and mostly invisible (almost blonde), so I need something that colors and gets all the way to the tips of my lashes without thickening (which on me just look weird). I also have a medical condition that causes me to have dangerously dry eyes (don't produce enough tears to naturally flush out debris), so I really, really need something that doesn't flake. This does the trick. It doesn't do anything to add curl, and in fact doesn't hold curl as reliably as I'd like (I take the trouble to use a curler before application, so I'd like to know that the curl will stay). For this, minus 1 lippie. But it applies easily and smoothly, and it darkens my lashes from tip to root. The brush design also manages to get the odd little batch of shorter lashes on one of my eyes, too. I don't have much trouble with it clumping. I always comb just to make sure, and never do I get one of those missile-sized flakes in my eye as I have with other products. Nor does this flake later in the day. The look is more naturally pretty than glamorous, but that's fine for me. Getting one's eyes irrigated in the Emergency Room isn't particularly glamorous either. So overall I am quite happy with this mascara, and pray pray pray that, like most of my favorites of everything else have been, this is never discontinued.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shilohcalista on 3/21/2008 12:28:00 AM more reviews by shilohcalista

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I rotate mascaras and always come back to this one. It is gentle, non irritating, non drying, doesn't give me raccoon eyes, and can be built up for a very full but still natural, soft, looking lash line. It takes alot more than one coat for my liking but never clumps which is a major plus. For me, this is more of a lash volume builder than lengthening but I still love it all the same.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sterlingK on 3/6/2008 2:04:00 AM more reviews by sterlingK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

This is a nice, standard mascara. Comfortable to wear all day at a stressful job without worrying about smudges or flaking. It's natural looking enough to be very appropriate for a daytime look but it's not something I would use for a dramatic eye. I will repurchase again because I wear it to work, but I will give the thickening version of this a try as well since it has gotten slightly better reviews.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zoegirl1987 on 2/10/2008 6:49:00 PM more reviews by zoegirl1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Other    

Very much a natural look mascara, but it's extremely gentle on my sensative, contact wearing eyes. I've used mascaras that give a more dramatic(preferable) look but Almay mascara's are the only ones that don't irritate my eyes. I like the brush on this, fat and lots of bristles so no clumps and defined individual lashes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 twinkilass on 2/5/2008 9:41:00 PM more reviews by twinkilass

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this mascara goes on kind of dry. it gives more of a natural look rather than a dramatic one. i didn't notice a whole lot of help in the lengthening department. it does give some volume, but also flakes. i tried it in black/brown, but might have liked it better if i had tried it in black. overall this mascara is just ok. if you're looking for something quick to apply before work or school for a daily volumizing look i guess this would be ok. i much prefer a more dramatic lengthening look though so i won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pop_puppy on 12/24/2007 1:50:00 AM more reviews by pop_puppy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Found HG mascara. Doesn't smudge, is clump free and makes my eyes pop. It makes a mess-free thick falsie look when I choose to build it up with multiple coats. The brush isn't fancy but does the job well.
But baby, it's all the formula. It's not gloppy and gross like some I tried.

Edit: Bourjois Maxi Frange Waterproof is now HG for me because of the waterproof factor. Because of my oily skin condition, this isn't working for me anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 susaneec on 12/16/2007 12:37:00 AM more reviews by susaneec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a mascara that stays in rotation in my rather limited makeup routine. I like a fairly natural, me-at-my-best look and this product gives my eyes that appearance time after time. It darkens and lengthens my lashes subtly, never leaving the dreaded spidery look. Not once have I ever had to comb out a clump after application. It's easy to apply and easy to remove. I wear contacts and have never experienced irritation related to flaking or allergic reactions. I gladly repurchase this product again and again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 balmmom on 9/14/2007 12:36:00 AM more reviews by balmmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am not a big fan of mascara, but this is the one I wear because it goes on light and not stiff or sticky. There's no strange smell and it doesn't clump when I put it on. I have sensitive eyes and this mascara has never caused a reaction. I also like that it doesn't get everywhere when you take it off (like Maybelline Great Lash mascara). I think this is an excellent product and I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 morningmusume on 9/3/2007 3:43:00 PM more reviews by morningmusume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great mascara for the natural look. It never clumps and rarely smudges. It doesn't hold a curl though, which is why I took off one lippie. I'm looking for a dramatic mascara, so I probably won't purchase this again. If you already have perfectly curled lashes, I REALLY recommend you give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products