Ben Nye • Bella Luxury Powder in Banana • Loose Powders

rated 4.3(243 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Cadylately on 10/11/2013 12:32:00 AM more reviews by Cadylately

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

PROS: blends very easily, works in warm tones even though it's yellow, great concealer, great highlighter. CONS: expensive (bought mine in eBay for a great deal though!), packaging is just dumb, I have to tap some into the cap and because I use so little, I can't put the cap back on til I've used everything in it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Maybitters on 9/24/2013 9:45:00 PM more reviews by Maybitters

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Loaded with parabens and reflective shimmer. Does not prolong foundation wearing time, therefore useless as a setting powder, also clings to any dry spots even on my extra oily exfoliated face, accentuates pores on my forehead and especially cheeks. Doesn't change the colour of your foundation to a yellow tone (damn lol) I have noticed a slight improvement in the appearance of my under eye area when using this as opposed to just bare foundation and this will be the only area I will be using this. You do get a lot of product for your dosh. Packaging sucks, mine has the sifter, and gets messy. Won't be repurchasing as I was more after a good matte setting powder and this stuff will last forever if only used under eye area

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blubberina on 9/21/2013 10:50:00 PM more reviews by blubberina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like this powder. But with skin like mine that oils up really intensely - like I've-been-single-handedly-keeping-the-oil-blotting-paper-industry-alive oily - it doesn't do the job. Granted, it does keep the oil at bay longer than usual, maybe 3-4 hours away whereas without it there'd be oil on my face within 1-2 hours with the regular blot-and-pressed powder touch up routine. That's good enough for me! Besides there's just a finish to it which makes it look like my skin is glowing. That too makes it a hit for me. Still I'll probably buy the Neutral Set powder next in case I run out, just to try it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prppygrl69 on 9/17/2013 3:36:00 PM more reviews by prppygrl69

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I. Am. In. LOVE! I have VERY oily skin and this keeps me pretty matte all day. I can look too yellow if I use it everywhere as I have pink undertones. But it just brightens the face up. You get a good amount of product. I love this powder. Not much more I can say. Well besides the packaging. But if you keep it upright,you're good to go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Astrokitt on 9/10/2013 3:29:00 AM more reviews by Astrokitt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was in love with this loose powder for 3 months ... and then I worked out it was causing my pores to clog and I developed milia on the skin around my eyes. If you've never heard of milia before - google it - they're little raised bumps of skin. I've never had milia before in my life and I thought it odd that it appeared out of the blue. I began to eliminate various possible culprits from my eye creams to eye shadows and in the end I believe it was this loose powder.

My milia cleared up straight away when I stopped using the powder. When I read into Ben Nye, and the ingredients list - I found the brand had its roots in stage makeup. Really heavy duty long lasting stuff. Which is great if your skin can handle it - mine can't. I used it to set my makeup, and its incredibly fine and last most of the day without going shiny until late afternoon. A little is all you need. A downer is it comes in a little plastic bottle is so you need to shake out the powder on to the back of your hand or a palette and dust it on.

So overall, a truly an excellent powder - just not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 8/31/2013 6:42:00 PM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I've never reviewed this product before, it's one of my top make up staples! I first discovered 'Banana Powder' last year, and ordered the 1.5oz jar. It comes with a sifter opening and to me has a pleasantly sweet scent. To look at it, it is very yellow and it is extremely finely milled. So my favourite method of using it in my make up routine is after I've applied my concealer under my eyes or around the sides of my nose. The perfect brush I've found for application is the Real Techniques 'Deluxe Crease Brush' in the Starter Kit. I just dip the brush into the powder then use it to buff the powder under my eyes and everywhere else. The powder is applied and buffed in exactly where I want it to be. I don't use all over my face - just where I've applied my concealer. My concealer NEVER creases and is set in place for the whole day. There is no cakey look, nor does the powder settling into my lines. Not only that, but my under-eye area looks much brighter, but not in that unnatural way you see sometimes on Kim K. It's worth noting though I have an NC25 skin tone with yellow/olive undertones.


Overall, it is the most perfect powder to set your concealer with the additional benefit of brightening your under-eye area. I also love the price of this powder - from the US it came to around £10! Considering I use it almost everyday, I still have more than 3/4 of the jar left!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissBeautyAdikt on 8/31/2013 6:21:00 PM more reviews by MissBeautyAdikt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been trying to track this Ben Nye Powder for so long and finally i found it in the UK! I am so pleased i have purchased this because it certainly does live up to all the hype! This is the powder that is used on Kim Kardashian by her makeup artist.

It comes in a sifter jar, but i find it very messy and the powder just gets everywhere! Ben Nye Banana Powder is perfect for setting your makeup and and the yellowness of the powder compliments my skin tone and doesn't make it look ashy. I like to use this to set my makeup for my entire face, however, it can just be used to set your under eye concealer.

I have tried and tested this and it was mentioned in one of my YouTube videos and used a lot in tutorials. For those who have combination skin, this is perfect! I didn't need to touch up my face throughout the day because it doesn't look shiny! It controls shine very well and brightens up your complexion. The yellow powder suits many skin tones and you get a lot of powder for the price!

The only downside is that it is very hard to get hold of in the UK! Overall, i love this product and it is something i will be happy to have in my professional makeup kit.

Pictures and full post is on the blog: http://goo.gl/tk9Iu6

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frckls on 8/13/2013 5:27:00 PM more reviews by frckls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Thank you to my fairy-godmother, April, for giving me this magical dust.

I never really cared for setting powder. I used to use powder foundation and I just didn't care to add extra layer of powder. Plus, I tried Tarte Smooth Operator Micronized Clay Finishing Powder and was not happy at all about the chalky finish and feel.

Then I thought I should try exploring other things, I got recommended and sent a pot of this by a lovely and angelic MUA member (you know who you are!) to try, along with some other stuff. I figured it was pretty good at first to set my concealer, but I thought there must be something better out there.

Things escalated when I started using my current staple ss (until I find a better one) which is very finicky with makeups on top of it. Since many bases I've tried don't sit well on my skin (liquids, cremes and powders; including the very highly touted Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk and Cargo blu_ray Powder among others), I gave up and just stick with my trusted Inglot Under Eye Concealer with this patted and dusted on top.

Among all other bases I've tried, this is the one that kept my colleagues asking "Now, what foundation are you trying now, because your skin looks amazing and glowing." Pretty funny, because I barely use any base. Even NARS Tinted Moisturizer didn't garner me half as much compliment.

It is very finely milled and the color yellow really suits my NC30 with yellow undertone skin amazingly well, so it doesn't make me look chalky or ghostly. It blurs imperfections and makes my skin looks so smooth and polished. It doesn't have really amazing oil control, but I can easily touch up since I have this in a pot with sifter and little puff.

I wish cosmetic stores here (where I usually find theatrical makeup brands) will start carrying this little gem soon! Definite repurchase. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 izzaphilia on 8/12/2013 8:48:00 AM more reviews by izzaphilia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I use this setting powder to highlight my undereyes and t zone. I also use a tiny bit of it all over my face before sealing my makeup. For me, it's best set over a yellow toned concealer with a damp latex sponge then blended with a fan brush. I didn't want to cave in to the hype but most reviews swear by it. I got the 3.0 oz for PhP700, which is about $16 at Purebeauty. I think that it's a great deal because most online resellers charge a range of 800 to 1000+ without shipping cost! My worry is that if I finish the bottle, it'll be difficult to get my hands on one at that price again, because a friend of mine got one at the newly opened Alabang branch. I've been waiting for it from their Serendra and Trinoma branches for months! :)

This powder doesn't budge. At. All. It didn't wear out for hours, with no primer underneath! No visible settling in lines, no caking and cracking. I have yet to see how it will fare on a night out, which in my opinion is the gold standard test for an HG. But the banana powder gets that seal from me immediately because I don't look ashy, and there is no white cast in photos.

Only cons are the parabens in it, which might not be suitable for some skin types. The packaging also needs improvement. I need to transfer it in a cosmetic sifting case to secure it since the shaker bottle pours out too much. A solution I use while I'm too busy to do that is poking only 1-3 holes through the sticker plastic or cutting through it to control the product from getting messy. Pretty easy to live by than buying products more expensive but with less on it!

Please bother to research if this shade is right for you. Some reviewers gave it a low rating because it is "too yellow" for their skin tone. Ben Nye offers a wide range of shades, check them out online or in stores.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Divanance on 8/7/2013 11:39:00 PM more reviews by Divanance

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love did I mention I love this product. I found out about it on YouTube from a beauty guru.. This stuff is amazing! Flawless setting powder for your concealer. Overall it makes a HUGE difference! Buy this product! this is the stuff Kim K makeup artist uses and I see why. It Makes you look more glamorous and flawless which is what we all want right :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ben Nye products

More Loose Powders products