MAC • Marine Life [DISCONTINUED] • Highlighters

rated 4.3(124 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 rochas2 on 5/30/2010 5:35:00 PM more reviews by rochas2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It's unfortunate that this has that freaking gold seahorse on it, because of that it was hyped up and now I can't get my hands on a backup. This gives you a great sunburn-reminiscent bright coral glow. I've never used anything like it, it's fantastic. I think this could look clown-ish on the pale or cool toned ladies. Minus one lipstick tube for the seahorse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 t4nvmind on 5/30/2010 4:32:00 PM more reviews by t4nvmind

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Yes another rave and no I didn't buy it for the hype. I like it the first moment I saw it's picture online which is way before everyone raving about it. I know from the start that the gold is overspray, it would not be light enough for a highlighter and I'm only after the color underneath. At first I thought it wouldn't be that pigmented but when I put it on, it was "wow". Yes, it is very pigmented on my NC30 but if you use a stippling brush to apply, it is a very nice sun-kiss glow. I use it on my sister and her friends and they look really doll-like in a good way. My advice is this might work better for younger ppl for it's bright, too bright to be exact. This blush captures youth and boldness so if you aren't into that then this is not for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cocodivatime on 5/30/2010 3:24:00 PM more reviews by cocodivatime

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Personally this color did not wow me when I tried it in the store. It is very pigmented and a bit too bright of a coral for my liking. I am MAC NC44. For others this may work if you enjoy a very bold coral.

I ended up buying it anyway because it was so hyped up I felt like maybe I could make it work for me... but I may end up never using it. We'll see.

I don't think this is a must have unless you are just into collecting. Furthermore it's certainly not worth paying over retail. Just my opinion

In summary, if you are a MAC collector then its worth hunting down. This will go down in the books with Lightscapade, Metal Rock and Ripe Peach in terms of its highly coveted popularity. But in terms of being an all out universally fabulous product, it falls extremely short. Due to its extreme coral color it should be a very individual choice on whether or not it will work for you

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ProductNymphet on 5/30/2010 3:33:00 AM more reviews by ProductNymphet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I'm giving this a high rating because it's very pigmented and the color might work for others. I became interested in this because it was advertised as a highlighter. When I saw it in person, I quickly realized it was more of a blush than a highlighter, but I decided to buy anyway on the premises that it might be a nice shimmery blush.

I'm very fair with slight yellow undertones (MAC C2). I guess you could say I'm more neutral. I bought this thinking the coral would warm up my complexion. I applied this with a light hand using a skunk brush. the color looks more like a dark pink than a coral. I really wish it was a true coral. I'll stick with my Kevyn Aucoin The Creamy Moist Glow Cheek Color in Tansoleil in the mean time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CeCe11 on 5/30/2010 12:58:00 AM more reviews by CeCe11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great coral colour great for all skintones, especially for fairer skins that are yellow-toned, since we have warmer undertones, so these colours *typically* suit us better than the pink pink blushes.

Since it comes with 10g of product and I only use a light dab with my 187, this is going to last a really long time. It truly is beautiful, and it does work better when used without the overspray.

I really rec this for fair yellow-toned skin and and med-dark skintones. It really imparts a really nice flush to the skin and since it is so pigmented, it will definately last you a really long time. Also, it lasts longer on my skin than other mac blushes. I've had it on over 12 hrs & at a fast food job with no loss of colour/intensity, while with Hipness there was definate loss of colour.

Also, while used mainly as blush, with NC15/20 skin, it is possible to use as a highlighter, and it looks very nice. I hope this helps!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Takota on 5/29/2010 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Takota

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I hate being the one to spoil good rating of this product but to be honest I agree that its a bit overhyped)) I do like the colors(which were described as a highlighter but to dark for that). I use it as a blush, but I do find that its bit too shimmery. The design is super cute....the golden part is just an overspray...and thats pretty much it...nothing too special just the seahorse)))Looks kinda similar to the blush hipness(except hipness is not as shimmery)if you have to pick between this two pick hipness I use it more often then ML. So yeah....its a lovely product but nothing amazing...imho.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kavitacaviezel on 5/29/2010 6:24:00 PM more reviews by Kavitacaviezel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased a few items from MAC to the Beach bright and early when Macy's opened on launch day and the sales girl has ONE Marine Life left. The store literally was open all of 5 minutes, and there were about 4 gals AHEAD OF ME buying MAC. I passed on it. I felt it was so similar to NARS Orgasm, (which I own) that I didn't purchase. So much hype. Really really cute packaging, but I still passed on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bruno777 on 5/29/2010 5:26:00 PM more reviews by bruno777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I honestly don't see what all the hype is about. Yes the packaging is cute but that's about it. It's an okay blush. Once the overspray is gone it is nothing more than a regular blush. NAR's Taj Mahal and Exhibit A blows this blush out of the water. Maybe I feel this way because on darker hues, orange compliments the skin alot better than peaches and corals. Ladies please don't pay the outrageous prices on Ebay. Sellers are charging an arm and a leg for this. MAC will repromote Marine Life again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* insanity89 on 5/29/2010 11:06:00 AM more reviews by insanity89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

i use this as a blush with the baby pink part as a highlight or swirled together. it's a gorgeous colour once its on. i didn't want to use it because of the overspray being wiped away but its gorgeous. i ordered one online also but picked another one up at my local store just incase the one i ordered would be cancelled but it wasn't yet. love this product. i used it with the 187 and a light hand. looks gorgeous on my nc15 skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Inyoung on 5/28/2010 11:16:00 PM more reviews by Inyoung

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'll be honest, I didn't, that's right, I didn't buy it for the packaging/sea horse or whatever it is. I bought it as a blush. Being an NC40, there's a bunch of products I miss out on when MAC comes out with their collections because they don't show up on my skintone, but when I went to my macy's counter yesterday and swatched the powder, I was so impressed. I thought I was going to be better off with Hipness which came off super sheer (it is a sheertone blush, haha) but was BLOWN away with the pigmentation that this has! I seriously thought that this was just some sort of mass frenzy and wasn't going to be a good product, based on it's looks...but I'm super glad that I was wrong.

After some hesitation, I went back to my macy's counter for a backup. I'm considering going back during this 3-day weekend and seeing if they have another because I'm THAT impressed with it's pigmentation. I could use this everyday! (Just being careful with the application method as it can be overwhelming if TOO much is put on the brush).

If you ladies could get one item from this collection, I definitely recommend this! & get backups if you can, because it's already rare! (:

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products