Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(147 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 pjai80 on 6/12/2011 7:56:00 PM more reviews by pjai80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily acne proned skin and out of all of the products i've tried (to control oil) this is the best so far. I didn't give it the full 5 lippys because you still get some oil but it is definitley not like before. It last longer than most, and i love the pacakging. The tube is built to prevent all of the nasty junk that occurs on a twist tube. My best friend hates the smell too, she says it smells like horrible, i don't see a big deal with it, but she loves what it does so she sucked it up. It is very expensive for a moisturizer, Like i told my bff before she bought, go to Sephora, get a sample and try it out first. I will keep buying this until someone knocks them off their throne. Im not sure if that will appen...lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hellokatieeeeee on 5/19/2011 3:19:00 AM more reviews by hellokatieeeeee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this after reading so many good reviews on it. first of all, the smell of the product was horrible...to me, it smelled like glue! like elmer's glue, no joke! but, i sucked it up and applied it to my skin. it kept me matte for about 3-4 hours which is no where close to the 8 hrs the product promised. So, i still needed to use blot powder/blot paper after. for the price, i wished it did what it promised. needless to say, i returned it. i'm still on my quest to finding the best oil mattifier!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessdell90 on 5/16/2011 12:31:00 PM more reviews by jessdell90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is one of the best (if not the best) oil control mattifiers I've tried. I like this product more than the body shoppe's seaweed oil control mattifier (which is cheaper, but makes my acne inflamed). If you have very oily skin, you should put it on 5 minutes out of the shower to see the best results, and a little bit goes a long way. This product makes my skin very soft, and keeps it matte for a good 5-6 hours (except around the nose and parts of the forehead). Now for the bad part...It is very expensive ($40), and initially when I put it on, and for a good hour or so after my face gets red...this is very strange considering my skin is very tough and not sensitive to many products. I've been using it for about 8 months now, and haven't found a better mattifier out there. It's pretty non-comedogenic (although it does not state it is), but I do still get acne afterwards (it can be just my skin or a combo between the product and my skin being crappy). Some days I'm in love with it, and others I'm indifferent...you should give it a try if you have 40$ to kill because it deffinately works the best out of probably all of the mattifiers out there...the redness issue can just be a personal allergy, but it is a huge set back for me whereas I hesitate to use this product daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nubletta on 5/11/2011 4:33:00 AM more reviews by nubletta

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually got this as an item from Sephora for the skin care challenge. That being said, I gave price a 1. I have very oily, acne prone skin. This didn't aggravate my skin at all so I haven't dealt with any additional break outs when using this. This did keep my face matte longer than other moisturizers, but it isn't a miracle product (only thing thats a miracle product for me is the Aspirin mask! But thats another review). The formula on this is very strange. Its a bit gel like.. its not very creamy. Its quite thick so you do have to work it in fast which feels really awkward for me, especially with an active break out. The price of this kind of keeps me away from repurchasing it. I will stick to my current moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheirFeathersRjust2Bright on 5/10/2011 11:45:00 PM more reviews by TheirFeathersRjust2Bright

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have very oily skin. I want to say that although this mattifier is not a miracle for me, it's really been the best mattifier I have ever tried. My face definitely gets to its usual greasiness on days I don't use this. I'm talking about the glaring at you, shiny skin oiliness. The consistency is medium-thick but it doesn't feel heavy on my face (note: I also want to share I'm used to alot of products on my face). The only thing i'm not very fond of is it has a low spf of 15. I then always add another sunscreen with better protection and it makes the spf in this product seem useless. Wish it came in a version without spf. I am probably going to update this in the summer because I only recently discovered this product and have been using it the whole winter & spring. I want to put the summer heat and my powerful oily skin to the test! But so far, it really has been a great skincare investment for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MeganHan on 5/10/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by MeganHan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, I really thought this was going to be a hit with me but after only 2 days I have decided I am returning it and going back to my other foundation primer. First, the consistency and the way that it feels going onto my skin isn't even mattifying.. it feels like a thick lotion and makes my face feel greasy (I don't know if that may be because of the SPF). I also started using it with MUFE HD foundation, which is supposed to give skin a natural glow anyways, but I have found myself blotting every hour- no joke! Also, this morning I woke up with two new blemishes around my eyebrow/forehead area.. I do have acne prone skin but have been using prescription grade products for 4 weeks now and have had 0 new blemishes until now. I am pretty sure it is from the Murad oil controller.. I looked through the ingredients and saw it contains dimethicone, which is horrible for oily/acne prone skin.. I am not quite sure why this product isnt working for me as it works for others.. but I am very disapointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pandorax on 5/4/2011 8:39:00 PM more reviews by pandorax

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My skin tends to be very oily, and I've tried a number of mattifiers and potions to help control this. Nothing has ever worked for me - except this. I used to have to blot within an hour or two of washing my face and then every other hour after that. Now I blot once or twice a day. So it isn't perfect oil control, but it helps a lot, and for me, that is a big deal! I told a friend about it, and she now uses it every day too, also with good results. It isn't the most moisturizing product, so if you need more moisture you may want to layer a moisturizer on top. I love that it has spf 15 in it too. The price could be cheaper for the amount you get, but for what it does, I'll keep buying it, unless I find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rsantos2 on 5/2/2011 10:55:00 PM more reviews by rsantos2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My face is VERY oily. No matter what I do or what products I've used, my face is guaranteed to get oily in an hour. After a few hours, it's even oilier. This is in any type of weather, but it gets worse in the summer. I would use blotting sheets every few hours. Sometimes even two. The first time I used this moisturizer, I saw a significant change in the oiliness in my face! After 12 hours, my nose was a little shiny. Other than that, the rest of my face was oil free! The shininess in my nose I can totally tolerate, especially after 12 hours! I've been using this for a few days now with the same results! I am SO HAPPY I found this moisturizer! It is very thick. You just need to spread it around and let it settle for a few minutes and you're all set! Bonus points for having SPF! The cons? Only one, the price. $40 for 1.7 ounces. I have a feeling I'm going to go through this tube very quickly. This is the best oil-control product I have ever used. I will definitely repurchase as soon as I run out of my first tube. I would give this 5 lippies, but after a few days I noticed my skin was getting getting dry and itchy. This is not a good for moisturizing at all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pquiles on 5/1/2011 12:14:00 AM more reviews by pquiles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this on the recommendation of the SA at Ulta. She gave me a choice of this and Peter Thomas Roth's mattifier, I chose this b/c of the SPF.
Epic FAIL!! I used this to last night and then again this morning. I was horrified to see my pores on my cheek extremely pronounced! Looked like pits in my cheek. Well I washed my face, but it was too late... my entire face broke out in hives and welts by the end of the day. If can make myself presentable tomorrow... it's going back to the store... PRONTO!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 draginl on 4/25/2011 3:38:00 PM more reviews by draginl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

just bought this on saturday. clinique discontinued the oil control gel that i have been using for almost 8 years! ugh. i heard the murad mattifier was great and i was desperate, so i paid the $40. they do give you a lot of product though.

so far, i've worn this twice. once to party that sat night and then the next day for some outdoor shopping/outdoor dinner plans. i am a matte freak because i am so oily. i wore makeup for ever's mat velvet + with it. i really really like this! sat night i was partying for a good six hours and i almost died when i came home and my face was still completely shine free! AMAZING! even the next day, i used my revlon colorstay with it, and it kept me reasonably matte for almost 10 hours! i think i blotted once! usually i stay far away from spf because it makes me break out but thank god i had some on my face. i was outside a lot that day and i got some great color but no burn! yay!

when you first touch this, you wont believe that it can control oil. it's very thick (a lot like glue) and it spreads on a bit thick. the key is just to rub it in WELL and give it a few minutes to soak in. i don't think i've broken out from this yet either. because of the price, i'll probably just use it for nights out. defintely not everyday. but i'm pretty happy with this and i think i have found my clinique replacement!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products