Murad Oil-Control Mattifier

4.0

161 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Ensulizole 1.0%, Octinoxate 7.5%, Zinc Oxide 3.0% Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cyclopentasiloxane, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Corn Starch Modified, Butylene Glycol, Chitosan Ascorbate, Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone, Farnesyl Acetate, Panthenyl Triacetate, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Extract, Serenoa Serrulata (Saw Palmetto) Fruit Extract, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Sodium PCA, Betaine, Sorbitol, Glycine, Alanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Arginine, Lysine, Glutamic Acid, Capryloyl Glycine, Sarcosine, Cinnamomum Zeylancium Bark Extract, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Acrylates Copolymer, Magnesium Carbonate, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Dicaprylyl Ether, Niacinamide, Yeast Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chesnut) Seed Extract, Titanium Dioxide, Algae Extract, Ammonium Glycyrrhizate, Panthenol, Zinc Gluconate, Caffeine, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates Crosspolymer, Polyglyceryl-2 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Biotin, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Chloride, Propyl Gallate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin


on 11/23/2011 10:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First off, I have combination skin, I am 25 years old and is living in California. This is one of those product that I would use on special occasions. I find using it too often, it will end up clogging my pores. Although i have the oiliest t-zone, it is not worth breaking out over. But when I do use it, this baby gives you a very natural matte look for a good amount of time. A touch-up may be needed, depending on how oily you are but overall, it doesn't make you ashy. It literally gave me the impression of how my skin would have looked like if I were to have normal skin. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/26/2011 10:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product has been a game changer for me, especially when paired with murad's skin perfecting lotion. I use this more like a primer, after I've applied the skin perfecting lotion and before I apply my mineral makeup. It makes a noticable difference in terms of how long the makeup lasts, how well it "sticks" to my face, and the amount of oil produced throughout the day. I've tried nearly every primer to improve the staying power of mineral makeup and this, by far, is the most effective one period. It has a thicker consistency and goes on a bit like spackle, dries to a powdery silky finish. This has become a staple in my skin care routine and I love this product!!


on 10/16/2011 6:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

So my face has always been really oily that I have basically given up trying to keep it shine free. And I mean really oily, that from when I wash my face to half an hr later when I get to work, I am shiny again. This stuff kept me more or less shine free during a party for 2 or 3 hours and I only had to use 2 blotting sheets for my whole face instead of 5. Score! BUT... if you are planning on having your picture taken (especially with flash), DO NOT use this as a primer. Your face will look insanely ghost like compared to your neck and like you don't know how to match your foundation/powder to your skin. I'm guessing it is because of the spf stuff that I can't think of the name right now. Or you can try a extremely thin layer of it. Or else you will want to burn all the pictures like I did. On the plus side, it is a really good sunscreen for the face.

Packaging wise, the holes for the tube and for the cap are strange. The tube one is larger than the cap so you will potentially have a lot of product build up in the cap. And it has the consistency of liquidy paste. I never store this thing cap down and I apply a lot of little dots all over my face and the spread or else I would overapply to one spot on my face just bc it won't spread.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2011 4:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my HG until recently, when I was put on RX meds and my skin was too irritated to handle it. Seriously-if you've got oily skin, save up your money and BUY THIS. You'll have perfectly smooth, non-greasy skin that isn't dried out all day. I miss it.


on 10/12/2011 12:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm a really oily person. I've been looking for oil control products for a year or two now, and I finally stepped upon Murad's Oil Control Mattifier. And it works like magic for me, i don't blot anymore(goodbye blotting papers), unless on a very hot day I have to dab a little powder or blot some spots.

It totally control my oil release.

Though this does not totally leave my face as totally matte, more of like a satin-matte finish shine after hours of use. I don't find it ugly but more of a healthy glow.

I'm totally sticking with this one, even though its costs so much at my country. Around 80usd!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2011 4:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I first recieved this product as a sephora sample and soon bought a full size. It does dry really fast once you begin to spread it out on your skin but once you get the hang of it, it shouldn't be a hassle. When i first smelled the product, I gagged. Its so strong and over-whelming! But it didn't matter once it absorbed into my skin. The moisturizer does work but its not the greatest! Overall, if you want a moisturizer worth its prise, don't get it...there might as well be another moisturizer cheaper that may perhaps have the same consistency as the Murad Oil-Control Moisturizer. Though, I will say..this is a good product.


az1

on 8/14/2011 8:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A little goes a long way with this product! I highly recommend it if you have oily skin. On the rare occasion I forget to put this on, I can tell as soon as I finish my makeup. It really helps your makeup go on smoother and your skin looks better.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I received samples of this product and decided to start using it since I am in Arizona right now and it's summer! I was really impressed!

The texture isn't that bad... I didn't really notice until I read the other reviews here and it does resemble glue a little but it's nothing that turned me off.

I use it after washing my face with my clarisonic brush. Then apply MUFE HD foundation, MAC Prep + Prime translucent powder, and MAC MSF Natural. I've been really happy with the results- MUCH LESS oil in my T-zone and my face looks less shiny in general (which I hate LOL). I think it does help foundation stay on longer as well.

If you have really dry skin, you might want to use a moistrizer too. I just use a little Mary Kay eye cream around my eyes since they've been the only dry area on my face lately.

Def going to buy this in the full size when my little sampler runs out. If you have oily skin or live in a humid/hot area you might want to look into this:) Sephora often has samples!


on 7/31/2011 4:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have acne-pore skin yet, oily always. This moisturizer is SPF 15 and it is dmoisturized enough while oil controlling very well. I had used a lot of oil-free moisturizer but they nonetheless made my face oily in 15 minutes or less. I took off a point is because the product is too creamy, which means you need to use a lot at a time, and as a result, it ran out very quickly.


on 7/25/2011 11:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this mattifier for several months now and it's definitely a winner for me. Yes, it has a glue-like texture but the product is effective, so I don't mind that so much. I have combo skin that tends to lean oily during the summer. Right now, Murad + MAC Pro Longwear foundation + Maybelline Dream Matte powder is my HG summer combination. This mattifier keeps me from getting overly oily, especially in my t-zone. I don't have to blot as often when I use this. During the summer, I can use this alone under my makeup; however, during the winter, I usually need a moisturizer in addition to it since I get drier areas around my cheeks and lips. I wish this product weren't so expensive, but you can find it cheaper on Amazon or eBay. I would repurchase this.


Back to Top