Murad Oil-Control Mattifier

4.0

164 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Ensulizole 1.0%, Octinoxate 7.5%, Zinc Oxide 3.0% Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cyclopentasiloxane, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Corn Starch Modified, Butylene Glycol, Chitosan Ascorbate, Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone, Farnesyl Acetate, Panthenyl Triacetate, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Extract, Serenoa Serrulata (Saw Palmetto) Fruit Extract, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Sodium PCA, Betaine, Sorbitol, Glycine, Alanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Arginine, Lysine, Glutamic Acid, Capryloyl Glycine, Sarcosine, Cinnamomum Zeylancium Bark Extract, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Acrylates Copolymer, Magnesium Carbonate, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Dicaprylyl Ether, Niacinamide, Yeast Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chesnut) Seed Extract, Titanium Dioxide, Algae Extract, Ammonium Glycyrrhizate, Panthenol, Zinc Gluconate, Caffeine, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates Crosspolymer, Polyglyceryl-2 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Biotin, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Aminomethyl Propanol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Chloride, Propyl Gallate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin


on 12/16/2011 1:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this primer! It is the best primer I have tried!

I have a really oily t-zone and nose. I put this on after moisturizer and it keep me looking fresh and my foudation is perfect all day. I don't even have to use blotting sheets at all anymore and I will powder around supper time if I have further plans. It does not 'ball up' like other primers I have tried. This is great stuff!

It is a bit pricey, but totally worth your money and a little bit goes a long way. My only other complaint would be the smell. It isn't great but I perfer it over a nasty perfume smell.



on 12/5/2011 4:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I have super oily skin. So oily that when I was accutane my skin was far from dry. I read the reviews here and went to sephora to grab a sample. I actually waited a few days before trying the sample because I was totally over all these primers and crap that claims to control oil. THEN! I put this on and waited a full day at work and my make-up wasn't sliding around and my nose wasn't so shiny that you could see your reflection! WHAT!? a product that works? YES! It's expensive and that's my only complaint.

***EDIT*** returned this. My skin started to break out and the daily oil on my t-zone/cheeks surfaced.


on 12/5/2011 3:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this for every day spf, oil control and light hydration. You just can't beat it. It's a very elegant product that performs exquisitely and does exactly what it says. I wish it was cheaper because I consider this an indispensable part of my daily skin-care routine, but it's so effective I can't resist it's charms.

Sun protection is SO important, and I have to say that the spf 15 in this isn't enough for my fair, sensitive skin on days when I spend significant time outdoors. On those days I like Shiseido Urban Environment SPF 35, which also has a lovely matte finish. But of course, many of us are using products with retinol, AHA/BHA's, etc. and we're shooting ourselves in the foot if we're not backing up all that skin-rejuvination with sun protection.

For oily/combination skin, I think Murad's Oil-Control Mattifier SPF 15 is perfect. I wouldn't use it if your skin is going through winter dryness or irritation from exfoliants, because it really does control oil and might leave you too dry. If my skin is a little on the dry side I like to layer this over a serum like Olay Regenerist.

On other thing I'd like to mention: several reviewers here have complained about this product's lack of efficacy as a primer. It's not a primer at all and doesn't claim to be! I don't wear foundation, but I do find that my Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Powder wears beautifully over this and I scrapped my Smashbox primer.


on 11/23/2011 10:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First off, I have combination skin, I am 25 years old and is living in California. This is one of those product that I would use on special occasions. I find using it too often, it will end up clogging my pores. Although i have the oiliest t-zone, it is not worth breaking out over. But when I do use it, this baby gives you a very natural matte look for a good amount of time. A touch-up may be needed, depending on how oily you are but overall, it doesn't make you ashy. It literally gave me the impression of how my skin would have looked like if I were to have normal skin. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2011 10:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product has been a game changer for me, especially when paired with murad's skin perfecting lotion. I use this more like a primer, after I've applied the skin perfecting lotion and before I apply my mineral makeup. It makes a noticable difference in terms of how long the makeup lasts, how well it "sticks" to my face, and the amount of oil produced throughout the day. I've tried nearly every primer to improve the staying power of mineral makeup and this, by far, is the most effective one period. It has a thicker consistency and goes on a bit like spackle, dries to a powdery silky finish. This has become a staple in my skin care routine and I love this product!!


on 10/16/2011 6:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

So my face has always been really oily that I have basically given up trying to keep it shine free. And I mean really oily, that from when I wash my face to half an hr later when I get to work, I am shiny again. This stuff kept me more or less shine free during a party for 2 or 3 hours and I only had to use 2 blotting sheets for my whole face instead of 5. Score! BUT... if you are planning on having your picture taken (especially with flash), DO NOT use this as a primer. Your face will look insanely ghost like compared to your neck and like you don't know how to match your foundation/powder to your skin. I'm guessing it is because of the spf stuff that I can't think of the name right now. Or you can try a extremely thin layer of it. Or else you will want to burn all the pictures like I did. On the plus side, it is a really good sunscreen for the face.

Packaging wise, the holes for the tube and for the cap are strange. The tube one is larger than the cap so you will potentially have a lot of product build up in the cap. And it has the consistency of liquidy paste. I never store this thing cap down and I apply a lot of little dots all over my face and the spread or else I would overapply to one spot on my face just bc it won't spread.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2011 4:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my HG until recently, when I was put on RX meds and my skin was too irritated to handle it. Seriously-if you've got oily skin, save up your money and BUY THIS. You'll have perfectly smooth, non-greasy skin that isn't dried out all day. I miss it.


on 10/12/2011 12:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm a really oily person. I've been looking for oil control products for a year or two now, and I finally stepped upon Murad's Oil Control Mattifier. And it works like magic for me, i don't blot anymore(goodbye blotting papers), unless on a very hot day I have to dab a little powder or blot some spots.

It totally control my oil release.

Though this does not totally leave my face as totally matte, more of like a satin-matte finish shine after hours of use. I don't find it ugly but more of a healthy glow.

I'm totally sticking with this one, even though its costs so much at my country. Around 80usd!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2011 4:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I first recieved this product as a sephora sample and soon bought a full size. It does dry really fast once you begin to spread it out on your skin but once you get the hang of it, it shouldn't be a hassle. When i first smelled the product, I gagged. Its so strong and over-whelming! But it didn't matter once it absorbed into my skin. The moisturizer does work but its not the greatest! Overall, if you want a moisturizer worth its prise, don't get it...there might as well be another moisturizer cheaper that may perhaps have the same consistency as the Murad Oil-Control Moisturizer. Though, I will say..this is a good product.


on 8/14/2011 8:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A little goes a long way with this product! I highly recommend it if you have oily skin. On the rare occasion I forget to put this on, I can tell as soon as I finish my makeup. It really helps your makeup go on smoother and your skin looks better.


Back to Top