Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(151 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missymarissa on 7/23/2011 1:14:00 AM more reviews by missymarissa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It's been quite agreed upon among MUA reviewers this has a wierd, yet familiar texture (think crafts projects in the 2nd grade) but since you are reading the review for this product you can be prepared to persevere throughout the experience of applying the 'glue'-like texture to your face knowing it actually is effective at controlling oil! This was a suprise from Murad, since a number of their products are totally ineffective. I actually like that it is spf 15 because my problem with a lot of suncreens is that they are greasy and break me out. This is a nice combo of having protection from sun, yet controlling oil. I have tried DDF's version of this. Same concept of oil control with an spf..not nearly as good as this. Only reason I took a lippie off is the price..I don't know if I can continue to buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chatillon on 6/19/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by chatillon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The other reviewers are absolutely right in describing this as similar to glue. The first time I dotted this around on my face, I was horrified. How was I going to spread this around, much less put make-up on top? However, despite my doubts I soldiered on, and it actually does absorb nicely after 5-10 min. (I've found applying this when my face is still slightly damp makes it easier to rub into my skin). And it does make a nice primer for make-up, plus it has sunscreen. Since I have oily skin I figure the fewer creams/lotions that I put on, the better, so I love that this a 3-in-1 (moisturizer, primer, sunscreen). This lotion does suppress oiliness, but I agree with other reviewers that it only does this for 3-4 hours. After that I need to blot pretty regularly. However, this is the best mattifier I have found so far.
Now to the cons: above I said it was a moisturizer, but in winter weather it wasn't moisturizing enough for me. Rather, during the winter months (when my oiliness miraculously decreases a little) I found that in the morning, even with the moisturizer, my skin would be dry and flaky (yet annoyingly well-oiled a few hours later, as some of you with oily skin may understand!). And I consider myself as having SUPER oily skin (so it may not be moisturizing enough for some you with less oily skin).
The other (major) downside is the price: I bought this moisturizer last September, and I still haven't quite finished up the tube. I would have used it up long ago, but since it was so pricey, I have only used it for state occasions, to make it last a little longer. I would repurchase this, but not until the weather cools off in the fall, since I'm doubtful that anything can keep the oil at bay in the summer heat/humidity.
So, while this does definitely help, I will continue looking for something better/lower in price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lindadomini on 6/17/2011 1:30:00 PM more reviews by lindadomini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is more of an oil-control lotion than a oil-control primer. Please keep that in mind! It's a tad bit thicker than some of the facial lotions I tend to use but I have confidence in knowing that this product will not make my skin worse. As far as oil control, I gave it a middle-ground score of 3. It controls oil when compared to using nothing at all or other lotions... but it doesn't control oil better than primers I've used. But some of the primers cause me to breakout whereas this product doesn't cause breakouts at all for me. I use this under my makeup whenever the whether is tolerable and it keeps my skin hydrated and my makeup from drying out and looking caked on. But when it gets hot, it doesn't hold up as well for me. So yes, it does mattify when compared to oily alternatives but it doesn't hold a candle to shine-control primers that I have used for the hot weather.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 6/16/2011 12:19:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I went into Spehora looking for a sunscreen that wouldn't turn my face into an oil slick and wouldn't leave white residue behind (thanks, L'Occitane). One of the girls pointed this out and gave me a sample. So far, it does what I wanted it to do: it's non-greasy and keeps me matte all day. Time will tell if it's a good sunscreen, but it certainly smells like sunscreen, so if you don't like the chemically smell, beware.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pjai80 on 6/12/2011 7:56:00 PM more reviews by pjai80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily acne proned skin and out of all of the products i've tried (to control oil) this is the best so far. I didn't give it the full 5 lippys because you still get some oil but it is definitley not like before. It last longer than most, and i love the pacakging. The tube is built to prevent all of the nasty junk that occurs on a twist tube. My best friend hates the smell too, she says it smells like horrible, i don't see a big deal with it, but she loves what it does so she sucked it up. It is very expensive for a moisturizer, Like i told my bff before she bought, go to Sephora, get a sample and try it out first. I will keep buying this until someone knocks them off their throne. Im not sure if that will appen...lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hellokatieeeeee on 5/19/2011 3:19:00 AM more reviews by hellokatieeeeee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this after reading so many good reviews on it. first of all, the smell of the product was horrible...to me, it smelled like glue! like elmer's glue, no joke! but, i sucked it up and applied it to my skin. it kept me matte for about 3-4 hours which is no where close to the 8 hrs the product promised. So, i still needed to use blot powder/blot paper after. for the price, i wished it did what it promised. needless to say, i returned it. i'm still on my quest to finding the best oil mattifier!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessdell90 on 5/16/2011 12:31:00 PM more reviews by jessdell90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is one of the best (if not the best) oil control mattifiers I've tried. I like this product more than the body shoppe's seaweed oil control mattifier (which is cheaper, but makes my acne inflamed). If you have very oily skin, you should put it on 5 minutes out of the shower to see the best results, and a little bit goes a long way. This product makes my skin very soft, and keeps it matte for a good 5-6 hours (except around the nose and parts of the forehead). Now for the bad part...It is very expensive ($40), and initially when I put it on, and for a good hour or so after my face gets red...this is very strange considering my skin is very tough and not sensitive to many products. I've been using it for about 8 months now, and haven't found a better mattifier out there. It's pretty non-comedogenic (although it does not state it is), but I do still get acne afterwards (it can be just my skin or a combo between the product and my skin being crappy). Some days I'm in love with it, and others I'm indifferent...you should give it a try if you have 40$ to kill because it deffinately works the best out of probably all of the mattifiers out there...the redness issue can just be a personal allergy, but it is a huge set back for me whereas I hesitate to use this product daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nubletta on 5/11/2011 4:33:00 AM more reviews by nubletta

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually got this as an item from Sephora for the skin care challenge. That being said, I gave price a 1. I have very oily, acne prone skin. This didn't aggravate my skin at all so I haven't dealt with any additional break outs when using this. This did keep my face matte longer than other moisturizers, but it isn't a miracle product (only thing thats a miracle product for me is the Aspirin mask! But thats another review). The formula on this is very strange. Its a bit gel like.. its not very creamy. Its quite thick so you do have to work it in fast which feels really awkward for me, especially with an active break out. The price of this kind of keeps me away from repurchasing it. I will stick to my current moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheirFeathersRjust2Bright on 5/10/2011 11:45:00 PM more reviews by TheirFeathersRjust2Bright

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have very oily skin. I want to say that although this mattifier is not a miracle for me, it's really been the best mattifier I have ever tried. My face definitely gets to its usual greasiness on days I don't use this. I'm talking about the glaring at you, shiny skin oiliness. The consistency is medium-thick but it doesn't feel heavy on my face (note: I also want to share I'm used to alot of products on my face). The only thing i'm not very fond of is it has a low spf of 15. I then always add another sunscreen with better protection and it makes the spf in this product seem useless. Wish it came in a version without spf. I am probably going to update this in the summer because I only recently discovered this product and have been using it the whole winter & spring. I want to put the summer heat and my powerful oily skin to the test! But so far, it really has been a great skincare investment for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MeganHan on 5/10/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by MeganHan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, I really thought this was going to be a hit with me but after only 2 days I have decided I am returning it and going back to my other foundation primer. First, the consistency and the way that it feels going onto my skin isn't even mattifying.. it feels like a thick lotion and makes my face feel greasy (I don't know if that may be because of the SPF). I also started using it with MUFE HD foundation, which is supposed to give skin a natural glow anyways, but I have found myself blotting every hour- no joke! Also, this morning I woke up with two new blemishes around my eyebrow/forehead area.. I do have acne prone skin but have been using prescription grade products for 4 weeks now and have had 0 new blemishes until now. I am pretty sure it is from the Murad oil controller.. I looked through the ingredients and saw it contains dimethicone, which is horrible for oily/acne prone skin.. I am not quite sure why this product isnt working for me as it works for others.. but I am very disapointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products