Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(154 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chickatthegym on 8/4/2011 3:33:00 PM more reviews by chickatthegym

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I received samples of this product and decided to start using it since I am in Arizona right now and it's summer! I was really impressed!

The texture isn't that bad... I didn't really notice until I read the other reviews here and it does resemble glue a little but it's nothing that turned me off.

I use it after washing my face with my clarisonic brush. Then apply MUFE HD foundation, MAC Prep + Prime translucent powder, and MAC MSF Natural. I've been really happy with the results- MUCH LESS oil in my T-zone and my face looks less shiny in general (which I hate LOL). I think it does help foundation stay on longer as well.

If you have really dry skin, you might want to use a moistrizer too. I just use a little Mary Kay eye cream around my eyes since they've been the only dry area on my face lately.

Def going to buy this in the full size when my little sampler runs out. If you have oily skin or live in a humid/hot area you might want to look into this:) Sephora often has samples!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 manlhk on 7/31/2011 4:16:00 AM more reviews by manlhk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have acne-pore skin yet, oily always. This moisturizer is SPF 15 and it is dmoisturized enough while oil controlling very well. I had used a lot of oil-free moisturizer but they nonetheless made my face oily in 15 minutes or less. I took off a point is because the product is too creamy, which means you need to use a lot at a time, and as a result, it ran out very quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sassenachtiff on 7/25/2011 11:33:00 AM more reviews by sassenachtiff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this mattifier for several months now and it's definitely a winner for me. Yes, it has a glue-like texture but the product is effective, so I don't mind that so much. I have combo skin that tends to lean oily during the summer. Right now, Murad + MAC Pro Longwear foundation + Maybelline Dream Matte powder is my HG summer combination. This mattifier keeps me from getting overly oily, especially in my t-zone. I don't have to blot as often when I use this. During the summer, I can use this alone under my makeup; however, during the winter, I usually need a moisturizer in addition to it since I get drier areas around my cheeks and lips. I wish this product weren't so expensive, but you can find it cheaper on Amazon or eBay. I would repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missymarissa on 7/23/2011 1:14:00 AM more reviews by missymarissa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It's been quite agreed upon among MUA reviewers this has a wierd, yet familiar texture (think crafts projects in the 2nd grade) but since you are reading the review for this product you can be prepared to persevere throughout the experience of applying the 'glue'-like texture to your face knowing it actually is effective at controlling oil! This was a suprise from Murad, since a number of their products are totally ineffective. I actually like that it is spf 15 because my problem with a lot of suncreens is that they are greasy and break me out. This is a nice combo of having protection from sun, yet controlling oil. I have tried DDF's version of this. Same concept of oil control with an spf..not nearly as good as this. Only reason I took a lippie off is the price..I don't know if I can continue to buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chatillon on 6/19/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by chatillon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The other reviewers are absolutely right in describing this as similar to glue. The first time I dotted this around on my face, I was horrified. How was I going to spread this around, much less put make-up on top? However, despite my doubts I soldiered on, and it actually does absorb nicely after 5-10 min. (I've found applying this when my face is still slightly damp makes it easier to rub into my skin). And it does make a nice primer for make-up, plus it has sunscreen. Since I have oily skin I figure the fewer creams/lotions that I put on, the better, so I love that this a 3-in-1 (moisturizer, primer, sunscreen). This lotion does suppress oiliness, but I agree with other reviewers that it only does this for 3-4 hours. After that I need to blot pretty regularly. However, this is the best mattifier I have found so far.
Now to the cons: above I said it was a moisturizer, but in winter weather it wasn't moisturizing enough for me. Rather, during the winter months (when my oiliness miraculously decreases a little) I found that in the morning, even with the moisturizer, my skin would be dry and flaky (yet annoyingly well-oiled a few hours later, as some of you with oily skin may understand!). And I consider myself as having SUPER oily skin (so it may not be moisturizing enough for some you with less oily skin).
The other (major) downside is the price: I bought this moisturizer last September, and I still haven't quite finished up the tube. I would have used it up long ago, but since it was so pricey, I have only used it for state occasions, to make it last a little longer. I would repurchase this, but not until the weather cools off in the fall, since I'm doubtful that anything can keep the oil at bay in the summer heat/humidity.
So, while this does definitely help, I will continue looking for something better/lower in price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lindadomini on 6/17/2011 1:30:00 PM more reviews by lindadomini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is more of an oil-control lotion than a oil-control primer. Please keep that in mind! It's a tad bit thicker than some of the facial lotions I tend to use but I have confidence in knowing that this product will not make my skin worse. As far as oil control, I gave it a middle-ground score of 3. It controls oil when compared to using nothing at all or other lotions... but it doesn't control oil better than primers I've used. But some of the primers cause me to breakout whereas this product doesn't cause breakouts at all for me. I use this under my makeup whenever the whether is tolerable and it keeps my skin hydrated and my makeup from drying out and looking caked on. But when it gets hot, it doesn't hold up as well for me. So yes, it does mattify when compared to oily alternatives but it doesn't hold a candle to shine-control primers that I have used for the hot weather.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 6/16/2011 12:19:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I went into Spehora looking for a sunscreen that wouldn't turn my face into an oil slick and wouldn't leave white residue behind (thanks, L'Occitane). One of the girls pointed this out and gave me a sample. So far, it does what I wanted it to do: it's non-greasy and keeps me matte all day. Time will tell if it's a good sunscreen, but it certainly smells like sunscreen, so if you don't like the chemically smell, beware.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pjai80 on 6/12/2011 7:56:00 PM more reviews by pjai80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily acne proned skin and out of all of the products i've tried (to control oil) this is the best so far. I didn't give it the full 5 lippys because you still get some oil but it is definitley not like before. It last longer than most, and i love the pacakging. The tube is built to prevent all of the nasty junk that occurs on a twist tube. My best friend hates the smell too, she says it smells like horrible, i don't see a big deal with it, but she loves what it does so she sucked it up. It is very expensive for a moisturizer, Like i told my bff before she bought, go to Sephora, get a sample and try it out first. I will keep buying this until someone knocks them off their throne. Im not sure if that will appen...lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hellokatieeeeee on 5/19/2011 3:19:00 AM more reviews by hellokatieeeeee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this after reading so many good reviews on it. first of all, the smell of the product was horrible...to me, it smelled like glue! like elmer's glue, no joke! but, i sucked it up and applied it to my skin. it kept me matte for about 3-4 hours which is no where close to the 8 hrs the product promised. So, i still needed to use blot powder/blot paper after. for the price, i wished it did what it promised. needless to say, i returned it. i'm still on my quest to finding the best oil mattifier!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessdell90 on 5/16/2011 12:31:00 PM more reviews by jessdell90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is one of the best (if not the best) oil control mattifiers I've tried. I like this product more than the body shoppe's seaweed oil control mattifier (which is cheaper, but makes my acne inflamed). If you have very oily skin, you should put it on 5 minutes out of the shower to see the best results, and a little bit goes a long way. This product makes my skin very soft, and keeps it matte for a good 5-6 hours (except around the nose and parts of the forehead). Now for the bad part...It is very expensive ($40), and initially when I put it on, and for a good hour or so after my face gets red...this is very strange considering my skin is very tough and not sensitive to many products. I've been using it for about 8 months now, and haven't found a better mattifier out there. It's pretty non-comedogenic (although it does not state it is), but I do still get acne afterwards (it can be just my skin or a combo between the product and my skin being crappy). Some days I'm in love with it, and others I'm indifferent...you should give it a try if you have 40$ to kill because it deffinately works the best out of probably all of the mattifiers out there...the redness issue can just be a personal allergy, but it is a huge set back for me whereas I hesitate to use this product daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products