Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(159 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 goldenfae on 10/16/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by goldenfae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

So my face has always been really oily that I have basically given up trying to keep it shine free. And I mean really oily, that from when I wash my face to half an hr later when I get to work, I am shiny again. This stuff kept me more or less shine free during a party for 2 or 3 hours and I only had to use 2 blotting sheets for my whole face instead of 5. Score! BUT... if you are planning on having your picture taken (especially with flash), DO NOT use this as a primer. Your face will look insanely ghost like compared to your neck and like you don't know how to match your foundation/powder to your skin. I'm guessing it is because of the spf stuff that I can't think of the name right now. Or you can try a extremely thin layer of it. Or else you will want to burn all the pictures like I did. On the plus side, it is a really good sunscreen for the face.

Packaging wise, the holes for the tube and for the cap are strange. The tube one is larger than the cap so you will potentially have a lot of product build up in the cap. And it has the consistency of liquidy paste. I never store this thing cap down and I apply a lot of little dots all over my face and the spread or else I would overapply to one spot on my face just bc it won't spread.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thud on 10/14/2011 4:28:00 PM more reviews by thud

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was my HG until recently, when I was put on RX meds and my skin was too irritated to handle it. Seriously-if you've got oily skin, save up your money and BUY THIS. You'll have perfectly smooth, non-greasy skin that isn't dried out all day. I miss it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rainbowtears on 10/12/2011 12:28:00 AM more reviews by rainbowtears

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a really oily person. I've been looking for oil control products for a year or two now, and I finally stepped upon Murad's Oil Control Mattifier. And it works like magic for me, i don't blot anymore(goodbye blotting papers), unless on a very hot day I have to dab a little powder or blot some spots.

It totally control my oil release.

Though this does not totally leave my face as totally matte, more of like a satin-matte finish shine after hours of use. I don't find it ugly but more of a healthy glow.

I'm totally sticking with this one, even though its costs so much at my country. Around 80usd!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 orange789 on 8/16/2011 4:52:00 PM more reviews by orange789

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I first recieved this product as a sephora sample and soon bought a full size. It does dry really fast once you begin to spread it out on your skin but once you get the hang of it, it shouldn't be a hassle. When i first smelled the product, I gagged. Its so strong and over-whelming! But it didn't matter once it absorbed into my skin. The moisturizer does work but its not the greatest! Overall, if you want a moisturizer worth its prise, don't get it...there might as well be another moisturizer cheaper that may perhaps have the same consistency as the Murad Oil-Control Moisturizer. Though, I will say..this is a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 az1 on 8/14/2011 8:05:00 AM more reviews by az1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A little goes a long way with this product! I highly recommend it if you have oily skin. On the rare occasion I forget to put this on, I can tell as soon as I finish my makeup. It really helps your makeup go on smoother and your skin looks better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chickatthegym on 8/4/2011 3:33:00 PM more reviews by chickatthegym

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I received samples of this product and decided to start using it since I am in Arizona right now and it's summer! I was really impressed!

The texture isn't that bad... I didn't really notice until I read the other reviews here and it does resemble glue a little but it's nothing that turned me off.

I use it after washing my face with my clarisonic brush. Then apply MUFE HD foundation, MAC Prep + Prime translucent powder, and MAC MSF Natural. I've been really happy with the results- MUCH LESS oil in my T-zone and my face looks less shiny in general (which I hate LOL). I think it does help foundation stay on longer as well.

If you have really dry skin, you might want to use a moistrizer too. I just use a little Mary Kay eye cream around my eyes since they've been the only dry area on my face lately.

Def going to buy this in the full size when my little sampler runs out. If you have oily skin or live in a humid/hot area you might want to look into this:) Sephora often has samples!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 manlhk on 7/31/2011 4:16:00 AM more reviews by manlhk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have acne-pore skin yet, oily always. This moisturizer is SPF 15 and it is dmoisturized enough while oil controlling very well. I had used a lot of oil-free moisturizer but they nonetheless made my face oily in 15 minutes or less. I took off a point is because the product is too creamy, which means you need to use a lot at a time, and as a result, it ran out very quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sassenachtiff on 7/25/2011 11:33:00 AM more reviews by sassenachtiff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this mattifier for several months now and it's definitely a winner for me. Yes, it has a glue-like texture but the product is effective, so I don't mind that so much. I have combo skin that tends to lean oily during the summer. Right now, Murad + MAC Pro Longwear foundation + Maybelline Dream Matte powder is my HG summer combination. This mattifier keeps me from getting overly oily, especially in my t-zone. I don't have to blot as often when I use this. During the summer, I can use this alone under my makeup; however, during the winter, I usually need a moisturizer in addition to it since I get drier areas around my cheeks and lips. I wish this product weren't so expensive, but you can find it cheaper on Amazon or eBay. I would repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missymarissa on 7/23/2011 1:14:00 AM more reviews by missymarissa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It's been quite agreed upon among MUA reviewers this has a wierd, yet familiar texture (think crafts projects in the 2nd grade) but since you are reading the review for this product you can be prepared to persevere throughout the experience of applying the 'glue'-like texture to your face knowing it actually is effective at controlling oil! This was a suprise from Murad, since a number of their products are totally ineffective. I actually like that it is spf 15 because my problem with a lot of suncreens is that they are greasy and break me out. This is a nice combo of having protection from sun, yet controlling oil. I have tried DDF's version of this. Same concept of oil control with an spf..not nearly as good as this. Only reason I took a lippie off is the price..I don't know if I can continue to buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chatillon on 6/19/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by chatillon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The other reviewers are absolutely right in describing this as similar to glue. The first time I dotted this around on my face, I was horrified. How was I going to spread this around, much less put make-up on top? However, despite my doubts I soldiered on, and it actually does absorb nicely after 5-10 min. (I've found applying this when my face is still slightly damp makes it easier to rub into my skin). And it does make a nice primer for make-up, plus it has sunscreen. Since I have oily skin I figure the fewer creams/lotions that I put on, the better, so I love that this a 3-in-1 (moisturizer, primer, sunscreen). This lotion does suppress oiliness, but I agree with other reviewers that it only does this for 3-4 hours. After that I need to blot pretty regularly. However, this is the best mattifier I have found so far.
Now to the cons: above I said it was a moisturizer, but in winter weather it wasn't moisturizing enough for me. Rather, during the winter months (when my oiliness miraculously decreases a little) I found that in the morning, even with the moisturizer, my skin would be dry and flaky (yet annoyingly well-oiled a few hours later, as some of you with oily skin may understand!). And I consider myself as having SUPER oily skin (so it may not be moisturizing enough for some you with less oily skin).
The other (major) downside is the price: I bought this moisturizer last September, and I still haven't quite finished up the tube. I would have used it up long ago, but since it was so pricey, I have only used it for state occasions, to make it last a little longer. I would repurchase this, but not until the weather cools off in the fall, since I'm doubtful that anything can keep the oil at bay in the summer heat/humidity.
So, while this does definitely help, I will continue looking for something better/lower in price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products