Gillette • venus embrace • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(154 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 martixbennett on 7/12/2010 7:07:00 PM more reviews by martixbennett

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I want to start out saying that, I have tried other Venus razors in the past, and I absolutely hated them. I felt like I had to push really hard in order to get the hair off (yes, even new ones), which lead to a rather large scar that is still on my leg. They were also ridiculously overpriced. I had finally found an acceptable razor that I loved, the Shick Quattro for women, when I got a free one of these in the mail. Decided to give venus another try, since it was free, and I couldn't believe what I was seeing and feeling. Normally I get visible stubble just a couple hours, after shaving my legs, and most of the time they don't even feel smooth immediately after I shave (and I've tried everything...) but my legs were actually smooth two days after I used this. Even my boyfriend noticed! He told me they were smoother than when I had them waxed regularly... I'm really impressed.
As for the packaging, I like that the replacement heads come in their own little sealed container because I like to leave an extra in the shower and these don't get ruined, and they're also really good for traveling. I also love the colors on the head and the handle, beautiful blues, purples, and greens! Nice shape to both as well!
I don't normally use a shave gel or cream, just a shampoo, conditioner or whatever happens to be in my shower at the time. I find this works especially well with a moisturizing shampoo! It's quick, and easy, no going over the same spots over and over.
There are only two downfalls: 1) the price. OUCH! Like I said, I got the first one for free, but after using it once I fell in love and went out to Costco and bought a pack of 10 razor refills, a handle, and a shower holder for it... which cost me a whopping $35... which was actually an alright deal considering the cost of buying the 4 pc replacement. I know all good razor replacements are expensive (at least imo) but the venus seems to be just a little more than average. But this one is worth it because I use it half as much, or less! and 2) I've had this happen with other razors, so I knew better that to leave it face down after use, but the "moisturizing strip" - which happens to be all the way around the head - gets gooey and will droopy and stick to things and then dry that way... just a heads up, dry these facing up, or standing straight up and down...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 azng4life on 7/2/2010 2:40:00 AM more reviews by azng4life

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could get rid of this razor but I keep getting free ones everywhere! With my Olay body wash and SatinCare shave gel, I just can't escape it! It's not even that good. The moisturizing layer surrounding the blades aren't really that moisturizing and if you happen to store it face down, the moisturizing layer dries to the surface of whatever you put it down on and then it gets this like weird edge that was not there before. My legs require lotion to be remotely soft afterwards.

As for the shave, the shave is okay, but not dramatically smooth and doesn't last very long at all. It'll get the job done if you need some decently shaven legs. Frankly, I like the Venus Breeze better because it is more moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ns4487 on 5/28/2010 10:22:00 PM more reviews by ns4487

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Urgh, I hate this razor! It looks so pretty, and yet because of the size of the head, it is impossible to get all of the hairs under my arms because it doesn't fit in my armpit! I like that it has more blades, but it means the head is bigger. I'd prefer three blades and a smaller head. I much prefer the quality of men's razors, and will not be repurchasing this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Themonsunxxx on 5/23/2010 12:20:00 PM more reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Oh my gosh. I never thought razors were that important, but after this one I definitely have changed my mind. First off, it has cute colors on it, which I love. Second off, when you're shaving you feel nothing prick you or anything. It just feels like you're sliding something against your leg. But you still end up hairless! I've even tried it without shaving cream and it works well. This will absolutely be a repurchase for me <3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 batforlashes on 5/23/2010 12:17:00 PM more reviews by batforlashes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Once you've used it, you just won't go back to those three-blade razors.
Never cuts and leaves your skin silk smooth!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rocknride on 5/13/2010 10:30:00 PM more reviews by rocknride

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I use a 5 blade men's Fusion at home but love this razor for traveling. I think the 5 blades make a difference. I have fine hair everywhere and most blades skip the finer stuff. It leaves, legs, underarms and lady parts smooth. My only complaint is the plastic guard that goes over the blade keeps coming off. I ended up using a rubber band to keep it on. I use to use the 4 bladed Quatro but find this razor is vastly superior.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asianvolleyballer on 5/13/2010 5:31:00 PM more reviews by asianvolleyballer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this razor a lot, the shave bars arent great but i used shaving cream anyways, the 5 blades give you a really close shave so i actually shave less, and it leaves your legs feeling great, soft and smooth, love itt and it smells pretty good too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heatherlynn0808 on 3/22/2010 12:25:00 PM more reviews by Heatherlynn0808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Definitely my favorite razor and will probably use it forever. I always get a close shave and never get cut!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Astera on 3/7/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Astera

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this razor. It's amazing and it lasts a long time for me! (I don't shave every day.) I like the moisture bars and the flexibility of the head, perfect for underarms and behind my knees. I got so "spoiled" for using this for so long and I tried to use a cheap-o blade and I knicked myself really badly. :/ Probably my own idiocy, but still, this razor really simplifies the process and perfect for inside the shower. I like the little shower pod too, it makes it really organized on my side of the shower. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jill28 on 2/17/2010 3:23:00 PM more reviews by jill28

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

At the moment I am using a Venus Vibrance Razor but I bought the Venus embrace cartridges when I needed a refill because of all the positive things I heard about it. So far, they haven't dissapointed!
My legs are always silky smooth now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gillette products

More Misc Beauty Tools products