Gillette • venus embrace • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(157 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sillychicken on 8/4/2010 1:53:00 AM more reviews by sillychicken

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Finally a razor that I don't cut my legs or get razor bumps with. It's too big to get close enough for a good shave on my underarms/bikini so I use a mens refill on one of these handles for that, and this refill on another handle for my legs. I only go through one refill a week so the price isn't that bad. I'm only giving it a 4 because I can't use it for my underarms/bikini.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetkandi87 on 7/17/2010 3:04:00 AM more reviews by sweetkandi87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! Kinda pricey, so I usually just get a whole new kit instead of buying refill cartridges. I have repurchased and will continue to do so. Been using the Venus line since it came out. Love how it is light weight too. Only drawback is the head of the razor is a little big, so its a bit difficult to shave certain areas.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DCookiemonster25 on 7/17/2010 2:43:00 AM more reviews by DCookiemonster25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

MY favorite razor, the moisterizing bar makes it so there is no need for soap, so no sticky slimy mess, plus the head of the razor moves so nicely, so shaving the areas like the knees is so smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 martixbennett on 7/12/2010 7:07:00 PM more reviews by martixbennett

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I want to start out saying that, I have tried other Venus razors in the past, and I absolutely hated them. I felt like I had to push really hard in order to get the hair off (yes, even new ones), which lead to a rather large scar that is still on my leg. They were also ridiculously overpriced. I had finally found an acceptable razor that I loved, the Shick Quattro for women, when I got a free one of these in the mail. Decided to give venus another try, since it was free, and I couldn't believe what I was seeing and feeling. Normally I get visible stubble just a couple hours, after shaving my legs, and most of the time they don't even feel smooth immediately after I shave (and I've tried everything...) but my legs were actually smooth two days after I used this. Even my boyfriend noticed! He told me they were smoother than when I had them waxed regularly... I'm really impressed.
As for the packaging, I like that the replacement heads come in their own little sealed container because I like to leave an extra in the shower and these don't get ruined, and they're also really good for traveling. I also love the colors on the head and the handle, beautiful blues, purples, and greens! Nice shape to both as well!
I don't normally use a shave gel or cream, just a shampoo, conditioner or whatever happens to be in my shower at the time. I find this works especially well with a moisturizing shampoo! It's quick, and easy, no going over the same spots over and over.
There are only two downfalls: 1) the price. OUCH! Like I said, I got the first one for free, but after using it once I fell in love and went out to Costco and bought a pack of 10 razor refills, a handle, and a shower holder for it... which cost me a whopping $35... which was actually an alright deal considering the cost of buying the 4 pc replacement. I know all good razor replacements are expensive (at least imo) but the venus seems to be just a little more than average. But this one is worth it because I use it half as much, or less! and 2) I've had this happen with other razors, so I knew better that to leave it face down after use, but the "moisturizing strip" - which happens to be all the way around the head - gets gooey and will droopy and stick to things and then dry that way... just a heads up, dry these facing up, or standing straight up and down...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 azng4life on 7/2/2010 2:40:00 AM more reviews by azng4life

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could get rid of this razor but I keep getting free ones everywhere! With my Olay body wash and SatinCare shave gel, I just can't escape it! It's not even that good. The moisturizing layer surrounding the blades aren't really that moisturizing and if you happen to store it face down, the moisturizing layer dries to the surface of whatever you put it down on and then it gets this like weird edge that was not there before. My legs require lotion to be remotely soft afterwards.

As for the shave, the shave is okay, but not dramatically smooth and doesn't last very long at all. It'll get the job done if you need some decently shaven legs. Frankly, I like the Venus Breeze better because it is more moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ns4487 on 5/28/2010 10:22:00 PM more reviews by ns4487

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Urgh, I hate this razor! It looks so pretty, and yet because of the size of the head, it is impossible to get all of the hairs under my arms because it doesn't fit in my armpit! I like that it has more blades, but it means the head is bigger. I'd prefer three blades and a smaller head. I much prefer the quality of men's razors, and will not be repurchasing this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Themonsunxxx on 5/23/2010 12:20:00 PM more reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Oh my gosh. I never thought razors were that important, but after this one I definitely have changed my mind. First off, it has cute colors on it, which I love. Second off, when you're shaving you feel nothing prick you or anything. It just feels like you're sliding something against your leg. But you still end up hairless! I've even tried it without shaving cream and it works well. This will absolutely be a repurchase for me <3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 batforlashes on 5/23/2010 12:17:00 PM more reviews by batforlashes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Once you've used it, you just won't go back to those three-blade razors.
Never cuts and leaves your skin silk smooth!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rocknride on 5/13/2010 10:30:00 PM more reviews by rocknride

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I use a 5 blade men's Fusion at home but love this razor for traveling. I think the 5 blades make a difference. I have fine hair everywhere and most blades skip the finer stuff. It leaves, legs, underarms and lady parts smooth. My only complaint is the plastic guard that goes over the blade keeps coming off. I ended up using a rubber band to keep it on. I use to use the 4 bladed Quatro but find this razor is vastly superior.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asianvolleyballer on 5/13/2010 5:31:00 PM more reviews by asianvolleyballer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this razor a lot, the shave bars arent great but i used shaving cream anyways, the 5 blades give you a really close shave so i actually shave less, and it leaves your legs feeling great, soft and smooth, love itt and it smells pretty good too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gillette products

More Misc Beauty Tools products