Gillette • venus embrace • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(148 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 asianvolleyballer on 5/13/2010 5:31:00 PM more reviews by asianvolleyballer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this razor a lot, the shave bars arent great but i used shaving cream anyways, the 5 blades give you a really close shave so i actually shave less, and it leaves your legs feeling great, soft and smooth, love itt and it smells pretty good too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heatherlynn0808 on 3/22/2010 12:25:00 PM more reviews by Heatherlynn0808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Definitely my favorite razor and will probably use it forever. I always get a close shave and never get cut!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Astera on 3/7/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Astera

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this razor. It's amazing and it lasts a long time for me! (I don't shave every day.) I like the moisture bars and the flexibility of the head, perfect for underarms and behind my knees. I got so "spoiled" for using this for so long and I tried to use a cheap-o blade and I knicked myself really badly. :/ Probably my own idiocy, but still, this razor really simplifies the process and perfect for inside the shower. I like the little shower pod too, it makes it really organized on my side of the shower. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jill28 on 2/17/2010 3:23:00 PM more reviews by jill28

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

At the moment I am using a Venus Vibrance Razor but I bought the Venus embrace cartridges when I needed a refill because of all the positive things I heard about it. So far, they haven't dissapointed!
My legs are always silky smooth now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gunjee on 1/21/2010 10:29:00 AM more reviews by gunjee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this razor too. It has a moisturizing strip, but it isn't so moisturizing that it gets in the way of a good close shave. My daughter is 11 and cut herself really bad shaving with a disposable razor she found in the back of the cabinet even though she wasn't allowed to shave yet, and I decided it was time to buy her a razor that would not cut her. This is not the one I bought her. I bought her the Venus Spa Breeze because it is unbelievably moisturizing and a person can't cut themselves with it. So if you are inexperienced like my little girl, then that would be the razor for you. But I feel that heavy moisturizing strip on the Spa razor is a bit too much for normal people like me. People like me who started shaving with single blades, and then double blades, and then triple blades, can handle the Venus Embrace just fine. Also I used my husband's vibrating green Mp3 Gilette razor (with my Embrace blade of course) over the weekend when we were out of town and it was an amazingly close shave so I recommend using that as well. My husband has used the orangs Gilette fusion razor and doesn't like that or its blades half as much as this green one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SillyLilies95 on 1/20/2010 4:46:00 PM more reviews by SillyLilies95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely my fav razor in the world! I use it with Skintimate Skin Therapy Baby Soft shave gel and it is the best shave I have ever gotten. Super smooth, super close and no nicks, cuts or razor burn. Shaving isn't to much of a chore for me, with this razor I don't have to double the shave, I usually shave my legs and underarms twice for the close shave, but not anymore :)) Buy it!! Shower pod is the best thing since sliced bread! Doesn't get much water in it, holds the razor and the blades perfectly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TearsofJoy on 1/7/2010 6:36:00 AM more reviews by TearsofJoy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My first razor =)
Really good at removing hair, a REALLY close shave. My legs feel weird after because it feels so smooth. Too bad the head is too huge to use on anywhere other than arms and legs (they should've thought of that before calling it bikini-approved, how idiotic). Had to use it at least every 2 days to stop the hair from coming back though. Dispite the fact that it removes hair all with one light sweep the blade gets dull after a while (well, what do you expect?) so I try not to use it unless I'm dressing up to impress because it'll drain my pockets if I keep on buying refills all the time.
As I said, it gives a real close shave so you have to slop on lotion after or else you get rash. If your skin is sensitive it'll itch like crazy (once again, why is this bikini-approved?). I borrowed my sister's Schick quattro for underarms and it was awesome. I could even put on deoderant straight after (honest!) and it removed all the hair though it started to grow back by the next day. Maybe I'll switch, I don't use this much anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Astarael on 11/28/2009 12:31:00 PM more reviews by Astarael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I seem to be in the minority here but these razors are the biggest waste of money ever, in my opinion. The Venus Embrace razors don't leave my legs dry, but they don't give a very close shave. My boyfriend actually noticed and teased me for having skipped shaving.. which I hadn't. Especially on my knees.. somehow, no matter how many times I swipe this razor over my knees.. they do not get the hair off there, at all, not even a little. I don't have this problem with other razors. I think it must be the way my hair grows and the fact that the five blades are packed so closely together, unlike with a 3 blade razor they are a little further apart. I actually get a closer shave with the regular Venus than with these - though I'm not thrilled with them either. And yes, they are way too bulky to shave bikini area, so even if they gave a nice shave, I would hate the hassle of having to stock and keep two separate razors in my shower. It sounds good on paper and obviously is working for many, but it doesn't work for me.

I use the Gillette Mach 3 (not generic, not disposable). These razors are the best ever created in my opinion. I highly encourage you to try them. Venus seems good next to crappier razors but next to the Mach 3 it seems awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 11/6/2009 3:54:00 AM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this razor! It leaves me feeling silky smooth and really shaves close to the surface. It's really pricey though but I can use the razor for a couple of months without it getting dull at all! :D Venus makes my favorite razors EVER and this one definitely doesn't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ticklemeyellow on 10/23/2009 11:26:00 PM more reviews by ticklemeyellow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In general, I'm not a hairy person (Asian gal...so yeah..lol) so I probably shouldnt have invested $$$ for a 5 blade razor (I'm a sucker for commericals). It is sharp and removes hair in one swipe.

It is great for shaving legs and underarms but the bikini area, I opt for my trusty 3 blade disposable simply because the Embrace is too bulky to run through my bikini line.

Overall, a good razor but I wouldnt buy it again, especially with refills being $$$. I'm sure this razor is great for other girls but personally, it wasn't worth it for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gillette products

More Misc Beauty Tools products