L'Occitane • 25% shea butter ultra rich body cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.8(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Kileybiz on 3/8/2006 11:15:00 AM more reviews by Kileybiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for something rich for my very dry skin and this seems to work so far no need for 'touch-up'in the afternoon after the morning routine.

It's, however, greasy and it doesn't soak into my skin right away. It takes a few good rubbing to soak into my skin when I first apply it. But so far it works for my flaky matter.

It's just OK nothing to wow about

Not sure if I would like it during warmer or Summer weather but this should do for winter time.

I like the smell and it is not that strong to worry about if I wear perfume on top.

Try it out first before you purchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 simplebeauty on 3/3/2006 8:13:00 PM more reviews by simplebeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is an OK creme. It's thick and rich, but the moisture doesn't seem to last very long. My skin feels dry again after a few hours. I also prefer a moisturizer that leaves my skin with a little bit of a glow - this doesn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 2/1/2006 12:15:00 AM more reviews by julia178

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First off, let me say I use and like many L'Occitane products: the excellent Hand Cream, Foot Cream, Shea Mask, among others. So I had high hopes for the 25% Shea Butter Ulta Rich Body Cream to help with my dry skin. Unfortunately, I wasn't impressed at all. After finishing a whole tub for which I spent hefty $35 I can now say that I would definitely not purchase again. Not only did this cream not really moisturize, but it also took forever to sink into my skin. After trying to spread it on my skin after the morning shower I realized that there was no way getting dressed within an hour of using it! And even worse, the Shea Butter would ball up like I never experienced before with any shea product. So I thought I'd use it in the evening and let it sink in overnight. But even the next morning it would still sit on my skin, giving me that dreaded sticky feeling. So I tried to vary the amount I was using, or warming it up in my hands before applying, but it didn't make a difference whether I used much or little. As this product is so costly, I tried everything to make it work for me. But now that I used it up, I'm glad to move on to a rich product that actually works. I'm now a happy user of Kiehl's Creme de Corps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Fawny on 1/21/2006 3:49:00 PM more reviews by Fawny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I got a free sample package from the L'Occitane store and it makes me smell like baby powder. Everytime I move I get a waft of baby powder smell and it's gross! It moisterized my skin ok, I have bad exema all over my body (I live in one of the dryes climats in North America) and it seemed to help my skin feel less painful but the smell really turns me off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HipGal2006 on 1/21/2006 12:13:00 PM more reviews by HipGal2006

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This cream does not seem to be doing anything to my skin at all. It is hard to spread too so i have to use a hefty amount for a small area, and it goes so quickly as a result. L'occitane has a lot of nice products but I do not think I will buy this cream again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* meltywarhol on 12/4/2005 2:18:00 PM more reviews by meltywarhol

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have really dry skin on my legs, and it can get itchy and flaky if I don't exfoliate and moisturize, so I put body creams to the test, and I really love this one. I don't think it's too heavy or greasy at all. In fact, it's nice to be able to touch my skin after a few hours and find it still soft, since most lotions seem to disappear on me rather quickly. The fragrance is really nice and light and won't clash with perfume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sugarmartini on 11/9/2005 11:04:00 PM more reviews by sugarmartini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm actually on the fence on this one. I think it was too thick for my taste, it moisturized my cuticles well... It was hard to put on, wasn't smooth at all. The scent fades, which is good in this case.

I guess it's too expensive to use as a cuticle cream so I won't be buying this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraLee2 on 10/14/2005 2:44:00 PM more reviews by SaraLee2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Got the tiny travel size just to try it out, which has a very cute little jar I'll use for something else. Consistancy is rich and smooth, but it does go on pretty greasy. It does absorb well and completely, but there is still this slight greasy feeling left behind, but my skin still feels dry! Very weird. Doesn't make my skin look glowy, soft, healthy and moisturized like my Origins PW body cream does. The smell is lovely, but the cream qualities just don't do it for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 angelstyle on 8/14/2005 5:43:00 AM more reviews by angelstyle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This cream is costly but you get heaps! Moisturises and absorbs well without being greasy but still prefer the Body Shop butters for intense moisture. My problem was that I used L'occitanes Honey Harvest Body balm which gave me severe a scabies/hives-like outbreak, it was the most disgusting thing I've seen in my life. All my pores on my arms and legs were raised, red and angry and itching so much that I could not sleep at night. I used it for 3-4 weeks before I realised that the cream was the culprit as I seriously thought I had scabies and even got treatment for my so-called "scabies" lol. Took 8 doses of cortisone tablets daily to finally get rid of it. A month later I tried one application of L'Occitanes Ultra rich 25% shea body cream and my skin was flaring up again so I know I'm severely allergic to something in their body creams and it wasn't just a coincidence. Funny thing though is that I use the Honey face mask and it works like a treat. My advice is that if you started getting irritated after using this- STOP using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lrgrrl on 4/13/2005 5:49:00 PM more reviews by lrgrrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For the hefty $30 price tag, I expected a lot more. A LOT MORE. It was moisturizing, but for this price, no way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Occitane products

More Lotions/ Creams products