L'Occitane 25% shea butter ultra rich body cream

3.8

81 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water**, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)**, Glycerin,Cyclomethicone, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch**, Isononyl Isononanoate, Cetearyl Alcohol**,Sodium PCA**,Mel Extract/Honey Extract**, Dimethicone , Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Propylene Glycol, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Extract**, Sorbitol**, Brassica Campestris (Rapeseed) Sterols**, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil**, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil**, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract**, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Fruit Extract**, Tocopherol**, Fragrance, Xanthan Gum**, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract**, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil**, Polyacrylamide, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Alcohol Denat**, Ceteareth-33**, Laureth-7**,Phenoxyethanol, Methyl/Ethyl/Butyl/Isobutyl/Propyl/Paraben, Benzyl Alcohol**, Benzyl Benzoate**, Citronellol**, Hydroxyisohexyl 3, Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Coumarin**, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool**, Hexyl Cinnamal, Alpha,Isomethyl Ionone, Limonene****Natural Origin Ingredients


on 11/9/2006 11:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this cream. The one and only complaint that I have is the price. I usually don't care how much something costs as long as it works like I want it to- but I go through a jar of this in 2-3 weeks, no exaggeration. I don't want to spend over $40 (cost + shipping) every 2 weeks for body cream! But I love the smell, kind of like baby powder and a little like honey, IMO. And I love the consistency and moisturising ability. My skin stays smooth and moist all day.



on 10/15/2006 4:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't know, I just have to purchase this cream from time to time, and then I don't know what to do with it...It has a thick cream (but not greasy) consistency that is incredibly attractive to me...The consistency and the scent reminds me of some baby creams that my grandmother and grandfather always had for me when I was a baby and a little child... So, I suppose there are some very strong nostalgic reasons why am I so attracted to this body cream. A huge jar of a childhood memories... However, I hate to admit that this cream doesn't sink properly into the skin. I don't have the feel of an extra-good hydration either. Still makes the skin quite soft but leaves the annoying film on the top of the skin. Not my favorite style at all... The scent, as I said, reminds me of some good oldfashioned creams that my grandparents had for me while I was a child...just a simple, 'neutral', pleasant scent which i like; but I read in L'Occitane catalogue that it is 'the scent of African Rose' and I was quite surprised. It doesn't remind me of roses at all, but what would I know... The cream contains 25% od Shea Butter, extract of a natural honey, extract of almond seed and some other plants, apricot oil and vitamin E for antioxidant properties. I'm sorry to say that because this cream certainly has its charm, but I think that it is overpriced for what it does.


on 8/27/2006 9:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received some samples of this and initially I was very pleased to use this as an overnight moisturizer - it feel rich and nourishing and smelled pleasant. But I found that the next morning, my skin was dry again, as if the moisturization only had initial effects. (I used this several days and always had this outcome). I get better results from drugstore body creams (Eucerin being my favorite) than I do with this, though drugstore brands may not smell as nice. Not worth my purchasing.


on 8/9/2006 9:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I, too, am surprised by the low rating for this product. I absolutely love and adore this body cream. I have severely dry skin, and this cream makes me forget that I do. It's best to apply it when you have the time to rub it in.. I put it on after I get out of the shower and rub & massage into my legs.. it doesn't leave my legs greasy, only moisturized and glowing.. and while I'm not particularly wild about the scent, I've recieved an innumerable amount of compliments and how lovely I smell after putting this on. Since I do have such dry skin and do have to apply it after every shower, the tub doesn't last me very long and so the price tag is a little steep for how often I have to repurchase... but I love this cream, and it is worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2006 2:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot believe this has such a low rating! This is my HG body cream and after trying many, I can say with certainty that I will never cheat on it again! I love that it is thick because I only need a little bit to cover my whole leg. It is slightly greasy and takes a bit to sink into my skin, but it doesn't bother me. It is so silky feeling on my skin....my skin feels silky for a long time when I use this. I don't have terribly dry skin so I can't speak to what it does for very dry skin. I mostly use it on my legs after shaving and it feels sooooo good. It alleviates some of the irritation I get from shaving. I also use it after a bikini wax and it provides a nice layer so I can get dressed comfortably. :) I will repurchase again and again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2006 1:48:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love the smell of this. I have been using this on my elbows and hands for a couple of years now and at age 37 my hands are soft with no wrinkles or age spots. The L'occitane hand cream is a bit to sticky for my liking. I enjoy this product for elbows knees hands feet. I use the matching sent body lotion foe the rest of my body right out of the shower. I am so finicky and try it all but I am definatly sticking with L'ooctane body products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2006 11:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for something rich for my very dry skin and this seems to work so far no need for 'touch-up'in the afternoon after the morning routine.

It's, however, greasy and it doesn't soak into my skin right away. It takes a few good rubbing to soak into my skin when I first apply it. But so far it works for my flaky matter.

It's just OK nothing to wow about

Not sure if I would like it during warmer or Summer weather but this should do for winter time.

I like the smell and it is not that strong to worry about if I wear perfume on top.

Try it out first before you purchase it.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an OK creme. It's thick and rich, but the moisture doesn't seem to last very long. My skin feels dry again after a few hours. I also prefer a moisturizer that leaves my skin with a little bit of a glow - this doesn't.


on 2/1/2006 12:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

First off, let me say I use and like many L'Occitane products: the excellent Hand Cream, Foot Cream, Shea Mask, among others. So I had high hopes for the 25% Shea Butter Ulta Rich Body Cream to help with my dry skin. Unfortunately, I wasn't impressed at all. After finishing a whole tub for which I spent hefty $35 I can now say that I would definitely not purchase again. Not only did this cream not really moisturize, but it also took forever to sink into my skin. After trying to spread it on my skin after the morning shower I realized that there was no way getting dressed within an hour of using it! And even worse, the Shea Butter would ball up like I never experienced before with any shea product. So I thought I'd use it in the evening and let it sink in overnight. But even the next morning it would still sit on my skin, giving me that dreaded sticky feeling. So I tried to vary the amount I was using, or warming it up in my hands before applying, but it didn't make a difference whether I used much or little. As this product is so costly, I tried everything to make it work for me. But now that I used it up, I'm glad to move on to a rich product that actually works. I'm now a happy user of Kiehl's Creme de Corps.


on 1/21/2006 3:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got a free sample package from the L'Occitane store and it makes me smell like baby powder. Everytime I move I get a waft of baby powder smell and it's gross! It moisterized my skin ok, I have bad exema all over my body (I live in one of the dryes climats in North America) and it seemed to help my skin feel less painful but the smell really turns me off.




Back to Top