L'Oreal • Sublime Sun Advanced Sunscreen Liquid Silk Sunshield For Face SPF 50 [DISCONTINUED] • Sunscreen

rated 3.9(69 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 4/13/2012 4:38:00 PM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been noticing wrinkles on my forehead and as much as I like being tan I would rather have nice skin for as long as I can. So I decided I needed to find a facial sunscreen. I have used Neutrogena products in the past, but they are heavy and greasy feeling. They do the job, but I wanted something lighter. After looking on MUA I was really wanting to try La Roche Posey fluid suncreen, but it was so expensive. While I was mulling over buying LRP I saw this little guy a few shelves down.

The active ingredients are the same as LRP, which is what drew me to this product. I was bad and opened up both products, they seem to have the same design and consistency. Having not tried LRP I can't say if they are comparable products. I just reasoned I would try this one out because it had a more affordable price point.

I applied the sunscreen over my Gerda Spillmann bio fond foundation a few hours ago. It blended in nicely and didn't add any extra shine. I love how it was so light compared to other heavy, greasy sunscreens I've tried.

I haven't worn this for long so I can't say how my skin will react in the long run or how it will hold up over a whole day. The weather has been pretty cold so I don't know how it will perform during the hot summer weather, but I believe this product has potential.

One day when I am rich(er) I will try LRP.....and a lot of other makeup products, but this seems nice for now.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lightsout91 on 4/2/2012 10:46:00 PM more reviews by lightsout91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Say hello to the drugstore dupe of La Roche Posay's liquid sunscreens! This is almost identical to LRP except L'Oreal's SPF 50 doesn't leave any sort of whitish cast compared to LRP. This could be a good or bad thing depending on your needs. For me, I personally like LRP's tint since it offers a teensy bit of coverage, making me use less makeup overall.
One thing these two sunscreens have in common? Shiny, shiny, shiny PVC face. For those who absolutely despise the oily look, stay far away from this sunscreen or carry powder/blotting sheets.
I'm not ENTIRELY certain but I do think this s/s may be clogging me a little bit, or it could just be the hotter weather making me exert more sebum production. It hasn't caused any problems after 3 weeks of use, though, so I'll continue to use it.
Between this and LRP, I prefer LRP. But for $10 the L'Oreal Sublime Sun is an absolute steal.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NaturalGirl1116 on 3/29/2012 11:26:00 AM more reviews by NaturalGirl1116

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This sunscreen is great!! I love the silky smooth texture and lightweight feel. It's very thin and watery but it blends into skin effortlessly leaving a smooth even finish. My favorite thing to do is to mix this in with my ELDW and the result is amazing! It sheers out the foundation and makes it feels silky and glide on the face with ease. It makes my foundation looks less caky fresh! I LOVE it!! This sunscreen also hasn't caused any breakouts which is awesome. I also really like that it has extra skincare benefits. The only down side is it is a bit on the pricey side, about 12 buck at Walgreens. But I think it's about 9 at wal-mart. I think its def worth it!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lindam on 3/27/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by lindam

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

WOW! I have never used a L'Oreal sunscreen before.
Usually Nutrogena but it was out at Target and Ulta. I saw this and thought why not. Only $9.99.

It does go on very greasy and shiny. But once it settles in my face feels great.

I don't like that L'Oreal tests on animals but sometimes I cannot pay a higher price for a stable sunscreen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dragonfly16 on 3/22/2012 7:12:00 PM more reviews by dragonfly16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I ran out of my favorite suncreen Shiseido Extra Smooth Sun Protection Lotion SPF 38 PA++ & before i could make it to Sephora to get some, i picked this up at Walmart for $10USD. So glad i did. I have to say the consistency & coverage is pretty similar to the Shiseido version & it's at 1/3 of the price. It has a sheer finish, none of that white cast from sunscreen & absorb beautifully into my combo skin. I could layer this on top of a daytime cream, and it still feels sheer.The small flat tube design makes it easy for me to toss it into my handbag. Love - will definitely repurchase when i run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertdwellr on 3/7/2012 5:10:00 PM more reviews by desertdwellr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

One word GREASY. It's greasy on me. It has an oily sheen on me. I know others have said it's not oily, but it is on me. It's a great product otherwise, and it gives the Asian sunscreens a run for their money, but it's very greasy on me. I don't have oily skin, either. I have dry skin, and I guess it just doesn't absorb well into my skin. It is very water, and sweat resistant, too. I bought it for that purpose. It's oil free, and it didn't cause me to breakout, either. That's a big deal because I have stress-induced rosacea, and my skin doesn't tolerate most sunscreens very well. I gave it a 3, because it's greasy on me. I haven't tried it under makeup, and I won't be, either. I use something else for that purpose. I bought this just for outdoor activities when I'm wearing no makeup. It holds up well for an afternoon run, in Phoenix. It does dry clear. No white, or grayish skin happening with this product. It is silky, too. That's what makes it feel greasy, but I get that oily sheen. It doesn't sting, either. I use Renova, and most sunscreens have a sting to it. No ouch factor. I will finish the bottle, but I'm going to stick to Mentholatum's Sun Play, which is a Japanese product. I would repurchase this in an emergency, if I don't have any Sun Play on me. It's cheap, too. I paid $7.00 for this. I would have given it a 5 if it didn't leave a greasy sheen on me. Update-I tried this on my 4 year old and it didn't make his skin look oily, so it's my dry, aging skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chandleram on 3/2/2012 9:20:00 PM more reviews by chandleram

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

so in love with this product! i was looking for a great spf that would go on under foundation and not give my already pale skin a white cast or make me look oily. this is PHENOMENAL. it does smell like sunscreen which is my only complaint but it is awesome. i dot this on my face in addition to my foundation and then blend it out and my foundation looks BETTER than it would otherwise. very, very impressed. i am still pretty young and have acne but this did not irritate my skin or cause new zits. very impressed and would suggest to anyone looking for a great, light, spf.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jaqueta on 2/4/2012 4:35:00 PM more reviews by Jaqueta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this sunscreen! It doesn't ball up, leave a white cast, look greasy or like I have a plastic film on my face, doesn't sting, run, or break me out. It has a milky texture similar to Asian sunscreens and leaves a smooth, primer-like finish. Considering how lovely this sunscreen is, the price is ridiculously cheap ($11.99 in my local Walgreens). I will absolutely buy this again and again- tossing all my sunscreens that "sorta" work. This is it!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SugarFreeSheila on 12/26/2011 11:02:00 AM more reviews by SugarFreeSheila

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

First, I love this oil-free sunscreen - love it. Will definitely repurchase. Not only that, I waited until after my fifth day in a row of wear to review it here.

QUICK STATS ...

Packaging: Small & sleek, and in the amount of 1.7 fl oz (50 ml). Makes the liquidy/clicking sound when you shake it. You've seen this packaging before - but be advised not all of these sunscreens are created equal in terms of their respective UVA-blocking ingredients OR cosmetic elegance.

Texture: Watery/runny. Not like lotion, and not at all thick or sticky.

Finish: Clear - completely clear. Minimal shine. As mentioned before, not all SPF that comes in this packaging is equal in quality or wearability. In fact, I end up returning almost all of them after seeing they impart a chalky finish - and if one runs clear, it often looks greasy. OR because of the ...

Eye Sting Factor: None - and I insist on applying SPF over upper eyelids & all the way up to the lower lashline.

Balling-Up Factor: None. Foundation looks great on it, with no pencil eraser bit-related issues. That is another dealbreaker for me.

Breakout Factor: None for me.

Bonus: Vitamin E & White Grapeseed.

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone (3%), Homosalate (15%), Octisalate (5%), Octocrylene (5%), Oxybenzone (6%)

Inactive Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Alcohol Denat., Silica, Dicaprylyl Ether, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, PEG 30 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Nylon 12, PEG 8 Laurate, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Dodecene, Methylparaben, Sodium Chloride, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, Poloxamer 407, Tocopherol, Lauryl PEG/PPG 18/18 Methicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Isostearyl Alcohol, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Poly C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Sunscreen products