Cover Girl • Intense ShadowBlast • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 8/8/2011 6:57:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this in beige blaze. The color comes out a frosty gold. Rub it in and it seems to melt into your skin. The skin then has a "glow" to it. Using this as a base is fantastic since most of the products I use over it has shimmer in it too. It works great for the look I'm going for. I think the only thing close to "negative" that I could say about this product is the applicator. It's not a doe-foot one. It's a round sponge that flops back and forth. If CoverGirl could maybe make the applicator a bit more sturdy and less spongy, then this ends up in the HG pile for me!

Update (12/18/11): Sad to say but I might ditch this. ELF's $1 eyeshadow primer beats it so far as there's no shimmer in it. My make-up lasts all day on top of it. Sorry CG but I'm switching.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 softballchick on 8/8/2011 12:27:00 AM more reviews by softballchick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

i love , love , love these! i have the pink and green & they're very easy to apply and stay all day. i was very surprised how long they stayed on because i have very oily eye lids. overall a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amyleegal on 8/6/2011 10:12:00 AM more reviews by amyleegal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

So, when I first saw these I was excited at the possibilty that they might actually live up to the claims, yet I was hesitant because I knew how the doubled ended smoky stick worked- terribly.
I started out buying the blue, and end up also getting the brown and beigey color.
After wearing each of these colors several times I have to say these do not live up to the hype at all.
The blue color seems to work best, but only as a liner, if I try to wear it all over my lidit will crease like crazy, and seem to disappear after a few hours.
The brown fades away and creases all over my lid, and still fades away as a liner.
The beige was completely pointless, just felt greasy, never really dried, and what was left on my lid after blending creased like crazy and the only product that is left after a couple hours is what is in the crease.
I've tried them on their own- which is how Cover Girl makes you think you can use them. I've tried them as a primer - big mistake. I've even tried them over UDPP, they still disappear, but don't crease as badly,
If Covel Girl had a money back guarantee I would have my money back for sure, but I guess I am stuck with them, so I will continue to try to find the magic application that makes these things actually work.
Bottom Line: Only get one to start with, learn from my mistake, and make sure you save your receipts. If you have oily lids, skip this, but if you don't maybe they will work for you. Good luck!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* westside on 8/2/2011 4:47:00 PM more reviews by westside

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I actually like these, but they work mainly in my crease area, not allover the lid. The formula is thicker and frosty. The lighter shades, the beige and platinum ones, take some skill to apply. Whereas the brown, blue, and green ones work well with just one swipe. Not sure why these run over $10 at cvs, so I like finding them on sale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 azngirl7979 on 7/28/2011 7:04:00 PM more reviews by azngirl7979

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in the brown bling color. It really looks like a warm brown but when you put it on, it actually is a really nice cool/neutral taupe color. you can really see the greyish hue under the brown if you know what i mean?
The applicator is awesome!! slightly scratchy if you put it right on the eye but very squishy and bouncy. I usually put a dab of the cream on my finger and pat it on my eye. It dries pretty quick but not to a powder finish but somehow it does crease or move! This also works great for a primer. Im IN LOVEEEE! sad that i only own one color tho :C ill have to get more soon

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 7/28/2011 6:24:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

It took a minute to even find this product on here. Shadowblast is one word, not separate. As with all cream shadows or supposed cream shadow bases, if you have oily lids (which actually is forehead oil moving, not actual lid oil) this is going to be more tricky to work for you. It's probably easier to just use the same shade of powder shadow over it. The one mistake I see is CG didn't put enough pigment in it, and it's not a gel cream. Gels creams have the pigment and set on your lids. Think of MAC Paint Pots or Benefit Creaseless Cream shadows. It's like a waxy whipped mousse texture. I don't know how these are going to sell well, but I'm going to continue to work with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mwuah908 on 7/16/2011 6:58:00 AM more reviews by mwuah908

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this eyeshadow in the color "forever pink" and I was excited to use this product. It had the potential of being a wonderful one, however it did not live up to what I was expecting. I was looking for a creme eyeshadow that would be pigmented. Although this product claimed to be "intense" it was rather sheer and quite frosty. When I swatched it on the back of my hand, it looked VERY shimmery/frosty and was more of a white color (when it was supposed to be a pink). It also didn't stay for very long on my oily lids. Bottom Line: not a good product :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Princess817 on 7/12/2011 1:29:00 AM more reviews by Princess817

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First of all I will say I am on the fence about this product. I gave it three out of three because I believe the price is a LITTLE high but, it is still new.
I bought this in Beige Blaze (really it's like an ivory, in my opinion). First time I used it, it streaked all over my eyes. Looked like I put on paint. Next time, I rubbed my finger over it and blended it in. Still a bit of streaking but not as bad. It really DOES stay on though. 9 hours in a humid building, even rubbing eyes accidentally it did not come off. So for that I give it props. A little drying if you have dry skin, like me. My eyelids get so dry the skin flakes off. For this reason I could probably not wear this every day as an easy staple as I was hoping. BUT I say it's worth a shot, I plan on getting this in another shade to see if maybe a darker shade minimizes some of the streaking. No creasing though. I think a lot of people will like this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Linatha on 7/10/2011 7:13:00 AM more reviews by Linatha

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in Extreme Green, which is a celadon with a little gray and a gleam of gold. Just the right mix of green and gray. Earthy yet elegant..

I applied this one morning and did 6 hours of yard work in the burning sun and my eyeshadow was unchanged. Nice.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lexijojohnson on 6/20/2011 12:16:00 PM more reviews by lexijojohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought these in Beige Blaze and Brown Bling. I've only used Brown Bling so far - so I'll be commenting on that! I believe that these are supposed to be a primer and shadow intensifier. I find this to be great at being a shadow intensifier, but I'm still not sure about the primer qualities. The Brown Bling color is a nice cool taupey brown. For all of us taupe-lovers, this does a great job of intensifying the shadow color. A little goes a long way. I would like to try wearing this by itself sometime - when it is alone, it could make an interesting smokey color, but looks almost more purple-bruise like when it is on my lids! I think that with my oily lids, this might be better used with shadow instead of alone!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Eye Shadow products