Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1669 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 aprilgirl427 on 11/4/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by aprilgirl427

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I finally gave in to my curiosity and bought Hope in a Jar moisturizer. I got a good deal on it at the Army Exchange since the price is lower and you pay no sales tax. I began using it almost 2 weeks ago and it has made my skin feel like a baby's bottom. I have very few wrinkles, even though I am a 60 year old African American grandmother. My skin is slightly oily on my forehead and T-zone. However, my skin tends to be drier in the fall and winter months. So, I wanted a lightweight moisturizer that I could wear day and night. I use it over my nightly serum and I have been getting compliments regarding my skin having a glow. I mix the Hope in a Jar with my liquid foundation during the day and it gives me a dewy, glowing complexion. I wished I had tried this years ago. It will be a permanent part of my skin treatment regimen.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaniaRides on 11/1/2013 2:25:00 PM more reviews by TaniaRides

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really hate this cream.. if you can call it a cream, with its weird consistency. It's like a hard cream in the jar and then it sort of melts into a weird, watery consistency on the skin. Then it just sort of sits on top of my skin and doesn't absorb or moisturize. I actually find this really drying. And I hate the smell. It smells like the bitter orange scent that gets on your hand after peeling an orange, plus some vinegar. Awful.

This doesn't do anything good for my skin, other than make me get dry patches and angry red blotches, and the smell is terrible.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ogstar on 10/24/2013 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Ogstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I got this as a gift. It doesn't break me out (I'm super sensitive) and I don't have a problem with absorption (I use a clarisonic).. However, I use natural aloe vera as the last step in my skin are routine and mixed with this it smells FISHY. It goes away after absorbed, but it's funky until then. I wouldn't recommend this. There are better moisturizers at more reasonable prices. I didn't purchase mine, but I wouldn't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Boborian on 10/18/2013 1:26:00 AM more reviews by Boborian

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This product was terrible. Firstly, the packaging is not the most sanitary since you have to stick your finger in. Next, this moisturizer smells appalling and very bothersome. Thirdly, this moisturizer does NOT sink into my skin. It just sits on my skin and so, if someone wanted to give me a peck on the cheek, or if I needed to touch my face for some reason, I would feel the stickiness of the moisturizer. It doesn't moisturize at all. Overall, this was more of a jar of hopelessness.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nliedel on 10/16/2013 2:05:00 PM more reviews by nliedel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

No hope for me. Nothing really works on all skin types, in my experience and this made me break out. I have fine lines, but I'm afraid it's going to have to be a, "laser." This was especially bad for acne in my T zone and right cheek. I tried it at different times of the month, on a box, with a fox, you get the idea. I personally, don't believe in purging. I've been trying to purge since my teens and there is no purging here. Just bigger and smaller zits.

I am a cosmetic formulator, although I'm into an art business now. I do formulate for me. I don't do creams. This was my last hope, no pun intended, and it's just not gonna happen for me and cream. Even Hope in a Jar. I really wanted to love it.

I gave it to my sister who raves. So, it's not all bad.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mililili on 10/16/2013 1:01:00 PM more reviews by Mililili

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my HG. But I do have watery eyes after applied this cream. And the product went bad or less effective very quickly after opened, probably less than 2 month.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Gailmakeup on 10/15/2013 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Gailmakeup

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I didn't like this at all, only provided about 15 minutes of moisture then dried my skin worse than before I applied it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RachelRexxx on 10/14/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by RachelRexxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for about a month now. I have mostly "normal" skin, not too dry, not too oily. I've been experiencing some eczema along my chin area and I'm somewhat acne-prone. I use it as my morning moisturizer and typically this works pretty well for me. I haven't broken out as much, and my skin feels sufficiently hydrated until I wash it again. The only real downside for me is the smell. I, myself, don't mind the smell (I like it, it's nothing special)...but my boyfriend hates it. He actually asked me to stop wearing it around him. All in all, I believe it's worth trying (or Sam

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 darklausal23 on 10/11/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by darklausal23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got this in a kit (otherwise I would have returned it) having oily skin leaves my skin moisturized without feeling greasy or heavy but the smell of this cream is terrible, the smell decreases as you wear it on your face but never completely goes away...skip it unless you can deal with stinky-ness. I was determined to use it at night before I go to sleep (to use it up) but I can't...ewww

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Karidinka on 10/10/2013 11:21:00 PM more reviews by Karidinka

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

In case you're thinking of purchasing this cream and reading these reviews while wondering if some are exaggerated, I have news for you - they're not exaggerated at all. This cream is terrible. It smells strongly of hair dye and does not moisturize AT ALL. I seldom return beauty products to the store, but I did return this one. Ew.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products