E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(745 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 newbie07 on 1/14/2011 1:26:00 AM more reviews by newbie07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I saw a video review for this online and thought I'd give it a shot for a dollar. The best dollar I've ever spent! This lid primer has not failed me yet, after an 8 hour work day my shadow still looks good. If you wait about another 2 hours (10 hours total) you'll notice a bit of a crease, but it's not that noticeable. I've used other primers and I have to say for a dollar, this works just as well as any other high-end primer that's out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 12/29/2010 8:46:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I like this. It doesn't dry my eyes out like other primers I've used (UDPP). I can't say much about the staying power because I've never "partied" in it or anything.. but it lasts all day for me.. just going to work and what not. I would definitely repurchase this, though I'm wondering if the mineral one is better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shazzer1976 on 12/21/2010 11:38:00 AM more reviews by Shazzer1976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as part of a present from a friend who did a bit of an Elf haul for me! I am super impressed by what this does to my eye makeup. If I don't wear it, I usually have very little eyemakup left by the end of the day. If i do wear it the colour looks richer and truer - a lot of the make up I wear goes pink - and lasts a lot longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 saintoflimes on 12/11/2010 8:58:00 PM more reviews by saintoflimes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Meh, it wasn't nearly as wonderful as the Urban Decay Primer Potion. It's not terrible though - I'm giving it to my pre-teen cousin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hautechic on 12/7/2010 9:28:00 PM more reviews by hautechic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Another one of my ELF favorites! Keeps my eyeshadow in place all day and doesn't dry my eyelids out (like UDPP did). I like the Mineral Eyeshadow Primer from ELF just a smidge better, but only because it seems to be a little thicker? I feel like I get a little more coverage with the Mineral Primer, but for a buck...you can't go wrong with this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 somethingbeautiful on 12/4/2010 4:41:00 PM more reviews by somethingbeautiful

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I actually like this primer. For a buck, itís a great deal. It keeps my eyeshadow looking nice all day. You put it on and it has very sheer coverage, feeling a bit oily at first but then soaking in and keeping your eyelids nice and dry in preps for shadow. Packaging sucks a bit, but I mean its not too bad. The major thing I donít like about it is the smell. The doe foot applicator is alright, but I usually spread it on the lids with the doe foot and then rub it in with my finger.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 countessn on 11/29/2010 9:58:00 PM more reviews by countessn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great primer for the money. I tried on one eye, the ELF primer and on the other Urban Decay primer potion, and I didn't see a major difference by the end of the day. I would repurchase the ELF over the Urban Decay for the minor difference. 18 bucks vs. 1 dollar for not that much of a difference. Go with the ELF!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Karencitaaa on 11/29/2010 9:36:00 PM more reviews by Karencitaaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I find the quality of this primer really good for just a $1. I gotta admit it is a bit greasy but if you blend it out well enough, it works great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lciaravi on 11/18/2010 9:26:00 AM more reviews by lciaravi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I had to hurry in here and write about this product. I wear a lot of eyelid primers (Ultima 2 crease not, fade not, MAC soft ochre paintpot, The Body Shop primer, etc.)
I have never had a problem with any of these primers and I do not have sensitive skin. However, about fifteen minutes after I put this E.L.F. primer on my lids, with no other product over it, my eyelids were burning like crazy and even now, after I've removed it , my lids still have a burning sensation. In the trash this goes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovecoma on 11/15/2010 8:40:00 PM more reviews by lovecoma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I find the argument that this is identical to the mineral line primer to be untrue. I believe the mineral line primer to far surpass this. This primer works for me but I don't like it as much. Sometimes when I apply it, it clumps up in my lashline and leaves cream colored chunks. :( It does help keep eyeshadow on but again, in my opinion, the mineral version does better. I believe I would go so far as to say the mineral version is my HG (I have tried UDPP and gave it to a friend b/c it dried out and stung my eyelids and returned the VS one for the same reason. Some day at Ulta I'll buy the tiny trial of TFSI probably.)


If you're making an ELF purchase, I would honestly say skip this and spend the extra $2 for the mineral one. I also would say steer clear of the Studio Line primer - mine got this weird wet film on it and made my eyeshadow look terrible. Of those 2 I would suggest this. But only if the mineral version is unavailable.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products