E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 4.0(783 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sandwiches on 4/3/2011 9:29:00 PM more reviews by sandwiches

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Let's get a few things out of the way first. Number one: I am an eye primer virgin (or I guess I was). Number two: Until picking up a job in my old hometown where I did not want to be recognized (never wore makeup in high school), I did not wear eyeshadow on a daily basis. Number three: I am poor. Enter E.L.F. eyelid primer. Since eye primer is apparently a must-have when doing makeup, and this stuff was only a dollar, I thought why not? Anxious to use it, I got home and grabbed some shadows to put on. The primer is kind of runny, is this normal? I usually apply some with the (out-of-place) lipgloss wand to my eyelids and smear it all around with my finger. I have noticed a difference as far as the sticking power of my (over the counter) eyeshadow. Sometimes there are strange traces of white, and I've noticed that not all shadows blend too well with this primer. Staying power is a bit weak, but a lot of the looks I wear are more on the subtle side. I don't know how it would fare if I put it to the test some night with wild, bold colors. Ironically, it seemed to not work so well with the E.L.F shadow I bought!
All in all, there's a first time for everything, and while my tryst with E.L.F.'s eyelid primer wasn't anything too magical, I have very little regrets. Except for the fact that there is no "maybe" listed under "Would you buy this product again?"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* denns on 4/3/2011 8:33:00 PM more reviews by denns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this so much better than UDPP. It's not as watery, and I think it provides a more stable base for shadows. When I've used UDPP [especially with the Naked Palette, which is what UDPP came with] on intricate, complex eye-shadow looks, all my shadows tend to "melt together" during the day, and by mid-afternoon/evening, my eyes are a mess. All the colors have blended and look ruddy. When I use the ELF primer, this never happens.

If you're debating between the two, I'd get the ELF [I find mine at my local Target] and try that first. I mean....it's only a dollar. C'mon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 5633lcarpo on 4/3/2011 8:20:00 PM more reviews by 5633lcarpo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

so basically this product is a dupe for udpp.
not the same but close to it.
i recently purchased udpp and expected alot more then what i got.
well the elf eyelid primer was the same , kept my eyeshadows on for up to 5 hours but they did fade more then when i use the udpp, but only slightly.

pros
- cant go wrong with a 1.00 item
- dough foot applicator (i love them)
- consistency blended in my skin better then udpp
- kept eyeshadow from creasing!
- kept eyeshadow on for 4 hours or more

cons
- not as great as udpp but comparable (but then again who expects something 1 dollar to work the same as an 18.00 one?)
- faded slightly after a good while

BOTTOM LINE : it does the job and i would not hesitate to purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashleyyy225 on 4/2/2011 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Ashleyyy225

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently ran out of my Urban Decay primer potion so I was looking for a cheap dupe to get me till I got down to my Sephora. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much from this product but I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. It works just as good as my Urban Decay primer potion and almost has the same consistency (the e.l.f. primer is a tad bit more watery). We just had one of the hottest days of spring (90 degrees) and I went to work sporting the e.l.f. primer and some eyeshadow. When I got home later that night I noticed that my eyeshadow was still in tact...eight hours later! I've decided to stick to this product instead of returining to my UD primer. :]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LioTheGr8 on 4/2/2011 2:58:00 AM more reviews by LioTheGr8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

All in all, this product does what it's supposed to do. My eyeshadow did not wear off for 6 hours, but it does not really make your color look brighter.

The packaging is slim and sleek, but I would have preferred a squeeze tube, as I find this products packaging to be a tad wasteful.

The formulation has some slip, but is easily bendable and dries to a soft satin finish.

All in all, for a dollar, this can't be beat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marippe on 4/2/2011 2:49:00 AM more reviews by marippe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

for $1 i wasn't expecting too much, but i thought it would be worth a shot. my e/s probably lasted 2hrs before it started creasing. if you have very oily eyelids like me, this probably won't work for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hopelessheart on 3/29/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by hopelessheart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Works just like it should, it's on the same level as UPDD for me. Of course since it's only a dollar its well worth the price! The only problem I have is that it doesn't dry clear (which doesn't matter too much since I'm putting eye shadow over it)on my NC 43ish skin. Regardless I've bought backups!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iilovepiink on 3/29/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by iilovepiink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I figured... its a dollar, might as well give it a try. Bought it from Target, well as soon as I put it on it started to irritate my eyelid. Now maybe I got a bad batch, because I am not allergic to anything nor have I ever had a bad reaction from makeup. Strange... I left it on so it could dry and it creased immediately afterwards, plus it left an awkward top lid raccoon eye effect where it was lighter than my skin tone, even after blending. Needless to say, its going in the trash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jasminese on 3/26/2011 3:18:00 AM more reviews by jasminese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Whilst running around Target, the ELF section caught my eye. As my eyes skimmed the display, I let out a gasp. Was that the ELF tinted moisturizer? And $1 lipsticks? And other coveted products I've only seen on the website? (Although, I'm still waiting for the HD powder..) I quickly snatched these new products, and happily pranced home to try out my new goodies.
This eyelid primer retails for $1 and is packaged in a small sleek package. The applicator is a doe-foot -- which is actually a plus in this case. The product itself is slightly oilier than UDPP, but once you pat it into your eyelids... BAM! Insta-stay! This primer does not make your eyeshadows pop, but it does make them stay put! I have a bad habit of rubbing my eyes, and with this on, I can rub without fear or having messed up makeup.
4 stars for the packaging, as the logo wore off a few days after use. Better shape then UDPP... and better price as well! And 4.5 overall for doing it's job while saving my wallet from feeling empty :-)

*update*
it does rub off.. was being to excited about this product lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ggordil on 3/25/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by ggordil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good everyday primer for me. I don't think it works as well as UDPP. It doesn't keep shadow from creasing for as long and it doesn't make the colors as intense. However, since I mostly wear neutrals to work everyday, I don't need something to make colors more vibrant. For $1 this works perfect as an everyday primer. I don't find it to be too oily. And I like the light color it leaves on my eyes because my lids are dark and it helps even out my skin tone.
For very colorful looks, I still use UDPP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products