E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

832 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 6/18/2011 9:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was just starting out in make-up a few months ago and found out that i need eyelid primer so it can last after doing some research i found out this product was a 1$ and at my local target..I did like how when it dries its powdery, makes eye shadows harder to mix..it does make it less pigmented..so instead i brought the E.L.F shimmering facial whip in pearl and it works great



on 6/18/2011 1:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This stuff is AWESOME. I'm a huge newbie when it comes to makeup and was ready to give up on eyeshadow altogether due to the smudging and creasing as well as fading.

After hours of research on Google, I was trying to decide between UD or Mary Kay primer. Then I found a video comparing the UD one to the ELF one and I thought "At that price, what do I have to lose?"

I'm so glad I didn't fork out the $$$ for the UD or Mary Kay. The E.LF primer is so fantastic. I have not had a single crease in my eyeshadow since using it for a number of months now. Nor does my eyeshadow smudge. The eyeshadow goes on smoother and lasts longer.

I have extremely sensitive skin, prone to dryness and eczema and to my surprise, my eyelids have suffered no ill effects from almost daily use of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 5:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Like someone below me said, I would purchase this product only if you have no other options and money is extremely tight. Using this primer is better than using nothing at all, but those who claim that this product is just as good as UDPP and TFSI are kidding themselves. Your shadows will last a little longer with ELF eyelid primer, but they will not last all day.

The thing that was the most frustrating for me is that not only will this primer not brighten your eyeshadow, but it actually makes it DULLER and LESS pigmented. You end up packing your eyeshadow on to get the same depth you would get using UDPP. So in the end, you may be saving money by purchasing this, but you waste product by using so much eyeshadow.

If you have the means, sucks it up and buy UDPP. It's worth it.


on 6/14/2011 1:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have used my eyeshadow primers. Most of them expensive. I've been using UD primer potion for over a year and I loved it because it worked. I've also used MAC paint in Untitled. Both are very good primers. I have to use e/s primer or else my e/s will crease. With that said, I bought the ELF primer for my niece because I didn't want to use the good stuff on her. I tested it out first and was suprised that it had almost the same exact texture as UD primer potion. I figured there was no way it would work being $1. To my surprise, it did work. My e/s lasted 9+hours without creasing or fading. I went back and bought another primer for myself. I've been using it for about 2 months and I don't have any problems. I can't believe i found a primer that works for $1! I love the packaging as well. It has a doe foot applicator and you can get the product out a lot easier than the UD primer potion. If you're on the fence, I would suggest trying it. It's only $1 but it works. I will definitely be stocking up.


on 6/13/2011 6:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

It took me a minute to get warmed up to this product as I've used UDPP. It does a decent job (hey it's a $1 people!) keeping my shadows from creasing. I get about 6 hours of wear before the creases set in. While UDPP makes it hard to blend your shadows, this primer doesn't have that issue. However, UDPP definitely makes your shadows pop. This one doesn't. Overall, though, I like it and will purchase again. I'd like to try the Mineral primer to see what, if any, difference exists.


on 6/13/2011 9:56:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It works great. It's only one dollar. BUT, the package tube shape is terrible. Tube is tapered and is widest at the top so you can't get the remaining product out. Product gets stuck in this area. ELF, are you listening ? Redesign the tube shape.


on 6/10/2011 2:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have re purchased this many times! I love it!!!
Works very well for me!


on 6/10/2011 2:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I cannot believe how cheap this eyelid primer was. I really thought it had to have been too good to be true but once I started using it I learned that it was actually really great. My color stays on all day as long as I properly apply the primer. I have dry skin, but during the day I get oily so this keeps my eyeshadow from breaking down. Best part about it is that it's only a dollar!
I will definitely buy this product again =]


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

About Me: Oily Lids. However, I've found a liquid eyeliner that doesn't smear on me... EXCEPT WHEN I WEAR THIS PRIMER! What a disappointment. The only other primer I can compare it to is BeneFit's Stay Don't Stray, and this primer is super oily compared to it. I also found that this took a bit of time to dry because of how oily it is... Man, I really wanted this to work because $1 for primer would've been awesome! Oh well.


on 6/7/2011 10:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this it's the first eye primer I have owned but it does everything I wanted from a primer so I'll definitely be repurchasing. The packaging is kind of cheap looking but I can't really complain about that as the product is cheap and brilliant. My eyeshadow lasts all day now and I don't get the awful build up of eyeshadow on the crease of my eyelid I used to get.


Back to Top