E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

838 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 6/29/2011 1:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the first primer I've used, but I needed one and since this was such a steal, I thought I'd try it. And it actually works quite well. It keeps my oily lids from, well, being oily. It also makes my eyeshadow stay with only just a tiny, tiny bit of creasing by the end of the day. My only problem with it is that it makes my eyeshadow less vibrant, but not in a noticeable way really.



on 6/27/2011 12:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am in love with this stuff! The best part is that it's only a dollar! I was very skeptic at how it would work considering the price. But I was amazed! The other primer I was using always creased two hours after applying it which was contradictory to the point I thought. This kind doesn't though! And it's great for when I want to wear my bright, cheap eyeshadows lol! I'm not thrilled with the tube though. It was fine for the first week or so. After that it started doing this thing where it would push some out when you closed it and some would come out around the ring where the applicator goes in. But, hey, it's only $1 so it's not like I'm crying over losing expensive product. I just finished one tube and it took me about 2 months and I only used it maybe twice a week. Overall, great product!


on 6/26/2011 6:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Something in the primer gave me an allergic reaction so if you have skin allergies I would definitely not buy this, because it's not hypoallergenic. Besides that, the primer doesn't even work that well. My eyeshadow had completely faded away after around 2 hours. I'm definitely not buying this again.


on 6/21/2011 12:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this yesterday for my oily eyelids and used it for this first time this morning. I WAS IMPRESSED. I applied at 8 am, went to work til 3, and ran some errands, and guess what? My eyeshadow still looked good. Now I'll admit I never used primer up until 6 months ago and that was saphora brand. it was ok, i didn't like the texture. But this I like, it's ackward with the wand but I just did a few swipes on the lid and blended with my finger.


on 6/19/2011 3:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, this didn't work for me. I wasn't expecting much, but for the price of this primer I thought I would just give it a try anyway. It does have a creamy consistency and blends easily into my skin-tone, but for someone like me who has oily skin, it wasn't enough to stop my eyeshadow from creasing. I'll use it up to even out my eyelid colour, but won't repurchase.


on 6/19/2011 1:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Is this the best eyelid primer I've tried? No. Is this a good everyday substitute for my more expensive primers so I can save those for special occasions? Yes!

I have really oily eyelids, especially if I go with tinted moisturizer and a subtle eyeshadow that day. So a primer of some sort is almost a necessity for me. However, wearing UDPP every day is too much money for me. This is a good substitute, though it doesn't last nearly as long. If you're just starting out or can't afford UDPP, this is a good one for you.


on 6/18/2011 9:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was just starting out in make-up a few months ago and found out that i need eyelid primer so it can last after doing some research i found out this product was a 1$ and at my local target..I did like how when it dries its powdery, makes eye shadows harder to mix..it does make it less pigmented..so instead i brought the E.L.F shimmering facial whip in pearl and it works great


on 6/18/2011 1:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This stuff is AWESOME. I'm a huge newbie when it comes to makeup and was ready to give up on eyeshadow altogether due to the smudging and creasing as well as fading.

After hours of research on Google, I was trying to decide between UD or Mary Kay primer. Then I found a video comparing the UD one to the ELF one and I thought "At that price, what do I have to lose?"

I'm so glad I didn't fork out the $$$ for the UD or Mary Kay. The E.LF primer is so fantastic. I have not had a single crease in my eyeshadow since using it for a number of months now. Nor does my eyeshadow smudge. The eyeshadow goes on smoother and lasts longer.

I have extremely sensitive skin, prone to dryness and eczema and to my surprise, my eyelids have suffered no ill effects from almost daily use of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 5:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Like someone below me said, I would purchase this product only if you have no other options and money is extremely tight. Using this primer is better than using nothing at all, but those who claim that this product is just as good as UDPP and TFSI are kidding themselves. Your shadows will last a little longer with ELF eyelid primer, but they will not last all day.

The thing that was the most frustrating for me is that not only will this primer not brighten your eyeshadow, but it actually makes it DULLER and LESS pigmented. You end up packing your eyeshadow on to get the same depth you would get using UDPP. So in the end, you may be saving money by purchasing this, but you waste product by using so much eyeshadow.

If you have the means, sucks it up and buy UDPP. It's worth it.


on 6/14/2011 1:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have used my eyeshadow primers. Most of them expensive. I've been using UD primer potion for over a year and I loved it because it worked. I've also used MAC paint in Untitled. Both are very good primers. I have to use e/s primer or else my e/s will crease. With that said, I bought the ELF primer for my niece because I didn't want to use the good stuff on her. I tested it out first and was suprised that it had almost the same exact texture as UD primer potion. I figured there was no way it would work being $1. To my surprise, it did work. My e/s lasted 9+hours without creasing or fading. I went back and bought another primer for myself. I've been using it for about 2 months and I don't have any problems. I can't believe i found a primer that works for $1! I love the packaging as well. It has a doe foot applicator and you can get the product out a lot easier than the UD primer potion. If you're on the fence, I would suggest trying it. It's only $1 but it works. I will definitely be stocking up.


Back to Top