E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(786 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xcandy_eyedx on 4/7/2011 7:08:00 AM more reviews by xcandy_eyedx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this product. I was using UDPP but lets be honest, it's expensive for what it does. This is a cheaper and in my opinion, better product. My eyeshadow doesn't budge or crease all day. I have to wonder if the people who are having problems with it are letting it dry before applying eyeshadow? I have very oily lids and i've never had any problems with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Anja89 on 4/4/2011 4:17:00 PM more reviews by Anja89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an okay primer for the price. It does prevent my eyeshadow from creasing for a couple of hours, but I have very oily lids so it doesn't last all day. I would definitely recommend it to someone who doesn't have very oily lids. I'm going to try the mineral primer next and hope it works better than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jnn78 on 4/3/2011 9:42:00 PM more reviews by jnn78

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing, amazing product right here. This literally keeps my eyeshadows on and keeps them from creasing ALL day. And I have very oily eyelids. This is perfect for anyone on a tight budget :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sandwiches on 4/3/2011 9:29:00 PM more reviews by sandwiches

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Let's get a few things out of the way first. Number one: I am an eye primer virgin (or I guess I was). Number two: Until picking up a job in my old hometown where I did not want to be recognized (never wore makeup in high school), I did not wear eyeshadow on a daily basis. Number three: I am poor. Enter E.L.F. eyelid primer. Since eye primer is apparently a must-have when doing makeup, and this stuff was only a dollar, I thought why not? Anxious to use it, I got home and grabbed some shadows to put on. The primer is kind of runny, is this normal? I usually apply some with the (out-of-place) lipgloss wand to my eyelids and smear it all around with my finger. I have noticed a difference as far as the sticking power of my (over the counter) eyeshadow. Sometimes there are strange traces of white, and I've noticed that not all shadows blend too well with this primer. Staying power is a bit weak, but a lot of the looks I wear are more on the subtle side. I don't know how it would fare if I put it to the test some night with wild, bold colors. Ironically, it seemed to not work so well with the E.L.F shadow I bought!
All in all, there's a first time for everything, and while my tryst with E.L.F.'s eyelid primer wasn't anything too magical, I have very little regrets. Except for the fact that there is no "maybe" listed under "Would you buy this product again?"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* denns on 4/3/2011 8:33:00 PM more reviews by denns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this so much better than UDPP. It's not as watery, and I think it provides a more stable base for shadows. When I've used UDPP [especially with the Naked Palette, which is what UDPP came with] on intricate, complex eye-shadow looks, all my shadows tend to "melt together" during the day, and by mid-afternoon/evening, my eyes are a mess. All the colors have blended and look ruddy. When I use the ELF primer, this never happens.

If you're debating between the two, I'd get the ELF [I find mine at my local Target] and try that first. I mean....it's only a dollar. C'mon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 5633lcarpo on 4/3/2011 8:20:00 PM more reviews by 5633lcarpo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

so basically this product is a dupe for udpp.
not the same but close to it.
i recently purchased udpp and expected alot more then what i got.
well the elf eyelid primer was the same , kept my eyeshadows on for up to 5 hours but they did fade more then when i use the udpp, but only slightly.

pros
- cant go wrong with a 1.00 item
- dough foot applicator (i love them)
- consistency blended in my skin better then udpp
- kept eyeshadow from creasing!
- kept eyeshadow on for 4 hours or more

cons
- not as great as udpp but comparable (but then again who expects something 1 dollar to work the same as an 18.00 one?)
- faded slightly after a good while

BOTTOM LINE : it does the job and i would not hesitate to purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashleyyy225 on 4/2/2011 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Ashleyyy225

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently ran out of my Urban Decay primer potion so I was looking for a cheap dupe to get me till I got down to my Sephora. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much from this product but I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. It works just as good as my Urban Decay primer potion and almost has the same consistency (the e.l.f. primer is a tad bit more watery). We just had one of the hottest days of spring (90 degrees) and I went to work sporting the e.l.f. primer and some eyeshadow. When I got home later that night I noticed that my eyeshadow was still in tact...eight hours later! I've decided to stick to this product instead of returining to my UD primer. :]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LioTheGr8 on 4/2/2011 2:58:00 AM more reviews by LioTheGr8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

All in all, this product does what it's supposed to do. My eyeshadow did not wear off for 6 hours, but it does not really make your color look brighter.

The packaging is slim and sleek, but I would have preferred a squeeze tube, as I find this products packaging to be a tad wasteful.

The formulation has some slip, but is easily bendable and dries to a soft satin finish.

All in all, for a dollar, this can't be beat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marippe on 4/2/2011 2:49:00 AM more reviews by marippe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

for $1 i wasn't expecting too much, but i thought it would be worth a shot. my e/s probably lasted 2hrs before it started creasing. if you have very oily eyelids like me, this probably won't work for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hopelessheart on 3/29/2011 10:57:00 PM more reviews by hopelessheart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Works just like it should, it's on the same level as UPDD for me. Of course since it's only a dollar its well worth the price! The only problem I have is that it doesn't dry clear (which doesn't matter too much since I'm putting eye shadow over it)on my NC 43ish skin. Regardless I've bought backups!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products