E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

824 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

About Me: Oily Lids. However, I've found a liquid eyeliner that doesn't smear on me... EXCEPT WHEN I WEAR THIS PRIMER! What a disappointment. The only other primer I can compare it to is BeneFit's Stay Don't Stray, and this primer is super oily compared to it. I also found that this took a bit of time to dry because of how oily it is... Man, I really wanted this to work because $1 for primer would've been awesome! Oh well.



on 6/7/2011 10:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this it's the first eye primer I have owned but it does everything I wanted from a primer so I'll definitely be repurchasing. The packaging is kind of cheap looking but I can't really complain about that as the product is cheap and brilliant. My eyeshadow lasts all day now and I don't get the awful build up of eyeshadow on the crease of my eyelid I used to get.


on 6/5/2011 2:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This worked well for me as the E.L.F. Mineral Eyeshadow Primer. I think the problem here is that E.L.F. has quality control issues where other people receive the crappy bunch and some people receive the good bunch thus, it's a hit or miss for people. Or maybe it's just that some people have very oily lids. My lids do get oily without the primer and eyeshadow creases in like 2 hours or less. But with this, it lasts all day until I take off my makeup at night. For $1, it's worth trying or buying a bunch to see which ones are good enough to keep.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2011 2:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this primer, but it did not work for me. It ended up creasing at the end of the day. I spread the product on evenly and 5 or 6 hours later the creases of my eyelids were filled with this primer. I'm not sure if I am explaining it clearly enough.... My eyelids have many folds ( I don't know why, maybe because I'm Asian? ) and the primer just ended up in these folds. The eyeshadow in the less oily areas of my eye did not budge that much, but everywhere else was a mess. Perhaps I am not using it correctly, but I did not like this eye primer. Also, the packaging seems unsanitary for an eye product. I wish there was not a doe foot wand. The price is very fair however, and I suppose this might work better for people with not so oily eye lids.


on 5/30/2011 11:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Although this is my first ES primer, I must admit I think it's pretty awesome stuff (all for the low, low price of $1!). I first put concealer on my eye lids, then powder, then put this on top, finishing with my eye shadow/liner. I live in a very humid city and have a two hour commute everyday; this stuff keeps my eye shadow looking fresh with absolutely no creasing! Prior to this, I thought I just couldn't apply ES well, however after using this and seeing how vibrant everything goes on and how well it all blends, I'm thinking maybe I'm not so inept after all! :)


on 5/28/2011 10:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently ran out of UDPP and needed an eye primer to replace it. I saw this at Target for $1.00 and figured that for the price I had nothing to lose. The texture and consistency is alot like UDPP, although a little thinner. It does even out my eyelids and makes shadows more vibrant. As far as being long wearing....it's not. My eyeshadow doesn't last any longer with this primer than it does without it. I have had my makeup on for 8 hrs today, and my eye shadow wore off about 2 or 3 hrs ago. I guess for $1.00 I shouldn't expect much, and in a pinch I would probably repurchase. I know now that UDPP is worth every penny and this doesn't compare, but it is better than not having a primer at all.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first eye primer that I've tried and I love it. My eyelids always get oily, so primer is a necessity for me. Its dirt cheap, not too thick, and make my eyeliner last all day. I will definitely buy again


on 5/27/2011 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this a few weeks ago to test against TFSI, and I was not overly impressed. I have quite dry skin, so I have never had a huge issue with eyeshadow creasing/disappearing. This primer will keep my shadows on longer than not having any primer at all, but I did not find it mind-blowing by any means. Also, the packaging is annoying. A tiny, tiny bit of this product goes a very long way, and the wand applicator always has too much product on it, which causes me to waste product. I don't care that I paid 1 USD for this --- I do not want to waste product because I do not want to waste money. It does not brighten shadows or intensify colors, so this is a simple product that for the most part does what it should. I would repurchase if I had no other options because it's certainly better than nothing, but I will stick to my TFSI when I finish this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2011 11:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product about a month ago and have given it a good try. I would have to say that I honestly can't tell a difference from when I use this product and when I just use concealer as a base. I suppose for the money ($1 most places in US) it's worth a go but I wasn't shocked by its mediocre results.
I would say give it a try.
Pros: cost, packaging looks nice, no color, stops creasing.
Cons: funky smell (not strong), doesn't hold color or make it brighter.


on 5/26/2011 4:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

The 1.50/$1 range eyelid primer although does help to bring out the pigment in some eyeshadows, isn't really worthy of calling itself a primer.
It makes the shadow harder to blend and my makeup creases and fades within two or three hours as usual. It also makes my eyelids oily which doesn't help with the fading.
The Mineral 3.00 range eyeshadow primer is not much better. I tried it hopefully, but it's pretty much the same.
I guess thats what you have to expect from something so cheap, but normally E.L.F's products are so much better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top