E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 4.0(773 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hisoneandonly on 3/23/2011 12:41:00 PM more reviews by Hisoneandonly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product in a gift set that featured 5 items, it normally retails for $1 (this review is not for the Mineral version in the Studio Line that retails for $3).

This primer creased on itself, was difficult to blend over and did not grab color, so I used a TON of e/s to achieve an otherwise simple look. Needless to say, the additional work I put in ended up in a sloppy mess. I even tried it under their own e/s and it seemed incompatible still:( I wore this three days consecutively until I decided it is not for me.

On the plus side: The formulation feels comfortable on, is more moisturizing than most primers, dirt cheap and I like the consistency of the product.

I will not repurchase this item.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* singwritenow on 3/22/2011 12:23:00 AM more reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been on an E.L..F. kick lately and have to say that I am really impressed with this line. I have to admit my inner makeup snob came out when I saw how dirt cheap this was, but honestly, after trying it, it works as good or better than my UD e/s primer potion! I feel like turning cartwheels over this. Who knew? And get this, its one dollar! I'm yelling, ONE DOLLAR people! How can this be possible? It really works, I'm telling you. For $1 what have you got to lose?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 somedancer125 on 3/19/2011 12:40:00 PM more reviews by somedancer125

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

For a dollar I didn't expect this product to last 12+ hours. My shadows started to crease around the 9/10hrs mark & 8hrs with a 45 min work-out. I can apply blend it out let it dry for 15 sec then start my shadows, didn't find it to be greasy/oily. Reason why I didn't give 5 lippies is because after the 2nd/3rd time using it the part were it stops too much product from coming out came off, hey for a dollar that fine. Have one as a back up right now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bambooflower on 3/18/2011 5:04:00 PM more reviews by bambooflower

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good primer. I use it a lot and for the most part, it's effective in keeping my shadow from creasing. However, I find (for whatever reason) that it does not last as long as my UDPP. There have been days when I've noticed creasing on my lids after using this primer - a lot more often than when I use UDPP. I think it's best for 8 hours and nothing longer than that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tkkana on 3/17/2011 1:31:00 AM more reviews by tkkana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

this is a nice nice primer for me. i'm very light skinned but with very purply lids. (is purply a word?..spell check says no..) to get lighter colors to show up right on me i have to use a primer or concealer. i used my lightest shade of....the color workshop. yes the worst of the worst eyeshadows. to my great surprise they actually lasted a full work day..i even still had the shimmers left on my lid.
it's a creamy consistency, with a doe foot applicator. and even thou it says sheer it's really not, it's a very pale shade, think bare study in comparsion.
overall this is a win for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kidamnesiac on 3/14/2011 8:40:00 PM more reviews by kidamnesiac

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For a buck, this ain't half bad. It is a little 'greasy' in comparison to other eyeshadow primers, but the formula is thick enough to where that isn't a major problem.

Colours don't show up as vibrant on this as with UDPP, nor does it dry clear like UDPP, but it does a bang-up job at minimizing fading, holding frosts and light shimmers, and preventing creases for at least eight hours of wear.

If you're light-skinned, just starting with makeup, or in a serious financial pinch, I would recommend this product. Because it doesn't dry clear, however, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone with a darker skin tone. If you want your eyeshadow application to be true to pan, this isn't the product for you, either.

While I prefer my UDPP, I'd still buy this again in the future when I'm broke as a joke (which happens... yay, college life!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsSexyDivine on 3/13/2011 11:24:00 AM more reviews by MsSexyDivine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this Friday at Target for a $1.00, & wow I was really surprised this stuff really works. It lasted all day with no creasing whatsoever. My eyeshadow was easily blend able over it, & no dryness or irritation on my lids at all! I will definitely re-purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alv on 3/3/2011 1:13:00 PM more reviews by Alv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a newbie in the makeup world and then Elf is the best thing to start with. I've heard and read about primers and that they make the eye shadows last longer but I didn't feel like spending about 10 euros för a little tube of goo that I wasn't sure about using in the first place.

When a friend of mine told me about Elf cosmetics I thought "What the heck..." and ordered a couple of things and I must say, I'm impressed.

I get up about 6 o'clock in the morning and put on my makeup about half and hour later, when I come home from work at 16 o'clock and discovers that my makeup is almost the same as when I put it on it's a thumbs up from me. The packaging is simple but okay, the applicator does it's work of catching up some of the product but I have a feeling that it will be problem to use up all of it without cutting up the bottle...

I'm sure that there are other and much better products than this but I will hang on to this and I think that it will take time before I try something different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ImaJedi on 3/1/2011 9:10:00 PM more reviews by ImaJedi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

You know when you love a product so much that you KNOW its become a permanent staple in your MU collection? Well, this is one of mine. I've tried Urban Decay Primer Potion, etc - SO many primers. While I'm not saying this is BETTER than high-end primers, I'm saying that it works just as well.

It goes on SO smooth, so soft, so great. It makes colors pop, last longer & have no had ANY creasing problems since purchasing this. Will stock up like CRAZY. <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summerrain1994 on 3/1/2011 7:58:00 PM more reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

From the moment I bought this product I hated it. I opened it up, pulling out the wand (not even quickly) and a huge glob came out, literally flying across the room!
It's too oily, especially when you first put it on. I have to wait for like 5 minutes with my eyes closed for it to dry!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products