Maybelline • Lash Stiletto • Mascara

rated 3.2(1409 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Pnko on 1/10/2010 12:11:00 PM more reviews by Pnko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Edited:
After some months of use I have to say: it's MY FAVOURITE mascara of all time..!!

Pros:
-gives very good length
-very buildable
-very dark color
-gives good volume AFTER some time. The product needs to dry out a little first (it does after about 10-15 uses).

Cons:
- too watery when it's first opened.After a few uses it dries out a bit, and it gets better!
-doesn't seperate lashes as much as I expected. So you need to use a good clean brush, after application.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asmolkin on 1/6/2010 9:25:00 AM more reviews by asmolkin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am not much of a mascara person. I dont look for length or volume. i look for curl and thickening (at least at the base)...I also look for true brown shades (often only found in covergirl brands, for the night and the blackest black shades for the day (I am weird that way)...i dont like crunchy lashes if the mascara is black, it makes me look old. this mascara has a glossy finish. I have been cheating on my define a lash a little bit with this one but that is okay, they are different looks, both of which I wil appreciate.
The wand is so good for easy application and would recommend to anybody who is new with makeup too. It tickles your lashes and tight line nicey and is good for sensitive eyes. It does not clump and never has globs of mascara on the wand. it does achieve a false eyelash sort of look - the flirty fake eyelashes look, whereas define-a lash achieves more of a fake spider lashes look.

the look is really nice. It groups lashes and gives length and volume but not volume of an enormous amount. When you look at it in the mirror your lashes look so hollywood and glam! I have tried believe many drugstore mascaras out there, and believes me this holds a curl which is so important for anybody without naturally curly lashes and the patent shiny finish is great. What that does, is it does not make the mascara look dried up thus making you appear tired throughout the day.

I have to say that the waterproof one smudges so I am going to try the volumptuous waterproof and if it smudges less, that would be great. Maybe the original formula will improve after time and I can go back to the regular lash stilleto waterproof. This stuff NEVER goes on sale which means it is good. Oh packaging is GREAT. it is girly and I love simple black tubes that are square; it makes it easier to grip and good for my hand cramping issues. Try it!! Especially if you have already pretty short lashes...update, the waterproof one doesn't smudge anymore so they must have improved the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 saviibaby on 1/6/2010 12:58:00 AM more reviews by saviibaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is one of my top ones. It adds lots of length and separates my lashes very nicely. It also doesn't clump. The only thing it doesnt add is volume! Another con is it takes alot of time for the 'look' to build, about 3-4 coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 brixham on 1/3/2010 2:36:00 PM more reviews by brixham

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Green    

Tried this one in my never-ending quest for a fav. This was not it. Goes on ok but when I look in the mirror later - it's gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alphabetpony on 1/3/2010 1:35:00 PM more reviews by alphabetpony

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara did very little for me. No volume, lengthens some. The only plus is that it doesn't clump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DRag0ness on 1/3/2010 1:30:00 PM more reviews by DRag0ness

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

So far this is one of the better mascaras I have used, I still haven't found my favourite mascara but this is definitely one of the better ones. I originally bought this mascara because it doesn't give volume but just lengthens and separates and I wanted a mascara for like days when I didn't feel the need for very edgy looking lashes. I thought the brush picked up about the right amount of product, occasionally I might need to wipe off a bit but the brush I was remotely happy with. My lashes were separated, it held up my curls for a whole day. Overall I was happy with this product but I don't think I'll use it as my everyday mascara. Until I find a better mascara I'll stick with this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ssherices on 1/3/2010 12:02:00 PM more reviews by ssherices

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I actually like this. When I use my shu uemura eyelash curler it looks so pretty, almost like lancome defincils (which i love). So yea this is a pretty good ds mascara in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brookebaird on 1/2/2010 2:47:00 AM more reviews by brookebaird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I still haven't found the perfect mascara. However, this one does a great job lenthening my lashes. While it doesn't add thickness and curl (of course I want it all), it does leave a super glossy appearance that is really flattering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angelixia07 on 1/2/2010 2:28:00 AM more reviews by angelixia07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara absolutely lives up to what it claims, which is length and separation. I find that the brush is really good because it is skinny enough that getting into the corners and lower lashes is really easy and so is coating each lash. The long wand enables me to swipe a lot of lashes at a time. I find that the formula is pretty build-able. I can get in up to three coats without any clumping, not letting it dry between coats. It does get me a lot of length in both my upper and lower lashes, more than my HG, which is Maybelline Colossal. And it also separates very well up to three coats.

The thing that it does not provide is good volume, although it does provides some volume. I am not taking off lippies for that because it never claimed to give any drastic volume. I have been using three coats of this and then another coat of Colossal on top of that and it gets me great length and volume and really makes it look like I have noticeable lashes as compared to my original short and sparse barely there Asian lashes. One thing that sucks about this is that it is kind of hard to get off even with jojoba oil it sticks to the lashes very well maybe too well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Acadine on 1/1/2010 10:17:00 PM more reviews by Acadine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

EXTREMELY disappointing product. Gave me zero added volume and pitiful length, even after several coats and me trying to coax some length out of the ends of my lashes. The lengthening power of this mascara is comparable to Great Lash, which is pathetic given that Lash Stiletto is supposed to give "extreme length." To add insult to injury, Lash Stiletto is more expensive than Great Lash. Save your money and buy Cover Girl Lash Blast/Maybelline Colossal Volum' Express instead, both of which will give you longer and more voluminous lashes than this crappy mascara can. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone even if Maybelline paid me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products