Maybelline • Lash Stiletto • Mascara

rated 3.2(1414 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 hmfoden on 1/14/2010 6:56:00 PM more reviews by hmfoden

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i dont know why this product has such a low score.... i would have given it a 5 except that my estee lauder mascara is the best ive ever laid hands on. i have tried a lot of different mascaras... 3 different ones by clinique, loreal voluminous,telescopic,lash extentions, maybelline great lash, colossal volume, volume express, vibrating pulse , & lash xxl, covergirl lashblast, volume exact, lash exact, revlon double twist, and elizabeth arden though im not sure which mascara it was... well this is one of the best i have ever tried. no black patent shine though which i dont mind because i dont want my lashes to look plastic. there was no clumping and awesome length which i am OBSESSED about. i go for length over volume everytime. i never have problems with my mascara flaking for some reason...not even my bottom lashes... so i cant say if this one flakes or not because none of them do on me and i put a good few coats on. i really like the brush on this one because its easy to add an extra coat to my outer corner if i want. i do find that by the end of the day my lashes have gone a bit flat though...they dont look as long as they did in the morning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 1/14/2010 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
-Works well. Lengthens and volumizes generally well.
-Doesn't destroy your curl, holds it up alright.
-True to its color, its a good deep black.
-Seperates lashes, doesn't clump them together.
-cute packaging if you're one for packaging!

Cons:
-No "patent" shine.
-Flaked throughout the day! :(

Not rebuying ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 annaz26 on 1/12/2010 1:47:00 AM more reviews by annaz26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The only good thing with this purchase it that it was cheap. I bought it on clearance after being lured in by the advertising (and really, it is a cute idea, the bottle looks like the heel of a stiletto).

This mascara clumped and made me look as though I have about 5 really long eyelashes. After about three hours of wear, I began noticing flakes on my cheeks. From a brand new bottle!

I suppose I would recommend this to someone who has very short, very full eyelashes to begin with. It WILL give you length, but in that you sacrifice fullness. I would not purchase this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jmh1wdh2 on 1/10/2010 8:37:00 PM more reviews by jmh1wdh2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

What I love most about this mascara is that it doesn't smudge. My lashes hit my eye lids so if a mascara smudges it gets all over my nicely applicated eyeshadow and makes a huge mess. It is also easily removed at night with my cleansing oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adrenirushxaudri on 1/10/2010 8:29:00 PM more reviews by adrenirushxaudri

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I do like this mascara, but I don't think I'll rebuy. My Define-a-Lash does the very same thing and I don't have to work with it quite so hard. First of all, the tube is adorable but impractical. The square top makes is difficult to spin the brush when you're applying (I do that, I don't know if everyone else does, though.) The brush area of the wand is too long and the bristles are too far apart. BUT...if you work with it, you can get a semi-dramatic look that's good for everyday. It's not flaky, not drying, and the patent black sheen is nice. I generally use one coat and that seems to suffice. If the wand was altered a bit, it would be a better mascara. But like I said, I'll keep using it, but it's not something I'll rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pnko on 1/10/2010 12:11:00 PM more reviews by Pnko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Edited:
After some months of use I have to say: it's MY FAVOURITE mascara of all time..!!

Pros:
-gives very good length
-very buildable
-very dark color
-gives good volume AFTER some time. The product needs to dry out a little first (it does after about 10-15 uses).

Cons:
- too watery when it's first opened.After a few uses it dries out a bit, and it gets better!
-doesn't seperate lashes as much as I expected. So you need to use a good clean brush, after application.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asmolkin on 1/6/2010 9:25:00 AM more reviews by asmolkin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am not much of a mascara person. I dont look for length or volume. i look for curl and thickening (at least at the base)...I also look for true brown shades (often only found in covergirl brands, for the night and the blackest black shades for the day (I am weird that way)...i dont like crunchy lashes if the mascara is black, it makes me look old. this mascara has a glossy finish. I have been cheating on my define a lash a little bit with this one but that is okay, they are different looks, both of which I wil appreciate.
The wand is so good for easy application and would recommend to anybody who is new with makeup too. It tickles your lashes and tight line nicey and is good for sensitive eyes. It does not clump and never has globs of mascara on the wand. it does achieve a false eyelash sort of look - the flirty fake eyelashes look, whereas define-a lash achieves more of a fake spider lashes look.

the look is really nice. It groups lashes and gives length and volume but not volume of an enormous amount. When you look at it in the mirror your lashes look so hollywood and glam! I have tried believe many drugstore mascaras out there, and believes me this holds a curl which is so important for anybody without naturally curly lashes and the patent shiny finish is great. What that does, is it does not make the mascara look dried up thus making you appear tired throughout the day.

I have to say that the waterproof one smudges so I am going to try the volumptuous waterproof and if it smudges less, that would be great. Maybe the original formula will improve after time and I can go back to the regular lash stilleto waterproof. This stuff NEVER goes on sale which means it is good. Oh packaging is GREAT. it is girly and I love simple black tubes that are square; it makes it easier to grip and good for my hand cramping issues. Try it!! Especially if you have already pretty short lashes...update, the waterproof one doesn't smudge anymore so they must have improved the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 saviibaby on 1/6/2010 12:58:00 AM more reviews by saviibaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is one of my top ones. It adds lots of length and separates my lashes very nicely. It also doesn't clump. The only thing it doesnt add is volume! Another con is it takes alot of time for the 'look' to build, about 3-4 coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 brixham on 1/3/2010 2:36:00 PM more reviews by brixham

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Green    

Tried this one in my never-ending quest for a fav. This was not it. Goes on ok but when I look in the mirror later - it's gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alphabetpony on 1/3/2010 1:35:00 PM more reviews by alphabetpony

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara did very little for me. No volume, lengthens some. The only plus is that it doesn't clump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products