Maybelline • Lash Stiletto • Mascara

rated 3.2(1395 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 valegirl450 on 12/27/2009 11:46:00 PM more reviews by valegirl450

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was below average...It did lengthen my lashes, but did nothing to preserve the curl or add volume. By the end of the day, there were a lot of mascara flakes underneath my eyes, giving me the raccoon eye effect. I would not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 haleyanna19 on 12/27/2009 11:42:00 PM more reviews by haleyanna19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

At first, I loved this mascara, it does lengthen...but that's about it. :/ The big bulky brush is awkward to use, I poked myself in the eye quite a few times. I still wouldn't take a gold monkey for my Telescopic mascara :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Brendonoahsmom on 12/27/2009 1:55:00 PM more reviews by Brendonoahsmom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Tan, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It did its job in lengthening, but after a few more times using it, it just became plain mascara and didnt lengthen like the first time I tried it, well you get what you pay for, your supposed to replace your mascara anyway. Oh and It smells weird.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stefanie2590 on 12/27/2009 1:30:00 PM more reviews by stefanie2590

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Originally, I detested this mascara. I thought it smelled funky, uncurled my lashes, and did nothing for volume and curling. However, being myself, I couldn't let this product go to waste, and I figured out a way to make this mascara work.

Yes, my previous dislikes about the product still exist, but when worn the right way, this mascara can work. Instead of trying to create volume, I realized this is purely a lengthening mascara; I stopped adding gobs of mascara onto my lashes and my lashes still remained curled (not as much as they were right after I curled them, but still slightly curled). My lashes now are crazy long and separated (the brush is absolutely amazing).

This mascara washes off easily and doesn't flake throughout the day. The color is really intensely black - I didn't notice a "patent shine" but I wouldn't want that quality anyways.

I would only recommend this mascara to those with naturally voluminous lashes (or at least not sparse lashes) like mine so the lack of the volumizing factor can go unnoticed. I might repurchase this in the future, but right now I'm loving my L'oreal Voluminous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dianak35 on 12/26/2009 5:59:00 AM more reviews by dianak35

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this isnt the worst or best ds mascara, but it is worth a try. it does what it is advertised to do, and that is to lengthen lashes. I personally feel that it works better on lower lashes and i continue to use ysl on my upper lashes. however, if you have sparse lashes, i would not recommend this product, as it does not provide volume. i have been using it for about a month and a half and have full, yet short lashes. it has been working extremely well, no clumping or flaking whatsoever (and i typically wear my mu for 10 hrs straight) so i guess thats saying something for this product. i took off one lippie bc i really felt that the fact that i cant use this on my upper lashes was a bummer. btw the scent that everyone is hyped up about is extremely mild and barely noticeable hth

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clairenielson on 12/26/2009 4:47:00 AM more reviews by clairenielson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Clumpy, terrible quality product. The colour, despite simply being black, manages to look bad and extra fake against the rest of the face. The scent is off-putting... why give mascara fragrance? Who on earth actually thought a lack of fragrance in mascara was an issue to begin with? The brush does give length but that one redeeming quality isn't worth all the terrible-ness of this mascara. It gives your eyelashes that spider-legged look as exhibited by the numerous photos above which further prove my point about the cheap and fake ugly look this mascara accomplishes.

I got given this for a Christmas KK present which makes me relieved that I didn't personally spend money on it. Doubt I'll be using it again unless I suddenly run out of or lose my other mascaras in some freak accident... actually, I'd rather then simply go without. Bravo, Maybelline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristikitten29 on 12/24/2009 5:37:00 PM more reviews by kristikitten29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was really surprised when I searched for this and found so many negative reviews and the buyback at only 47%. I have really liked this mascara ever since it came out. The long, spindly brush does well in coating lashes and giving beautiful length. My eyelashes curl up below my brow bone when I wear this and I have found that as long as the tube isn't too old, this doesn't clump at all. (You should replace mascara every 3 months anyway.) No, it does not volumize, but why would you expect it to? It doesn't claim to. My lashes are fairly thick and if I don't use a lengthening formula, they end up looking short and fat. The smell isn't great, but it doesn't bother me and I really doubt that it is noticeable once the mascara is dry or that your eyes smell like that all day. One thing I haven't noticed is the "black patent shine" as it says in the commercial, but do I really need shiny lashes? I have no basis for comparison to department store mascaras as I can't afford them, but I think this is a fairly good purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SweetTartx3 on 12/23/2009 11:51:00 PM more reviews by SweetTartx3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great mascara if you want really long lashes. not so good for volume tho. but in general i really like it. the mascara it self is really cute. kinda looks like a high end mascara. Last thing i want to add is that it smell terrible while applying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Carybear on 12/23/2009 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I did NOT like this mascara. Its way too shiny and streetish...I was gagging at the overly perfumed scent of this product...WHY perfume mascara??? it smelled like my grandma's body powder, and who cares about length when it flakes on on your face. The length it gives isn't that great and looks sooo fake!!! I mean, look at the uploaded pics...SPIDER legs!! EW ew EW.
*relegates to GARBAGE*
lol not really, I gave it to my 16 year old, who is the one of the few who'd want to walk around with spiderlegs on her face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaimeyusu on 12/23/2009 3:08:00 AM more reviews by jaimeyusu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    


It does what it says it does - it gives length.
Absolutely no volume, but great length.
It's not "OMG !!!" amazing, but its 'pretty great'. so 4 lippie.

Again, the scent...now i donno why anyone would think 'hmm, let's make mascara smell pretty' (and the scent is not even that pretty).

I found this product great for lower lashes, - ! which is a plus.
I might even buy this just for my lower lashes, and use something else on my upper lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products