Dolce & Gabbana Light Blue

3.7

1407 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/7/2008 1:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i would say this is my second favorite fragrance besides from my Burberry Brit.
I dont like this when its first applied, but it like it after....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/6/2008 10:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased the large size(3.7 mL) of Light Blue for quite a steal and for that reason, I am quite pleased with it...I can be a little heavy but it reminds me of the summer and my college days. That being said, I am over this perfume after wearing it for a year and a half and smelling it on every other girl on the street. If you want a pretty easy go-to, smells great perfume, I would suggest this. However, if you are looking for a unique offering, please look somewhere else!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Although I'm giving it a mediocre rating, I actually like the smell of Light Blue. The first time I was introduced to Light Blue was by a Sephora consultant, on the tester strip this smelled like lemon scented bleach. I put the strip in a garbage can and forgot about the scent for over a year. When I was introduced to the perfume again, this time I bravely spritzed it on my wrists because I was feeling adventurous. Funny thing, the difference putting a fragrance on one's skin instead of a piece of paper. On my skin Light Blue is very airy, clean, and has almost a zen like peacefulness. This never really seems to develop past the top and mid notes on me, I don't detect any thing resembling woods or musk. Now, Light Blue isn't something I'd normally wear, but I do have a special place in my heart for this perfume. My only gripes, and these are major ones however, is that this stuff is /too/ light and doesn't last at all. Even when I douse myself I find the fragrance is gone in two hours and I can only smell myself if i put my wrists straight to my nose. I can't even smell it right after I've put this on (when perfume is usually really strong). Sort of disappointing really that such a nice fragrance has to be like this.


on 5/6/2008 3:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Love it. =) I'm not a fan of fruity floral scents. But this is one of a kind.


on 5/2/2008 7:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this scent. My HG of fragrances. I can still smell the scent on me at the end of the day.


on 5/1/2008 1:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have owned about 3 bottles...and I only have a sampler left. I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE the simplicity, the freshness, and the softness of this scent. It is the PERFECT summer scent that lasts for a considerable 6hrs...and even while the scent fades, it leaves behind a sweet reminder. I have worn D&G Red, and The One, and Light Blue is most certainly my most favorite. It'll turn into a classic, make no doubt about it. It is good for ages that range from 20-50, after that, something a bit more mature (and less fruity) may deem itself appropriate. My only caveat is that the tops to this perfume...ON ALL THREE BOTTLES...begin to adhere themseves to the bottles halfway through. Other then that, it looks as pretty, simple, fresh, and clean as it smells!


on 4/29/2008 3:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

its quite similar to anna sui secrect wish, i mean the smell...its a nice and fresh summery perfume...its super lovely in the summer days, but not for winter though


on 4/27/2008 12:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have bought-and given away-three bottles of Light Blue. I am currently on bottle #4, which I intend to keep for that one day in the middle of the summer when I feel compelled to wear it and nothing but it (the same day last year when I ran out to buy a bottle in the middle of a heat wave).

Yesterday I was in a supermarket, and passed a woman who obviously had the same kind of compulsion. She was drowning in it. A contrail of it billowed back down the aisle, forcing me to make two observations:

1. I have only smelled Light Blue in supermarkets. Not in theatres, restaurants, ladies' rooms, airplanes, hotels, or Sephora. Only in supermarkets. I have smelled it on a wide variety of women, and it smells different on (from) each one, leading me to a very shaky hypothesis about chemical reactions with a wearer's skin.

2. Yesterday's random encounter with Light Blue was one that magnified the woodiness of the base with a faint idea of crisp apple. Ten minutes later, I went back down the aisle and Light Blue hung in the air like a spectre, not a fragrance. If anything, it had expanded. It hovered, nearly heavier than air, a ghost of the wearer, who had made her purchases and gone home. There was a metaphysical moment: Did the wearer know she had left that part of herself floating about, seeping around cans of peas and carrots? Would she be horrified, even as it was enjoyable to at least one random stranger?

When I wear Light Blue, the base is nearly lost in the icy disinfectant of the top, which is sharp and frosty and synthetically tart. It's industrial, or postmodern industrial, meaning that its chemical qualities supersede any attempt to pass Light Blue off as the "deep and true" "feminine and resolute" fragrance Sephora claims it to be. Bluebells? Jasmine? Hardly. It's all sour apple, lemon, and the olfactory equivalent of the blue liquid inside an ice pack. The cedar isn't nearly so prominent on me as it was on the grocery shopper. It is there, sort of rough-hewn and plank-like, but more like a splinter than a foundation. And there will come that one day in the middle of August when it is the only acceptable antidote to humidity, even as there are suspicions that it is like wearing a car wash.

27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2008 11:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I like it. Its soft, and distinct. I don't think there's any other perfume out there that smells vaguely like it. Very unique, great for summer.


on 4/25/2008 7:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Its such a light and clean smell. My fiancee is really sensitive to heavy smells, and this has never bothered him at all. Its so light and refreshing. It like a combination of nautical, ocean scents and fresh linen. Love it! Its my signature scent.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
338 Reviews
Light Blue
1406 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Perfume review: Dolce and Gabbana Light Blue by Evange



Top Rated Dolce & Gabbana Products

Back to Top