Dolce & Gabbana • Light Blue • Fragrances

rated 3.7(1400 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 4/27/2008 12:40:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have bought-and given away-three bottles of Light Blue. I am currently on bottle #4, which I intend to keep for that one day in the middle of the summer when I feel compelled to wear it and nothing but it (the same day last year when I ran out to buy a bottle in the middle of a heat wave).

Yesterday I was in a supermarket, and passed a woman who obviously had the same kind of compulsion. She was drowning in it. A contrail of it billowed back down the aisle, forcing me to make two observations:

1. I have only smelled Light Blue in supermarkets. Not in theatres, restaurants, ladies' rooms, airplanes, hotels, or Sephora. Only in supermarkets. I have smelled it on a wide variety of women, and it smells different on (from) each one, leading me to a very shaky hypothesis about chemical reactions with a wearer's skin.

2. Yesterday's random encounter with Light Blue was one that magnified the woodiness of the base with a faint idea of crisp apple. Ten minutes later, I went back down the aisle and Light Blue hung in the air like a spectre, not a fragrance. If anything, it had expanded. It hovered, nearly heavier than air, a ghost of the wearer, who had made her purchases and gone home. There was a metaphysical moment: Did the wearer know she had left that part of herself floating about, seeping around cans of peas and carrots? Would she be horrified, even as it was enjoyable to at least one random stranger?

When I wear Light Blue, the base is nearly lost in the icy disinfectant of the top, which is sharp and frosty and synthetically tart. It's industrial, or postmodern industrial, meaning that its chemical qualities supersede any attempt to pass Light Blue off as the "deep and true" "feminine and resolute" fragrance Sephora claims it to be. Bluebells? Jasmine? Hardly. It's all sour apple, lemon, and the olfactory equivalent of the blue liquid inside an ice pack. The cedar isn't nearly so prominent on me as it was on the grocery shopper. It is there, sort of rough-hewn and plank-like, but more like a splinter than a foundation. And there will come that one day in the middle of August when it is the only acceptable antidote to humidity, even as there are suspicions that it is like wearing a car wash.

27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 honeysyrup234 on 4/25/2008 11:53:00 PM more reviews by honeysyrup234

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I like it. Its soft, and distinct. I don't think there's any other perfume out there that smells vaguely like it. Very unique, great for summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 abbottcm on 4/25/2008 7:36:00 PM more reviews by abbottcm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Its such a light and clean smell. My fiancee is really sensitive to heavy smells, and this has never bothered him at all. Its so light and refreshing. It like a combination of nautical, ocean scents and fresh linen. Love it! Its my signature scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hannax33 on 4/23/2008 5:07:00 PM more reviews by hannax33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

it's the perfect perfume for spring & summer :)
i need to go purchase my 2nd bottle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dhutchens on 4/23/2008 3:24:00 AM more reviews by dhutchens

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is great for spring and summer. My all time fav is the red top one and though this one is very different I love it. It doesn't last as long as some of the stronger scents but still last all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* topnotch_babydoll on 4/23/2008 12:54:00 AM more reviews by topnotch_babydoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

What a lovely summer scent! I usually stay away from citrusy,floral types but this was enticing.It has a sweet,light,mysterious,crispy,woodsy notes in it.Normally I go towards more sweet scented,vanilla scents.This was a pleasant change.The lasting power is a bit lacking however,you would think for the price it would be but thats how they get you to buy more! Would prob.repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 putu on 4/18/2008 8:06:00 PM more reviews by putu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

this probably my most favorite EDT,it feel so fresh,clean and crisp,light and not too heavy,it is true that staying power wont last but i love it,becareful with counterfeit perfume outside,if you never try it try bought samples on ebay

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cotter on 4/17/2008 11:36:00 PM more reviews by cotter

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Every time I wear this fragrance, men and women stop me and ask what fragrance I am wearing! So I love this! Very clean and a great summer fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kamicha on 4/15/2008 2:18:00 PM more reviews by Kamicha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is probably my all time favourite day fragrance, lovely citrus and apple top notes against quite complex background. I really don't understand the complaints about the staying power, in my opinion this scent lasts amazingly - being this light, it's also fresh and recognizable to the latest lingers. Or perhaps it is my skin that does its tricks...

I'm happy, too, that this is not as popular as it used to be just after the product launch. And oh, my husband loves it too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mulica on 4/9/2008 6:13:00 PM more reviews by mulica

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I do like this fragrance, however it is just too light. I don't like spraying myself 10 times a day so this product is not for me although I do like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dolce & Gabbana products

More Fragrances products