Maybelline Dream Matte Pressed Powder [DISCONTINUED]

image 1image 2image 3image 4

4.1

1385 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Talc, Nylon-12, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Cetyl Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Methylparaben, Triisocetyl Citrate, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, (+/- May contain: Mica, CI 77499, CI 77491, CI 77492 / Iron Oxides, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide).


on 9/26/2010 6:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I tend to lose interest in products fairly quickly and move on to other things that are new and exciting, but recently I've been trying to go BACK to things I haven't used for a while instead of buying more new things I don't need, to save some cash. This is such a great pressed powder. I'd recently been using Coty's Airspun (which I love) but unwittingly ran out of BCP and started having Universe's Worst Breakout (the story of my life).. Airspun didn't help cover as much as I was hoping so one morning I randomly reached for this. I'm so glad I did and I'm in love with this product again! This is perfect for days when my skin isn't looking too hot. It's got just enough coverage and is very fine so it covers blemishes and acne scars but also makes your skin look generally smoother. I don't find that it helps keep my skin matte any longer than other powders, but I mainly use it to set my makeup and even out my complexion anyway. Which is not to say it's not great for touch-ups during the day, it is! I don't like the packaging but who can complain with such a high quality, low price product?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/26/2010 2:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love this powder!!!! its the best i have dry skin so its hard to wear powder without it caking. This not only dosent cake but it looks so natural. i can wear it alone with just concealer or on top of my foundation to set it. No matter what it looks natural


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I. Love. This. Powder.

It is an AMAZING blotting powder. When I put a little bit on my forehead when it's shiny, its like magic. It COMPLETELY erases the oil.

If you're looking for COVERAGE, this is NOT for you, but if you just want a fabulous blotting powder, this IS for YOU.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2010 5:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! It has replaced my NARS pressed power forever! I used to be a fall face of makeup girl, everyday of the week. One morning I woke up and decided I didn't want to spend that much time in the bathroom. In comes this product. It controls the shine on my face, without being heavy, pairing this with the dream mousse concealer and my face looks flawless! It provides just the right amount of coverage, not to mention the price cannot be beat! I highly suggest this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2010 12:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

An amazing powder that goes on lightly in applied correctly. Leaves a soft, matte, airbrushed finish on top of the skin. The powder puff isn't too great, but it's decent for touch-ups on the go, if needed. I would rather use a big, fluffy powder prush to lightly dust it on top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

A little while ago, i found the older packaging version at my local big lots for only a few dollars. I decided to cave in and buy two since it was so hyped up. I think its a great powder but nothing i have to have.. Here is my thoughts..
~~~~~~~~~~~ PRICE & AVAILABILITY ~~~~~~~~~~~
The Maybelline Dream Matte Pressed Powder can be found in most drugstores like CVS, Walgreens, Rite Aid as well as mass discount stores like Walmart, Kmart & Target.The Maybelline Dream Products have changed & new products been released and other discontinued sadly but this powder has stayed on the shelves. The Dream Matte powder price will vary slightly depending on where you purchase as well as your location but generally priced around $5-6. If it works for you, the price isnt too bad but ive found a powder thats way cheaper that works better for me but overall, good price.
~~~~~ SHADE & FORMULA & PERFORMANCE ~~~~~
The Maybelline Dream Matte Powders come in various shades. Not a vast amount but a few. They were numbered according to their cooresponding shades in the foundations. I always buy the lightest or translucent shades in powders so i went with Light-0 which is more on the neutral coloring but works w/ my super pale cool skin. The powder is pressed well with little filler making it soft and easy to apply & blend. Whats nice is that it absorbs excess oils on your face as well as oils from your foundations. This is a MATTE powder. I like more natural or satin finishes which is hard to find in a drugstore powder but i do like this for the summer months when i know its hot outside & my makeup may melt off. This can also be used to blot or touch up throughout the day. Its pigmented enough to smooth out any uneveness in your skin but not super opaque that it covers blemishes or flaws. Its great for a setting or blotting powder. Some people swear by it. I think its pretty great. I love using it after foundation to set it so that it wont melt or oxidize. I also like to use it to buff out over pigmented blushes or bronzers. Also makes a great brow highlight since its matte & natural. If you find a shade that works with your skin, great. With most maybelline face products, i find they run dark and more on the neutral to warm side but the lightest shade can work on my cool skin. I dont have oily skin, more on the normal to dry in winter and this does help any oils from breaking through and it doesnt cling to any dry spots either. Now with too much, it will accentuate dry spots so I dont reapply since i dont need to. This wears a while at least 6 hrs or more so it does a great job.
~~~~~~~~~~~~ PACKAGING ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Maybelline Dream Matte Powder comes in a circular compact thats beige/tan in color. The logo & product name is located on the see through window on top of compact. The back has a sticker with shade name/ingredients etc on back. Inside, the compact bottom swivels out to a mirror & also included is a flat sponge. Its convenient if you need on the go touch ups. The packaging is on the tad too bulky but nothing super bulky. Id rather get more powder but some may like this setup. Its def unique and compact. The pan size is decent. The size of my palm. It took me quite some time to even hit pan even with daily use. It must mean i like it alot since i do like to switch up makeup so i keep going back to this. The packaging is great for slipping in your bag for touch ups throughout the day. I use a powder or kabuki brush to put on a dusting of powder but the sponge could def work. & also the mirror does come in handy.
Overall, this is a pretty good powder. Ive since found my LA Colors pressed powder that i feel in love with but thats bc i dont have oily skin. I think this powder is def worth a try. Would i repurchase? yes IF THEY QUIT TESTING ON ANIMALS :( why maybelline? when i first got into makeup, i didnt realize the animal testing procedures like i do know so im more educated & will repurchase. Id suggests those who feel the same way to do the same. But i think this is a good powder overall!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2010 8:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product, I believe I am sand (medium 0-1 I think... too lazy to check right now). Anyways I used to love Physician's formula loose talc free mineral powder but I hated the packaging totally the worst if your trying to keep things clean and definately NOT travel friendly. Anywho... I love the Maybelline. I just use a TINY bit after foundation. It keeps my foudation and blush in tact (if i'm using cream blush). The only problem is that you definately can easily go overboard with it and make yourself look ultra cakey. Use a soft hand... other than that I give it an a+... still looking for my HG powder though...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2010 12:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using sand for the summer and cream for the fall as a finishing powder on top of my foundation to set it. Instead of using the little sponge thingy it comes with, I've been using my kabuki brush instead to brush a bit over my T zone. It does matte my face, but only for around 4 or 5 hours before blotting becomes necessary.

Honestly, it DOES look cakey no matter how little I use, especially in the first two hours, but after that it looks great on my face... I guess two hours later is when the oil starts popping up and getting absorbed.

I like the packaging of the powder, with the twist out mirror and all but I rarely use it. It does make it pretty obvious that there's very little powder in the compact though.

Coverage wise, from my cream (the lighter one) powder, I've noticed no colour at all. It seems almost transparent while the sand (a shade darker) does give off some colour that is noticeable if you are in the sunlight and I could actually wear it by itself and maybe a few dabs of concealer and be ready for the day.


on 9/13/2010 8:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing, doesn't cake unless you put ALOT, mattifies the face instantly and does not contain any shimmer. Perfect. I love this though the packaging is a bit big and clumsy and it feels like it would break if I force it open too much for the mirror part.


on 9/13/2010 9:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Wow! This a a great finish to my makeup. It doesn't last too long, but it makes me look polished and fresh.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Review: Maybelline Dream Matte Powder by glintzy

Recommended for Normal Skin

Back to Top