DHC • Deep Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.2(1341 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Karamellmietze on 12/14/2007 5:15:00 PM more reviews by Karamellmietze

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is an ok product. But I did have high expectations when I bought it after I ran out of Laventine's Olive Forte Cleansing Oil, which I absolutely love (check reviews!). DHC's is more runny and I don't enjoy massaging it into my skin as much as I do with Laventine's Cleansing Oil. Also it didn't clear up my skin which I experiened with Laventine's CO. Altogether, I think DHC's Deep Cleansing Oil is overhyped and Laventine's underrated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 paigupaigu on 12/13/2007 2:32:00 PM more reviews by paigupaigu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really can't decide if I like this product or not. As a teenager eager to try this brand, I was horribly disappointed. It felt greasy and though it didn't cause me to break out, it just left too much of a "slick" feel to my face. I prefer products that wash off with just a few splashes of water. Years later, I received samples of this and decided to try again. Maybe my skin has matured but now this seemed to work just fine. I'm used to products that lather, so just using this oil felt weird, but it cleaned and felt just fine. Nothing outrageous, though. Still felt that oily film afterwards but it wasn't apparant by touch so I guess that is more of a protective, moisturizing feel(?) Not crazy about the smell, either, but it might appeal to someone who doesnt' like the fragrance of most cleansers. I would try this again if it goes on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dressagehj on 12/8/2007 9:27:00 PM more reviews by dressagehj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for over two years, so I'm pretty confident in my review. :-) I'm in my mid-30s, oily skin w/frequent breakouts. DHC oil is the only thing that I use to remove makeup. It gently removes, doesn't strip, and leaves no oily residue. It's also great for eye makeup. I'm of the belief that less is more. If you're going to use ONE product for makeup removal and cleansing, this is it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 babyslk7 on 12/8/2007 4:16:00 PM more reviews by babyslk7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Just to advice that DHC olive oil products is not the same as olive oil that you buy in the supermarket. Please do not use regular olive oil on your face unless directed. The olive oil that DHC used has been filtered to use on the skin. So, don't think buying a regular olive oil at that price compared to DHC deep cleansing oil. Cleansing oil is based on Japanese skincare routine that been invented and used for ages. It means to be used with a 2nd cleanser as the next step following with toner or lotion (as in all Japanese toner bottles). The Japanese call toner a lotion and normally they pat it on the skin unlike the cotton pad thingi, but you can use it on the cotton pad as well if you wish. The lotion/toner needed as to balance out the PH level on your skin and prep the skin for moisturizer and/or serum. Yes, I do advice to use a waterproof eyemakeup remover for stubborn waterproof mascara on the eyes area before using the cleansing oil. It may cause break out for the first 2-3 weeks of using this as this purge out all skin impurities and dirt, bur rarely happens.

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 deborahmh on 12/8/2007 3:24:00 PM more reviews by deborahmh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

A wonderful cleanser. Seems counter intuitive to put oil on your face to remove oil and makeup but like they say "diamonds cut diamonds " and this product really removes oil. The impurities on your skin start to vanish after about a weeks worth of use. Makeup today is made to stay on but it's really hard to take off. If it seems too expensive then buy one and just use it when you wear foundation. I normally let my skin "breathe" on my days off anyways. Personally, I love this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teekay01 on 12/5/2007 1:13:00 AM more reviews by teekay01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff really takes it all off. I wish I could afford it all the time, but it's going to a special treat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kerroppi on 12/4/2007 1:24:00 PM more reviews by kerroppi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

was really neat concept and I liked how it dissolved on its own so there was no need for a washcloth to wipe it off and no chance for residue. My only gripe is it doesn't remove all waterproof makeup that well. I ended up switching to Pond's cold cream cleanser and although I have to wipe it off, it takes off all the eyemakeup much faster and is so much cheaper!

edit: for those that like oil cleansers like this, you can just buy the ones from other asian brands for a fraction of this. I really like the softymo , speedy cleansing oil. You can find them in asian grocery stores. I think dhc in comparison is too expensive and on the thick side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 berned_you on 12/1/2007 11:36:00 PM more reviews by berned_you

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is so-so. Definitely smells like olive oil. Did a decent job of removing makeup and left my skin fine. I just wasn't wowed. I thought it would be more moisturizing for MN winters and I also thought my skin would be softer. I prefer CO Bigelow Cold Cream for this sort of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* effloresce on 12/1/2007 9:45:00 AM more reviews by effloresce

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This really didn't work out for me. The Deep Cleansing Oil is a thick, clear yellow oil which is packaged in a clear bottle with a pump.

I had problems using it alone as a cleanser because my skin felt extremely greasy and oily afterwards (I have normal-combi skin with a slightly oily forehead, nose and chin). It didn't work particularly well in removing makeup either. I later tried using it to remove a really stubborn mascara, Shiseido's Dramatical Volume mascara, but it didn't manage to remove all of it either. I still continued using it because it seemed like nothing would remove the mascara anyway!However, within a week i started noticing small zits and clogged pores around my eye area, as well as millea seeds (which i'm quite prone to) and figured it had to be the oil, since i had changed nothing else in my usual routine. I stopped using it, did a series of spot treatments and my skin has calmed down, though i'm still fighting the scars. I wouldn't recommend this, and i usually very rarely break out or have reactions to products.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SuperGeekIAm on 12/1/2007 4:14:00 AM more reviews by SuperGeekIAm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I might have read this tip on this board, but I tried it and I think it actually makes the cleansing oil MORE effective (at least it is AS effective as the original mix.) When my DHC cleansing oil was half empty, I filled the other half with virgin olive oil for a cheap stretch. I tried using just olive oil as a cleanser, as was recommended somewhere, but it wouldn't rinse off entirely and didn't clean well. This mix does rinse off, cleans better (I think) than the original mix, and stretches beauty dollars nicely.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Cleansers products