DHC • Deep Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.2(1316 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tsaraya29 on 10/16/2007 12:07:00 AM more reviews by tsaraya29

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I remember reading somewhere that instead of using soap and water some ancient Roman culture would slather oil all over their bodies and squigee it off in order to have smooth, soft skin. That's what this product reminds me of. This is one of the greatest skin cleansers I have ever used and I love this product. I would have never believed that my skin could handle using pure oil, but it really is smooth, hydrated, and soft after I use this product. Definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dianezee on 10/14/2007 3:29:00 AM more reviews by dianezee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

One of the few products I have bought more than once!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shyviolet on 10/12/2007 3:15:00 PM more reviews by shyviolet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My best friend bought this for herself, but it made her break out. I always use jojoba oil on my skin, so since this stuff is oil-based, she gave it to me.

First off, I was pretty excited about the bottle. It is a clear little bottle with a super-convenient white pump, and it is cute enough to leave on the counter. The color of the cleanser looked just like my beloved jojoba oil.

The consistency is smooth and serum-like, just like the jojoba. I washed my face with the oil. I may have detected the very faintest hint of fragrance - like a really nice olive oil but very light, almost undetectable . . . very nice. When I rinsed and dried my face, it felt the exact same as when I used my jojoba oil.

To sum things up, this seems to work exactly the same as my jojoba oil. Great stuff!

Then I saw the price tag. $25! I cannot believe that this is $25 when I can get a bottle of jojoba for $5 that does the exact same thing. I mean sure the packaging is amazing and that faint hint of fragrance was luxurious. But it does not warrant the extra $20.

So yes, this is an AMAZING product. But would I repurchase? Absolutely not. It works the exact same as jojoba oil.

Actually, if I did not already have a bottle, I might purchase this one time, but only for the bottle (I really love this thing!). Then I would just continue to fill the bottle will jojoba oil instead of repurchasing the cleanser.

*UPDATE : After months of experimentation, it appears that this breaks me out if I use it for more than a week straight. Odd, because i thought this was just olive oil. My jojoba oil doesn't do that.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chillyjihye on 10/10/2007 5:19:00 PM more reviews by chillyjihye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This really cleanses off EVERYTHING. but it gave me little small breakouts around my chin. be aware if you have sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nnmca on 10/10/2007 10:37:00 AM more reviews by nnmca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using DHC Deep Cleansing Oil on and off for the past ten years, and I always keep coming back. It's a little pricey ($24 for 8 oz.) and inconvenient to purchase (catalog or online only, used to be sold at mall kiosks, what happened?), but I have yet to find anything like it. I love the organic olive oil scent, and it feels so luxurious when I massage it in, like a spa treatment every night! This is the only product that truly removes all of my sunscreen and makeup and helps keep my pores from clogging. I use it at night followed with a gentle cleanser, and then apply my treatments and moisturizer. I have tried other DHC products, in part due to the generous samples they include with each order, and none are as stellar as the Deep Cleansing Oil. If you are afraid to try this because of the oil, I can tell you that it works great on my extremely oily, breakout prone skin (fighting fire with fire, i guess!) I plan on using sunscreen religiously forever, so unless something even more fabulous comes along, I will probably be using DHC Deep Cleaning Oil forever, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stewie86 on 10/10/2007 4:20:00 AM more reviews by stewie86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After stumbling upon the brochure for the DHC products i was instantly curious as to how an oil based cleanser would be good for acne prone skin like mine. The brochure said that it contained olive oil which was good for all skin types no matter what skin type you had. I thought it would be a good thing for me since it was a deep cleanser and it would instantly remove all the dirt and impurities all the while being really gentle. But was i wrong! After a few weeks my skin had so many zits and pimples, i especially had the deep, under the skin zits that are so hard to get rid off that im still trying to get rid of them and i bought this product at the beginning of this year. So if you have acne prone skin stay away from this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katmu1 on 10/9/2007 12:14:00 PM more reviews by katmu1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE 05/05/2012: I had to stop using this as it was just too drying for my 40+ skin now. I've switched to DHC's cleansing milk, still removes makeup well but is better for my dry skin. I still think this is a good product for people without dry skin.
UPDATE: I'm updating this to 5 lippies. I tried the Fancl and it broke me out. Finally got around to re-ordering more DHC last month and I can't believe the improvement in my skin. I will never stray again.
ORIGINAL REVIEW: I use DHC as my cleanser in the PM only to remove makeup and sunscreen. It works well at removing these and leaves my skin so soft. Gentle, no reaction and no breakouts for me. The pump dispenser works well for dispensing the right amount of product. For reference, I am 37 with dry, sensitive acne prone skin. I would repurchase though I also plan to try the Fancl oil next. I do wish this was available in stores in the US.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OCWannabe on 10/8/2007 6:30:00 PM more reviews by OCWannabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love how it gets everything off my face at the end of the day, it seems to have improve my break outs some. It does have a weird oily feeling but rinses of easily with warm water. The bottle is easy to use and doesn't waste anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adoorbel_gel on 10/5/2007 4:08:00 PM more reviews by adoorbel_gel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love Deep Cleansing Oil. This will get rid of even the most stubborn waterproof cosmetic with the greatest of ease (especially great w/ waterproof mascara as it doesn't pull on the delicate eye area because it IS an oil) and it leaves my skin baby soft. Despite it being an oil, it does not exacerbate my oily skin and I have not experienced any breakouts as a result of using it. At $24 it's not exactly cheap but it works out to be an economical buy because all you need is a little squirt for your whole face and it's for nearly 7 oz. If you are skeptical, you can request for a free sample on their website. One use made a believer out of me...it prolly will for you too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlyClassic on 10/5/2007 11:11:00 AM more reviews by GirlyClassic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff and I can't believe I haven't reviewed it. I've been using dhc deep cleansing oil for about 3-4 years now. I find it is kind of pricey at first but a bottle literally lasts me 6 months of once a night use (one pump) so it's not bad at all. It takes off all of my makeup immediately without having to pull or tug at my eyes. My face feels clean and fresh but not at all tight. Using this with ddf glycolic toner keeps my skin very nice looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Cleansers products