DHC Deep Cleansing Oil

4.2

1358 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

olive fruit oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride, sorbeth-30 tetraoleate, pentylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, tocopherol, stearyl glycyrrhetinate, rosemary leaf oil


on 1/19/2008 5:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was set to purchase this, but I'm glad I tried the sample first. It stung my eyes horribly and wasn't particularly effective in removing the mineral makeup I use. I realize the instructions advise using a follow-up cleanser, but the initial removal of makeup was unsatisfactory. Since so many others have a great result with it, I would advise obtaining the sample before purchase.



on 1/19/2008 7:01:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I like to wear makeup (surprise surprise...) and I find that even a good wash doesn't remove it thoroughly enough for me. I am over 55 (!) and my skin is really excellent, mostly due to being lectured on good skin care by grammy and mom my whole life. So I never go to bed with makeup on. I bought the oil since I use the DHC soaps and moisturizers. The oil is to be put on dry on dry skin,and it is supposed to rinse off. Well, it does an excellent job of removing most makeup, even eye makeup, though you might need an eye makeup remover for mascara and creme liner. It rinses ok, but I soap up afterwards and make sure to suds well. I do notice that around the edges of the face (forehead) I got a few bumps and I attribute this to not rinsing well enough near the hairline. So I knocked off a point for the possibility you too will get a few clogged pores. but overall, my skin glows, feels soft and the follow up soaping is less drying to my mature skin. I will repurchase, definitely.


on 1/18/2008 5:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to love this even used it for longer than I should have. I used dco for approx 3 weeks and had the worst breakout of my life. I now have acne scars and red marks that I need to see a dermatologist. For the record my skin is combination w/ hyperpigmentation, large pores in t-zone. This dried the heck out of my skin, large flakies, red pustules, cystic acne...not good. Maybe an allergic reaction??

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2008 6:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After hearing about this stuff for years from both friends in Japan and the States, I ordered a bottle and I'm hooked. After about 4 days of using this oil, I did develop a few small blemishes around my upper lip and mouth area (drawing out deeply loged impurities?) but after quickly dissapearing I have had absolutely blemish-free skin ever since. Sometimes I'll add a little tiny bit of sugar to this stuff in the morning for a little exfoliation action.


on 1/15/2008 7:49:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff. It gets all my makeup off. Leaves my face soft, smooth and glowing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2008 12:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not too oily and cleans skin really nicely . It doesn't dry my face too much but I usually need to put a moisturizer on afterwards. I think the price is a little much just because I need to apply a good amount amount of oil on my face in order to clean it all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2008 1:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the HG of cleansing oils that I've found after using LM purifying oil, Shu Uemura deep cleansing oil & a few others. Once massaged onto the skin, then just hands wet massaged again and then whole face & neck rinsed off, it works perfectly for removing eye mu and all the rest of it, leaving your face nice and clean without irritation. Great stuff!


on 1/7/2008 4:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love, love, love this cleansing oil!!! Now, I'm a nurse and work 12 hour shifts. So, lashes that won't budge is my only option and only waterproof mascara will do for this gal. But, it is a huge pain in the rear to get off. I have tried everything from baby oil to Pond's cold cream to Lancome to Neutrogena etc. Sure, most of them removed the mascara after 5 minutes of soaking, rubbing, and scrubbing at the expensive of my beloved long lashes with sore eyes to boot! I use one pump of this oil and massage it into my whole face including eye area. Then, I add a little bit of water and work it up into a "low lather". I rinse my whole face and not a speck...not one tiny trace of mascara is left on my eyes! I am one of those girls who always has to take every bit of eye makeup off or I will get milia, or even worse, a horrible stye. Now, this stuff is kind of pricey but, worth every damn penny, IMO. It lived up to my expectations. I have used it for about a year now. It works so well that I don't even cleanse afterwards but, I do anyway because I'm just finicky like that!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2008 1:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this, I like how it feels, how effective it is at removing makeup and the cost. But sadly it had a really bad effect on my mild acne. I started developing those deep cystic pimples on my cheeks which I've never had before and are really hard to get rid of. Some people say it works with their acne, this just didn't for me- it clogged my skin badly. No dice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2008 6:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

All I can say about this product is -- WOW! After only 2 uses, it debunked everything I believed about using an oil to cleanse my face. In my younger years, I never really paid much attention to skincare. Wash, moisturize, then makeup was basically my routine. Though I've always had dry skin, I was blessed with barely noticeable pores and skin that hardly blemished let alone broke out -- even when I was PMS-ing. Fast forward to the present. Now in my late 30's my skin recently became fussy. I still have the "barely there pores" and rare blemish/breakout moments but now I had to find -- and stick to -- a skincare line/routine. I found a sample of this DHC Deep Cleansing Oil and out of sheer desperation (I ran out of the cleanser I normally use), I used it and was utterly surprised with how well this cleanser worked. After the 2nd use, I didn't know I had whiteheads on my chin until they starting coming out all by themselves! I had to tissue them off throughout the day. Though a bit embarrassing for others to notice "white stuff on my chin" (i.e. the whiteheads coming out). It was more comforting (and exciting) to know my pores were being thoroughly cleansed. For me, using this product is like giving my face a deep facial twice a day. Incredibly easy to use and a most effective product, I quickly purchased a bottle. I've been using the product now for 1 week and I have to say, this is the best skin cleanser I've ever used.
UPDATE: Been using this product now for a total of almost 3 weeks. My skin is getting better and better. I really love this product!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top