DHC • Deep Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.2(1335 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kerroppi on 12/4/2007 1:24:00 PM more reviews by kerroppi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

was really neat concept and I liked how it dissolved on its own so there was no need for a washcloth to wipe it off and no chance for residue. My only gripe is it doesn't remove all waterproof makeup that well. I ended up switching to Pond's cold cream cleanser and although I have to wipe it off, it takes off all the eyemakeup much faster and is so much cheaper!

edit: for those that like oil cleansers like this, you can just buy the ones from other asian brands for a fraction of this. I really like the softymo , speedy cleansing oil. You can find them in asian grocery stores. I think dhc in comparison is too expensive and on the thick side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 berned_you on 12/1/2007 11:36:00 PM more reviews by berned_you

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is so-so. Definitely smells like olive oil. Did a decent job of removing makeup and left my skin fine. I just wasn't wowed. I thought it would be more moisturizing for MN winters and I also thought my skin would be softer. I prefer CO Bigelow Cold Cream for this sort of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* effloresce on 12/1/2007 9:45:00 AM more reviews by effloresce

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This really didn't work out for me. The Deep Cleansing Oil is a thick, clear yellow oil which is packaged in a clear bottle with a pump.

I had problems using it alone as a cleanser because my skin felt extremely greasy and oily afterwards (I have normal-combi skin with a slightly oily forehead, nose and chin). It didn't work particularly well in removing makeup either. I later tried using it to remove a really stubborn mascara, Shiseido's Dramatical Volume mascara, but it didn't manage to remove all of it either. I still continued using it because it seemed like nothing would remove the mascara anyway!However, within a week i started noticing small zits and clogged pores around my eye area, as well as millea seeds (which i'm quite prone to) and figured it had to be the oil, since i had changed nothing else in my usual routine. I stopped using it, did a series of spot treatments and my skin has calmed down, though i'm still fighting the scars. I wouldn't recommend this, and i usually very rarely break out or have reactions to products.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SuperGeekIAm on 12/1/2007 4:14:00 AM more reviews by SuperGeekIAm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I might have read this tip on this board, but I tried it and I think it actually makes the cleansing oil MORE effective (at least it is AS effective as the original mix.) When my DHC cleansing oil was half empty, I filled the other half with virgin olive oil for a cheap stretch. I tried using just olive oil as a cleanser, as was recommended somewhere, but it wouldn't rinse off entirely and didn't clean well. This mix does rinse off, cleans better (I think) than the original mix, and stretches beauty dollars nicely.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninadelsol on 12/1/2007 1:21:00 AM more reviews by ninadelsol

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wonderful product. It left my skin feeling soft and silky. Easy to rinse off and use. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 formyiris on 11/29/2007 9:43:00 PM more reviews by formyiris

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had no luck with this product. I bought a full size bottle because it is supposed to gently remove all of my make-up without being irritating. Instead, it made my face very dry, red, rough and irritated for days. I had used it with the DHC mild cleansing soap.

My face was a mess, and I couldn't even use foundation to cover it up because my skin was so very dry, rough and flaky.

I had MUCH better results with the DHC Face Wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akeating on 11/28/2007 5:12:00 PM more reviews by akeating

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this product! I have been using it for about 2 years now and it never fails me. It's great for getting any type of makeup off (including waterproof mascara with some gentle rubbing) and it always relaxes me to apply it - my husband even likes using it! I have very oily skin but this always seems to soothe it, and it definitely does not make me break out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 princessapink on 11/25/2007 3:04:00 PM more reviews by princessapink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this cleanser due to the good reviews here and the fact that it was an oil-based cleanser. I do not have particularly sensitive skin yet this cleanser broke me out badly. Each time I used it, I developed one or two cyst-type pimples the next day which never happens to me! I stopped using it and no more zits. It also seemed to flare-up my rosacea which had been dormant. Needless to say, I stop using the product and return to my usual sensitive skin Olay (which is starting to dry my skin, but that is another review), and my skin normalizes. Months pass and I am tired of my dry winter skin so I give the DHC cleanser another go in hopes of a different outcome. Nope, same thing happens. I wake up today with a large zit forming on my forehead which again never happens to me! My rosacea again flares up, leaving my cheeks feeling rough, not smooth and soft. When I used it yesterday I even washed a second time with the Olay so as not to leave any oily residue, but alas, still got zits and rosacea. My mother tried this too and didn't like it. It left a residue on her skin. The only thing I can say is DHC seems like a very nice company with a satisfaction guarantee which is great since everyone's skin seems to react so differently to one product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladybug_3777 on 11/16/2007 2:22:00 PM more reviews by ladybug_3777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing product. Its gentle and effective. When you use it for the first time its a little strange. You feel like you are making your face dirtier in order to clean it. I thought for sure I'd break out because its pure oil. But as soon as it comes into contact with water, it rinses clean away, taking all the dirt and makeup with it.

I'm a contact wearer and I've found that this does not irritate my eyes or cause that blurry contact feeling.

The only negative thing I can say about deep cleansing oil is that it can't be used in the shower. If you want to, you'll have to put it on before you get in and massage it in well, and then rinse as soon as you hop in. They make a shower friendly version, Soft Touch Cleansing Oil, but I don't think it works half as well and it seems harsher on my skin. (Plus if you lick your lips afterwards you will taste a terrible chemical residue)

Deep Cleansing Oil is a staple in my skin care routine. I wouldn't want to ever run out, so I always keep an extra bottle on hand at all times. This and DHC's AHA renewing cream are two products I can't live without!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pamaz on 11/10/2007 11:59:00 AM more reviews by pamaz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only thing I have found that removes all the last traces of my eyeliner and mascara without pulling and tugging. It seems to remove my sunscreen too, which is the main reason why I needed to find an oil cleanser. I do seem to need to follow with a foaming cleanser though; skipping it might have broken me out just a bit. I wish this was cheaper though, but the bottle lasts a long time (2 pumps a night, I think it will last around 4 months). I will repurchase, but might try some other oil cleansers too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Cleansers products