DHC Deep Cleansing Oil

4.2

1344 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

olive fruit oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride, sorbeth-30 tetraoleate, pentylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, tocopherol, stearyl glycyrrhetinate, rosemary leaf oil


on 12/25/2007 6:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This has been my MU remover for more than 10 years. There is nothing like it. I hate to tug and pull at the delicate eye skin - especially at my age. This oil allows me to remove EVERYTHING, including MUFE Smoky Eye waterproof mascara, without tugging and tearing at my skin.


Now they also have the Mild Touch Cleansing Oil, which is just as efficient as the Deep Cleansing Oil, with the difference that you can use the first on either dry or wet skin (which means it's shower-friendly). Also, it's cheaper: $14 vs. the $25 the DC costs. Mind you, it is a little smaller: 5fl. oz. Te DC is 6.7fl oz. However, since I don't wear MU every day, I buy the Mild Touch oil to save a bit of $$. I hate being w/o this oil.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/23/2007 6:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Being a Fancl Cleansing Oil user, I was very keen to find out how DHC will perform v.s. Fancl. Upon application, the first thought that came to my mind is how oily and thick it is. Luckily, when I washed it off, the oiliness did not remain. But I find that it is best used with the DHC soap for better cleansing results.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this product cleans very well and it's not harsh on your skin. even if you have oily skin, it would still moisturize and clean at the same time. the product is wonderful, however the price isn't promising. as i remembered the product is over 20 dollars, it's a bit expensive for a face wash/makeup remover.


on 12/17/2007 3:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Having oilier acne prone skin, one could say I was hesitant to put oil on my face to "cleanse" it. One week after using this product and this week being b4 my monthly "visitor" comes (I mention this b/ as ladies we know what the week before our "visitor" comes makes our skin look like) anyways, my skin looks clear, radiant, and luminous. Kind of expensive but well worth the price. You feel like a kid rubbing this oil all over your face. Point being, this stuff is awesome and the free samples are a definite perk to dealing with DHC.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is an ok product. But I did have high expectations when I bought it after I ran out of Laventine's Olive Forte Cleansing Oil, which I absolutely love (check reviews!). DHC's is more runny and I don't enjoy massaging it into my skin as much as I do with Laventine's Cleansing Oil. Also it didn't clear up my skin which I experiened with Laventine's CO. Altogether, I think DHC's Deep Cleansing Oil is overhyped and Laventine's underrated.


on 12/13/2007 2:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really can't decide if I like this product or not. As a teenager eager to try this brand, I was horribly disappointed. It felt greasy and though it didn't cause me to break out, it just left too much of a "slick" feel to my face. I prefer products that wash off with just a few splashes of water. Years later, I received samples of this and decided to try again. Maybe my skin has matured but now this seemed to work just fine. I'm used to products that lather, so just using this oil felt weird, but it cleaned and felt just fine. Nothing outrageous, though. Still felt that oily film afterwards but it wasn't apparant by touch so I guess that is more of a protective, moisturizing feel(?) Not crazy about the smell, either, but it might appeal to someone who doesnt' like the fragrance of most cleansers. I would try this again if it goes on sale.


on 12/8/2007 9:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for over two years, so I'm pretty confident in my review. :-) I'm in my mid-30s, oily skin w/frequent breakouts. DHC oil is the only thing that I use to remove makeup. It gently removes, doesn't strip, and leaves no oily residue. It's also great for eye makeup. I'm of the belief that less is more. If you're going to use ONE product for makeup removal and cleansing, this is it.


on 12/8/2007 4:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Just to advice that DHC olive oil products is not the same as olive oil that you buy in the supermarket. Please do not use regular olive oil on your face unless directed. The olive oil that DHC used has been filtered to use on the skin. So, don't think buying a regular olive oil at that price compared to DHC deep cleansing oil. Cleansing oil is based on Japanese skincare routine that been invented and used for ages. It means to be used with a 2nd cleanser as the next step following with toner or lotion (as in all Japanese toner bottles). The Japanese call toner a lotion and normally they pat it on the skin unlike the cotton pad thingi, but you can use it on the cotton pad as well if you wish. The lotion/toner needed as to balance out the PH level on your skin and prep the skin for moisturizer and/or serum. Yes, I do advice to use a waterproof eyemakeup remover for stubborn waterproof mascara on the eyes area before using the cleansing oil. It may cause break out for the first 2-3 weeks of using this as this purge out all skin impurities and dirt, bur rarely happens.

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2007 3:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A wonderful cleanser. Seems counter intuitive to put oil on your face to remove oil and makeup but like they say "diamonds cut diamonds " and this product really removes oil. The impurities on your skin start to vanish after about a weeks worth of use. Makeup today is made to stay on but it's really hard to take off. If it seems too expensive then buy one and just use it when you wear foundation. I normally let my skin "breathe" on my days off anyways. Personally, I love this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2007 1:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff really takes it all off. I wish I could afford it all the time, but it's going to a special treat.


Back to Top