DHC Deep Cleansing Oil

4.2

1352 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

olive fruit oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride, sorbeth-30 tetraoleate, pentylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, tocopherol, stearyl glycyrrhetinate, rosemary leaf oil


on 1/8/2008 1:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the HG of cleansing oils that I've found after using LM purifying oil, Shu Uemura deep cleansing oil & a few others. Once massaged onto the skin, then just hands wet massaged again and then whole face & neck rinsed off, it works perfectly for removing eye mu and all the rest of it, leaving your face nice and clean without irritation. Great stuff!



on 1/7/2008 4:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love, love, love this cleansing oil!!! Now, I'm a nurse and work 12 hour shifts. So, lashes that won't budge is my only option and only waterproof mascara will do for this gal. But, it is a huge pain in the rear to get off. I have tried everything from baby oil to Pond's cold cream to Lancome to Neutrogena etc. Sure, most of them removed the mascara after 5 minutes of soaking, rubbing, and scrubbing at the expensive of my beloved long lashes with sore eyes to boot! I use one pump of this oil and massage it into my whole face including eye area. Then, I add a little bit of water and work it up into a "low lather". I rinse my whole face and not a speck...not one tiny trace of mascara is left on my eyes! I am one of those girls who always has to take every bit of eye makeup off or I will get milia, or even worse, a horrible stye. Now, this stuff is kind of pricey but, worth every damn penny, IMO. It lived up to my expectations. I have used it for about a year now. It works so well that I don't even cleanse afterwards but, I do anyway because I'm just finicky like that!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2008 1:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this, I like how it feels, how effective it is at removing makeup and the cost. But sadly it had a really bad effect on my mild acne. I started developing those deep cystic pimples on my cheeks which I've never had before and are really hard to get rid of. Some people say it works with their acne, this just didn't for me- it clogged my skin badly. No dice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2008 6:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

All I can say about this product is -- WOW! After only 2 uses, it debunked everything I believed about using an oil to cleanse my face. In my younger years, I never really paid much attention to skincare. Wash, moisturize, then makeup was basically my routine. Though I've always had dry skin, I was blessed with barely noticeable pores and skin that hardly blemished let alone broke out -- even when I was PMS-ing. Fast forward to the present. Now in my late 30's my skin recently became fussy. I still have the "barely there pores" and rare blemish/breakout moments but now I had to find -- and stick to -- a skincare line/routine. I found a sample of this DHC Deep Cleansing Oil and out of sheer desperation (I ran out of the cleanser I normally use), I used it and was utterly surprised with how well this cleanser worked. After the 2nd use, I didn't know I had whiteheads on my chin until they starting coming out all by themselves! I had to tissue them off throughout the day. Though a bit embarrassing for others to notice "white stuff on my chin" (i.e. the whiteheads coming out). It was more comforting (and exciting) to know my pores were being thoroughly cleansed. For me, using this product is like giving my face a deep facial twice a day. Incredibly easy to use and a most effective product, I quickly purchased a bottle. I've been using the product now for 1 week and I have to say, this is the best skin cleanser I've ever used.
UPDATE: Been using this product now for a total of almost 3 weeks. My skin is getting better and better. I really love this product!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2008 2:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is so cool! My sister gave some to me as a bridesmaid's gift, and I thought it was so strange...who puts oil on their face to remove makeup? However, I decided to give it a try. Lo and behold, it works! Not only that, I've noticed I've had a lot less blackheads than before and my skin feels nice and soft. I'm going to buy more when my supply runs out. :)


on 1/3/2008 12:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

At first I thought this olive cleansing oil would be very greasy and possibly make my face breakout. Quite the contrary. The cleanser feels a bit slick when I am applying it on my face but it rinses clean without stripping. Would not recommend to those who like a squeaky clean feeling though.

The salesgirl suggested that I use the oil as a makeup remover and then follow up with a cleansing milk but I don't really think there is a need. The cleansing oil removes all of my make-up (mineral foundation, eyeliner, mineral eyeshadow - I don't wear mascara or liquid eyeliner so I can't vouch for either of those things) and the container pump dispenses efficiently without excess leaking or dribbling.

Ingredient list is quite short, not too many scary words that can't be pronounced without brow furrowing. Not 100% organic but most of the ingredients are natural.

All I could ask for in a simple "does it all" cleanser.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2007 9:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I can't believe how much i love DHC. Like many others with oily, sensitive, acne-prone skin I was first horrified at the thought of slathering oil on my face. But so glad i did! I use this to take off my foundation, which i wear every day (it's so cool to see it actually slip off my face!) and follow with the mild soap and ceramide cream, which is a great buffer for my Differin on the nights i use it. My skin is soft, not greasy, no clogged pores, no flakes, no redness, nice texture. I actually feel like a i have a normal face. thanks dhc!


on 12/27/2007 11:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It removes even the heaviest makeup and even the most waterproof
mascaras like Kiss Me heroine. The formulas are mild and natural. I feel oily when using this on face, but as long as I wash my face with water, it leaves non-oily clean feeling. The only thing I need to mention is that it seems to encourage my pimples and clog my pores like other cleansing oils.


on 12/25/2007 6:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This has been my MU remover for more than 10 years. There is nothing like it. I hate to tug and pull at the delicate eye skin - especially at my age. This oil allows me to remove EVERYTHING, including MUFE Smoky Eye waterproof mascara, without tugging and tearing at my skin.


Now they also have the Mild Touch Cleansing Oil, which is just as efficient as the Deep Cleansing Oil, with the difference that you can use the first on either dry or wet skin (which means it's shower-friendly). Also, it's cheaper: $14 vs. the $25 the DC costs. Mind you, it is a little smaller: 5fl. oz. Te DC is 6.7fl oz. However, since I don't wear MU every day, I buy the Mild Touch oil to save a bit of $$. I hate being w/o this oil.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2007 6:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Being a Fancl Cleansing Oil user, I was very keen to find out how DHC will perform v.s. Fancl. Upon application, the first thought that came to my mind is how oily and thick it is. Luckily, when I washed it off, the oiliness did not remain. But I find that it is best used with the DHC soap for better cleansing results.


Back to Top