LUSH • Ocean Salt • Scrubs

rated 4.0(638 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vanja on 11/29/2003 9:25:00 AM more reviews by vanja

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Seems like I'm the first who wouldn't repurchase this product.

Like so many have mentioned, this scrub smells lovely - very fresh. That's unfortunately the only good thing I have to say about it. :(

I do not have particularly sensitive skin. My skin is combination (and also drier in winter and more oily in summer). Not many products suit my skin perfectly, but very few mess it up like the LUSH Ocean Salt. I put it on and it STINGS like mad! First time I used it, I even rubbed a little (not much though since I don't like to be hard on my skin),like you do with a scrub containing finer particles but I soon realized my mistake. My skin turned beet red and burned and ached like crazy.

Since I'm stupid and all, I tried it a second time a couple of weeks later (had to give my skin time to heal before trying it again), because I thought that the slight pressure I had applied was the reason for the reaction. This time I just patted it on and let it sit on my skin for a bit. Again, it burned my skin! I didn't end up as sore and red as the first time, but it sure was an unconfortable feeling.

I'm sure this may be a fine scrub for someone who's skin isn't the slightest bit sensitive, but it has proven to be far too harsh for me.

P.S. The packaging sucks, but that is more a general LUSH complaint. Their old white bottles sure weren't very visually pleasing, but at least they were much more convenient that the new black ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Veruca_Salt on 11/28/2003 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Veruca_Salt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wish I could use this every day but it would be too harsh
I look forward to the days that I'm going to exfoliate and use ocean salt religiously
the smell is soooo good, like a tropical vacation and a yummy margarita all in one
if my face is feeling oily or breaking out I use ocean salt and it goes away presto!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 empresslilah on 11/19/2003 10:27:00 AM more reviews by empresslilah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this scrub! I was a little dubious at first about trying it because of the avocado and coconut oils, but I'm really glad I did. Not only does it smell fantastic (like a margarita sitting on a beach near someone wearing Hawaiian Tropic) it feels great on my skin and leaves it soft and glowing. Luckily you only need to use a small bit, because the pot it comes in is TINY! I hope LUSH decides to make a larger size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 11/12/2003 5:56:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a WONDERFUL scrub! I normally only use La Mer Facial Refining Scrub but recently ran out and decided to try this on a whim. I am so glad I did because this product is 100 times better than the La Mer scrub and 1/16 of the price. Smells like the ocean mixed with margaritas and lime. It gives my face this beautiful glow and really clears up any impurites. I would never switch back to La Mer after using this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elissa on 11/6/2003 12:16:00 PM more reviews by Elissa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Update: It's been months now, and this is still the tastiest face scrub ever. I find that if I use it at night and follow immediately with the LUSH Celestial moisturizer, the next morning my skin is gloriously smooth and soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* twistygirl on 10/26/2003 6:58:00 AM more reviews by twistygirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the BEST facial scrub I have ever tried. It leaves my somewhat oily skin softer than I ever imagined. My breakouts are a thing of the past since I started using this. And the taste is luscious if you accidentally get some in your mouth!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chicdiv on 9/18/2003 8:36:00 AM more reviews by chicdiv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love it - light and creamy, yet just the right bit of exfolition. The salt stings a bit, but I don't really mind that. Ever since I floated in the Dead Sea, I've loved salty treatments :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spice_dreamz on 8/10/2003 10:01:00 PM more reviews by spice_dreamz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I suffer dry skin patches on my nose,chin and forehead,tried appling vaseline/face cream on it but no luck! I HAD to get some face scrub to get of them!! after reading the reviews on here,i went out to buy it right away and tried it that day,woooooowwww! its wicked,got rid of my dry patches,amazing stuff! def. be buying this again! highly recom.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elissa on 8/10/2003 11:39:00 AM more reviews by Elissa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I love this product! I find it works best if I use it only once or twice a week ... it's pretty coarse, I would recommend just smoothing it on gently and letting the product do the exfoliating for you. Really scrubbing hard with it would be pretty irritating to the skin, I think.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cookiepie on 7/15/2003 7:58:00 PM more reviews by cookiepie

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like this scrub! It's great on my skin-left my face squeaky clean,and I like the smell,w/c I can't quite put my finger on;-P Oh well it's probably a marine like smell,almost musculine perhaps? Anyway,it's nice on my face as I have a soak enjoying my LUSH ballistic on the tub for a total body pampering fun!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Scrubs products