Maybelline Dream Matte Pressed Powder [DISCONTINUED]

image 1image 2image 3image 4

4.1

1385 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Talc, Nylon-12, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Cetyl Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Methylparaben, Triisocetyl Citrate, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, (+/- May contain: Mica, CI 77499, CI 77491, CI 77492 / Iron Oxides, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide).


on 11/10/2010 4:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Edit: Breaks me out. Sigh. Used to love this product. Great coverage, gives skin a nice finish. Does nothing for oil though. I use mac blot powder now for oil control.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/9/2010 5:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Call me scrooge! I do not see all the hype here at all & I was kind of excited to try this based on the reviews since I do not wear liquid foundation only powder. This does not offer me any coverage whatsoever, matter of fact it only briefly “mattes” me for about 30 minutes or so before I would have to reapply & I do not even have very oily skin, just combo. This does not cover uneven skin tone at all (my tiny amount I have) & I think it may be the culprit in my recent break outs, but not 100% positive on that. I guess this may work very well for the younger lassies that do not have even a bit of issue, but for me a big waste of $$$, at least it is affordable though. Oh wait, did I not mention the packaging? Oh my, I cannot STAND the side swivel opening, does not make it easy for those much needed unnoticed touch ups at work or in the car as I do not care for two handed touch ups not fun.


on 11/8/2010 11:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OVERALL- i like this product :)
it gives me smooth buildable natural looking coveage over a lightweight foundation, and it stays looking great all day without looking cakey with breif touchups.
ALTHOUGH i don't really like the too-matte finish, and the shade closest to my skin colour (the lightest one) is kind of pastey and ghost like. and when wearing too much, it kind of seperates and looks really gross. maybe i should switch to a shade darker..
but just a little of it goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

after reading the great reveiws here about this powder i wanted to
give it a try the problem was that Maybelline products are not available
in my country but I managed to buy it through someone who
bought makeup from the US .I am so happy i did it is silky never
cakes & very easy to blend into the skin & has great lasting power
this one has a meduim to light coverage which feels so soft
on the skin unlike some of pressed powders that feel like
putting mask in your face .but this pressed powder is better be
used as foundation setting powder as when i used over my daily moisturizer didn`t give the coverage I want


on 11/7/2010 5:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought this product today in cream (the lightest one) and i really like this product! It gives me a pretty matte face and the shade is PERFECT. The applicator is rubbish but i can make it work. I really like that they added the mirror.


on 11/7/2010 11:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this product after hearing all the hype in youtube.
Okay, I don't know why, but my powder is shimmery. i have the color medium-sand, and i absolutely hate it. I was needing it for my oily skin & it just makes me look more shimmery.
Definetly won't buy this product again.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product definately does what it says, that is, makes my skin totally matte. However I like my skin to be *slightly* dewy and I can still acheive that with this, it just takes away that dreaded shine. I like how it doesnt look cakey. However, it sometimes can sort of look like I have very fine powder on my face (funnily enough)... It's a little hard to explain. And the packaging is rubbish. But good product, I cant be without it in summer.


on 11/6/2010 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

At first, I really love this powder. I thought I had found my HG. However, it's been a few months and I'm finding that this is really, REALLY drying out my skin. It may be better on slightly oilier skin, but on my dry skin, even using a small amount is not a good idea.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Cute packaging, reliable product. Doesn't do anything amazing, doesn't hold for ages and ages, but at least it does what it says it will. Too much will look cakey and highlight dry areas though, beware. Use only where you get oily spots, or (in my case) where foundation fades really quickly for extra coverage.


on 11/5/2010 2:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I never got to writing a review on this and it's been over a year since the first time I tried this so here goes....back in May 2009 I started using this as a setting powder. I don't use liquid foundation because my skin hates it but I do use concealer so I would use this powder to set it. I usually always have some type of acne..always on my chin which is usually cystic but when I started using this I was getting little bumps and clogged pores on my chin and even my forehead out of all places so I discontinued usage. Jump forward to this past summer, July 2010, I was on vacation and staying at my sisters house and in desperate need of a powder to help with the oilies....she had this powder laying in a drawer, barely used so I figured ok...its been a yr, why not give it a try, maybe it was another factor that caused the breakouts....low and behold I broke out in those lil bumps on my forehead and on my chin again and that was within two days. Therefore I will not be repurchasing this powder ever again. I'm not sure what ingredients caused the irritation/clogged pores and I'd like to know so I can avoid those in other makeups.

Of course this is just my experience with this powder, many others seem to love this and consider this their HG setting powder, so don't knock it til u try it i guess =) I think it performs quite well at keeping oilies at bay and it definitely is a MATTE powder. So if your skin isn't as picky and sensitive/clog/breakout prone as mine and u prefer a matte finish this is a good option.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Review: Maybelline Dream Matte Powder by glintzy

Recommended for Normal Skin



Back to Top