Maybelline Dream Matte Pressed Powder [DISCONTINUED]

image 1image 2image 3image 4

4.1

1385 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Talc, Nylon-12, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Cetyl Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Methylparaben, Triisocetyl Citrate, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, (+/- May contain: Mica, CI 77499, CI 77491, CI 77492 / Iron Oxides, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide).


on 11/30/2010 1:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have just started using this powder with the dream matte mousse foundation and I love both products just a light dusting and it lasts all day, I will be buying this and the dream matte mousse again!!!



on 11/25/2010 9:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

HG. It looks totally natural and gives a matte, slightly soft focus effect. I'm tremendously oily so my oil reappears after a few hours but I'm very pleased still because this is AMAZING at setting makeup. My undereye concealer always used to crease on me, before I used this powder. I used other powders in the past and it would crease, but with this I get no creasing. HG.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've had this for awhile now. It does what the name says it'll do - reduce oiliness/shine. A bonus I wasn't expecting is that it reduces the look of pores on my nose. I bought the second lightest shade because I wanted to add some color to my face and it worked. =)

I don't mind the packaging, I treat it as a regular compact and flip the top open to get to the powder. I haven't used the mirror or puff that this comes with.


on 11/24/2010 6:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a nice face powder. Its nothing amazing, but it reduces shine and oil, and doesn't look too powdery. I think I might switch to a talc free powder after I run out, but it doesn't irritate me skin, which is pretty sensitive, so i wouldn't mind using it again. I really like the packaging, which is pretty creative, and stays shut in my bag. I wear it over my foundation, and it helps set it too. Overall, if you are looking for a nice powder, reasonably priced, then this is worth trying.


on 11/23/2010 8:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great powder! I think it really makes a difference on an oily face, and it's so good for the price. A lot of people have said it doesn't matter what shade you get, since it's kind of a translucent powder, but I would disagree. I think I got a shade too light for my face, because it makes me look abnormally light if worn alone. I would definitely purchase again, though!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Oil control: Decent but does not seem to last forever as mentioned by some. However, it could be because I apply it over liquid foundation, rather than use it on powder.

Quality: Also this product broke me out when worn alone. However, it doesn't cause any trouble when I use it to set my liquid foundation. So I really do suspect that my skin does not like powder foundations.

This powder can also look cakey whenever I have some dry spots on my nose but I got around this problem by setting it with Avene's Thermal Spray. I would think that alternative sprays will work just as well.

Color: I got it in Sand Medium, but it still looks a little light. Again, this is not really an issue because I generally use two foundation shades for contouring. FYI, I'm NC 35.

Packing: I didn't like the mirror because it made the packaging so bulky, so I just twisted it out as advised by a MUA/youtube guru.
Edit: FOUND IT!




on 11/11/2010 11:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm editing my review because it has been two years since I first bought this. I have to say that Maybelline has reformulated this since. So I'm re-writing this to compare what I had thought of it back in 2009 and what I think of it today (12/13/11).
Color
old-pink does not match yellow undertones in skin
new-matches to a T (bought in Beige 2-2.5) and I can't believe I'm actually the 3rd color in! For once I'm not the lightest color a brand carries!
Texture
old- cakey; very obvious I'm wearing a powder
new- takes a few minutes to settle in but then looks really natural
Oil control
old-so powdery you will never have to worry about oil
new- fresh almost all day until the last two hours (I apply it at 2pm and wear it until midnight- so it lasting till 9pm is a God send)

All of the other powders I've used as foundations don't last this long on me. I have never had one keep the oil at bay as long as this has. It also has lighter shades for me to choose from when I lose my tan this winter.

12/4/13 update: Still using this as a powder foundation. I find it blurs lines and pores. Also looks great over most concealers. Gives a hint of color so I don't look dead. Lasts a long time and holds up through humid conditions. It's the closest I've ever been to finding a foundation I'm happy with.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Im begining to realize im becoming a maybelline addict (minus their eyeshadows)
ive gone through countless amounts of this powder. its wicked.
if my skin is behaving then i use this just itself and give my skin
a nice matte finish but what i love is using this to set foundation.
its lightweight with just a hint of color. beautiful matte finish and not
extremely exspensive.
another holy grail product.


on 11/10/2010 6:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

If you don't need very much coverage/ are young I recommend this product as is. Or it works great to set foundation. The finish is great and I have acne prone skin and this doesn't break me out. The matte power doesn't stay very long if you have very oily skin but still better than most.


on 11/10/2010 4:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really liked this product at first. The finish is quite matte but it's still got a bit of life to it and it's not powdery at all. The pigmentation is quite sheer so you can get away with a wrong shade 1 lighter/darker for you. The only reason it gets 4 lippies is because it broke me out. Otherwise, a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Review: Maybelline Dream Matte Powder by glintzy

Recommended for Normal Skin



Back to Top