Maybelline • Dream Matte Pressed Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.1(1382 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 snowcat123 on 11/24/2010 6:51:00 PM more reviews by snowcat123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice face powder. Its nothing amazing, but it reduces shine and oil, and doesn't look too powdery. I think I might switch to a talc free powder after I run out, but it doesn't irritate me skin, which is pretty sensitive, so i wouldn't mind using it again. I really like the packaging, which is pretty creative, and stays shut in my bag. I wear it over my foundation, and it helps set it too. Overall, if you are looking for a nice powder, reasonably priced, then this is worth trying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yellowdress on 11/23/2010 8:46:00 PM more reviews by yellowdress

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great powder! I think it really makes a difference on an oily face, and it's so good for the price. A lot of people have said it doesn't matter what shade you get, since it's kind of a translucent powder, but I would disagree. I think I got a shade too light for my face, because it makes me look abnormally light if worn alone. I would definitely purchase again, though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nonsliptechnology on 11/13/2010 2:23:00 AM more reviews by nonsliptechnology

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Oil control: Decent but does not seem to last forever as mentioned by some. However, it could be because I apply it over liquid foundation, rather than use it on powder.

Quality: Also this product broke me out when worn alone. However, it doesn't cause any trouble when I use it to set my liquid foundation. So I really do suspect that my skin does not like powder foundations.

This powder can also look cakey whenever I have some dry spots on my nose but I got around this problem by setting it with Avene's Thermal Spray. I would think that alternative sprays will work just as well.

Color: I got it in Sand Medium, but it still looks a little light. Again, this is not really an issue because I generally use two foundation shades for contouring. FYI, I'm NC 35.

Packing: I didn't like the mirror because it made the packaging so bulky, so I just twisted it out as advised by a MUA/youtube guru.
Edit: FOUND IT!



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 11/11/2010 11:11:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm editing my review because it has been two years since I first bought this. I have to say that Maybelline has reformulated this since. So I'm re-writing this to compare what I had thought of it back in 2009 and what I think of it today (12/13/11).
Color
old-pink does not match yellow undertones in skin
new-matches to a T (bought in Beige 2-2.5) and I can't believe I'm actually the 3rd color in! For once I'm not the lightest color a brand carries!
Texture
old- cakey; very obvious I'm wearing a powder
new- takes a few minutes to settle in but then looks really natural
Oil control
old-so powdery you will never have to worry about oil
new- fresh almost all day until the last two hours (I apply it at 2pm and wear it until midnight- so it lasting till 9pm is a God send)

All of the other powders I've used as foundations don't last this long on me. I have never had one keep the oil at bay as long as this has. It also has lighter shades for me to choose from when I lose my tan this winter.

12/4/13 update: Still using this as a powder foundation. I find it blurs lines and pores. Also looks great over most concealers. Gives a hint of color so I don't look dead. Lasts a long time and holds up through humid conditions. It's the closest I've ever been to finding a foundation I'm happy with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AlwaysBeFabulous on 11/11/2010 11:49:00 AM more reviews by AlwaysBeFabulous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Im begining to realize im becoming a maybelline addict (minus their eyeshadows)
ive gone through countless amounts of this powder. its wicked.
if my skin is behaving then i use this just itself and give my skin
a nice matte finish but what i love is using this to set foundation.
its lightweight with just a hint of color. beautiful matte finish and not
extremely exspensive.
another holy grail product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Imaverage on 11/10/2010 6:56:00 PM more reviews by Imaverage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If you don't need very much coverage/ are young I recommend this product as is. Or it works great to set foundation. The finish is great and I have acne prone skin and this doesn't break me out. The matte power doesn't stay very long if you have very oily skin but still better than most.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tammee on 11/10/2010 4:56:00 PM more reviews by Tammee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this product at first. The finish is quite matte but it's still got a bit of life to it and it's not powdery at all. The pigmentation is quite sheer so you can get away with a wrong shade 1 lighter/darker for you. The only reason it gets 4 lippies is because it broke me out. Otherwise, a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celloplum on 11/10/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by celloplum

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Edit: Breaks me out. Sigh. Used to love this product. Great coverage, gives skin a nice finish. Does nothing for oil though. I use mac blot powder now for oil control.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karriwhel on 11/9/2010 5:16:00 PM more reviews by karriwhel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Call me scrooge! I do not see all the hype here at all & I was kind of excited to try this based on the reviews since I do not wear liquid foundation only powder. This does not offer me any coverage whatsoever, matter of fact it only briefly “mattes” me for about 30 minutes or so before I would have to reapply & I do not even have very oily skin, just combo. This does not cover uneven skin tone at all (my tiny amount I have) & I think it may be the culprit in my recent break outs, but not 100% positive on that. I guess this may work very well for the younger lassies that do not have even a bit of issue, but for me a big waste of $$$, at least it is affordable though. Oh wait, did I not mention the packaging? Oh my, I cannot STAND the side swivel opening, does not make it easy for those much needed unnoticed touch ups at work or in the car as I do not care for two handed touch ups not fun.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CriestalKay on 11/8/2010 11:17:00 PM more reviews by CriestalKay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

OVERALL- i like this product :)
it gives me smooth buildable natural looking coveage over a lightweight foundation, and it stays looking great all day without looking cakey with breif touchups.
ALTHOUGH i don't really like the too-matte finish, and the shade closest to my skin colour (the lightest one) is kind of pastey and ghost like. and when wearing too much, it kind of seperates and looks really gross. maybe i should switch to a shade darker..
but just a little of it goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Pressed Powders products