Yves Saint Laurent • Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils • Mascara

rated 3.9(1253 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 nslodowy on 8/14/2008 11:09:00 AM more reviews by nslodowy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is bar-none the best mascara ever made for lengthening and volume. I have tried probably 30 other brands (pretty much all of them) and none compare to this one. I have thin, blonde, lashes and this mascara makes it look like I have fake ones on. The brush gets messed up in about two months, but that's right about the time the tube gets empty anyway. It's not cheap, but in my opinion worth every single penny!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ahhvisst on 8/13/2008 4:27:00 PM more reviews by ahhvisst

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this mascara. The result that it gives me is just priceless. I can create the illusion of long thick lashes, perfect if i want go with the look like i have "deer" eyes. Also perfect for that smokey look. The fragrance is wonderful (it's in all the YSL products).

However it's not flawless, even the sun has its spots. The first week as i use the mascara it gives me a little bit much colour, but after two weeks it's amazing, but the mascara dry out very fast.

A trick i usually do the first week is that a take a papertowel and take away that overload of colour, this trick also keep the mascara becteria free longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KittyBaditty on 8/5/2008 6:18:00 PM more reviews by KittyBaditty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

*Sigh* I am in love! All I've wanted (cosmetically) is to have long, bat-worthy lashes, glowing skin, perfect brows and ylbb lips. Well I've FINALLY got the first part sorted!

Faux Cils has given great length and volume to my long but fine, sparse lashes. The black is a true, rich black and not some horrible low-pigment grey like so many mascaras seem to be now. Faux Cils started off a bit liquidy when I first purchased, but after a few uses it seemed to thicken up a bit, if that makes sense? It did dry up a lot quicker than most of my other mascaras (and trust me, there are a lot!) but it's still worth a repurchase.

My only tip would be: if you insist on using a lash comb, do it quickly, as this stuff dries like woooosh!

EDIT: I won't be repurchasing this after all. It dried up to almost clump the tube after less than 12 weeks. what a rip off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sadiewoo on 8/5/2008 3:27:00 PM more reviews by sadiewoo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Believe the hype...this mascara is magnificent! I really hesitated spending almost $30. for mascara but I had to give it a try. I love everything about this mascara. The brush is perfect and it never clumps and it makes my lashes look gorgeous. I think I can afford to buy this at least 4 times a year, I'll just have to cut back on my trips to Starbucks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mixellita on 8/5/2008 12:14:00 PM more reviews by mixellita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVED!
Great lashes and great volume!!!
Now I wanna try other colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lapieper on 8/4/2008 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Lapieper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Wahoo. They are bigger, and delivered the closest thing I have ever had to false looking lashes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MacPops on 8/1/2008 4:01:00 PM more reviews by MacPops

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product seems very gentle. My eyes are super sensitive and I'm experiencing no itching or watering at all. There's no flaking as the mascara seems "flexible." It's not hard and crackly.

I purchased the rich brown after looking at Nordstrom's swatches. They really need a better system of swatching because this brown isn't anything like the ones I'm used to. I'm a dark brunette and this would be much better suited for a blond or a red head. I would have been better off purchasing the black.

Not sure if it's worth the hefty price tag.

Added later...
This product has good qualities. It's soft, it doesn't flake, it doesn't irritate eyes. I wish that I could find a volumizing mascara that does all that but has extreme volume. I watched the presentation of this mascara on QVC this evening and when I apply it, it looks nothing like the before and after of the model even though I have similar lashes. Other mascaras will make my lashes look like that, but not this one. An I applying it incorrectly? I'm going to experiment with it some more as I do love the good qualities mentioned above.

Added later still...
My absolute favorite thing about this mascara is that it does not irritate my eyes whatsoever. I hate the way it 'goops' out of the tube. It really is a tube design issue. I will try this in black next.

Edited down. Not worth the money at all. Even though it doesn't irritate my eyes, the formula and brush just don't cut the mustard.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theminx on 7/27/2008 9:53:00 PM more reviews by theminx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I'm sorry to say this didn't work for me. I'm reviewing the non-waterproof one in black. I've used this everyday for 2 months and every time I still get spidery lashes with clumps and zero volume. I tried different ways of applying - wiggling the brush along lashline, a light coating, a heavier coating by sweeping across the whole lash several times (with and without drying in between coats). Whatever I do I always get clumps, which is odd, as the texture of the mascara seems quite liquidy. I'm still giving this 2 lippies, as it doesn't have some nice qualities - It doesn't smudge in high humidity and is OK (not remarkable) at holding a curl, plus the shiny gold tube looks nice and the product smells lovely. Because it was so expensive I will use it up, but will never repurchase. If not for the price I paid, I would certainly throw it away. For comparison, these are some mascaras I've used full tubes of and would buy again, as I think they are way better than Faux Cils: Lancome (Hypnose, Definicils, Flextencils, Magnificils(dc'd)) and Diorshow - all non-waterproof versions, in black.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wendymesa on 7/24/2008 3:45:00 PM more reviews by wendymesa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I heart this mascara! Not only is the packaging beautiful and has a great smell, but it actually works! Imagine that! haha! It gives you beautiful lashes, allows you to get the bottom lashes without clumping, is really volumizing and lengthening. The only downside is that it dries out really fast (avg. 2 months). Even my best friend, who is a MAC artist, recommended this mascara! Enough said, this will forever remain my HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 monikaxp on 7/24/2008 6:01:00 AM more reviews by monikaxp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My life-long quest for the most perfect of mascaras is officially over. Yes, it costs $30 a tube, and yes it DOES seem to get clumpy/dry out in 2-3 months meaning you must buy another one but...it's called faux cils (fake eyelashes) for a reason! I've never had eyelashes...my little sister is the one genetically blessed in that area (DAMN HER!) but when she saw my eyelashes after applying she immediately bought herself a tube. I've tried tons - I have a makeup bag of mascaras I've tried and didn't like - and this is the only one I've ever bought repeatedly. Another pro about it is that you can immediately apply a second coat and you don't have to wait for it to dry - the sales rep told me. Great stuff! I love the shiny gold tube too. Hooray for finding my dream mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Mascara products