Yves Saint Laurent • Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils • Mascara

rated 3.9(1258 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 superkathy on 8/19/2008 5:40:00 PM more reviews by superkathy

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I like trying all kinds of mascaras because I don't wear much makeup- but mascara works quite well even when you're not using any other makeup. For some reason I desparately wanted to get false eye lashes, but couldn't wear them because they're not allowed at work. So, I searched around for mascara that can give you the effect of false eye lashes. I was a bit hesitent to try it at first, because of the price (about $27), but then I decided that it was hard to find an alternative to it, so I bought it on the YSL website. When it arrived, I was suprised to find that it was a big shiny tube- not the kind that other brands give, which are usually small silver or black tubes. And it actually did make my lashes the false looking effect! You don't have to dip it in twice, just 1 dip is enough to finish both eyes work. Also there is no clump at all. For all the mascaras that i've used, they would give at least a little clump but this one didnt! I was so happy to find that out. I like the smell too. Doesn't really smudge but easy enough to remove with eye makeup remover. The only thing is that it only seprates, curls and enhances your lashes, doesnt lengthen them. So if you have to make your lashes very long you might have to use another mascara. But this one is a must-have if you want glamourous eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ClemClem on 8/19/2008 5:14:00 PM more reviews by ClemClem

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Right, I'm giving the bad news first: it dries out soooo quickly. After about three months, you really start to notice it and it is very annoying. However, it really does thicken and curl and I love the way it makes my lashes look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* roroluca on 8/19/2008 9:24:00 AM more reviews by roroluca

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Oh I so DESPERATELY wanted to love this product because of the beautiful packaging and fluffy brush! But the brush does NOT look like the really packed & fluffy brush in the picture here. While it did not clump, it did not hold the curl of my lashes well, granted I had curled about 8 hours ago ... It made me look like I was wearing eyeliner after my first coat and I was so happy! But unfortunately, even tho I put powder under my eyes, this smudges and I ended up with racoon eyes ... AGAIN.

I think I prefer more wet mascaras & I need a better curler (using Shiseido) and develop my curling technique because I can never seem to curl at the very roots of my lashes!! Also, fluffy brushes aren't for me - I need something like Chanel Inimitable or Shiseido mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissChocoholic on 8/17/2008 12:15:00 AM more reviews by MissChocoholic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm hopping on the bandwagon to vouch for this amazing mascara. I've tried so many in the past - Lancome Definicils, L'Oreal Voluminous, Prescriptives Plush mascara and Lash Envy, Shu Basic, Dior Show, etc. and none of them compare to this. Sure it does clump a bit, but the results are phenomenal!! I have short, stickly straight, Asian lashes and this mascara does wonders to get them long and lush. I think I've found my HG...or at least as close as I can get to one!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimorris on 8/15/2008 10:15:00 PM more reviews by kimorris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This lengthens and separates quite impressively, and is also quite black, although it really doesn't do much in the way of volume. The packaging is amazing and lives up to the price tag. It has a tendency to flake a little and is drying up much quicker than my other mascaras. But despite this and the annoyingly cloying rose scent, I was still willing to live with it until it uncurled my just curled lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 somethingblue23 on 8/14/2008 10:11:00 PM more reviews by somethingblue23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OMGosh!! This mascara is amazing. I pair this with MAC Plush (my everyday mascara) and I get asked if I'm wearing fake lashes. I put this mascara on for going out at night. I love the rose scent, it lives up to its name. I clean the brush with tissue before each use. I haven't had a problem with it drying out too quickly. I always make sure to tightly close it. It's expensive but worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nslodowy on 8/14/2008 11:09:00 AM more reviews by nslodowy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is bar-none the best mascara ever made for lengthening and volume. I have tried probably 30 other brands (pretty much all of them) and none compare to this one. I have thin, blonde, lashes and this mascara makes it look like I have fake ones on. The brush gets messed up in about two months, but that's right about the time the tube gets empty anyway. It's not cheap, but in my opinion worth every single penny!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ahhvisst on 8/13/2008 4:27:00 PM more reviews by ahhvisst

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this mascara. The result that it gives me is just priceless. I can create the illusion of long thick lashes, perfect if i want go with the look like i have "deer" eyes. Also perfect for that smokey look. The fragrance is wonderful (it's in all the YSL products).

However it's not flawless, even the sun has its spots. The first week as i use the mascara it gives me a little bit much colour, but after two weeks it's amazing, but the mascara dry out very fast.

A trick i usually do the first week is that a take a papertowel and take away that overload of colour, this trick also keep the mascara becteria free longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KittyBaditty on 8/5/2008 6:18:00 PM more reviews by KittyBaditty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

*Sigh* I am in love! All I've wanted (cosmetically) is to have long, bat-worthy lashes, glowing skin, perfect brows and ylbb lips. Well I've FINALLY got the first part sorted!

Faux Cils has given great length and volume to my long but fine, sparse lashes. The black is a true, rich black and not some horrible low-pigment grey like so many mascaras seem to be now. Faux Cils started off a bit liquidy when I first purchased, but after a few uses it seemed to thicken up a bit, if that makes sense? It did dry up a lot quicker than most of my other mascaras (and trust me, there are a lot!) but it's still worth a repurchase.

My only tip would be: if you insist on using a lash comb, do it quickly, as this stuff dries like woooosh!

EDIT: I won't be repurchasing this after all. It dried up to almost clump the tube after less than 12 weeks. what a rip off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sadiewoo on 8/5/2008 3:27:00 PM more reviews by sadiewoo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Believe the hype...this mascara is magnificent! I really hesitated spending almost $30. for mascara but I had to give it a try. I love everything about this mascara. The brush is perfect and it never clumps and it makes my lashes look gorgeous. I think I can afford to buy this at least 4 times a year, I'll just have to cut back on my trips to Starbucks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Mascara products