Yves Saint Laurent Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils

3.9

1269 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA (WATER) . PARAFFIN . STEARIC ACID . CERA CARNAUBA . TRIETHANOLAMINE . CERA ALBA (BEESWAX) . C10-30 CHOLESTEROL/LANOSTEROL ESTERS . NYLON-12 . STEARYL STEARATE . PHENOXYETHANOL . HYDROXYETHYLCELLULOSE . EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX . DIMETHICONE . PARFUM (FRAGRANCE) . TITANIUM DIOXIDE . TOCOPHERYL ACETATE . METHYLPARABEN . ADIPIC ACID/DIETHYLENE GLYCOL/GLYCERIN CROSSPOLYMER . PANTHENOL . VP/ EICOSENE COPOLYMER . BEHENIC ACID . SORBITAN STEARATE . PEG-40 STEARATE . ALGAE EXTRACT . ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF JUICE . BUTYLPARABEN . ETHYLPARABEN . ISOBUTYLPARABEN . PROPYLPARABEN . [ /- MAY CONTAIN : CI 77007 (ULTRAMARINES) . CI 77499 (IRON OXIDE) . CI 75470 (CARMINE) . CI 77491 (IRON OXIDE) . CI 77019 (MICA) . CI 77742 (MANGANESE VIOLET) . CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE) . CI 77492 (IRON OXIDE) . CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE . CI 19140 (YELLOW 5 LAKE) . CI 42090 (BLUE 1 LAKE) . CI 77000 (ALUMINUM POWDER) . CI 77163 (BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE) . CI 77289 (CHROMIUM HYDROXIDE GREEN) . CI 77510 (FERRIC FERROCYANIDE) . CI 77288 (CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS) . SILICA . 3YY07-1 . ]


on 9/23/2008 3:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought paying over $20 was crazy for a mascara since you replace them often. However, I had an urge to splurge, so I decided on Faux Cils. My god, Im blown away. Generally it takes so many coats to build up my puny sparse asian lashes. However, with Faux Cils, a few coats and Im good. Its unbelievable how much this thickens and lengthen my lashes. And its super black to boot. Im hooked and I totally think this mascara is worth every penny. And plus, the gorgeous gold packaging makes it so elegant in the makeup case...



on 9/21/2008 9:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this mascara!! I recently started using it and now I can't imagine not having it!! It is so wonderful for layering. The wand is small which allows for a nice precise application. It goes on smooth with minimal clumping. This has officially replaced my Diorshow!


on 9/20/2008 8:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ever since i started using this, I never want to switch again. I am using my 7th or 8th tube now. It is by far the best for me. I love it. It gives a false lash look with out using it 3-4 times. The only thing is that if you are looking for a natural look that separates all the lashes, then dont get this, cuz this will clump up your lashes where it feels kind of heavy, but isnt that how false lash is suppose to feel like? Totally worth the price.


on 9/15/2008 7:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ok i finally found my HG mascara (i thought macs zoomlash is it but my eyes started itching after a couple of months)

YSL Faux Cils is exactly what i was looking for in a mascara. I love the brush. The texture is amazing (not to wet not to dry) and my lashes look great. I use this on my natural lashes and when i wear falsies. Its heavenly scented and Lashes feel soft. The Packaging is super glamorous. Ive got this in Violet and will get it in Black. HG for sure so i dont mind the price.

PS. no watery eyes or itching with this one thank you YSL


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This mascara attracts the right attention. The look says it all, glamorous but subtle. In my own opinion I truly think this is the mascara to buy. It gives eyelashes lots of volume and still looks elegant and not the too much look. I personally like having thicker eyelashes with great length but yet again this mascara can achieve the natural daytime look by only applying the mascara once. It will give the eyelashes length and abit of volume. suddenly eyes are transformed and have sophistication. YSL false lash is different to other mascaras in the market because it has unique smell when you apply it to your lashes. Its fresh scent of purfume makes it more pleasing to apply. I must say that the mascara does dry out fast once it is opened it will start drying out and will only last around a month if used everyday and is applied generously. So ladies if you have the mascara make sure after each use you close the lid very tight and hear the click noise it suppose to make. Enjoy the glamour in your own handbag!



on 9/4/2008 11:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! First of all, the packaging alone is luxurious and ornate. It makes you feel like a queen to whip out your gold, glamorous YSL tube of mascara. Next, the product itself...it smells like roses! I love how it smells. The MAC mascara X also smells like roses, but the mascaras differ immensely. This YSL mascara is absolutely fabulous. It is soft, lush, thick, conditioning. It takes a minute for your lashes to dry. They feel luscious and look great. I don't get stiff, hard, flaky lashes with this. I get thick, gorgeous, soft lashes that look awesome, but not clumpy, not fake. My lashes do not make me look like a hooker, like some volumizing spidery formulas might. I know it's expensive. I have seen it for $19 or so at Costco...keep your eyes open for deals at that place! The color is perfect. It's black, but it's a natural black, not a harsh black. Also, important tip to keep in mind and it also says it with the instructions: If the wand seems like it has too much product and to prevent excess amount of product on the wand, wipe with a clean tissue (whether this is a cheap facial tissue or a gift wrapping kind of tissue) IT WORKS! I have also used this trick on my L'Oreal Voluminous, which is another favorite and much cheaper mascara. But, if you have the money and you want to feel like royalty, but the YSL! :)


EDIT: 9/29/08: Just tried the burgundy...also LOVE it. YSL rocks! My HG mascara. Totally worth the hype and $. WAY better than Dior or Lancome. Trust me...I've done that. YSL is where it's at!


on 8/26/2008 10:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i got this cult buy a few months ago at a harvey nichols event (instyle magazine), i asked the sa for a mascara suitable for sensitive eyes ( i was thinking of picking one up from becca) and she recommended this. it was very expensive (30 eur) but i decided to get it as i have read many reviews raving about it and the ticket was redeemable against purchases. it is a very luxurious mascara, the formula was very thick and the packaging is an ornate gold with ysl logo on the tube it even smelled of pure luxury! i was so excited to try it, i had visions of me with amazing show girl lashes but in reality it didnt live up to expectations. it is a good mascara- not great but good. to be honest i was a bit disappointed as i achieved similar results to drugstore mascaras i have used in the past. also the product dried up extremely fast (about 4 weeks!) so it would be an extremely expensive upkeep. a good mascara, quite similar to my hg max factor 2000 calorie which is like a quarter of the price and achieves better results. this is a good mascara but im not thrilled and for that amount of money just for a mascara id need to be!


on 8/25/2008 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i wanted to love this product, really i did.
the brush was suitable for my small asian eyes so i didnt have alot of trouble applying the mascara. another awesome factor about this is that it doesnt clump at all, no matter how much i applied, unlike my previous mascaras that did (fiberwig/l'extreme).

now the downsides: its not very buildable - which is kinda necessary for my short, sparse eyelashes. i dont really use an eyelash curler because my eyelashes are wayyy too short to even have a curl. :( it doesnt really do much volumnizing either, and it has minimal lengthening properties. i dont exactly feel as if i've got fake eyelashes on. my eyelashes look pretty normal in fact after application - as if i just used any normal mascara instead of this high-end one.

i dont really mind the smell, though it does make me think of something old and vintage, which is a clash with the shiny sleek gold applicator tube.

would not buy again, well, unless i really cant find a better one. and i have to find one soon, before this burns a hole in my pocket!

so in the end, i guess i'm still on the search for my HG mascara.....


on 8/24/2008 7:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

YES! YES! YES! Better than falsies. For the ultimate in wearability + waterproofing + super knock out glamour, I use: Shiseido Mascara Base + YSL Mascara Effet Faux Cils + Clarins Mascara Fix. At first I was underwhelmed with YSL however after warming it up ever so slightly (mascara tube dipped in a cup of just boiled water for no longer than 5 seconds) the fibres and product loosened up and once applied worked their magic on my eyelashes. Where they were short, sparse and poker straight, they are curled, super long and super volumised. Like any makeup application, I have found that the best method is to apply in light swift strokes so that the product builds gradually. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. By the way, to take off mascara (and all other makeup), I use a couple of drops of almond oil and wipe on my lashes, followed by Dermalogica cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2008 7:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this product after all the great reviews...but unfortunetly it didn't live up to its expectation for me. I found it really flakey. I have poker-straight lashes and even with my eyelash curler it didn't do much for me. For me, my HG is still L'Oreal Volumous!


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
426 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2007 Reviews


Back to Top