Yves Saint Laurent • Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils • Mascara

rated 3.9(1262 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 zefashionista on 8/25/2008 11:16:00 PM more reviews by zefashionista

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i wanted to love this product, really i did.
the brush was suitable for my small asian eyes so i didnt have alot of trouble applying the mascara. another awesome factor about this is that it doesnt clump at all, no matter how much i applied, unlike my previous mascaras that did (fiberwig/l'extreme).

now the downsides: its not very buildable - which is kinda necessary for my short, sparse eyelashes. i dont really use an eyelash curler because my eyelashes are wayyy too short to even have a curl. :( it doesnt really do much volumnizing either, and it has minimal lengthening properties. i dont exactly feel as if i've got fake eyelashes on. my eyelashes look pretty normal in fact after application - as if i just used any normal mascara instead of this high-end one.

i dont really mind the smell, though it does make me think of something old and vintage, which is a clash with the shiny sleek gold applicator tube.

would not buy again, well, unless i really cant find a better one. and i have to find one soon, before this burns a hole in my pocket!

so in the end, i guess i'm still on the search for my HG mascara.....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 livviilee on 8/24/2008 7:15:00 PM more reviews by livviilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

YES! YES! YES! Better than falsies. For the ultimate in wearability + waterproofing + super knock out glamour, I use: Shiseido Mascara Base + YSL Mascara Effet Faux Cils + Clarins Mascara Fix. At first I was underwhelmed with YSL however after warming it up ever so slightly (mascara tube dipped in a cup of just boiled water for no longer than 5 seconds) the fibres and product loosened up and once applied worked their magic on my eyelashes. Where they were short, sparse and poker straight, they are curled, super long and super volumised. Like any makeup application, I have found that the best method is to apply in light swift strokes so that the product builds gradually. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. By the way, to take off mascara (and all other makeup), I use a couple of drops of almond oil and wipe on my lashes, followed by Dermalogica cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kristin_dee on 8/21/2008 7:26:00 PM more reviews by kristin_dee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product after all the great reviews...but unfortunetly it didn't live up to its expectation for me. I found it really flakey. I have poker-straight lashes and even with my eyelash curler it didn't do much for me. For me, my HG is still L'Oreal Volumous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PinkPrincess81 on 8/21/2008 6:40:00 AM more reviews by PinkPrincess81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice mascara, and I do like it, but I would not buy it again. It is lovely on the lashes, it fans them out nicely, and the best part of it is that it does not make your lashes stiff and brittle looking. Your lashes remain soft to the touch, which is really nice. It is perfumed with a light rose scent, which I really liked, as I find it to smell 'luxurious'. And the sleek gold tube is chic. But I found it go clumpy after just a short while, and I cleaned the wand with a tissue every week as advised. I can see why this mascara is so popular, and it is not too bad, but I much prefer Diorshow, that is my true love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sillyass3 on 8/20/2008 2:22:00 AM more reviews by sillyass3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. Lots of volume. I bought both this one and Diorshow just to compare. And ysl was the winner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 superkathy on 8/19/2008 5:40:00 PM more reviews by superkathy

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I like trying all kinds of mascaras because I don't wear much makeup- but mascara works quite well even when you're not using any other makeup. For some reason I desparately wanted to get false eye lashes, but couldn't wear them because they're not allowed at work. So, I searched around for mascara that can give you the effect of false eye lashes. I was a bit hesitent to try it at first, because of the price (about $27), but then I decided that it was hard to find an alternative to it, so I bought it on the YSL website. When it arrived, I was suprised to find that it was a big shiny tube- not the kind that other brands give, which are usually small silver or black tubes. And it actually did make my lashes the false looking effect! You don't have to dip it in twice, just 1 dip is enough to finish both eyes work. Also there is no clump at all. For all the mascaras that i've used, they would give at least a little clump but this one didnt! I was so happy to find that out. I like the smell too. Doesn't really smudge but easy enough to remove with eye makeup remover. The only thing is that it only seprates, curls and enhances your lashes, doesnt lengthen them. So if you have to make your lashes very long you might have to use another mascara. But this one is a must-have if you want glamourous eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ClemClem on 8/19/2008 5:14:00 PM more reviews by ClemClem

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Right, I'm giving the bad news first: it dries out soooo quickly. After about three months, you really start to notice it and it is very annoying. However, it really does thicken and curl and I love the way it makes my lashes look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 roroluca on 8/19/2008 9:24:00 AM more reviews by roroluca

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Oh I so DESPERATELY wanted to love this product because of the beautiful packaging and fluffy brush! But the brush does NOT look like the really packed & fluffy brush in the picture here. While it did not clump, it did not hold the curl of my lashes well, granted I had curled about 8 hours ago ... It made me look like I was wearing eyeliner after my first coat and I was so happy! But unfortunately, even tho I put powder under my eyes, this smudges and I ended up with racoon eyes ... AGAIN.

I think I prefer more wet mascaras & I need a better curler (using Shiseido) and develop my curling technique because I can never seem to curl at the very roots of my lashes!! Also, fluffy brushes aren't for me - I need something like Chanel Inimitable or Shiseido mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissChocoholic on 8/17/2008 12:15:00 AM more reviews by MissChocoholic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm hopping on the bandwagon to vouch for this amazing mascara. I've tried so many in the past - Lancome Definicils, L'Oreal Voluminous, Prescriptives Plush mascara and Lash Envy, Shu Basic, Dior Show, etc. and none of them compare to this. Sure it does clump a bit, but the results are phenomenal!! I have short, stickly straight, Asian lashes and this mascara does wonders to get them long and lush. I think I've found my HG...or at least as close as I can get to one!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimorris on 8/15/2008 10:15:00 PM more reviews by kimorris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This lengthens and separates quite impressively, and is also quite black, although it really doesn't do much in the way of volume. The packaging is amazing and lives up to the price tag. It has a tendency to flake a little and is drying up much quicker than my other mascaras. But despite this and the annoyingly cloying rose scent, I was still willing to live with it until it uncurled my just curled lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Mascara products