Yves Saint Laurent • Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils • Mascara

rated 3.9(1256 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MissChocoholic on 8/17/2008 12:15:00 AM more reviews by MissChocoholic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm hopping on the bandwagon to vouch for this amazing mascara. I've tried so many in the past - Lancome Definicils, L'Oreal Voluminous, Prescriptives Plush mascara and Lash Envy, Shu Basic, Dior Show, etc. and none of them compare to this. Sure it does clump a bit, but the results are phenomenal!! I have short, stickly straight, Asian lashes and this mascara does wonders to get them long and lush. I think I've found my HG...or at least as close as I can get to one!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimorris on 8/15/2008 10:15:00 PM more reviews by kimorris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This lengthens and separates quite impressively, and is also quite black, although it really doesn't do much in the way of volume. The packaging is amazing and lives up to the price tag. It has a tendency to flake a little and is drying up much quicker than my other mascaras. But despite this and the annoyingly cloying rose scent, I was still willing to live with it until it uncurled my just curled lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 somethingblue23 on 8/14/2008 10:11:00 PM more reviews by somethingblue23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OMGosh!! This mascara is amazing. I pair this with MAC Plush (my everyday mascara) and I get asked if I'm wearing fake lashes. I put this mascara on for going out at night. I love the rose scent, it lives up to its name. I clean the brush with tissue before each use. I haven't had a problem with it drying out too quickly. I always make sure to tightly close it. It's expensive but worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nslodowy on 8/14/2008 11:09:00 AM more reviews by nslodowy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is bar-none the best mascara ever made for lengthening and volume. I have tried probably 30 other brands (pretty much all of them) and none compare to this one. I have thin, blonde, lashes and this mascara makes it look like I have fake ones on. The brush gets messed up in about two months, but that's right about the time the tube gets empty anyway. It's not cheap, but in my opinion worth every single penny!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ahhvisst on 8/13/2008 4:27:00 PM more reviews by ahhvisst

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this mascara. The result that it gives me is just priceless. I can create the illusion of long thick lashes, perfect if i want go with the look like i have "deer" eyes. Also perfect for that smokey look. The fragrance is wonderful (it's in all the YSL products).

However it's not flawless, even the sun has its spots. The first week as i use the mascara it gives me a little bit much colour, but after two weeks it's amazing, but the mascara dry out very fast.

A trick i usually do the first week is that a take a papertowel and take away that overload of colour, this trick also keep the mascara becteria free longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KittyBaditty on 8/5/2008 6:18:00 PM more reviews by KittyBaditty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

*Sigh* I am in love! All I've wanted (cosmetically) is to have long, bat-worthy lashes, glowing skin, perfect brows and ylbb lips. Well I've FINALLY got the first part sorted!

Faux Cils has given great length and volume to my long but fine, sparse lashes. The black is a true, rich black and not some horrible low-pigment grey like so many mascaras seem to be now. Faux Cils started off a bit liquidy when I first purchased, but after a few uses it seemed to thicken up a bit, if that makes sense? It did dry up a lot quicker than most of my other mascaras (and trust me, there are a lot!) but it's still worth a repurchase.

My only tip would be: if you insist on using a lash comb, do it quickly, as this stuff dries like woooosh!

EDIT: I won't be repurchasing this after all. It dried up to almost clump the tube after less than 12 weeks. what a rip off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sadiewoo on 8/5/2008 3:27:00 PM more reviews by sadiewoo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Believe the hype...this mascara is magnificent! I really hesitated spending almost $30. for mascara but I had to give it a try. I love everything about this mascara. The brush is perfect and it never clumps and it makes my lashes look gorgeous. I think I can afford to buy this at least 4 times a year, I'll just have to cut back on my trips to Starbucks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mixellita on 8/5/2008 12:14:00 PM more reviews by mixellita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVED!
Great lashes and great volume!!!
Now I wanna try other colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lapieper on 8/4/2008 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Lapieper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Wahoo. They are bigger, and delivered the closest thing I have ever had to false looking lashes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MacPops on 8/1/2008 4:01:00 PM more reviews by MacPops

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product seems very gentle. My eyes are super sensitive and I'm experiencing no itching or watering at all. There's no flaking as the mascara seems "flexible." It's not hard and crackly.

I purchased the rich brown after looking at Nordstrom's swatches. They really need a better system of swatching because this brown isn't anything like the ones I'm used to. I'm a dark brunette and this would be much better suited for a blond or a red head. I would have been better off purchasing the black.

Not sure if it's worth the hefty price tag.

Added later...
This product has good qualities. It's soft, it doesn't flake, it doesn't irritate eyes. I wish that I could find a volumizing mascara that does all that but has extreme volume. I watched the presentation of this mascara on QVC this evening and when I apply it, it looks nothing like the before and after of the model even though I have similar lashes. Other mascaras will make my lashes look like that, but not this one. An I applying it incorrectly? I'm going to experiment with it some more as I do love the good qualities mentioned above.

Added later still...
My absolute favorite thing about this mascara is that it does not irritate my eyes whatsoever. I hate the way it 'goops' out of the tube. It really is a tube design issue. I will try this in black next.

Edited down. Not worth the money at all. Even though it doesn't irritate my eyes, the formula and brush just don't cut the mustard.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Mascara products