Yves Saint Laurent Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils

3.9

1263 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA (WATER) . PARAFFIN . STEARIC ACID . CERA CARNAUBA . TRIETHANOLAMINE . CERA ALBA (BEESWAX) . C10-30 CHOLESTEROL/LANOSTEROL ESTERS . NYLON-12 . STEARYL STEARATE . PHENOXYETHANOL . HYDROXYETHYLCELLULOSE . EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX . DIMETHICONE . PARFUM (FRAGRANCE) . TITANIUM DIOXIDE . TOCOPHERYL ACETATE . METHYLPARABEN . ADIPIC ACID/DIETHYLENE GLYCOL/GLYCERIN CROSSPOLYMER . PANTHENOL . VP/ EICOSENE COPOLYMER . BEHENIC ACID . SORBITAN STEARATE . PEG-40 STEARATE . ALGAE EXTRACT . ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF JUICE . BUTYLPARABEN . ETHYLPARABEN . ISOBUTYLPARABEN . PROPYLPARABEN . [ /- MAY CONTAIN : CI 77007 (ULTRAMARINES) . CI 77499 (IRON OXIDE) . CI 75470 (CARMINE) . CI 77491 (IRON OXIDE) . CI 77019 (MICA) . CI 77742 (MANGANESE VIOLET) . CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE) . CI 77492 (IRON OXIDE) . CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE . CI 19140 (YELLOW 5 LAKE) . CI 42090 (BLUE 1 LAKE) . CI 77000 (ALUMINUM POWDER) . CI 77163 (BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE) . CI 77289 (CHROMIUM HYDROXIDE GREEN) . CI 77510 (FERRIC FERROCYANIDE) . CI 77288 (CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS) . SILICA . 3YY07-1 . ]


on 8/26/2008 10:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i got this cult buy a few months ago at a harvey nichols event (instyle magazine), i asked the sa for a mascara suitable for sensitive eyes ( i was thinking of picking one up from becca) and she recommended this. it was very expensive (30 eur) but i decided to get it as i have read many reviews raving about it and the ticket was redeemable against purchases. it is a very luxurious mascara, the formula was very thick and the packaging is an ornate gold with ysl logo on the tube it even smelled of pure luxury! i was so excited to try it, i had visions of me with amazing show girl lashes but in reality it didnt live up to expectations. it is a good mascara- not great but good. to be honest i was a bit disappointed as i achieved similar results to drugstore mascaras i have used in the past. also the product dried up extremely fast (about 4 weeks!) so it would be an extremely expensive upkeep. a good mascara, quite similar to my hg max factor 2000 calorie which is like a quarter of the price and achieves better results. this is a good mascara but im not thrilled and for that amount of money just for a mascara id need to be!



on 8/25/2008 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i wanted to love this product, really i did.
the brush was suitable for my small asian eyes so i didnt have alot of trouble applying the mascara. another awesome factor about this is that it doesnt clump at all, no matter how much i applied, unlike my previous mascaras that did (fiberwig/l'extreme).

now the downsides: its not very buildable - which is kinda necessary for my short, sparse eyelashes. i dont really use an eyelash curler because my eyelashes are wayyy too short to even have a curl. :( it doesnt really do much volumnizing either, and it has minimal lengthening properties. i dont exactly feel as if i've got fake eyelashes on. my eyelashes look pretty normal in fact after application - as if i just used any normal mascara instead of this high-end one.

i dont really mind the smell, though it does make me think of something old and vintage, which is a clash with the shiny sleek gold applicator tube.

would not buy again, well, unless i really cant find a better one. and i have to find one soon, before this burns a hole in my pocket!

so in the end, i guess i'm still on the search for my HG mascara.....


on 8/24/2008 7:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

YES! YES! YES! Better than falsies. For the ultimate in wearability + waterproofing + super knock out glamour, I use: Shiseido Mascara Base + YSL Mascara Effet Faux Cils + Clarins Mascara Fix. At first I was underwhelmed with YSL however after warming it up ever so slightly (mascara tube dipped in a cup of just boiled water for no longer than 5 seconds) the fibres and product loosened up and once applied worked their magic on my eyelashes. Where they were short, sparse and poker straight, they are curled, super long and super volumised. Like any makeup application, I have found that the best method is to apply in light swift strokes so that the product builds gradually. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. By the way, to take off mascara (and all other makeup), I use a couple of drops of almond oil and wipe on my lashes, followed by Dermalogica cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2008 7:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this product after all the great reviews...but unfortunetly it didn't live up to its expectation for me. I found it really flakey. I have poker-straight lashes and even with my eyelash curler it didn't do much for me. For me, my HG is still L'Oreal Volumous!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a nice mascara, and I do like it, but I would not buy it again. It is lovely on the lashes, it fans them out nicely, and the best part of it is that it does not make your lashes stiff and brittle looking. Your lashes remain soft to the touch, which is really nice. It is perfumed with a light rose scent, which I really liked, as I find it to smell 'luxurious'. And the sleek gold tube is chic. But I found it go clumpy after just a short while, and I cleaned the wand with a tissue every week as advised. I can see why this mascara is so popular, and it is not too bad, but I much prefer Diorshow, that is my true love.


on 8/20/2008 2:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it. Lots of volume. I bought both this one and Diorshow just to compare. And ysl was the winner.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2008 5:40:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

I like trying all kinds of mascaras because I don't wear much makeup- but mascara works quite well even when you're not using any other makeup. For some reason I desparately wanted to get false eye lashes, but couldn't wear them because they're not allowed at work. So, I searched around for mascara that can give you the effect of false eye lashes. I was a bit hesitent to try it at first, because of the price (about $27), but then I decided that it was hard to find an alternative to it, so I bought it on the YSL website. When it arrived, I was suprised to find that it was a big shiny tube- not the kind that other brands give, which are usually small silver or black tubes. And it actually did make my lashes the false looking effect! You don't have to dip it in twice, just 1 dip is enough to finish both eyes work. Also there is no clump at all. For all the mascaras that i've used, they would give at least a little clump but this one didnt! I was so happy to find that out. I like the smell too. Doesn't really smudge but easy enough to remove with eye makeup remover. The only thing is that it only seprates, curls and enhances your lashes, doesnt lengthen them. So if you have to make your lashes very long you might have to use another mascara. But this one is a must-have if you want glamourous eyes!


on 8/19/2008 5:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Right, I'm giving the bad news first: it dries out soooo quickly. After about three months, you really start to notice it and it is very annoying. However, it really does thicken and curl and I love the way it makes my lashes look.


on 8/19/2008 9:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Oh I so DESPERATELY wanted to love this product because of the beautiful packaging and fluffy brush! But the brush does NOT look like the really packed & fluffy brush in the picture here. While it did not clump, it did not hold the curl of my lashes well, granted I had curled about 8 hours ago ... It made me look like I was wearing eyeliner after my first coat and I was so happy! But unfortunately, even tho I put powder under my eyes, this smudges and I ended up with racoon eyes ... AGAIN.

I think I prefer more wet mascaras & I need a better curler (using Shiseido) and develop my curling technique because I can never seem to curl at the very roots of my lashes!! Also, fluffy brushes aren't for me - I need something like Chanel Inimitable or Shiseido mascaras.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm hopping on the bandwagon to vouch for this amazing mascara. I've tried so many in the past - Lancome Definicils, L'Oreal Voluminous, Prescriptives Plush mascara and Lash Envy, Shu Basic, Dior Show, etc. and none of them compare to this. Sure it does clump a bit, but the results are phenomenal!! I have short, stickly straight, Asian lashes and this mascara does wonders to get them long and lush. I think I've found my HG...or at least as close as I can get to one!! :)




Back to Top