Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Base

4.0

630 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

CTIVE INGREDIENTS: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) 14%, Zinc Oxide (CI 77947) 3% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Mica (CI 77019), Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Hydrated Silica, Stearic Acid, Plankton Extract, Algae Extract, Pinus Strobus (Pine) Bark Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract. [ /- Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Carmine (CI 75470)]


on 12/7/2002 2:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought powder foundations would be the solution to my oily skin, so I got some samples of JI's pressed mineral foundation in Bisque. It was pretty easy to apply; just take a brush and apply sparingly. It was a terrific color match and gave me a surprisingly flawless complexion in the morning. By noon, however, my face was an oil slick, and the foundation was sitting on top of my skin. I'd recommend this foundation for people with normal skin.



on 12/2/2002 5:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am in love with this mineral powder! This powder gave a flawless finish. It looked natural, with a no makeup look, while covering my acne. I will look forward to another purchase.


on 11/16/2002 8:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an amazing product -- the ONLY foundation/base I will ever use on my face. It looks totally natural, and is so easy to match the shade of my face, even if it changes slightly througout the year. The light-reflecting minerals are so much more forgiving than liquids or regular powders. It makes my skintone look naturally even and beautiful! No hint of shine, and it has never made me break out! Yay!


on 11/13/2002 5:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I first tried this foundation for my wedding, and I've been sold ever since. Looks very natural and doesn't make my skin itch like other foundations. I have combo skin, and only need to blot my forehead once a day, if at all!
I have a medium yellow-based complexion and currently use Warm Sienna; will probably switch to Golden Glow in the summertime.


on 11/9/2002 1:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I was so excited to get this since a lot of people raved about it. Their color selection isn't so great. I barely found a match for my skin color yet I still purchased it. After two hours of wearing this stuff, my face looked horribly slick and I don't even have really oily skin. I got this since I liked that it was in a pressed powder form but that's about the only thing positve about this product. Bare Escentuals is soooo much better!


on 10/21/2002 7:33:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favourite mineral makeup! Gives a great, matte finish, can build for more coverage, not cakey, worth the price, waterproof as well.


on 10/12/2002 8:27:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

After reading so much about mineral foundations, I gave this a try. I have combo skin with my T-zone being EXTREMELY oily so nothing prevents oil breakthrough on me, but I'm sold on this mineral stuff. It really does look more natural than liquid foundations and doesn't look cakey. Since I'm using the pressed in the compact, I found I needed to buy the flocked sponge (after spending $40 on the Handi brush) to get better coverage.


on 10/1/2002 2:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have been using the pressed minerals now for a couple of years and this gives me the illusion of perfect skin. It evens my skin tone, doesn't cake, covers imperfections, and does not bother my sensitive acne-prone skin. One problem I did notice was that the Warm Silk pressed was turning slightly orangish when my skin was extremely oily. I switched to Bisque and started using the PureMatte pressed powder and was happy once again. JI does recommend the pressed for oilier skin types and that seems to be the case for my skin--if my skin is dry, the pressed exacerbates the dryness. The price may seem high but a little goes a long way. A compact will last me 9-12 months with daily use. Will always repurchase.


on 9/26/2002 1:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Disappointing! I ordered samples from WTF, and they sent me samples of 'crushed' pressed minerals. The colour worked well for me, and so I splurged and bought a compact in Golden Glow.
I find it really hard to work with the actual pressed base because it's hard to pick up the colour using my brush, and it seems to take much more effort to get enough coverage on my face.

JI seems to make me oilier and midway through the day seems to feel heavy and cakey on my skin (although i didn't feel the same way about the samples)...*sigh* perhaps I should take the pressed minerals out of the compact and crush it myself???


on 8/29/2002 3:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

After reading so many rave reviews, I decided to request samples from skindeepiii and jane iredale. I was so excited to try it, it seemed like the perfect foundation. Boy, was I wrong. This might seem unusual from all the reviews, but I broke out HORRIBLY on my cheeks (and I NEVER break out on my cheeks). I have been miserable for the last 5 days. It looks like a bad rash/acne. I am very sad and dissapointed.


Back to Top