Maybelline • Dream Matte Pressed Powder ] [DISCONTINUED] • Pressed Powders

rated 4.1(1378 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 1Tanya on 12/2/2010 6:01:00 AM more reviews by 1Tanya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not very impressed by this product. It has a lot of positive reviews, but to me this powder is quite average. It doesn't control oil that much, in the afternoon I need to reapply 3-4 times. Nice smooth finish after applying it in the morning, but after 2 or 3 times you apply, it it looks very cakey. Inconvenient packaging and a horrible sponge, if I can even call it a sponge, I need to use a brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovcat01 on 11/30/2010 5:52:00 PM more reviews by lovcat01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product, I will keep buying forever and ever.
I use this to set my foundation, and never really realized how beautiful the finish of this powder was until I decided to apply it more generously. The finish is matte but also has the effect making your skin look smooth and silky. I don't have to worry about the powder looking cakey at all no matter how much I apply and that's always a plus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nySuesan on 11/30/2010 1:17:00 PM more reviews by nySuesan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have just started using this powder with the dream matte mousse foundation and I love both products just a light dusting and it lasts all day, I will be buying this and the dream matte mousse again!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gate403 on 11/25/2010 9:51:00 PM more reviews by gate403

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

HG. It looks totally natural and gives a matte, slightly soft focus effect. I'm tremendously oily so my oil reappears after a few hours but I'm very pleased still because this is AMAZING at setting makeup. My undereye concealer always used to crease on me, before I used this powder. I used other powders in the past and it would crease, but with this I get no creasing. HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blackberrypatch on 11/25/2010 4:55:00 PM more reviews by blackberrypatch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this for awhile now. It does what the name says it'll do - reduce oiliness/shine. A bonus I wasn't expecting is that it reduces the look of pores on my nose. I bought the second lightest shade because I wanted to add some color to my face and it worked. =)

I don't mind the packaging, I treat it as a regular compact and flip the top open to get to the powder. I haven't used the mirror or puff that this comes with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snowcat123 on 11/24/2010 6:51:00 PM more reviews by snowcat123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice face powder. Its nothing amazing, but it reduces shine and oil, and doesn't look too powdery. I think I might switch to a talc free powder after I run out, but it doesn't irritate me skin, which is pretty sensitive, so i wouldn't mind using it again. I really like the packaging, which is pretty creative, and stays shut in my bag. I wear it over my foundation, and it helps set it too. Overall, if you are looking for a nice powder, reasonably priced, then this is worth trying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yellowdress on 11/23/2010 8:46:00 PM more reviews by yellowdress

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great powder! I think it really makes a difference on an oily face, and it's so good for the price. A lot of people have said it doesn't matter what shade you get, since it's kind of a translucent powder, but I would disagree. I think I got a shade too light for my face, because it makes me look abnormally light if worn alone. I would definitely purchase again, though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nonsliptechnology on 11/13/2010 2:23:00 AM more reviews by nonsliptechnology

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Oil control: Decent but does not seem to last forever as mentioned by some. However, it could be because I apply it over liquid foundation, rather than use it on powder.

Quality: Also this product broke me out when worn alone. However, it doesn't cause any trouble when I use it to set my liquid foundation. So I really do suspect that my skin does not like powder foundations.

This powder can also look cakey whenever I have some dry spots on my nose but I got around this problem by setting it with Avene's Thermal Spray. I would think that alternative sprays will work just as well.

Color: I got it in Sand Medium, but it still looks a little light. Again, this is not really an issue because I generally use two foundation shades for contouring. FYI, I'm NC 35.

Packing: I didn't like the mirror because it made the packaging so bulky, so I just twisted it out as advised by a MUA/youtube guru.
Edit: FOUND IT!



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 11/11/2010 11:11:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm editing my review because it has been two years since I first bought this. I have to say that Maybelline has reformulated this since. So I'm re-writing this to compare what I had thought of it back in 2009 and what I think of it today (12/13/11).
Color
old-pink does not match yellow undertones in skin
new-matches to a T (bought in Beige 2-2.5) and I can't believe I'm actually the 3rd color in! For once I'm not the lightest color a brand carries!
Texture
old- cakey; very obvious I'm wearing a powder
new- takes a few minutes to settle in but then looks really natural
Oil control
old-so powdery you will never have to worry about oil
new- fresh almost all day until the last two hours (I apply it at 2pm and wear it until midnight- so it lasting till 9pm is a God send)

All of the other powders I've used as foundations don't last this long on me. I have never had one keep the oil at bay as long as this has. It also has lighter shades for me to choose from when I lose my tan this winter.

12/4/13 update: Still using this as a powder foundation. I find it blurs lines and pores. Also looks great over most concealers. Gives a hint of color so I don't look dead. Lasts a long time and holds up through humid conditions. It's the closest I've ever been to finding a foundation I'm happy with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AlwaysBeFabulous on 11/11/2010 11:49:00 AM more reviews by AlwaysBeFabulous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Im begining to realize im becoming a maybelline addict (minus their eyeshadows)
ive gone through countless amounts of this powder. its wicked.
if my skin is behaving then i use this just itself and give my skin
a nice matte finish but what i love is using this to set foundation.
its lightweight with just a hint of color. beautiful matte finish and not
extremely exspensive.
another holy grail product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Pressed Powders products