Laura Mercier • Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(1302 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 orangeserendipity32 on 5/23/2009 4:17:00 PM more reviews by orangeserendipity32

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is going to be a comparison review between the oil-free and the regular TM. I purchased the original LM tinted moisturizer in Nude, after returning the oil-free version. I love the original version SO much more.

At the time that I purchased the oil-free TM, I reasoned that it would be better for summer wear. However, the texture of it is thick and is a little hard to spread, so I had to put it on immediately after my everyday face lotion to help it spread more evenly on my skin. Even though it is thick in consistency, the coverage is light. After two hrs. or so, my skin would be a complete oil slick. No matter how much I blotted or powdered my face, it just felt uncomfortable and looked oily. (Ironic isn't it)? I have never had oily skin, in fact it is on the dry side This iis the very reason I was seeking out a TM that would even out my complexion and not accentuate dryness. I tried it 4 times, and had the same disappointing result each time.

I should have stuck with the original as it probably has won numerous beauty awards for a reason. It gives me an even complexion, lightly moisturizes, and feels so light and velvety on my skin. It gives the same coverage as the oil-free version but is a thinner formula that feels and looks so much better on my skin. It gives a slight dewy finish that mimics the look of naturally healthy and beautiful skin. The color Nude is a nice color for my neutral skin tone and evens out any red in my skin beautifully. I could of easily pulled off Sand as well(a shade darker than Nude), to warm up my face tone, but they are out of it everywhere! I have tried other TM's and this is my favorite! I prefer this over the LM Moisturizing Foundation as well.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sholden on 5/23/2009 3:32:00 PM more reviews by sholden

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm a no-fuss kind of person when it comes to make-up. I tend to use a lot of moisturizers followed by a light dusting of powder. Lately, however, I've noticed that I need something more to even out my skin. I initially looked at mineral powders but felt too "made-up". Plus, the powder seemed to settle into the fine lines in my skin. I had used Lancome tinted moisturizer in the past and decided to try that route. After reading countless reviews, I opted for Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer. I must say I prefer the consistency of LM better than Lancome. It goes on easily, feels light on my skin and the color, sand, blends well with my skin tone. I originally tried the oil-free at the make-up counter. Unfortunately, they were out of it and I had purchase the regular tinted moisturizer. I have combo skin and find the non oil-free version does make my forehead feel oily. So, I'll be exchanging this product. It should be noted that even though this is called a tinted moisturizer, it feels very dry on the skin if applied without any moisturizer underneath.
Edit: I decided to stay with the original tinted moisturizer. The oil-free just felt too thick on my skin. I get around the oily feel by putting finishing powder on my t-zone. LM just came out with some new colors. I would recommend bisque to anyone who feels that sand is a bit too orange. I'm be switching to bisque as it's a bit more neutral.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tr1gger on 5/20/2009 9:26:00 PM more reviews by tr1gger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Pretty good. I don't really like applying moisturizing products to my skin, and HATE liquid sunscreen. But this does look lovely and isn't oily or TOO congesting. I like it and wear it if I need to go somewhere. For general sunprotection I just wear MM, even though it doesn't look great, it feels better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JESSCA822 on 5/20/2009 4:56:00 PM more reviews by JESSCA822

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

love love love this product. Makes my skin just glow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xBrazenx on 5/17/2009 8:04:00 PM more reviews by xBrazenx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Eh. That basically sums up my feelings about this TM.

For me, this is too moisturizing and heavy. Also, the lightest shade is still too dark for me!

I can see how this would be good for certain skin types, however. The coverage is nice and buildable, it blends nicely, and gives a nice dewy look to the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paulinan on 5/15/2009 10:28:00 PM more reviews by paulinan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i am not a FOUNDATION girl whatsoever! i dont need much coverage on my face.. i have tried mac products..and those are wayyy too heavy for my face..and makes my skin very irritated. I have been using the SAND tinted moisturizer.and it has been doing wonders on my skin! =) it makes my skin very soft.. and gives me a rather natural looking glow (dewey look) so if you want more a matte look..i would say that this isnt something you might want to use.. and it doesnt offer much coverage..which is perfect for me! because i dont need much coverage! i also have very dry skin..it does moisturize like it says it supposed to! only thing is.. it kind of expensive..but i think its worth it! it'll last you a longgggg time ! a little bit goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emem on 5/8/2009 9:10:00 AM more reviews by emem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very sheer, smooth, easy-to-apply, light-weight. I really like it! Sand from kit.

Update: I'm beginning to really like this! It stands up all day at work without melting into my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amandaedista on 5/5/2009 2:13:00 AM more reviews by amandaedista

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! I've got pretty good skin, so it gives me that natural glowy complexion. It's great for day time use when you don't want to look too made up, so I recommend this product for those with good skin. I like to use this after I apply usual moisturiser and primer during Winter because my skin is dryer. During Summer, I use this only as my moisturiser and it still feels and looks great. It's very expensive, but I will definately purchase again! You get what you pay for!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AprilLC on 5/4/2009 12:46:00 PM more reviews by AprilLC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't understand all the hype. I bought the oil free formula and it seems to heavy for a TM. It also seems to slide off my face fairly readily even with primer. I am not afraid to spend money on a good product but I feel like this one is way overpriced. Other less expensive brands have offered me better results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flowersfade on 5/2/2009 1:53:00 PM more reviews by flowersfade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

first, the cons:
packaging. while it looks classy and nice, i really prefer not to have to twist off the cap. i'd rather have a flip top, it's just easier. the mouth of the tube could also be a bit smaller.


everything else is pros! this doesn't have full coverage obviously because it is a tinted moisturizer, but it's enough for me on most areas of my face. i have a lot of redness on my nose and a little on my cheeks, so i use foundation over this, but the rest of my face is fine with just the tinted moisturizer with the extra benefit of spf 20.


i wasn't positive i'd be keeping this when i first tried it because i didn't really like how it was spreading (using my fingers. a brush wasn't very effective either but i'm trying to figure it out. i'm sure it's my own error rather than the moisturizer) and i just wasn't sure it was worth the money, but now that i've been using it for a few weeks i'm really in love. this is great for days when i don't need much coverage, it feels like i have nothing on, and it doesn't give that powdery matte finish that i hate foundations for. i just slap this on with some setting powder and i'm good to go, most of the time. this does not make my face oily and i haven't broken out from it at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Tinted Moisturizer products