Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20

3.8

1328 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active ingredients: Octyl Methoxycinnamate (Octinoxate) and Methyl Anthranilate. Other ingredients: Purified Water, Cetearyl Alcohol (and) PEG-40 Castor Oil (and) POE-20, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cyclomethicone, DEA-Ceryl Phosphate, Hexyl Laurate, Kalaya Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Acetate), Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Allantoin, Carbomer, Methylparaben, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C), Propylparaben. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica.


on 8/24/2009 8:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've read so much about this product that I decided to try it. In all honesty, I am a bit mystified by the whole TM concept as I think it's neither fish nor fowl - not quite makeup and not a strong enough sunscreen to stand alone for outdoor wear. Also - you shouldn't put color on your neck, and your neck needs moisture too! But since I'm frequently rushed in the mornings, I have used Bobbi Brown TM intermittently through the years. I don't like the way any of the BB foundations smells after a few hours' wear, though I think the colors are unsurpassed, so I decided to try the highly praised LM version. I wanted to try a sample but the MA at Sephora kept insisting I was Nude and refused to give me a sample of the Porcelain, which I knew was the right shade (I'm very fair with pink undertones and MAs sometimes confuse the pinkness with needing the next darkest shade, which would be too dark). I tried the Nude sample, which was, as I expected, too dark, but liked the product well enough to go back and buy the Porcelain. It's fine - goes on nicely, and I like the extra vitamins and slightly higher SPF versus BB. The coverage is blendable and can be built if desired. Also, it doesn't smell, which is delightful! But I miss the slight yellow undertone from my BB Extra Light, and my nose does get shiny by mid-morning so I do need some powder. Perhaps that's why some users mention applying primer first, though that seems to defeat the time-saving factor. Bottom line - I don't quite see all the hoopla, but I'll certainly use it on busy mornings.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/24/2009 2:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm pleasantly surprised by this product. Even though it's a moisturizer, I'm pleased that I can use this product alone without having to wear additional makeup. The beauty of this product is that it blends in well with my skin tone, creating a more even complexion. The product I purchased actually contains SPF and is oil-free. My skin is prone to acne, this product does not cause me to have additional breakouts. I love how it's so lightweight, I can wear this all day, and even re-apply when necessary. I would definitely buy this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2009 8:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

HG! I love this tinted moisturiser! For ref. I'm NW 20-ish (slightly warmer in summer) and use this product in "nude". This has the perfect amount of moisture and colour to slightly even out skintone, give some glow and an overall impression of healthy-looking skin. It doesn't cake or flake during the day, it doesn't go oily or slip off in higher temperatures and best of all; it doesn't oxidize! You don't have to be a professional to put this on; no special tools are required and because it lasts a long time it's still good value despite being on the pricier side. I prefer to apply this using my (clean) fingers, a smallish pea-sized dot is all I need for face/neck. It washes off easily at the end of the day, doesn't cause any clogged pores or other abnormal skin reactions. All in all; a great product, a must-have in my makeup stash!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2009 6:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this tinted moisturizer. I've been using it for years and don't plan on stopping any time soon! I wish it was a little cheaper, but for me its worth it. Provides great coverage and doesn't aggrevate my acne prone skin.


on 8/16/2009 9:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Excellent light coverage. It stays put. The tube lasts a long time. I used it every day and I am still on the tube I bought in March.


on 8/11/2009 3:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i know this tinted moisturizer keeps getting amazing reviews, and that is why i purchased it. i first saw it in allure magazine, then heard great things about it from my sister-in-law who has good skin. i bought it, but i think i will return it next time i go to sephora. although i do like this tinted moisturizer, i do not think it contains enough SPF for me. also, i'm not sure whether there is adequate UVA protection in there either. i know this stuff is great for achieving a natural look with light to medium coverage, but i dont mind spending an extra 2 minutes applying separate moisturizer/foundation if it means better UVA/UVB protection for my face. the price is very very high, just like all other laura mercier products. currently i use eucerin daily face moisturizer with SPF 30, and on top of that i wear l'oreal true match liquid foundation. on days when i want fuller coverage i use laura mercier silk creme foundation - which is pricey but i love it. i can use my $42 for something else when i return the tinted moisturizer... three lippies.

UPDATE:
i have totally chaged my mind about this tinted moisturizer. i did some research on the active ingredients and found that they are chemical absorbers of UVA and UVB rays (even though the actual percentages are not listed on the packaging). so i used it today in place of my normal SPF30 moisturizer. i applied it after cleansing my face and was hapy with the results - light coverage with no unevenness. my acne scars still showed so i coverd them with MAC studio fix concealer (NW30). i probably didnt need to set it with powder but i did anyway (Laura Mercier translucent loose powder). and a little blush/highlighter. it is now late afternoon on a humid 100 degree day and i'm pleased to say that my face looks good... no... BETTER than it did when i first applied. i'm slightly dewy (normally by this time i would be oily), zero creasing in my smile-lines, with natural looking even skin. i cannot achieve a natural look with liquid foundation because it looks too 'made up.' this tinted moisturizer really is impressive - take this from the biggest skeptic... i'm glad i gave it one last chance before taking it back to sephora! five lippies!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bought this as part of a kit. I was using Bobbi Brown tinted moisturizer. I feel that the Laura Mercier is a bit thicker and is more like a light foundation. I love the light color and it is very easy to apply. It covers fairly well for a TM. I have acne prone skin and did not notice any extra breakouts while using this. I use it with the foundation primer that also came with the kit, I believe it helps the TM to stay put longer.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had heard that LM had the best tinted moisturizer for many years. However, I have been a mineral makeup user (La Bella Donna) for many years until recently, when my skin became too dry and flaky. I tried the LM Tinted Moisturizer when I bought the Flawless Face pack from Sephora. (What a great value! You get the LM Tinted Moisturizer, Foundation Primer, Secret Camouflage, 2 full sized brushes, a full size sponge and powder puff.)

The first time I used LM Tinted Moisturizer, I thought it looked great upon application, but it seemed to fade after a couple hours. The second time I tried it with my regular skincream/sunblock (Kinerase Cream SPF 30) and it served as a really good base to hold onto the Tinted Moisturizer. Skin looks perfect immediately after application - really fresh, natural, slightly dewy. However, as I have really red cheeks, I find that I have to do 2 thin layers for adequate coverage. About halfway through the day, the dewiness goes away, but skin still looks smooth and fresher than regular foundation, probably because skin is allowed to show through more. Of all the foundations I have been experimenting with to solve my recent dry skin issue (MUFE HD, Smashbox Halo, Bare Escentuals), I find that LM Tinted Moisturizer has been the best at making my skin look smoother and less dry throughout the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2009 5:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

i bought this on a whim when i left all my makeup at home when i went on a trip to a different state. when i first applied it, my skin looked just ok (i have a few acne scars and large pores on the nose) but as the day went on, it oxidized and turned my face orange! i returned it right away. i just don't understand the hype about this tint. there are better tints out there

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2009 5:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I remained skeptical about this for so long because the price was so high. However, I really wanted to try something light for the summer that I could put on in a snap (even my beloved MUFE F&B requires a brush). So I bit the bullet and purchased this, and I have to say, it is worth every penny. The consistency is perfect, though you have to spread it evenly as soon as you put it on because it will set relatively quickly. I'm also very pleased with the coverage; it evens out my skin tone and masks any blotchiness. My only qualm with the product is the packaging. I find I'm alternating between trying to get enough product out and trying to not get TOO much product out. At one point the stuff wouldn't stop leaking out the top untill I shook it around a bit and redistributed the air inside. Often I find myself with a huge amount of product on my finger when I just wanted a dab. It isn't a huge deal though, I just keep a little 5gram jar handy to keep whatever extra product came out fresh till the next time. A little goes a long way too, at first I used way too much and it felt heavy on my face. Just remember, start lightly and build. This product is HG status for me and I will definitely buy again.
Personal color specs: LM TM in Nude, MUFE HD 117, MUFE F&B 20, Lancome Dual Finish in Matte Neutrale II, MAC NC20/25

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundations, Powders, and Tinted Moisturizers: MAC, YSL, Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercier, ETC by Crystal DivaLevy



Back to Top