Laura Mercier • Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(1280 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 kbogusz112 on 3/9/2009 8:35:00 PM more reviews by kbogusz112

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Long story short, this is my HG. I recently ran out of my Smashbox cooling tinted moisturizer, and to my dismay I found out it was discontinued, so I went looking for another TM to replace it with. I've heard rave reviews for this from friends, my boyfriend's sister, and of course all beauty magazines that hail it as being absolutely amazing. Even though it's pricey, I decided to give it a try, and I love it! I bought it in nude, and the color matches my skin very well. I like that you can layer this, so I put a thin layer of it all over my face, and then add a little bit more on my cheeks where I have some discolorations. I like that it doesn't make me oily or make me breakout, and I love the fact that it has SPF. I never use foundation because I feel that it's way too heavy, and Iove that this TM is sheer but still gives coverage. I've found that no TMs are really moisturizing, so I use it after I put on my lotion, just as I do with any TM.

EDIT: So this TM went from 5 lippies to 2 lippies. After some glances in the mirror, I realized that the nude color oxidized and looked very orange on me. I exchanged it at Sephora for the lightest shade, Porcelain, which was way too light on me, but I beared with it and just used some bronzer on top. After a while, I realized that this was clogging my pores and breaking me out. I also realized that it made me look extremely oily, like I had just run a few miles and not wiped my face, and I had to blot my face about 3 times a day when I've only had to ever blot once at most. All in all, this product seems to be working well at first, but then I saw the issues with it. It's just extremely overrated, and I really don't understand why it's always in best sellers and best products lists in beauty mags. Don't waste your money, go for the Kiehl's TM instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* playsindirt on 3/8/2009 7:37:00 PM more reviews by playsindirt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not going to say this is HG yet but I've been using it for a few days and I'm fairly impressed. It has a rather thick consistency which makes me wonder why they don't just call it foundation. I like the high SPF and the coverage which, by the way, is not exactly sheer. There's a lot of "drag" on application so I still put my regular moisturizer underneath, which also means I can use less because this stuff ain't cheap! I set it with LM loose powder (now that IS holy grail caliber powder IMO) and I look pretty flawless. I'm holding out my final judgment until it's been through the hot and humid summers here but so far it's performing pretty well. I'm still not sure it's worth $40+ a tube, however. UPDATE: After about a week, I started getting baby whiteheads and some nice large cysts so I had to discontinue this product. Final analysis - tricky application and made my skin a wreck. So not worth the $$$$.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DrMAC on 3/1/2009 7:54:00 PM more reviews by DrMAC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a really expensive tinted moisturizer! Almost 2x the price of my foundation. It does have good coverage, and tones down redness. I think I would give it a higher rating if it were cheaper. It is just too expensive! Who buys a $40 tinted moisturizer?! I don't think I'd even buy a foundation that expensive! It goes on kind of thick in consistency, and has a weird smell.. I thought my sample was rancid at first.. Anyway, it is alright. I think it accentuates my fine lines around my eyes, which isn't good since I'm only in my late 20s. Would not purchase...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sundae1212 on 2/27/2009 3:18:00 PM more reviews by Sundae1212

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product covers very easily, it's a bit smelly, but i mean, i don't know what anyone can do about that. can layer for more coverage. does even out skin tone, and lasts for hours. It's rather expensive for a foundation/moisturizer, but i imagine that it would last a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rachiemoo on 2/27/2009 2:30:00 PM more reviews by Rachiemoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am NC 25/30 and I purchased the Nude color, which was a pretty good match, maybe a little on the light side. This tinted moisturizer looks very natural, it looks like you aren't wearing any makeup at all but it still evens out your skin tone. I really like it and I think it will be really good for the summer time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 romagrrl on 2/27/2009 2:21:00 PM more reviews by romagrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this product. I hate the packaging.

I fly all the time. On at least three occasions, I have opened the moisturizer and it keeps squirting out. I have to bang it down on the counter to get rid of the pressure.

I have also had the container pull crack open at the top.

I love the product so I will continue to buy. It just makes me so angry!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 isabelheitmeier on 2/24/2009 8:40:00 PM more reviews by isabelheitmeier

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This celebrity product has won a lot of beauty awards in the past years internationally. I read it on magazines and since 3 years ago I have been a loyal fan.

I have been looking for something good for the skin and with coverage. This tinted moisturizer is so amazing that I don't even think about switching brand!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Steph84 on 2/23/2009 9:43:00 PM more reviews by Steph84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

*This review is for the original (not oil-free) version.

The reviews for this products are all over the place, so I doubt any one review can really help anyone decide on this magazine fave!

I've had this for about 6 months. When I first got it, I didn't like it that much and I put it aside for awhile. I picked it up again this winter and have been using it daily now. I have a very oily forehead and am dry or normal on the rest of my face. This moisturizes, never looks streaky, and never emphasizes dry areas like true foundations seem to do. This does not cover my freckles (which is good!) but DOES cover redness. I have tried applying with various brushes but I have found that it applies best with fingertips (and the MA at Blue Mercury told me that's what she uses too).

I usually wear this by itself with some powder on my forehead, or with some extra sunscreen underneath. Occasionally I moisturize before I put this on. I have already repurchased once :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peachy905 on 2/21/2009 6:10:00 PM more reviews by peachy905

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For reference I have combination skin and am NC30. I purchased the regular one after trying both the regular and oil-free, and am really glad I did. In terms of feel the regular is not oily at all. For a tinted moisturizer the coverage is closer to that of a sheer foundation. It dries quickly and looks very natural on. I would definitely recommend this to someone who is looking for a natural look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nayumiki on 2/21/2009 1:44:00 PM more reviews by nayumiki

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like this product. sheer coverage, looks healthier skin. but texture is not smooth. so it is little bit harder to put on my skin. I want to try another brand, so I wouldn't buy again this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Tinted Moisturizer products