Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20

3.8

1333 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active ingredients: Octyl Methoxycinnamate (Octinoxate) and Methyl Anthranilate. Other ingredients: Purified Water, Cetearyl Alcohol (and) PEG-40 Castor Oil (and) POE-20, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cyclomethicone, DEA-Ceryl Phosphate, Hexyl Laurate, Kalaya Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Acetate), Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Allantoin, Carbomer, Methylparaben, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C), Propylparaben. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

For a product that's so highly praised I was expecting a lot more than that! It dried my skin out even though it's meant to be a "moisturiser"!! And for the price this is in Brown Thomas here in Dublin (50euro or so!) I would not even look at it twice! I bought it on an auction site for around 8eur! The benefit you rebel i found a lot nicer than this waste!
UPDATE: I gave this another go, and found that applying it over a moisturiser solves the drying out problem, and realised that I actually love it this time!! It evens out perfectly and gives a lovely glow, most definitely give this a try!



on 9/3/2009 12:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I tried this from a sample packet and got compliments on my skin, so I bought a small bottle of "Nude" to wear as my foundation (yes, this is more of a foundation than a tinted moisturizer, as I will explain). The match isn't the best for me, my skin leans to pink and this is just to the yellow side of neutral. Close enough, but it could be better.

The funny thing is that it really doesn't moisturize at all. I have normal to oily skin, but I have to wear a moisturizer underneath or my skin will feel tight.

It goes on easily. You just smooth it into place and it dries quickly and stays put. The finish is nice and natural. I like that it has an SPF of 20. It seems to stay on all day, and doesn't make me feel oily late in the day. No need to blot, which is nice.

So, it's a decent product, but I probably won't buy it again. It's good, but not great. It doesn't make my skin glow or anything. But what ultimately turns me off is the price. For a product that's just okay, this is way too expensive.


on 9/2/2009 7:30:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product, along with the oil-free version, changed my routine in a big way. Having tried many, many foundations, from drugstore to very high end, I never found my HG. I tried this during the summer while my face was a bit tanned, and lo and behold, my face looked flawless. I looked at my face indoors, outside, in the sun, in shade, etc. = flawless. I was using "Sand" (oil-free) but now that my tan's faded, I mix it with a little bit of "Nude" (regular version) to create my custom shade & my face continues to look flawless. One of my biggest peeves is how people complain about the cost = $42 but it's also 1.7 oz, not just 1 oz, which is what you get with most foundations. So you're paying 20-some dollars per oz., pretty reasonable to me, esp. since some foundations cost TWICE this much. Anyway, this regular version has a little bit more slippage than the oil-free. I have not gotten any splotchiness from this product, nor any breakouts AT ALL. It has beneficial-type moisturizers in it, not yucky oils, and there's SPF in it -what more could you ask?? There is a bit of oil breakthrough, but nothing that a little blot & powder can't fix. All in all, I've ditched the thought of foundation and will continue to use this awesome product (and the oil-free) as long as it keeps my face looking flawless.


on 8/27/2009 3:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the most amazing thing I've discovered in the last 5 years. I have melasma and have struggled for years to balance a tan with covering my dark spots. During the day I put on a high sunscreen and this over and it completely balances the color of my face to my body while maintaining a healthy natural glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2009 2:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I read so many great reviews for this product i HAD to try it. I don't get what all the hype is about? I tried the regular AND oil-free versions and BOTH made my skin so oily that I had to apply powder every 15 minutes. The color and texture looked great when i first applied, but an hour later there are patches of it on my face and no matter what color I chose gave my skin an orangey tint. It does not cover any flaws! This product would only be good if you have a very dry t-zone and are under 24 years old with absolutely NO undereye circles, wrinkles, acne or pores. Otherwise, get a nuetrogena SPF and some concealer.


on 8/24/2009 8:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've read so much about this product that I decided to try it. In all honesty, I am a bit mystified by the whole TM concept as I think it's neither fish nor fowl - not quite makeup and not a strong enough sunscreen to stand alone for outdoor wear. Also - you shouldn't put color on your neck, and your neck needs moisture too! But since I'm frequently rushed in the mornings, I have used Bobbi Brown TM intermittently through the years. I don't like the way any of the BB foundations smells after a few hours' wear, though I think the colors are unsurpassed, so I decided to try the highly praised LM version. I wanted to try a sample but the MA at Sephora kept insisting I was Nude and refused to give me a sample of the Porcelain, which I knew was the right shade (I'm very fair with pink undertones and MAs sometimes confuse the pinkness with needing the next darkest shade, which would be too dark). I tried the Nude sample, which was, as I expected, too dark, but liked the product well enough to go back and buy the Porcelain. It's fine - goes on nicely, and I like the extra vitamins and slightly higher SPF versus BB. The coverage is blendable and can be built if desired. Also, it doesn't smell, which is delightful! But I miss the slight yellow undertone from my BB Extra Light, and my nose does get shiny by mid-morning so I do need some powder. Perhaps that's why some users mention applying primer first, though that seems to defeat the time-saving factor. Bottom line - I don't quite see all the hoopla, but I'll certainly use it on busy mornings.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2009 2:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm pleasantly surprised by this product. Even though it's a moisturizer, I'm pleased that I can use this product alone without having to wear additional makeup. The beauty of this product is that it blends in well with my skin tone, creating a more even complexion. The product I purchased actually contains SPF and is oil-free. My skin is prone to acne, this product does not cause me to have additional breakouts. I love how it's so lightweight, I can wear this all day, and even re-apply when necessary. I would definitely buy this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2009 8:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

HG! I love this tinted moisturiser! For ref. I'm NW 20-ish (slightly warmer in summer) and use this product in "nude". This has the perfect amount of moisture and colour to slightly even out skintone, give some glow and an overall impression of healthy-looking skin. It doesn't cake or flake during the day, it doesn't go oily or slip off in higher temperatures and best of all; it doesn't oxidize! You don't have to be a professional to put this on; no special tools are required and because it lasts a long time it's still good value despite being on the pricier side. I prefer to apply this using my (clean) fingers, a smallish pea-sized dot is all I need for face/neck. It washes off easily at the end of the day, doesn't cause any clogged pores or other abnormal skin reactions. All in all; a great product, a must-have in my makeup stash!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2009 6:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this tinted moisturizer. I've been using it for years and don't plan on stopping any time soon! I wish it was a little cheaper, but for me its worth it. Provides great coverage and doesn't aggrevate my acne prone skin.


on 8/16/2009 9:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Excellent light coverage. It stays put. The tube lasts a long time. I used it every day and I am still on the tube I bought in March.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundations, Powders, and Tinted Moisturizers: MAC, YSL, Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercier, ETC by Crystal DivaLevy



Back to Top