Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20

3.8

1319 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active ingredients: Octyl Methoxycinnamate (Octinoxate) and Methyl Anthranilate. Other ingredients: Purified Water, Cetearyl Alcohol (and) PEG-40 Castor Oil (and) POE-20, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cyclomethicone, DEA-Ceryl Phosphate, Hexyl Laurate, Kalaya Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Acetate), Cetyl Dimethicone Copolyol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Allantoin, Carbomer, Methylparaben, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C), Propylparaben. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica.


on 7/9/2009 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I am over halfway through this tube. The only reason I gave this a bad overall rating is because it breaks me out. But other than that, its a great luxurious foundation for those who don't have very sensitive skin like mine. It blends very well into my skin and love it when I want light coverage and it's still buildable to a medium coverage. It doesn't have a smell and isn't heavy, I heard it's one of Laura Mercier's best selling product and they are known to have great foundations. Bobbi brown which I loved also breaks me out. I have yet to find a foundation which I am not sensitive to except for Everyday Minerals.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/7/2009 4:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the coverage & the way it feels light on the face. I forget I have it on. I do wish it was matte.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2009 7:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been on search for the perfect TM since Cover Girl changed the Advanced Radiance formula. GC's current TM's are just not the right color for me, and I can't seem to blend them to get the right look. So far, LMTM is the best I've found yet. It's light, but has a surprising amount of coverage. Never settles in my laugh lines, and lasts all day. So far, I've not had any problems breaking out, which is amazing because my skin is too sensitive for even some Clinique products. My big gripe is the rediculous price - I can't even believe I've paid that much, and may not re-purchase on price alone. While I've got it, though, I've got to admit, this is really good stuff.

UPDATE: I've downgraded to 2 lippies after using for several weeks. Although I love that this stuff is light and has SPF, it changes color on me after several hours, and tends to give me uncontrolable shine in hot weather. I've tried several setting powders to minimize these complaints, as well as various application methods... to no avail. The search for a perfect TM continues...


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Great light foundation with moisturizer and SPF. My everyday base which I wear alone or top off with mineral powder if I want a more formal finish. Sinks in and stays.


on 7/1/2009 11:15:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Very good makeup for a person with rather dry skin or combination skin. It is not at all greasy, but it is hydrating and gives just enough hydration to make skin look dewy without caking.

I gave up on a lot of foundations because of the over-yellow tones, and the thickness of the formulas. Only on my breakout days do I want a bit more cover; and this formula looks great with the illuminating version mixed in or applied in certain areas, such as the forehead, under the eyes; the top of the lip and a bit on the chin. Used discreetly, the illuminating version can add a glowing effect. The tinted moisturizer is definitely a good look and adds protection from the elements without looking overly made up or too perfect. It is a natural look, so have good skin to begin with. Do not expect full coverage for problem skin. It will not work and it is not meant for those types of conditions, nor is it really buildable. It really is sheer. However, I do find that it turns a bit darker throughout the day, although it is not unwearable. It gives a look of a kiss of summer sun

I also apply Chanel's Poudre Douce over the top to set the tinted moisturizer a bit and calm down any shine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2009 5:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a fantastic product. I've tried a wide range of high end foundations and this is currently what I am using on a daily basis. I have pretty dry skin (sometimes flakey) and I haven't had any problems with this LM TM. Everytime I use it, I get compliments on how good my skin looks - no lie. This TM gives you a nice glow and decent coverage for a TM. While I don't have a whole lot of uneveness or much to cover up, I do love a flawless face... so this works well for me.


I like to use this over MAC Prime + Prime and finish it off with the Laura Mercier translucent powder.

Another thing - I rarely like to apply any foundation type products with my fingers, but I can do so evenly with this!

I think the SPF in it does make you a lil bit more greasy throughout the day, but nothing that can't be controlled with a light dusting of powder every few hours.


on 6/16/2009 10:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I found this tinted moisturizer more moisturizer then tint. The color was very weak. I found it did not build up very well. I have severe acne and was told this built up well to give a sheer, but full coverage look. I also noticed this makeup melted off very quickly in the NC heat. It melted off and make me look very streaky. Would not advise to anyone with acne or anyone who lives in a warm climate. I also did not like the packaging - I felt it was a pain to dispense this.


on 6/13/2009 1:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I got the color- nude. It blends pretty well with my skin color and the texture is ok, quite moistruzing but a little sticky. It does not control oil and it is not water resistant at all. After an hour or two, my face becomes oily and the my skin tone becomes uneven. When i use tissue or blotting paper, the moistruizer clogs up and does not appear to be smooth anymore which does not look nice on my skin.


on 6/8/2009 7:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

If someone demanded that I choose a foundation/TM to be my HG, this would be the answer for both. It wears like a lightweight foundation but does make my skin feel plump and moisturized like a TM (like a TM should: some don't). It's got moisturizing oils, sodium hyaluronate (water binder), and vitamins A and E. Excellent for dry skin types like myself, and the vitamins A and E are gonna stay safe and stable in the tube packaging.


- TEXTURE: Like liquid silk. Creamy, easy to blend, beautiful texture. No need for any type of primer with this one; its almost all-in-one really. I do still wear sunscreen underneath.
- FINISH: Absolutely true satin finish! Not only that, but it plumps the skin. It acts like what I imagine all TMs should act like. My skin actually looks better at the end of the day/evening when I wash this off. It is really what I imagine a "cosmeceutical" would be, in that my skin actually looks better when I use it more often than other foundations (I use several others depending on weather, event, or when my skin is a tad lighter/darker). While wearing it, you might be tempted to touch your skin more often than usual because it makes your skin look and definitely feel like silk!
-CONCLUSION: Buy this. Love this. The price is incredibly steep for a TM, I know, and after a sample I got ran out, it did take me a long time to finally bite the bullet and get the full sized product at $42. However, I am glad I did because I have had this for 4 months now and am in no immediate need of another. As far as color match: Porcelain is the color I wear, and in the winter it's just a *touch* warm. Not dark enough that anyone would notice. I stay pretty Porcelain all year for the most part but I do "fake bake" to Nude for the summer months.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2009 6:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

So after being recommended this product again and again by different sources, and having tried it in the stores at least twice.... i decided to suck up the price and buy it for myself.
i love how the color blends very well with my skin, which can be very fair during the winter. It has light coverage, so not ideal for people with a lot of blemishes, but its light weight formula is good for skin (or so i feel). however, as my skin can be quite dry, i find that application may be a bit difficult if not combined with the right primer....


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundations, Powders, and Tinted Moisturizers: MAC, YSL, Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercier, ETC by Crystal DivaLevy

Back to Top