Laura Mercier • Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(1307 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 chimpunk on 6/3/2009 3:43:00 AM more reviews by chimpunk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A little bit of background: I don't wear foundation, as a general rule, but I also occasionally feel very strongly that I should. (The heart wants what it wants, I guess.) This TM was something of a compromise, and it did the trick well enough-- it applies smoothly, with natural-enough coverage to even out blotches or redness, and it has a little bit of SPF to boot. For reference, I used the regular version; a massively uninterested SA told me that the oil-free version was difficult to apply unless your face was already oily enough to get things slipping around, but given that I've become something of a grease factory with this product, I'd tell Past Me to take that advice with a grain of salt.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meruhasaea on 6/2/2009 4:24:00 AM more reviews by meruhasaea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. I use this everyday. Light weight and semi-sheer. It's gorgeous. I use Nude, it's the perfect shade. But so damn expensive. I need to replace this every 6 months. I'm on my 3rd tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alicebignami on 6/1/2009 4:15:00 AM more reviews by alicebignami

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am writing this review for those worried about this product not providing protection from UVA rays as stated in Beautypedia by Paula Choice. In Beautypedia they say that its "SPF lacks UVA protecting ingredients" such as avobenzone, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, or Mexoryl, but they did not check out on the ingredient Menthyl Anthranilate (included as active ingredient in this product toghether with the UVB filter Octyl Methoxicinnamate) which is considered an "ideal sunscreen to add to formulations containing octyl-methoxycinnamate...to both increase the SPF and provide protection in the UV-A region..." and it is "FDA approved" (abstract from "The Photophysical Properties of Menthyl Anthranilate: A UV-A Sunscreen", Photochemystry and Photobiology, Jul 2000, by Beebe Andrew, Jones Allison E.).

Edit 18th June: thank dm0206 (see her review above) for pointing out that anthranilate protects against short UVA but not long UVA. I had a look at the site http://www.skincancer.org/understanding-uva-and-uvb.html she refers too and I saw that even titanium dioxide (which Paula Begoun includes in her list of reliable UVA protecting ingredients) protects only against short UVA but not long UVA...interesting!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lieutenantkeege on 5/31/2009 3:36:00 AM more reviews by lieutenantkeege

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this product after talking to a very nice MA at Nordstrom. After discussing my makeup routine (which is very simple), she recommended this TM. She applied for me on my face and it really made my skin looking very even at the time. So without any hesitation I purchsed this product. I used it in the morning for the following days, after I use my cleanser and moisturizer. I always have a few dry patches here and there, but to my surprise, I noticed that the dry patches became more and more obvious day after day. And within days, my skin became more irritated and more dry patches showed up. I have heard alot of good reviews about this TM and I was really hoping to like it. Unfortunately I'm going to have to return it and never buy it again. If you have combination and extremely sensitive skin like me, probably will be a good idea to get a sample and try it out for a few days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foldedhands on 5/26/2009 4:49:00 PM more reviews by foldedhands

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a nice alternative to sunscreen, and it covers up any redness in my skin, but it is a little difficult to put on and looks a little matte for the first hour or so. After that, it sort of blends in with my skin and gives a nice glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 orangeserendipity32 on 5/23/2009 4:17:00 PM more reviews by orangeserendipity32

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is going to be a comparison review between the oil-free and the regular TM. I purchased the original LM tinted moisturizer in Nude, after returning the oil-free version. I love the original version SO much more.

At the time that I purchased the oil-free TM, I reasoned that it would be better for summer wear. However, the texture of it is thick and is a little hard to spread, so I had to put it on immediately after my everyday face lotion to help it spread more evenly on my skin. Even though it is thick in consistency, the coverage is light. After two hrs. or so, my skin would be a complete oil slick. No matter how much I blotted or powdered my face, it just felt uncomfortable and looked oily. (Ironic isn't it)? I have never had oily skin, in fact it is on the dry side This iis the very reason I was seeking out a TM that would even out my complexion and not accentuate dryness. I tried it 4 times, and had the same disappointing result each time.

I should have stuck with the original as it probably has won numerous beauty awards for a reason. It gives me an even complexion, lightly moisturizes, and feels so light and velvety on my skin. It gives the same coverage as the oil-free version but is a thinner formula that feels and looks so much better on my skin. It gives a slight dewy finish that mimics the look of naturally healthy and beautiful skin. The color Nude is a nice color for my neutral skin tone and evens out any red in my skin beautifully. I could of easily pulled off Sand as well(a shade darker than Nude), to warm up my face tone, but they are out of it everywhere! I have tried other TM's and this is my favorite! I prefer this over the LM Moisturizing Foundation as well.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sholden on 5/23/2009 3:32:00 PM more reviews by sholden

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm a no-fuss kind of person when it comes to make-up. I tend to use a lot of moisturizers followed by a light dusting of powder. Lately, however, I've noticed that I need something more to even out my skin. I initially looked at mineral powders but felt too "made-up". Plus, the powder seemed to settle into the fine lines in my skin. I had used Lancome tinted moisturizer in the past and decided to try that route. After reading countless reviews, I opted for Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer. I must say I prefer the consistency of LM better than Lancome. It goes on easily, feels light on my skin and the color, sand, blends well with my skin tone. I originally tried the oil-free at the make-up counter. Unfortunately, they were out of it and I had purchase the regular tinted moisturizer. I have combo skin and find the non oil-free version does make my forehead feel oily. So, I'll be exchanging this product. It should be noted that even though this is called a tinted moisturizer, it feels very dry on the skin if applied without any moisturizer underneath.
Edit: I decided to stay with the original tinted moisturizer. The oil-free just felt too thick on my skin. I get around the oily feel by putting finishing powder on my t-zone. LM just came out with some new colors. I would recommend bisque to anyone who feels that sand is a bit too orange. I'm be switching to bisque as it's a bit more neutral.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tr1gger on 5/20/2009 9:26:00 PM more reviews by tr1gger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Pretty good. I don't really like applying moisturizing products to my skin, and HATE liquid sunscreen. But this does look lovely and isn't oily or TOO congesting. I like it and wear it if I need to go somewhere. For general sunprotection I just wear MM, even though it doesn't look great, it feels better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JESSCA822 on 5/20/2009 4:56:00 PM more reviews by JESSCA822

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

love love love this product. Makes my skin just glow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xBrazenx on 5/17/2009 8:04:00 PM more reviews by xBrazenx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Eh. That basically sums up my feelings about this TM.

For me, this is too moisturizing and heavy. Also, the lightest shade is still too dark for me!

I can see how this would be good for certain skin types, however. The coverage is nice and buildable, it blends nicely, and gives a nice dewy look to the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Tinted Moisturizer products