Burt's Bees Honey Lip Balm

3.0

636 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

beeswax, sunflower seed oil, coconut oil, lanolin, aroma (flavor), honey, tocopherol, rosemary leaf extract, soybean oil, canola oil, benzyl benzoate, coumarin.


on 3/5/2006 4:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

At first, I wasn't sure that I liked this product as well or better than the usual Neutrogena balm that I buy, but the lack of harmful ingredients in the Honey Lip Balm has won me over. I try to avoid parabens, which most skin care products (and everything else, for that matter) are usually full of...methylparaben, butylparaben, propylparaben, ethylparaben & the like. Parabens are under scrutiny as being carcinogens, and malignant breast cancer tumors definitely contain parabens when biopsies are performed. Parabens are known as xenoestrogens (foreign estrogens), which our bodies recognize as estrogen that are assimilated into our bloodstream. Be prepared for the granular texture that the Honey Lip Balm may develop; this is just due to the nature of the shea butter. It will not alter the efficacy of the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/3/2006 5:31:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

To my nose, there's a certain stink to many honey-scented products, and this balm is no exception. There is also a graininess to it - fascinating, but not necessarily desirable. After the second application, I knew I wouldn't be buying it again, even though I imagined I might be exfoliating as I moved the balm around my lips. Adorable packaging, though, always fun to pull a Burt's Bees product out of the purse. My dog agreed. He grabbed it out of the side pouch and ate it. He enjoyed it and probably would repurchase if he could.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2006 2:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just got this yesterday, but so far I really like it. It smells just like crystalized honey, but I don't notice any taste. I keep it in my pocket during the day, and haven't noticed any grainy texture. I find it more moisturizing than the original peppermint one, it goes lighter, not as waxy.
Edited to add, my SO thinks this smells like geraniums, he makes a comment every time I wear it around him.


on 2/26/2006 12:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Next to Blistex Lip Medex this is now my new favorite lip balm. They decided to put honey in it and took out the peppermint from the original. In turn it's less drying and more moisturizing for your lips and less buildup. The honey scent is surprisingly strong but as with most scents you get used to it and the product really lives up to it's promises. UPDATED 10/07/06 I've gone back to the original formula. I found the honey one well, turns into dried honey and makes for an almost exfoliating lip balm.


on 2/23/2006 8:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

wow, i didn't like the Burt's bees original, today i went to walgreen find they have this one, it said New Flavor, so i gave it a try ... :D wow, i love it, it's so moistuizing and i also like the smeel :D


on 2/22/2006 10:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this lipbalm. I used to love lip balms in pots, but now I'm moving towards lip balms in tubes (because I can't always fit a pot in my pocket). I was looking for a smooth, creamy tube balm, not one that's shiny, and this one fits the bill. The grainy texture that some people complain about is due to the shea butter. It's normal for shea butters to get a tad bit grainy, unless they're SUPER refined, like L'Occitane, but then all the good stuff has been refined out of it. I usually keep my lip balm in my pocket, so I haven't had problems with it getting grainy. At first I wasn't crazy about the scent (it's a very natural honey smell) but now I like it. There's no taste, that I can tell, in the balm so if you're looking for a honey tasting balm you might want to look elsewhere. I like the fact that there's no taste, so I'm a happy customer. I spent an entire Feb afternoon walking around in the cold and this stuff kept my lips protected and smooth. I put it on at night and wake up to nice, smooth, moisturized lips. I'll definitely be buying again. *EDITED 1/24/07* I reviewed the older version of the lip balm. The newer version is very similar to the original Burt's Bees lip balm, just substitute a honey scent for the mint. I'm really sad that they changed the formula b/c the old version was wonderful and the newer version just doesn't quite moisturize as well. The hunt for the HG lip balm in a tube continues...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2006 11:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm takes the basic premise of their Beeswax Lip Balm and improves it. I grew to dislike the beeswax balm because it was just too heavy on my lips--it would sit on top of them, never really absorb, and felt very waxy. Sure, this was good for when I needed a basic shellac for my lips, but I stopped buying it because it began to do the same thing as if I put lard on my lips. Except this one sometimes burned me due to the peppermint.



So, I was really excited when I saw the Honey Lip Balm in stores. I love honey, in any capacity, I needed a new balm, and I figured something from Burt's Bees would have a higher probability of being a good balm.



Well, this balm seems to be a winner. Sure, it doesn't have an overwhelming honey taste or smell, but I can tell it's there. It's nice to have a balm that doesn't knock me out either with flavor or scent. There is a synthetic rose scent in the background, but since it's rather faint it doesn't bother me too much.



Beyond this, the rest of the balm is perfect. The main ingredient is shea butter instead of beeswax, and the balm melts into my lips very easily and actually continues to do so a *long* time after applying the balm (seems like someone figured out what beeswax is good for--to protect and provide a barrier in keeping the protection on your lips...not just smothering and enveloping them).
I've applied this balm before bed, and it was still noticeably there 8 horus later. Now, I can't figure out if the grainy texture in the balm is from the type of shea butter used (I vaguely remember spending $1.79 for this, so I doubt Burt's Bees used a highly refined shea butter, but I get the feeling they wouldn't go that route anyway due to their love of things natural), or from the honey powder. Regardless, the graininess quickly disappears, and provides a low level of exfoliation while it's there.



Due to the number of people who seem to like this, I won't go crazy and buy a bunch of them at this point--but this is the type of balm of which I would definitely buy more, as it does everything I've wanted a balm to do, and I'm having a hard time creating this at home (I've figured out their beeswax balm, which is part of the reason why I won't buy it again).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I just bought my second tube of this stuff and I love it! It does have a grainy texture, but I think I actually like it! It actually exfoliates my lips while applying, and then it melts in to leave them more moisturized than any lipbalm I've ever used! This even seems more moisturizing than the original burt's bees chapstick. The scent smells exactly like honey, too!


on 2/20/2006 5:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This scent reminds me of urine and the texture reminds me of sandpaper. I do not like this one bit. :( and I am a huge fan of all burts bees products


on 2/18/2006 10:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I had high hopes for this because I liked the original minus the strong mint flavor. The texture of this is hard, not even creamy wor waxy. You have to warm it up, and then it has a grainy texture thing going on. I has such high hopes for this. Back to Dr. Hauschka I go.


Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top