Burt's Bees • Honey Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 3.0(627 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pulidobl on 2/18/2006 10:47:00 PM more reviews by pulidobl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had high hopes for this because I liked the original minus the strong mint flavor. The texture of this is hard, not even creamy wor waxy. You have to warm it up, and then it has a grainy texture thing going on. I has such high hopes for this. Back to Dr. Hauschka I go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anya1976 on 2/18/2006 10:36:00 PM more reviews by Anya1976

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this balm. I am normally a regular burt's bees lipbalm user but i saw this and had to try it.
I LOVE the scent. i haven't had a problem with it being grainy at all. i wouldn't use it if it was grainy. I have found that when i am with my brother's dogs they like the scent too and are always wanting to lick my lips.
I will definitely buy again!!!! *update* i still love this i know people have an issue with grittiness but if you put it in your pocket for awhile that goes away. I never really have an issue with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Taly on 2/18/2006 12:24:00 PM more reviews by Taly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

It is very good staff! I put it on my lips before the bed and my lips soft almost all day...
well I am very surprising, but I don't like original balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 2/14/2006 5:18:00 AM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I definitely understand the bad reviews behind this product, but still can't help but to love it. I don't think it is actually going to surpass my beloved CocoCare, but it is at least a runner up.

I think good old Burt could have done a little better than using gritty ass shea butter (how about something a wee bit more refined?), but I think I kind of like it, b/c although it does feel wierd going on, it melts onto lips nicely and makes them feel good. Super soft, I can't stop rubbing them together lol

The texture once it "melts" on is nice, just like I like. Also makes a good base to grab onto lipsticks and glosses. And I for one, love the scent. It is a lot for a lip balm, I'll give it's users who are less than fans of it that much, but I like it b/c there is something nostalgic about it to me. It reminds me of my grandma's rose gardens in the summertime. =)

Update: I recently repurchased this lip balm and have found that it no longer has the gritty texture that it once had. I know I complained about it, but the texture eventually grew on me as bits of shea melted into my lips. It is just not quite the same w/o grittier texture to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sixseven on 2/12/2006 3:57:00 AM more reviews by sixseven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This DOES go on gritty but somehow it softens, and ends up lasting a long time. The feeling is addictive, lol. Nice scent and good moisturizer, I keep it in my backpack in case I forget to put lip gloss in my purse before school. Generally a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Belier on 2/8/2006 3:24:00 PM more reviews by Belier

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't like this lipbalm at all. I makes my lips seem drier and more chapped. The thing I hate about it most is the dry texture/consitency which makes it difficult to apply. It is not smoothe at all and it is not very moisturzing and it makes my lips feel waxy and dry. I had the same problem with the Beeswax balm too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pippin8 on 2/6/2006 1:05:00 PM more reviews by pippin8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this because I thought the scent would be great and honey is good for healing. Well the scent was so off-putting -- I'm returning this. It was also drying for my lips. I ended up buying Nuxe honey lip balm which comes in a glass jar. It costs much more, but the Nuxe lipbalm is moisturizing and hydrating ....and the scent is nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VoteForPedro on 1/31/2006 8:42:00 AM more reviews by VoteForPedro

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ugh, I was so dissapointed with this product. I had purchased the original Burt's Bee lip balm a few days ago and loved it, and, after reading such good reviews on the honey version, I went out and bought it. Well, it feels like you're rubbing sand paper against your lips because the balm is so gritty! And the taste, don't even get me started! It has a floral scent with a hint of honey, and I don't care much for the scent, either. Another thing is that it dries out my lips and chaps them. I think I'll stick with the originail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* buttercupt on 1/30/2006 2:23:00 PM more reviews by buttercupt

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have three lipbalms that I really love and this is one of them. It is grainy but it melts into a smooth moisturizing balm as you rub it over your lips. The scent is nice like natural honey and has no flavor at all. I will rebuy this balm as it's just really nice & keeps my lips smooth and hydrated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TessyBuggyWuggy on 1/29/2006 2:27:00 PM more reviews by TessyBuggyWuggy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

At first, this IS grainy, but I kept using it because I adore the realiztic honey smell and it moisturizes without feeling heavy. This is lighter than the original, which I love as well. Also it isn't pepperminty, which sometimes I like and sometimes I don't. But it stops being grainy after you use it for a while. Then its even better. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products