Drugstore Witch hazel

4.3

121 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

distilled witch hazel BP


on 5/8/2010 4:11:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Hmmm...this is weird.
I've been watching Dickinson's Witch Hazel, and when I ran out, I went to CVS to purchase more, but decided to buy the cvs brand instead, since the ingredients were the same and it was a lot cheaper. During the whole time I used this, which was about 3 weeks, I was breaking out like crazy!!! But now that I went back to Dickinson Witch Hazel about 4 days ago, my skin is beginning to clear up. Not sure what is going on here.
Anyways, good toner though.



on 5/8/2010 3:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ever since I switched over from an expensive BP toner to this...I've never noticed a difference so I'm sticking with this cheap toner. I only get ance during that time of the month and I use pretty good spot treatment for that.
*Update 5/21/12: Still using this as a toner and no problems. It is so cheap and more natural than other toners with so many ingredients. I just cannot go back to expensive toners, not when this does the main things I look for in a toner -simply to remove what my cleanser cannot fully remove. The money I would've otherwise spent on expensive toners, I am able to spend on moisturizer and finally...a Clarisonic Mia.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2010 6:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Witch Hazel is one of the cheapest toners/atringents around and heres why i love it. Its 100% natural, cheap and lasts ages. I have combination acne prone skin and i believe a toner is necessary i don't care what beauty editors say that a toner is not recquired i see it as important step to give your skin a final go over to remove dirt that your cleanser has missed and to tighten your pores, to prevent entry of dirt and oil and Witch Hazel has the bonus of reducing redness and preventing and clearing up acne in my experience. In the Uk i buy my Witch Hazel from Boots "Boots Distilled Witch Hazel" or Savers they sell "Care X Distilled Witch Hazel" both exactly the same depends where i get to first. In the U.S from what i hear you have no trouble finding Witch Hazel in any drugstore I think the brand is Dickinsons. I would recommend Witch Hazel for Normal to Oily skin while if you have Dry to Sensitive skin i suppose you could use it but i think Rosewater as a toner is more suitable. Look back to the days of your Grandparents when the beauty products were limitted. Cold Cream or Soap and Water as a Cleanser, Witch Hazel as a toner, Nivea Créme or some other vanishing cream as a moisturiser and probably either Antiseptic cream as a spot treatment or god forbid rubbing alcohol lol. Give Witch Hazel a try people don't swear by it for nothing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2010 3:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I put some witch hazel in a 2oz bottle with about 10 drops of tea tree & lavender oil and use it as a toner. It helps kill zits and durastically reduces any scars. I actually haven't formed any new acne scars from using this, since it disinfects and is anti-bacterial! It's also incredibly cheap and natural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2010 9:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I put my witch hazel into a little spray bottle, so that elminates any packaging problems. I spray this onto my face every morning before applying my moisturizer and I love the way it feels. It "wakes" me up nicely. I also use it at night before I put on my night cream. Never put cream on a dry face! Using the sprays of the witch hazel gives you a slippery surface to smooth your cream in.

Cheapest and best toner EVER.


on 4/1/2010 9:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use the T.N. Dickinsons witch hazel and I have been using it for about 1.5 months. Previously I used my biore triple astringent toner but I wanted to try something more natural. I heard about witch hazel and how it's good for problem and sensitive skin. I love that this product is natural. I put it on a cotton bud all over my face, I let it dry and spray two pumps of my tea tree water (from Lush) over the top. This is a perfect combination. It keeps my t-zone balanced and my skin seems to be clearer. I think I will keep to this routine as it is not as harsh on my sensitive skin. The only things I don't like is the squirty bottle (I like open tops where I can just put it directly on a cotton ball) and the smell (but this smell doesn't linger around your face so it's ok). However, overall I recommend people trying this product. It's cheap, natural and accessible.


on 3/19/2010 10:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

IMO the best toner for oily/combination skin. Non drying, smells great (at least Humphreys does) and it is very refreshing. Also great for sensitive skin, since is natural and very gentle. Without a doubt my HG toner.


on 3/8/2010 5:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have sensitive skin & I had some red patches of flaky skin on certain parts of my face. I tried so many products & tried getting rid of it. I switched to 3 different facial cleansers & different facial moisturizers but It seemed to not help @ all. I knew there had to be an easier remedy so I googled all day & night & came across Witch Hazel. I read all the reviews & everyone had something good to say about it. Went to purchase it right away & I saw results immediately ! Its all natural & I love it !! It has a weird smell but I don't really mind it Cus it does wonders & it'll fade away. I use it morning & night time after I cleanse my face. Moisturizing is still a must but I gotta say its improved my skin 100%. Highly recommended :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2010 7:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My Boots pure distilled witch hazel isn't glamorous, but I like it! I mix mine with prill water and add lavender and ylang ylang EOs (and a drop or two of grapefruit seed extract to preserve) and it seems to make a nice toner. No dryness or extra oiliness and definitely cleaner pores. I'm on my second bottle and, whilst I clicked that I'd buy it again, I'm just taking it as it comes. BTW I do spray a lavender and roman chamomile hydrosol mix on my face after the toner and before using a moisturiser (mixed with a drop of jojoba).


on 1/23/2010 12:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using witch hazel since I was about thirteen years old and it's something that my mother, my sister and my grandmother swear by. My skin has stayed clear, aside from the occasional premenstrual breakout. It can be a bit drying, but it's best to add a moisturizer afterwards anyway. Definitely a staple in my skincare regimen.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top