Unlisted Brand • Solia Ceramic Ion Flat Iron • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.0(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 spootoo on 9/19/2008 8:27:00 PM more reviews by spootoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I recently killed my first Solia iron after dropping it about 30 or 40 times...I had a Rusk iron backup, but after using it for a week I immediately ordered a second Solia! (I emailed the company to see if they could repair the old iron, but I haven't heard back from anyone. I didn't mention I dropped it, I just said I wanted to get some information about repairs. So the customer service isn't too great so far.)

Anyway, I have owned 2 cheap Conair irons (good for touch-ups at work, but not for straight out of the shower), a Chi which I liked okay (husband threw it out after I sent him home to turn it off one too many times), and the above-mentioned Rusk (hair poufy after a couple of hours). The thing about the Solia that I have noticed opposed to the others is that once my hair is straightened it stays straight until I wash it the next day. Even when I wake up, after gravity kicks in, my bed-head starts to hang straight.

FYI: I have coarse, semi-wavy hair cut in a textured chin-length bob that absolutely requires straightening to look like anything. I live in Southern Louisiana, so I battle 100% humidity and high temperatures most of the year. Solia passes the test!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Belladonna on 8/24/2008 3:11:00 PM more reviews by Belladonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I've had my Solia for a couple of years now and it works but lets just say if it broke I wouldn't exactly be upset about it.
I purchased it after my beloved Unil flat iron finally gave out. Now the Unil was a gem, a totaly workhorse that lasted and lasted and lasted, even through *several* dropping incidents but I foolishly decided to try the Solia and purchased on on folica.com (I'm not exactly raving about them either), mostly because it was cheap (relatively speaking) around $80ish. It's just OK, it straightens my hair but it does just a meh job of it. So if you are looking to purchase a flat iron I would say maybe spend a little bit more and get a better iron. The Solia is a pass. Also the plug is starting to separate from the cord so really it's just a matter of time for this to crap out on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 angelica2952 on 8/21/2008 3:06:00 AM more reviews by angelica2952

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this sucks big time looks cheaply made plates are not smooth at all sedu is way better!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gagirl08 on 8/1/2008 6:14:00 PM more reviews by gagirl08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just received my Solia flat iron through folica.com (you rock!) and tried it out this morning. It really did do a great job with straightening and i used it in combination with Kenra platinum hot spray which was great. I looked great when I left for work, but throughout the day the humidity got to my hair and curled it all up again, which was the only reason I gave this product a 4. I guess it can't withstand the heat and humidity but other than that it is a great styling tool!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cindell23 on 7/18/2008 1:13:00 PM more reviews by cindell23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This straightener has worked great for me. It straightens my hair fast and leaves it shiny with no frizz. It was inexpensive compared to other quality straighteners and I've had it for 3 years already. I always get compliments on how great my hair looks so I would definitely recommend this product to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wws1980 on 7/17/2008 8:34:00 PM more reviews by wws1980

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is my third flat iron, so I'm comparing it to my Chi and BaBliss irons. Compared to these two, I feel that it damages my hair much less. There's no fried-hair smell or steam, which I often got with my Chi and BaBliss. The price of this iron is also reasonable, compared to the Chi especially. I use Aphogee's keratin and green tea reconstructor to protect my hair from the heat with this iron, and I'm left with smooth, healthy looking hair everytime.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SierraMascara on 7/6/2008 3:20:00 PM more reviews by SierraMascara

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can straighten my thick wavy/curly hair in ten minutes with this, compared to the thirty I needed with the cheap brands. This flat iron smooths out my hair and keeps it that way all day (or more, if I'm being lazy..oops!). On extremely humid days my hair still flips up a little if I don't use any product, but I usually do so it's all good! I've had this for about a year and a half and it's still going strong. If it ever happens to die I would consider buying it again, but I would probably try a different brand just because I can't stick with the same thing for too long. You can also curl with the Solia, but it takes some practice. Heats up super-fast, tames frizzies, pin-straightens hair in little time. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arizonamuaddict on 7/2/2008 3:16:00 PM more reviews by arizonamuaddict

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love my Solia. I can't compare it to a Chi because I've never owned one, but the Solia does a great job for me. I have naturally wavy, frizzy, thick coarse hair (lucky me, huh) and it really is effective. I can straighten with the Solia and it will stay straight until I wash my hair again. I live in a dry climate, so that helps, but i've used this in extremely humid places and it works pretty well there too. I may try a Chi when this one dies (I've had it for a year and a half and dropped it once on tile and have had no problems so far) just to try something different, but I would definetly consider purchasing the Solia again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cristahl939 on 5/30/2008 12:53:00 AM more reviews by cristahl939

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

ive had this for a little over 4 years. still works great. all i need is one run through sections of my hair n im DUNZO. leaves my hair shiny. although im not sure id buy again only because i wanna try other brands out of curiosity. bought it for around $70 on folica.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tmoney1 on 5/28/2008 6:34:00 PM more reviews by tmoney1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought my 1 1/4" Solia for $88 from Folica in Nov '06 and it hasn't skipped a beat. It came w/a great heat resistant pouch that is great to travel with. I bought it to replace the cheapy flat irons that kept falling apart on me. I had a Jilbere flat iron & I loved the smooth results but it kept shorting out. The Solia is definitely a quality product. Unfortunately I've dropped it one too many times by bumping it off the edge of my bathroom sink but this thing is heavy duty, no shorts, no creaky plates - it's solid. I've never had to worry about the handles getting too hot to the touch. I have fine, relaxed hair & I use the Solia just about every day on a pretty low setting 300 - 330 degrees. I get consistent results and actually lots of compliments on my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Styling Tools products