Solia Ceramic Ion Flat Iron

4.0

113 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/24/2008 3:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've had my Solia for a couple of years now and it works but lets just say if it broke I wouldn't exactly be upset about it.
I purchased it after my beloved Unil flat iron finally gave out. Now the Unil was a gem, a totaly workhorse that lasted and lasted and lasted, even through *several* dropping incidents but I foolishly decided to try the Solia and purchased on on folica.com (I'm not exactly raving about them either), mostly because it was cheap (relatively speaking) around $80ish. It's just OK, it straightens my hair but it does just a meh job of it. So if you are looking to purchase a flat iron I would say maybe spend a little bit more and get a better iron. The Solia is a pass. Also the plug is starting to separate from the cord so really it's just a matter of time for this to crap out on me.



on 8/21/2008 3:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this sucks big time looks cheaply made plates are not smooth at all sedu is way better!!


on 8/1/2008 6:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just received my Solia flat iron through folica.com (you rock!) and tried it out this morning. It really did do a great job with straightening and i used it in combination with Kenra platinum hot spray which was great. I looked great when I left for work, but throughout the day the humidity got to my hair and curled it all up again, which was the only reason I gave this product a 4. I guess it can't withstand the heat and humidity but other than that it is a great styling tool!!


on 7/18/2008 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This straightener has worked great for me. It straightens my hair fast and leaves it shiny with no frizz. It was inexpensive compared to other quality straighteners and I've had it for 3 years already. I always get compliments on how great my hair looks so I would definitely recommend this product to anyone.


on 7/17/2008 8:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is my third flat iron, so I'm comparing it to my Chi and BaBliss irons. Compared to these two, I feel that it damages my hair much less. There's no fried-hair smell or steam, which I often got with my Chi and BaBliss. The price of this iron is also reasonable, compared to the Chi especially. I use Aphogee's keratin and green tea reconstructor to protect my hair from the heat with this iron, and I'm left with smooth, healthy looking hair everytime.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I can straighten my thick wavy/curly hair in ten minutes with this, compared to the thirty I needed with the cheap brands. This flat iron smooths out my hair and keeps it that way all day (or more, if I'm being lazy..oops!). On extremely humid days my hair still flips up a little if I don't use any product, but I usually do so it's all good! I've had this for about a year and a half and it's still going strong. If it ever happens to die I would consider buying it again, but I would probably try a different brand just because I can't stick with the same thing for too long. You can also curl with the Solia, but it takes some practice. Heats up super-fast, tames frizzies, pin-straightens hair in little time. Love it!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love my Solia. I can't compare it to a Chi because I've never owned one, but the Solia does a great job for me. I have naturally wavy, frizzy, thick coarse hair (lucky me, huh) and it really is effective. I can straighten with the Solia and it will stay straight until I wash my hair again. I live in a dry climate, so that helps, but i've used this in extremely humid places and it works pretty well there too. I may try a Chi when this one dies (I've had it for a year and a half and dropped it once on tile and have had no problems so far) just to try something different, but I would definetly consider purchasing the Solia again.


on 5/30/2008 12:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ive had this for a little over 4 years. still works great. all i need is one run through sections of my hair n im DUNZO. leaves my hair shiny. although im not sure id buy again only because i wanna try other brands out of curiosity. bought it for around $70 on folica.com


on 5/28/2008 6:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought my 1 1/4" Solia for $88 from Folica in Nov '06 and it hasn't skipped a beat. It came w/a great heat resistant pouch that is great to travel with. I bought it to replace the cheapy flat irons that kept falling apart on me. I had a Jilbere flat iron & I loved the smooth results but it kept shorting out. The Solia is definitely a quality product. Unfortunately I've dropped it one too many times by bumping it off the edge of my bathroom sink but this thing is heavy duty, no shorts, no creaky plates - it's solid. I've never had to worry about the handles getting too hot to the touch. I have fine, relaxed hair & I use the Solia just about every day on a pretty low setting 300 - 330 degrees. I get consistent results and actually lots of compliments on my hair.


on 4/25/2008 12:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this hair iron! I have been reading reviews on a few different flat irons and I decided to take the plunge and spend some money on the Solia. It was definetly worth it. I have thin, wavy and sometimes frizzy hair and it makes my hair pin straight all day. I live in Florida too where the humidity is crazy, and my hair lasts through the sticky days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top