Joico • K-Pak Reconstruct Daily Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.9(148 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 insertusernamehere529 on 9/19/2010 10:07:00 AM more reviews by insertusernamehere529

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I heard a lot of good things about this shampoo/conditioner, but I was honestly disappointed when I tried it myself. I'm a swimmer, so I have very dry, breakage-prone hair. I do realize that this has a lot of protein, so I only used it once per week, but I'm still not impressed. First of all, the texture is pretty weird, the shampoo didn't lather very well. When I used the conditioner, my hair felt very soft at first, but that didn't last. Also, it smells really weird. I think it's supposed to smell like coconuts or something, but it smells more like bread. The price is also ridiculous. Honestly, the stuff that you can get for $3 at Walgreens works so much better. Don't waste your time and money on this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ElectricBlack on 8/23/2010 7:02:00 PM more reviews by ElectricBlack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing, amazing stuff. My hair gets real oily when untreated or not styled...but once i grab my daily Hair Dryer and Hair straightener...it tends to flatten out and just dry up!!!!

I used to use Head and Shoulders (i know how basic) but it was alright...it kept my hair feeling OKAY.

At work (SEARS) they sold like a huge bottle of this for ONLY 17 bucks...and it was like 24-27 on shoppers for 2/3 the size..so i tried it out. It had a slight scent of papaya...kind of refreshing...not over the top sweet...and it made my hair soft and it helped fight dryness with my daily iron and blow dry.


I pat my hair dry with a towel so its not overly wet...just damp enough for the product to stick...leave it for a good min of 3 mins and wash it off...my hair smells amazing all day (even with the summer heat)! now that's a plus!


overall: will def buy it again if its sold this low for such a huge bottle....other than that...might have to go back to H&S cuz am broke :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foooood on 8/10/2010 11:10:00 PM more reviews by foooood

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A very strong conditioner. Too strong for my hair. I think because my hair isn't too damaged that this conditioner had nothing to "fix" in my hair.. Okay that sounds like nonsense but it was sooo strong. But it is a good conditioner and I think if I had damaged and dry hair this conditioner would be really great. Smells good too and the texture is nice. Once I put the conditioner on, it worked right away and I washed it the moment I was done putting it all over my hair and my hair was so soft like woah.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wotstaterseh on 7/13/2010 1:16:00 PM more reviews by wotstaterseh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Blue    

Makes my hair soft, shiny, and moisturized. Does not give me dandruff, dry scalp, or greasy roots. I would give it a 5 except it make my hair flat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoiresecret on 7/12/2010 4:20:00 PM more reviews by Victoiresecret

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I hate this conditioner! $4 conditioners from the drugstore did a better job! It smells awful and the consistancy is wierd (and you need a lot of product just to cover the bottom half of your hair) and it made my hair so weak it became so straw like and now it falls out easily. I flat iron my hair every day and dye it so I was hoping this would help but this did the opposite! For $15 honestly...nothing could've been worse for my hair or my wallet. The shampoo wasn't great either, but it didn't damage my hair like this did. The lacoupe color protect one makes your hair so much softer than this and it's only about $7 a bottle if you find it on sale, I'll go back to that one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mirtika on 6/2/2010 2:55:00 PM more reviews by Mirtika

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

NOTE: If your hair is protein-sensitive, this is NOT the product for you. Protein-sensitive hair (usually coarse-textured) will get dry/strawlike/matted and even might break-off with use of high-protein products.

On the other hand, if your hair is chemically damaged (say, you bleach or regularly flat-iron) or your hair is fine (fine hair tends to like protein, not always, but generally), or you dye your hair and have your cuticle blasted open with those harsh products--you can benefit from this conditioner.

You can trust Joico to provide quality products, but the reconstruct/K-Pak line is protein-rich. Know whether your hair likes protein BEFORE you try this (or just let your hairdresser advise after examining your hair type/properties).

If, like me, you get overconditioned or dye or just need a shot of protein on occasion, this is great. I generally don't use protein products daily, but when my curls start looking "off"--frizzy, droopy, weird, or overmoisturized from my weekly deep treatments and stylers--I find using Joico's reconstruct products (namely the deep penetrating reconstruct once or twice a year, and this conditioner on occasion as needed) is just the trick. My curls spring up, my frizz tames, and my hair just comes to life.

"REconstruct" as a term generally means it's gonna add protein to your strands/cuticle. So, beware if you're coarse-haired or protein-sensitive. And if you don't know, Google it up to find out before buying protein-rich stuff. (If you're fine-haired and you dye/chemically process, it's almost guaranteed to be good for you.)

It's all about knowing what you need. NOT EVERYBODY NEEDS PROTEIN-RICH products, and NOT EVERYONE TOLERATES protein rich products.

But if you do, and if you think you do, this is worth a try even with the price. It's great stuff. Dependably good for those who need the protein shot.

And right now, Drugstore dot com is having a buy one get one half-off on Joico, so I'm gonna get a couple other products for my "When I Need Protein" stock.

Hope this helps....wishing you happy hair....

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vmaria on 5/24/2010 1:03:00 AM more reviews by vmaria

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I have healthy, almost virgin to heat products hair, so this didn't do much for my hair. A little control as a leave-in conditioner, but otherwise not for my hair type. Oh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sakii on 5/11/2010 1:15:00 AM more reviews by Sakii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Joico K-Pak was recommended to me by the lady at the beauty supply store and i really loved this when i first started using it but after a month or so my hair got really stiff and then one day it just snapped off, I'm not kidding i had tiny short hairs mixed in with my waist length hair it looked ridiculous. when i told my hairdresser she said it has far too much protein in it (which caused my hair to become brittle)and would only recommend using it once a week.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mainlinediva on 3/10/2010 4:48:00 PM more reviews by mainlinediva

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got sample bottles of this and the shampoo, both fabulous. They have left my hair soft, shiny and for some reason enhances my waves! I'm really impressed and will prob. end up purchasing full size bottles.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stacyhigh on 2/5/2010 7:28:00 PM more reviews by stacyhigh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My hair was very damaged from flat ironing and bleaching it was breaking off and very dry so i started using this along with the matching shampoo and the reconstructor im now happy to say that my hair is on the road to recovery its almost completely stop breaking and its starting to look healthy and shiney again. If your hair is damaged i would get this it has saved my hair. I will buy again when i run out :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Conditioner products