Artdeco • Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 4.3(115 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ladymarion on 1/18/2010 12:27:00 PM more reviews by ladymarion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

this is the first eye primer I try and I must say I'm impressed. I never thought that I could need this, but now that I have it I can't live without it! It does have miniscule sparkle but It's so small that I can't even see it..My make up lasts all day with just a little amount of product.
The packaging is ok, a little black pot, like really little, but you need such a small amount that I feel it's going to last ages. I bought it for 7.50 euros, and that's really cheap compared to having to import stuff from abroad (I live in Italy, and UDPP isn't really available here, and I haven't seen TFSI anywhere around me).
I really like this product, my make up is so much prettier and vibrant..love love love it and will repurchase!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evie1121 on 1/18/2010 12:27:00 PM more reviews by evie1121

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was able to test out art deco from a swap.

My first one worked out well, but i used a concealer brush.

But it does dry up and using a finger is more effective than a brush.

Once it dries it tends to ball up and it gets difficult to apply; although wetting it does help.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nioba on 1/18/2010 12:03:00 PM more reviews by nioba

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had this product for about 3 months now.I'm using it every single day...The price here is similar to the price of UDPP .
I have oily lids and this just doesn't work for me.Artdeco eyeshadow base has little shimmers,and its nice in consistency,i'm wondering if i'm not using it right.But i know it shouldn be too much,so i get just a little amount on my clean fingers and spread it all over the eyelid.After like an hour the shadow starts to fade and looses it's intensity,and after like 3 hours it creases.It's just not for my eyelids i guess,but i hate it when the shadow fades so soon..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fechenwiesen on 1/5/2010 11:30:00 AM more reviews by fechenwiesen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I canīt believe I havenīt reviewed this yet. Iīve been using it for years. It really makes shadow last, and keeps my shadow from settling into the crease. It also seems to make colors a little more vibrant. Itīs a paste/cream type consistency in a little tub. It goes on easily and has a slight sheen. I took a lippie off because it does seem to dry out when iīm about 80% through it. ( I donīt us eit every day, so maybe Iīm not using it up fast enough)The price is great, about 6 Euros. I have repurchased this many times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msdi2u on 11/22/2009 9:03:00 PM more reviews by msdi2u

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been WAITING to be able to purchase this ArtDeco eyeshadow primer in the USA for like, *forever*... and I was so thrilled to finally find this available for US purchase on the HSN! And then, what a letdown!


Unfortunately, this is not as great as the high ratings here misled me to believe. Like someone else mentioned, this base has sparkles in it, and it makes even my matte eyeshadows appear shimmery. That would be fine if I wanted to transform my matte eyeshadows to frosts, but I don't. Also, this made my eyeshadow crease after about 6 hours, and that is probably what disappointed me the most. It has a strange consistency compared to what I normally use as a base (Lumene eyeshadow base & MAC paint pots or paints), as the ArtDeco base has a more tacky feel to it. I guess that's good in a way, because it sort of "grabs on" to your eyeshadow when you apply it, and it doesn't interfere with blending- which is one of its good points. It's other good point is that it doesn't irritate my allergy-prone, sensitive eyes... but that's about it for me.


This stuff reminds me of Laura Geller Eye Spackle in its performance, except my eyeshadows creased even faster with the LG base, and the LG spackle doesn't have sparkles in it. All in all, if you have dry eyelids, this would probably be a pretty good eyeshadow base. But for someone with oilier lids, this is definitely not the best base out there. I will stick to what I was using before and only use this ArtDeco base when I am not planning on going anywhere special. Nothing annoys me more than to be away from home and pass a mirror and see my eyeshadow creased like crazy and faded to crap. This ArtDeco base did just that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sanayhs on 10/13/2009 8:26:00 PM more reviews by sanayhs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is super cute in its little pot. It goes on easily and holds colours' vibrancy. I don't like that it has shimmer to it, and it doesn't protect my makeup from my mutant flesh - I change the colours of things unless I have a solid base to keep them apart, and with this? Colours change. I don't mind that it's in a tub, as one of my guilty pleasures is sticking my fingers in things. Other than that, I have no problems with creasing or fading with this. Definitely prefer it to UDPP and TFSI!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proflady on 9/29/2009 6:25:00 PM more reviews by proflady

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

In terms of performance, I want to give this MORE than 5 stars. I like it better than UDPP because it doesn't settle into the crease on my middle-aged lids. My shadow also goes on so smoothly and evenly even when I'm sloppy and rushed, and the effect lasts all day -- no fading. You just have to be careful not to apply too much. It really is an awesome primer. Why four lippies, you ask? The scent. Ugh. Why make an eye product that smells so strongly of cheap men's cologne. I hate that. However, after much consideration, I will suffer the smell and keep using this. I will even buy it again, and I hate heavily scented products. Just be warned that the scent is overpowering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lorencita on 9/14/2009 2:01:00 PM more reviews by lorencita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

this stuff absolutely rocks. I have used a million primers out there & this laps them in every facet. This is creamy, non-drying & holds my shadow for eight hours without any creasing. This has great blending ability as well. I will be buying this forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jikla on 9/14/2009 10:25:00 AM more reviews by jikla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Hazel    

hey i bought this product a week ago and i'm amazed!!!my eyeshadows stay for 8-10 hours!!and the packaging is so cute...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennymx on 8/23/2009 9:52:00 PM more reviews by jennymx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had to hunt down this product since I live in Canada but i finally found it after a few phone calls. Turns out that a few hair salons carry it. It's totally worth it, i have impeccable eye shadows for the whole day. I have really oily lids, and nothing besides Artdeco so far seems to prevent creasing and fading.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Artdeco products

More Eye Primer products