Artdeco Eyeshadow Base

4.2

121 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients:C11-13 Isoparaffin,talc,cera microcristallina(microcrystalline wax)Mica,PVP/hexacene copolymer(VP/hexadecene co-polymer),polyethylene,Tocopheryl acetate,Bisabolol Propylparaben,triclosan,propylene glycol,BHT,Ascorbyl palmitate,Citric acid,glyceryl distearate,glyceryl sterate,parfum(fragrance)benzyl benzoate,linalool,butylpheynlmethylpropional,Hexyl cinnamal,Benzyl salicylate,Hydroxycitronellal,CI77491(iron oxides)CI77492(iron oxides)CI77499(iron oxides) CI 77891(titanium oxide)


on 6/30/2010 4:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ARTDECO is one of the brands I have most products of on my vanity, because most of their products are of amazing quality, especially for the price they are sold for. This is the best eyeshadow base I have used. I have the version for sensitive eyes, which has no odour (I saw some of the girls complaining about the strong smell, so I guess this is a relevant comment - there are two versions). This one is also with vitamines and a nice pearly tint. I use it even when I don't wear eyeshadows, because it evens out the tan of my eyes compared to my foundation-covered face very well. I usually buy good quality eyeshadows (M.A.C. etc) but this base words excellently even with the simplest brands (e.g. Rubby Rose). I have used it with Rubby Rose and they have stayed on unspoiled 10 hours. I can't say if it makes the colours more intense, because I usually put a small quantity, but it deffinitely prevents creasing, which is the most important for me. It should be applied in small quantities, because it can cake. It looks really small, but goed a long, long way - I have had my last box since November and I haven't used even 1/4 of it (I use it on a daily basis). It is sometimes difficult to work with if you have long nails, because you have to dip into the box, but I can live with that. An amazing product.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 6/15/2010 11:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

To be honest first time I used I didn't like it because of the hint of shimmer in it but if this is blended and topped with a matte color eyeshadow its not visible anymore. And it definately works without being sticky or cutting blend ability of the e/s. Another plus is the price with about EUR 6-7 its really reasonable and the jar (which contains 5ml/01.17 FL. OZ.) will last a very long time, because you only need a tiny amount. Unlike other popular eyeshadow primers, like UDPP or TF shadow Insurance, ARTDECO (which is german based btw) is available throught Europe, which is great. Definately recommended.


on 5/23/2010 5:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

You have to be careful not to apply too much becasue it can cake really bad... I like it but I can't stand the strong scent of it and I would prefer a non-shimmery formula.

EDIT: mine was dried out. I purchased a new one and it is really differnt from my old one, wich I had for circa 2 years.
Holds the eye shadow really well and the color comes out more intense. ♥

EDIT2: I took out one lippie because the scent kinda irritates my eyes.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2010 6:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have found my so far favourite eyeshadow primer, this stuff is great!

Pros:
-Makes eyeshadow vibrant and long lasting
-provides a tad sticky base
-eyeshadows are easily blended
-eyeshadows are waterproof
-one jar lasts for a very long time

Cons:
-doesn't neutralize lid color
-minor creasing after wearing for the whole day
-packaged in a jar (a tube would be more sanitary)

I will use this primer on my wedding day :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

my definite HG. lasts for ages, blends nicely, makes the eyeshadow waterproof, it doesn't crease nor smudge, the color becomes a bit more intense. i never put my eyeshadow without this, and i don't even feel the need to try any other base, this one is that good

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2010 1:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is very good and it does what it is supposed to do and it is stickier than MAC painpots so it will work better on loose eye shadow and pigments than MAC paintpot. But there is one thing that bothers me: I can not use this alone because it does not have color so it really does not even out any discoloration you might have. But because of that colorlessness, a single shade will work for any skin color. But I kind of need that color in my product, so thats why I cannot give this one 5 lipsticks. I dont have oily lids, so maybe this will not work for those who are super oily. I was kind of always reaching for product that would lighten my eye area and work as a base at same time. I was even turning to my Chanel white kohl pencil rather than this for the reason it made me look awake. With this one you might need to use another product to cancel out redness or brownness on your eye lids. Also it is not completely matte, but it has not been a problem for me as I can always use a matte shadow on top and then it looks matte enough to me.
But anyways this might be a minor flaw as you are really supposed to apply a colored shadow on top of it. It is just a base, not a cream shadow.


on 1/18/2010 12:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

this is the first eye primer I try and I must say I'm impressed. I never thought that I could need this, but now that I have it I can't live without it! It does have miniscule sparkle but It's so small that I can't even see it..My make up lasts all day with just a little amount of product.
The packaging is ok, a little black pot, like really little, but you need such a small amount that I feel it's going to last ages. I bought it for 7.50 euros, and that's really cheap compared to having to import stuff from abroad (I live in Italy, and UDPP isn't really available here, and I haven't seen TFSI anywhere around me).
I really like this product, my make up is so much prettier and vibrant..love love love it and will repurchase!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2010 12:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was able to test out art deco from a swap.

My first one worked out well, but i used a concealer brush.

But it does dry up and using a finger is more effective than a brush.

Once it dries it tends to ball up and it gets difficult to apply; although wetting it does help.


on 1/18/2010 12:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've had this product for about 3 months now.I'm using it every single day...The price here is similar to the price of UDPP .
I have oily lids and this just doesn't work for me.Artdeco eyeshadow base has little shimmers,and its nice in consistency,i'm wondering if i'm not using it right.But i know it shouldn be too much,so i get just a little amount on my clean fingers and spread it all over the eyelid.After like an hour the shadow starts to fade and looses it's intensity,and after like 3 hours it creases.It's just not for my eyelids i guess,but i hate it when the shadow fades so soon..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2010 11:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I canīt believe I havenīt reviewed this yet. Iīve been using it for years. It really makes shadow last, and keeps my shadow from settling into the crease. It also seems to make colors a little more vibrant. Itīs a paste/cream type consistency in a little tub. It goes on easily and has a slight sheen. I took a lippie off because it does seem to dry out when iīm about 80% through it. ( I donīt us eit every day, so maybe Iīm not using it up fast enough)The price is great, about 6 Euros. I have repurchased this many times.




Top Rated Artdeco Products

image

Eyeshadow Base

121 reviews
Back to Top