Artdeco Eyeshadow Base

4.3

119 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients:C11-13 Isoparaffin,talc,cera microcristallina(microcrystalline wax)Mica,PVP/hexacene copolymer(VP/hexadecene co-polymer),polyethylene,Tocopheryl acetate,Bisabolol Propylparaben,triclosan,propylene glycol,BHT,Ascorbyl palmitate,Citric acid,glyceryl distearate,glyceryl sterate,parfum(fragrance)benzyl benzoate,linalool,butylpheynlmethylpropional,Hexyl cinnamal,Benzyl salicylate,Hydroxycitronellal,CI77491(iron oxides)CI77492(iron oxides)CI77499(iron oxides) CI 77891(titanium oxide)


on 5/23/2010 5:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

You have to be careful not to apply too much becasue it can cake really bad... I like it but I can't stand the strong scent of it and I would prefer a non-shimmery formula.

EDIT: mine was dried out. I purchased a new one and it is really differnt from my old one, wich I had for circa 2 years.
Holds the eye shadow really well and the color comes out more intense. ♥

EDIT2: I took out one lippie because the scent kinda irritates my eyes.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 4/10/2010 6:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have found my so far favourite eyeshadow primer, this stuff is great!

Pros:
-Makes eyeshadow vibrant and long lasting
-provides a tad sticky base
-eyeshadows are easily blended
-eyeshadows are waterproof
-one jar lasts for a very long time

Cons:
-doesn't neutralize lid color
-minor creasing after wearing for the whole day
-packaged in a jar (a tube would be more sanitary)

I will use this primer on my wedding day :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

my definite HG. lasts for ages, blends nicely, makes the eyeshadow waterproof, it doesn't crease nor smudge, the color becomes a bit more intense. i never put my eyeshadow without this, and i don't even feel the need to try any other base, this one is that good

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2010 1:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is very good and it does what it is supposed to do and it is stickier than MAC painpots so it will work better on loose eye shadow and pigments than MAC paintpot. But there is one thing that bothers me: I can not use this alone because it does not have color so it really does not even out any discoloration you might have. But because of that colorlessness, a single shade will work for any skin color. But I kind of need that color in my product, so thats why I cannot give this one 5 lipsticks. I dont have oily lids, so maybe this will not work for those who are super oily. I was kind of always reaching for product that would lighten my eye area and work as a base at same time. I was even turning to my Chanel white kohl pencil rather than this for the reason it made me look awake. With this one you might need to use another product to cancel out redness or brownness on your eye lids. Also it is not completely matte, but it has not been a problem for me as I can always use a matte shadow on top and then it looks matte enough to me.
But anyways this might be a minor flaw as you are really supposed to apply a colored shadow on top of it. It is just a base, not a cream shadow.


on 1/18/2010 12:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

this is the first eye primer I try and I must say I'm impressed. I never thought that I could need this, but now that I have it I can't live without it! It does have miniscule sparkle but It's so small that I can't even see it..My make up lasts all day with just a little amount of product.
The packaging is ok, a little black pot, like really little, but you need such a small amount that I feel it's going to last ages. I bought it for 7.50 euros, and that's really cheap compared to having to import stuff from abroad (I live in Italy, and UDPP isn't really available here, and I haven't seen TFSI anywhere around me).
I really like this product, my make up is so much prettier and vibrant..love love love it and will repurchase!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2010 12:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was able to test out art deco from a swap.

My first one worked out well, but i used a concealer brush.

But it does dry up and using a finger is more effective than a brush.

Once it dries it tends to ball up and it gets difficult to apply; although wetting it does help.


on 1/18/2010 12:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've had this product for about 3 months now.I'm using it every single day...The price here is similar to the price of UDPP .
I have oily lids and this just doesn't work for me.Artdeco eyeshadow base has little shimmers,and its nice in consistency,i'm wondering if i'm not using it right.But i know it shouldn be too much,so i get just a little amount on my clean fingers and spread it all over the eyelid.After like an hour the shadow starts to fade and looses it's intensity,and after like 3 hours it creases.It's just not for my eyelids i guess,but i hate it when the shadow fades so soon..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2010 11:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I canīt believe I havenīt reviewed this yet. Iīve been using it for years. It really makes shadow last, and keeps my shadow from settling into the crease. It also seems to make colors a little more vibrant. Itīs a paste/cream type consistency in a little tub. It goes on easily and has a slight sheen. I took a lippie off because it does seem to dry out when iīm about 80% through it. ( I donīt us eit every day, so maybe Iīm not using it up fast enough)The price is great, about 6 Euros. I have repurchased this many times.


on 11/22/2009 9:03:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have been WAITING to be able to purchase this ArtDeco eyeshadow primer in the USA for like, *forever*... and I was so thrilled to finally find this available for US purchase on the HSN! And then, what a letdown!


Unfortunately, this is not as great as the high ratings here misled me to believe. Like someone else mentioned, this base has sparkles in it, and it makes even my matte eyeshadows appear shimmery. That would be fine if I wanted to transform my matte eyeshadows to frosts, but I don't. Also, this made my eyeshadow crease after about 6 hours, and that is probably what disappointed me the most. It has a strange consistency compared to what I normally use as a base (Lumene eyeshadow base & MAC paint pots or paints), as the ArtDeco base has a more tacky feel to it. I guess that's good in a way, because it sort of "grabs on" to your eyeshadow when you apply it, and it doesn't interfere with blending- which is one of its good points. It's other good point is that it doesn't irritate my allergy-prone, sensitive eyes... but that's about it for me.


This stuff reminds me of Laura Geller Eye Spackle in its performance, except my eyeshadows creased even faster with the LG base, and the LG spackle doesn't have sparkles in it. All in all, if you have dry eyelids, this would probably be a pretty good eyeshadow base. But for someone with oilier lids, this is definitely not the best base out there. I will stick to what I was using before and only use this ArtDeco base when I am not planning on going anywhere special. Nothing annoys me more than to be away from home and pass a mirror and see my eyeshadow creased like crazy and faded to crap. This ArtDeco base did just that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2009 8:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is super cute in its little pot. It goes on easily and holds colours' vibrancy. I don't like that it has shimmer to it, and it doesn't protect my makeup from my mutant flesh - I change the colours of things unless I have a solid base to keep them apart, and with this? Colours change. I don't mind that it's in a tub, as one of my guilty pleasures is sticking my fingers in things. Other than that, I have no problems with creasing or fading with this. Definitely prefer it to UDPP and TFSI!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated Artdeco Products

image

Eyeshadow Base

119 reviews
Back to Top