Clinique • Advanced Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.7(121 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nelson on 3/7/2009 9:55:00 AM more reviews by nelson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm mad at myself. For over 10 years i have searched all over the place for a concealer that would cover my dark undereye circles and actually stay in place all day. Many sales reps have tried to encourage me to use products like those concealer pans saying that they are really heavy duty but they just slide off or into creases in a few hours so they are totally useless! Also i cannot be bothered doing the whole concealer/ powder/ layer, etc thing in the morning. The closest i ever came to finding that product until now was a concealer that The Body Shop used to stock years ago until they got rid of that makeup line and replaced it with a cooler, sexier version that was completely terrible. Trust me, i was pretty darned upset about it as i've been embarressed about my under eye circles from a very young age. Finally I found this product on e-bay and bought it after reading great reviews here, but wouldn't you know, it is not even stocked in Australia anymore after i just discovered it, how disappointing! Sooo, the number one reason i love it, it really does stay in place. It is also thick and heavily pigmented which is just as important. If you are thinking of buying a concealer to cover acne or light imperfections there are probably hundreds of better more moisturising concealers out there so you probably wouldn't give it 5 stars. As for me, i think it's just about perfect. If i cannot buy it again off e-bay i will cry. Seriously.

UPDATE: oh no! A lovely MUA'er sent me this very concealer in the green package (not the clear one) as she wasn't happy with it and i think i know why! It is the same shade but they have changed the formula! They have added a powdery finish to it which looks horrible, crepey and dry under my eyes highlighting the lines under my eyes which i didn't even know i had! So i have no choice but to move on, AGAIN, boo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* weeks919 on 2/24/2009 11:12:00 PM more reviews by weeks919

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was absolute heaven for dark acne scars. Its thick and coverage is amazing, but it cakes easily and is probably too heavy for most people. But if you have age spots, acne scars, or anything else tht needs to be covered up, this is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lolabangs on 1/8/2009 1:10:00 AM more reviews by lolabangs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have FINALLY found my HG concealor! Matte Light is perfect for me (NW20). I have fair skin with lots of hyperpigmentation and I have to wear sunscreen year-round, so my concealor has to mix well with it. I loved Mac Select concealor but it turned an awful orange whether I used sunscreen or not. But Clinique's is perfect. I never got the hang of foundation so my concealor has to do all the work, and this works so well in covering acne and any red marks -- actually it covers everything, blends in seamlessly, and never turns orange or melts away (my sunscreen is oily). I also love the packaging and I'm sure it will last a long time.. and it's only $14.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HotCurry on 1/6/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is, hands down, Clinique's best concealer for blemishes. In fact, it's the best liquid concealer I've ever used, period! I've always used potted concealers for more opaque coverage that would dry matte and stay on, but this stuff is all of those things! I use "Matte Light" and it's perfect for my ultra pale skin. Just using a tiny bit my blemishes/scars are totally erased. Blends right into the skin/foundation and looks natural, despite how opaque it is. The trick is though, using only a tiny amount, if you try to use too much, it will be obvious (and also unnecessary since this covers so well). I look like I have flawless skin, even though it's far from it. Holy Grail!!! I've included a pic of me wearing this concealer, over Clinique's Almost Makeup in Neutral Fair and it makes my skin appear flawless:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annaharris_227 on 12/12/2008 12:22:00 AM more reviews by annaharris_227

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

For those of you who need a full coverage concealer, this will definitely answers your prayers! It covers pretty much anything. The only thing I don't like about it is that it's sort of tricky to blend, which is why I took off a star. I've always found myself tugging at it to get it to spread. Also, even after you've blended it in, it's hard to make it look seamless under powder (took of another star). I usually have to do a little extra tugging to make it look a bit more natural. Super-concentrated, though...I just squeeze out a tiny dot, dip my concealer brush in it once, and it's enough to cover every little blemish I may have. I don't cake it on, in case you're wondering. One note, though: If you have dry skin on the areas you're covering , you need to really exfoliate before using this, as it has a tendency to cling to dry patches. But then again, just about any full-coverage concealer will do this. Overall, not bad but the blendability needs some work before I'll repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ickdragon on 9/26/2008 4:15:00 AM more reviews by ickdragon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This has been my go-to concealer since high school. While I've pared down the Clinique products I use over the years, this staple doesn't ever leave my side. It's my HG skin concealer. It covers like a dream, lasts until you take it off and blends really, really well. Since it's Clinique, I've never worried that it was clogging my pores or making my pimples worse. On the contrary, sometimes it seems like it helps speed along the healing process for my pimples. It's also great for covering up little red spots, especially on sensitive skin like my own.

I carry this with me all the time and on the few occasions when it was temporarily lost in the depths of my purse, I had a panic/heart attack overload thinking my precious concealer was lost. I seriously don't know what I would do without this product. If I were on Survivor, this would be my luxury item.

I use Matte Light. Buy 1-2 tubes per year. Even though the tube is plastic, it stands up to daily pinching. I've had the sides crack before and concealer oozed out. I either re-purchased it immediately, or to save a few bucks, I stuck a band-aid around the tube and it worked beautifully until I ran out. But really, for $14, this product pays for itself in no time at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rsmuskie on 8/25/2008 1:42:00 PM more reviews by rsmuskie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

In my estimation, the ONLY product I have used consistently over the years that completely covers hyperpigmentation & stays put for the day. It doesn't sweat off, smear off or rub off. It's excellent for covering a blossoming zit as well. One dot does the trick. I'm always tempted to try out the newer, more expensive concealers & when I do, I am always disappointed, because there is nothing quite as perfect as Clinique's. For $14, you get plenty of bang for your bucks. It may be a small tube, but a little definitely goes a long way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Live4Beauty on 8/3/2008 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Live4Beauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For me, this is not an all over concealer. I use a Smashbox stick concealer for under circles and redness in the cheeks and around the nostrils. However, if you have a pimple or a scar or anything that needs some heavy duty covering, this is it. It comes in a teeny tiny tube, but it's so concentrated, one little dab will do ya. It's thick, but it covers. Doesn't aggravate my skin, blends well, and has no funky smells. Definitely a staple in my collection, even if I don't use it all the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gervase on 6/11/2008 8:45:00 AM more reviews by Gervase

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite concealer of all time. Absolutely brilliant for covering zits, and Matte Light just happens to match my skin perfectly. However, it has been discontinued in Australia and I can't find a website which will ship it here.

Can anyone recommend a close-to-identical product from Clinique or any other brand. Price not an issue, I just NEED this concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LIKACO on 4/10/2008 5:34:00 PM more reviews by LIKACO

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this concealer. Easy to blend, lots of pigment, great tube for travelling. Covers zits really well; have not used it for dark circles so cannot comment on that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Concealers products