Clinique • Advanced Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.7(118 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HotCurry on 1/6/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is, hands down, Clinique's best concealer for blemishes. In fact, it's the best liquid concealer I've ever used, period! I've always used potted concealers for more opaque coverage that would dry matte and stay on, but this stuff is all of those things! I use "Matte Light" and it's perfect for my ultra pale skin. Just using a tiny bit my blemishes/scars are totally erased. Blends right into the skin/foundation and looks natural, despite how opaque it is. The trick is though, using only a tiny amount, if you try to use too much, it will be obvious (and also unnecessary since this covers so well). I look like I have flawless skin, even though it's far from it. Holy Grail!!! I've included a pic of me wearing this concealer, over Clinique's Almost Makeup in Neutral Fair and it makes my skin appear flawless:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annaharris_227 on 12/12/2008 12:22:00 AM more reviews by annaharris_227

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

For those of you who need a full coverage concealer, this will definitely answers your prayers! It covers pretty much anything. The only thing I don't like about it is that it's sort of tricky to blend, which is why I took off a star. I've always found myself tugging at it to get it to spread. Also, even after you've blended it in, it's hard to make it look seamless under powder (took of another star). I usually have to do a little extra tugging to make it look a bit more natural. Super-concentrated, though...I just squeeze out a tiny dot, dip my concealer brush in it once, and it's enough to cover every little blemish I may have. I don't cake it on, in case you're wondering. One note, though: If you have dry skin on the areas you're covering , you need to really exfoliate before using this, as it has a tendency to cling to dry patches. But then again, just about any full-coverage concealer will do this. Overall, not bad but the blendability needs some work before I'll repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ickdragon on 9/26/2008 4:15:00 AM more reviews by ickdragon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This has been my go-to concealer since high school. While I've pared down the Clinique products I use over the years, this staple doesn't ever leave my side. It's my HG skin concealer. It covers like a dream, lasts until you take it off and blends really, really well. Since it's Clinique, I've never worried that it was clogging my pores or making my pimples worse. On the contrary, sometimes it seems like it helps speed along the healing process for my pimples. It's also great for covering up little red spots, especially on sensitive skin like my own.

I carry this with me all the time and on the few occasions when it was temporarily lost in the depths of my purse, I had a panic/heart attack overload thinking my precious concealer was lost. I seriously don't know what I would do without this product. If I were on Survivor, this would be my luxury item.

I use Matte Light. Buy 1-2 tubes per year. Even though the tube is plastic, it stands up to daily pinching. I've had the sides crack before and concealer oozed out. I either re-purchased it immediately, or to save a few bucks, I stuck a band-aid around the tube and it worked beautifully until I ran out. But really, for $14, this product pays for itself in no time at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rsmuskie on 8/25/2008 1:42:00 PM more reviews by rsmuskie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

In my estimation, the ONLY product I have used consistently over the years that completely covers hyperpigmentation & stays put for the day. It doesn't sweat off, smear off or rub off. It's excellent for covering a blossoming zit as well. One dot does the trick. I'm always tempted to try out the newer, more expensive concealers & when I do, I am always disappointed, because there is nothing quite as perfect as Clinique's. For $14, you get plenty of bang for your bucks. It may be a small tube, but a little definitely goes a long way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Live4Beauty on 8/3/2008 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Live4Beauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For me, this is not an all over concealer. I use a Smashbox stick concealer for under circles and redness in the cheeks and around the nostrils. However, if you have a pimple or a scar or anything that needs some heavy duty covering, this is it. It comes in a teeny tiny tube, but it's so concentrated, one little dab will do ya. It's thick, but it covers. Doesn't aggravate my skin, blends well, and has no funky smells. Definitely a staple in my collection, even if I don't use it all the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gervase on 6/11/2008 8:45:00 AM more reviews by Gervase

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite concealer of all time. Absolutely brilliant for covering zits, and Matte Light just happens to match my skin perfectly. However, it has been discontinued in Australia and I can't find a website which will ship it here.

Can anyone recommend a close-to-identical product from Clinique or any other brand. Price not an issue, I just NEED this concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LIKACO on 4/10/2008 5:34:00 PM more reviews by LIKACO

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this concealer. Easy to blend, lots of pigment, great tube for travelling. Covers zits really well; have not used it for dark circles so cannot comment on that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 face_on on 3/31/2008 5:43:00 PM more reviews by face_on

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

My HG concealer for blemishes and acne scars for over 15 years. I always love to try the latest stuff on the market but I come back this every time. I use a tiny pin dot and blend with a concealer brush. This formula is drier than other concealers I've tried, and it doesn't rub off, or aggravate my skin. I have even used it successfully on my back to cover up blemishes and it works all day. If you have skin on the dry side you may not like this product. I find I can't use it under my eyes anymore (since I turned 40) because I need a creamier formula. Before, though, in my younger days it did a good job on dark circles. Be sure to use very little, as that is all that's needed. I use matte Light. Even with everyday use one tube lasted almost a year. I can't live without this stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 milkandcereal on 2/10/2008 5:41:00 AM more reviews by milkandcereal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this concealer! I have hyperpigmented, combination, acne prone skin and this gives me awesome full coverage. It doesn't make my sensitive skin breakout and covers everything from pimples to scars to undereye circles. I love how it's matte as well so it doesn't give it that slightly oily look some other concealers do. Since it dries powdery, it seems to last longer than a lot of concealers I've tried, dpt and drugstore. My skin goes from ghostly pale in the winter to Saharan tan during the summer, and yet the Matte Medium seems to blend in well throughout the year. And one tube lasts me forever since I need only a tiny dollop each application. However, I would imagine for those with dryer skin, it might be cakey or too powdery, and enhance flaky skin. There are also only two available colors I think, and that may be too limited for some.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 csema8 on 1/28/2008 2:24:00 AM more reviews by csema8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I have used this product for about 10 years and it has helped conceal many flaws on my skin including pimples, scars and undereye circles. It dries to a matte finish, which is nice, but a light hand is best to avoid looking cakey and made-up. When I apply this to my undereye area, I warm a very tiny bit between my fingers and lightly pat it on. For those with dry undereye area, this may not be an ideal concealer though. Otherwise, this product is excellent for covering pimples and acne scars..and just a tiny bit does the trick. I've tried some other concealers throughout the years, but find that this is the only one that does not aggravate my acne-prone skin, covers well and does not fade as easily as the others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Concealers products