Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1059 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SamWood on 1/23/2013 2:37:00 PM more reviews by SamWood

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Blurs imperfections, is a nice colour and keeps your face fairly matte all day.
BUT it runs out fast as the amount in each package is small and it's costly to keep up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 grkangel3 on 11/29/2012 2:33:00 PM more reviews by grkangel3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

i always come back to this. its great to combat shine, and generally lasts a fair amount of time bc you dont need much. my only complaint is that it can make me look a bit chalky, i always have to put bronzer or blush over it, so im always looking for something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 10/21/2012 4:41:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Basically, this is a translucent powder that is good for setting makeup and imparting a luminous finish. I bought the teeny tiny sample size for $9.00. I don't know what the packaging is like on the full size version, but the sample size is very messy to use. Too much product comes out and gets all over the place. I probably wouldn't repurchase this item, as I thought it was overpriced and messy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupjulia1 on 10/17/2012 9:31:00 PM more reviews by makeupjulia1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot beleive I have not reviewed this yet. HG HG HG! I love this stuff.
I have sensitive combo skin (NC30) that depending on the weather acts dry or can get too oily. I put my moisturizer on and then my foundaton or concealor depending on how much coverage I want or where I am going and then apply the mineral veil. After that I finish off with blush, eyeshadow etc. before no matter what I did my makeup would not last. it would slide off my face and disappear or be sitting on top of my skin waiting for me to make a mistake and it would smear on anything that would get close to my face. After I have started using mineral veil I can apply my makeup in the morning or for a party and it stays on all night. I do not have to look in the mirror once. I am a mom of 2 toddlers and I just do not have the time to sit and apply a million things to my face once a day forget checking ten times in a day and retouching.
I have taken one lippie off only for the packaging. Its jsut so messy. first the sticker in the container that is supposed keep the product in the bottom came off so half my product is in the top on the container and I have to pour some out onto the lid to use it.I also cannot use this stuff without getting some on my counter or sink. I wish BE would change to their new click and twist containers so I remove only as much I need. other than that I will not be without my mineral veil ever

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lissmorleyx on 10/12/2012 4:49:00 AM more reviews by lissmorleyx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Fabulous product, recommended to many. Visibly reduces pores. Bought this item repeatedly :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SnappyLeeLee on 10/5/2012 10:39:00 PM more reviews by SnappyLeeLee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a must have for any makeup back. It compliments any foundation and gives that airbrushed look. Only a tiny bit goes a long way and it seems to last all day. I got it in Illuminating for highlighting. I will definitely be buying this product time and time again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kolwink on 9/27/2012 6:54:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For many years, I didn't know what makeup to use, so I didn't use any. All the trouble of finding something that would be good for my skin, make my face look good, the right colors ... I had no idea of how to start, so I took exactly no action.


Then I was bridesmaid for my friend's wedding. Two of the other bridesmaids used their Bare Minerals kits on me. I liked what I saw, and I liked what I read ... the idea of loose mineral powder, instead of heavy caked-on foundation, was immensely appealing.


So I toddled off to the Bare Minerals store and got that 3-piece kit. 18 months later, it is still the only makeup I own. I guess this review is for the Mineral Veil component.


I religiously follow the steps the salesgirl showed me. No inclination or aptitude for experimentation, sadly; plus I cannot ever shake the fear that I'm doing things the 'wrong' way. So: first the foundation, then the 'Warmth All-Over Face Color', and lastly, the 'Mineral Veil.'


The powder feels light and airy on my skin. It seems to brighten my face, and make me look a little less 'made up.' I always finish up with Mineral Veil, and have never had problems with the underlying layers (i.e. foundation or blush) rubbing off. I dunno, I guess it makes the mineral layers feel smoother, less rough. I've never had any adverse reaction. I like, I'm a fan. Two amateur thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laur0607 on 9/27/2012 8:36:00 AM more reviews by Laur0607

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product to put overtop of any foundation. The trick is to use a tiny bit of it. If you want an airbrush finish than you should not see any product on your brush. It is not meant to be worn on its own. It is supposed to compliment your foundation. It is super light and gives a very natural finish. It is an essential product of anyones make up bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 90sbaby4eva23 on 9/13/2012 6:29:00 PM more reviews by 90sbaby4eva23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Deep Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a DDD so the tinted mineral veil was recommended for me. I got this with a value bundle deal offered on the Bare Minerals infomerical. Anyway .... this powder is awful (just like B.M foundation) it's chalky & ashy even when using the slightest amount. No matter what foundation applied before it. After less than one hour it makes my skin shiny & greasy looking. How is that possible when my skin is DESERT SAND DRY? Although it sucks as a finishing powder its pretty decent for setting my under eye concealer. Doesn't look or feel cakey/dry but that reason alone wouldn't make me re purchase cause I prefer my Ben Nye banana powder for setting foundation & concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jubilee on 9/13/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG of powders! I stopped buying the loose version because I use it up so fast. I can go through a pot of this in a month. So I'm now I'm using the compact version and like it just as much, if not better. I work for BE and this is so far the only product I can't live without.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products