Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3228 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 7/9/2014 4:50:00 PM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I remember using this in my last months of high school, and I hated it! The texture of this foundation feels really nice when you touch it but when you spread it on your face it is unblendable! My skin tone is yellow under toned and I found the closest match for my shade looked too muddy and orange on my face. Also, this thing sets into large pores and dry skin patches like it is nobody's business! If you have oily skin like mine, you'll notice this doesn't have oil control at all either. It is just a terrible product. And coverage is not that great for redness and acne scars. If you have smooth, near perfect skin, this could work for you but otherwise, give a shot to other much BETTER drugstore foundations please. I really suggest you don't waste your money on this :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jlyox92 on 7/9/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by jlyox92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have used this foundation for years and years. I tried liquid foundations to begin with but I always hated the way they felt on my skin, like I was wearing a mask of foundation. The mousse is really light on my skin and it definitely gives the best matte effect of anything I've tried.

I usually apply with my fingers and haven't had any problems with blending it. I do find it tricky to get out of the pot when I have longer nails either getting nothing or getting it all stuck under the nails, the only real problem I have with this product. This can be fixed by using a brush but I find it harder to ensure an even coverage, plus I always end up losing my foundation brush anyway!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brainyforester7 on 7/9/2014 2:12:00 PM more reviews by brainyforester7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have used dream matte mousse for almost 2 years now and i will never buy another base again. i love this product bc unlike liquid it evens your skin and feels so light on your face. i hate the liquid now bc i feel so stiff and the smell if awful. i love the way mousse feels this product is worth every penny. love it love it love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nyarlathotep on 7/7/2014 3:05:00 PM more reviews by Nyarlathotep

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I'm sorta on the fence with this one. I really like the texture and how it goes on my face, and the coverage is ok (it covers some imperfections but cakes on others), but it's not really my favorite. I found that it looks REALLY cakey when I wear powder with it, and the lightest shade is still too dark for my skin (I'm extremely fair). Overall, it's ok. Probably wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kaore93 on 7/7/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by kaore93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

I first bought Dream Matte mousse back in 2009 as a last-minute replacement for my regular foundation, which was sold out. It didn't blend well on my skin (no matter how much I blended, using my fingers and a brush) and looked thick, like it was sitting on the top of my face. Despite this, I started using it again a year later because my regular foundation was discontinued, and Dream Matte was the most similar thing I could find. I always found the coverage and color choices disappointing, but stuck with it just because I couldn't find a decent mousse foundation without paying mega bucks.

Last year, however, I was forced to stop using DMM because for some reason, it made my face feel like it was burning. I don't have sensitive skin, and no other foundation or makeup product (of any brand) has ever caused this type of reaction. I would wash my face in the shower in the morning, apply foundation, and within 10 minutes there was this burning sensation. When I washed it off (using makeup wipes, and then soap/water) it felt like somebody threw acid in my face, that is the only way to describe it. My skin turned pink and blotchy, and my cheeks and chin wouldn't stop burning until the next day (even after applying ice wrapped in a towel). I don't know what L'Oreal has put in the ingredients, but I wouldn't go near this foundation again if you paid me a million dollars. This experience has actually really discouraged me from buying L'Oreal products generally, as I now wonder if another of their products will give me this kind of reaction.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yaniharris on 7/6/2014 9:02:00 AM more reviews by yaniharris

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

My god...I can't believe this foundation used to be my favourite foundation. When I was first introduced to the wonderful world of makeup, my friend recommended this foundation to me. Having no knowledge of foundations, I decided to go out to the shops and check this out. I was in love with the consistency of the mousse and the finish on me, so I purchased it.

Since then, I used this foundation for about 2 and a half years. Let me tell you, I had the clearest skin before I started using this product. After those 2 and a half years, I was covered in PIMPLES! My parents, friends, classmates and even random people had told me my skin was looking like a pizza. I can't believe I was oblivious to the fact my face was breaking out while using this product. Once I chucked it out, my skin cleared up almost instantly and I switched to Loreal True Match foundation.

I believe this was because of the packaging. This mousse comes in a little half glass half plastic container. I must say, the container was very nice for travelling, as you could chuck it in your bag and not have a worry about spillage or breakage. But see, this is the problem. I assume most people use their fingers to apply this mousse, just like I did. JUST IMAGINE ALL OF THE BACTERIA BUILDING UP FROM YOUR FINGERS INSIDE THE CONTAINER! Heads up makeup lovers, your mousse is collecting dirt and all sorts of bacteria from the outside world. I recommend you either get comfy with your new germy friends or find a new foundation...fast.

Even using a brush to apply this foundation wont save you from the bacteria. The thick, spongy texture will interfere with your makeup brush and will make applying a hassle and time consumer.

Okay okay, I can't just ramble on about how bad this foundation is without mentioning some of the pros of this product. The consistency is smooth and nice when you first buy the foundation and the foundation leaves a nice, matte finish and provides good coverage. The packaging for travelling purposes as I mentioned before is definitely a pro of this foundation. The colour choices are quite broad too, ranging from light to dark shades to suit your skin colour. Other than that, I really can't think of anything else that is good about this product.

Will not be buying NOR using again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RachelLR1998 on 7/4/2014 5:52:00 PM more reviews by RachelLR1998

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim, never having used a mousse textured foundation before. I was pleasantly surprised by this product. It covered well and I loved how it felt on my skin. So much so that I'm almost finished my second container of it. The one downfall is how difficult it is to apply. I used an off brand beauty blender to apply it and it worked wonderfully. Overall, I love this product very much!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cynthiamedeiros on 7/3/2014 10:18:00 PM more reviews by cynthiamedeiros

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought it in the worst year of my teenages - and I had acne problems with it (actually, I've had it with many Maybelline products). However, I must say, the coverage is really nice, the effect is natural and the texture is comfortable. It lasts a lot and I'd like to buy it one more time, as my skin is normal again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellamarieramos on 7/3/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by ellamarieramos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i love the texture specially using it with brush. not cakey at all in my face. gooe coverage and last 8 hrs for me:) good buy❤️

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Carawalters on 7/2/2014 9:28:00 PM more reviews by Carawalters

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Well it did some good coverage but it kinda makes your face look cakey. It also causes my breakouts immediately after i use it, and i have to deal with new acne all the time with this product. It doesnt really stick so well, i wouldnt recommend this for acne skin types

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products