Shu Uemura • UV Under Base DF • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(103 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 bizzymom on 4/26/2007 10:11:00 PM more reviews by bizzymom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow... this stuff is the bomb. I was looking to maybe get a new foundation, and asked the MA if the foundation had any SPF.. she said no, but, this under base had spf., and I might not need a new foundation. she showed me on her hand how blush showed truer after she applied the under base. Now, I'm fifty years old, with some sun damage on my face. I tried this stuff this morning, and I loved it. Of course, more shot out than I had intended, I wasn't sure how hard to press. but, it blended into my skin, and created a natural looking canvas for the rest of my make up that lasted all day. All I put over it was some powder (Shu ) and my skin looked awesome. My blush looked brighter, but, blended into my skin like a dream. the foam didn't settle into any of my lines, and even made my pores look normal. I freakin love this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettiesnow on 4/6/2007 2:21:00 PM more reviews by prettiesnow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was recommended to this product by this sales assistant from Origins, she said she had very sensitive skin and this one works for her and din break her out. I bought a small bottle from yahoo auction to try it and I'm in love with it ever since. It's so light weight, has sheer coverage and doesn't breaks me out. It has spf 17 too! It's a bit low but I don't spend my time out in the sun much so it's good enough for me. I use it as a sunscreen on it's own. It can also hold make up very well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gingerschnapps on 3/7/2007 4:22:00 AM more reviews by gingerschnapps

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

my HG! Makes foundation and powder stay put on my oily face. Doesnt oxidise my foundation and gives a natural, poreless finish that accentuates my makeup under every light--gives an unparalleled glow and softness i can't describe.it's very pricey but def worth it as u virtually don't need to touch up on your powder.love the fact that it doesnt make me break out(i'm very acne-prone).

A word of caution: to minimise wastage, squirt gently on the mousse pump nozzle. Lots will continue "oozing" out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Superhen on 1/28/2007 2:27:00 AM more reviews by Superhen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Received as swap from a wonderful and so sweet lady !!
I love this product. I must admit my ignorance in primer, I just have tried one at MAC counter and I was not happy with that. The face was innatural and I felt like my skin could not breath. But Shu Uemura is great !
Look so natural also in sunlight and followd by tinted moisturized great a wonderful skin ! You could forget you are wearing it ! I made a great discovery !! Better late than never !!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Suziedepingu on 1/11/2007 8:01:00 PM more reviews by Suziedepingu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Personally, I didn't want no heavy foundation, so I brought this as a product to even out my skin tones. Many love this product, and so have i, light and natural. a bit pricy but worth it, with the sunscreen protection i even use it as my sun protection, although during summer i would use it with biotherm's sunscreen. and it still wont feel greasy. its matte! i would take advise from the person below to use it with loose powder.... !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lucidbabe on 1/9/2007 10:54:00 PM more reviews by lucidbabe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

From 2004, I have been through approximately 10 bottles of this stuff. Each bottle lasts about 2-3 mths when used daily. It replaces my tinted moisturiser as I live in a hot humid clime.. it maintains a fresh look and I have used 2 bottles of the new formulation. the new version seems to be thicker in mousse consistency and less suscceptible to spills after the mousse liquifies at the spout. My pet peeve was the amount of wastage in remanant liquid around the spout and on my hands as the old version seems to be thinner in texture.

Usage: Daily, after moisturiser, under Ettusias loose powder (no foundation). I am able to use it alone and under loose powder on most days. I have normal but severly acne prone skin so this is one of the few makeup bases, tinted moisturisers that does not break me out. Though I find the new version thicker so improper cleansing the first few weeks caused a few whiteheads to appear.
Sometimes, I skip other bases I have (Vincent Longo and a Japanese brand) to use this even for evening outs as the base gives unbeatable staying power.
When out in the sun, I use this under another SPF tinted moisturiser for hopefully heavier SPF proetction. ( when mixed; say SPF 20 and SPF 18, you get only SPF20 but I hope heavier coverage)

Effect: Matte, sheer , non oily tint which evens out the skin tone. Also, it is a base that helps any makeup stay on. But my face is still greasy (though less) in late afternoons...
Texture/Feel: Mousse texture so be prepared to have a tissue to wipe off your hands or be at the sink to rinse hands. Light weight and by far the most weightless comapred to tinted moisturisers like LM or Paula's Choice.

Price: $$$$$$$$$$$
I seem to be chalking up the Shu points with purchases on these. With a baby, I have no time to trapise to cosmetic counters to check stock ( always out of stock due to the high demand and the change in versions), I buy up to 3-4 bottles at a go. The girls there love me as I don need attention or service, I jsut walk up and get the bottles and help them achieve their sales targets... even then, some begrrudge me a tiny sample. But well, I am in Singapore so be it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Green_Tea on 12/5/2006 2:30:00 AM more reviews by Green_Tea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Very light and clean for my oily skin. Created a great base for my powder and concealer. Made the adhedsion of the concealer better on bare skin. Evened out my skin tone a little little bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xrobynx on 11/1/2006 2:30:00 PM more reviews by xrobynx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This primer is the best. The texture is light and easy to spread. The result is flawless skin and my make up stays on all day. I have also noticed that I don't get shiney by the afternoon anymore. Although, I don't know if this is due to the new Shu Ueruma foundation I am using or a combo of both.

Anyway, this is a must have and you will not regret it. Just the fact that you don't have to powder or refresh at all makes it worth the extra step in the morning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lowlow on 9/24/2006 4:46:00 PM more reviews by lowlow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely oily skin. I tried Laura Merciers Oil free primer and it left my skin even oilier. Plus I was getting whiteheads all over. I finaly tried Shu Uemura's UV under base. It didn't leave an oily covering on my skin and my skin has felt better! Only downside is the SPF is only 10 but my face looks great and it even outs the skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lucyem on 9/15/2006 6:59:00 PM more reviews by lucyem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am reviewing the new Under Base SPF 10. It is a mousse. It is lightly tinted. To quote:

"A renovation of the original shu uemura award-winning, signature product: A weightless mousse makeup base that helps to even out skin tone and texture, reduce redness and minimize the appearance of pores. Use before makeup application to prepare the face for flawless makeup.
Additional benefits of new formula:
Better Spread Increased mousse texture for even application and coverage
Better Adhesion with Foundation Hamamelis [witch hazel] extract helps to tighten pores and make skin surface smoother
Longer Lasting Contains Flouric Polymer Coated pigments that helps color remain true all day
Increased Protection Increased SPF protection against harmful UV rays"

I love this stuff. I actually like it more then the tinted moisturizers I have tried. It really does even out my skin. It does not dry it out. I can use it alone without foundation. Any help with SPF is a plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Primer/ Corrector products