Avalon Organics Botanicals • Vitamin C Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rararawr on 8/25/2010 3:35:00 PM more reviews by rararawr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ugh I wanted to love this product SO bad. I bought this after reading the reviews on here and used it for about a week - maybe a week and a half. I loved the pump top and the bright coloured bottle. The smell is absolutely HEAVENLY and it is packed with all kinds of good things. I loved the way it felt on my skin, lathered quickly, rinsed clean and left a healthy glow. But, after a day or two I started to notice a few pimples on my face and as I continued to use it, more appeared. I reluctantly switched back to my old cleanser and my pimples cleared up. The odd thing is that the parts of my face that weren't broken out were healthy and soft. It's been sitting on my counter looking at me like a sad puppy ever since because I can't bring myself to throw it out. I gave the product a 4 because I think it's a great product, it just didn't agree with me for some reason, therefore I would not repurchase.

EDIT - I recently found out that essential oils can be irritating to some people's skin which I didn't know before. The reason this smells so good is because it has essential oils in it which may be why I broke out. I don't have particularly sensitive but I've never used anything with essential oils in it before. Just a heads up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erinmaui9 on 8/16/2010 12:01:00 AM more reviews by erinmaui9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

In my quest for organic and biodegradable facial care, i found this cleanser during one of my rare visit to Healthy Options. At that time, i was truly disappointed and depressed of my large swelling pimples on my forehead, chin, nose and cheeks. I never broke out this much until I used Etude House's Sleeping Pack, AC Sunscreen and BB Magic Pact.

I've only been using the product for about a week now. But honestly, my large swelling bumps dried out a bit and the redness just disappears. I like how the gel gently forms into a lather, which is just enough to cleanse my oily pimple prone skin. The orange burst scent is also refreshing and invigorating to the senses. And after, I towel my face dry all I see on the mirror is a refreshed and clean skin. I also did not feel any tightness, itchiness or sting.

I am happy that I found a cheap organic vitamin-packed cleanser like this that's why I will recommend this to my friends who are looking for a cheap yet organic alternative to the expensive stuffs their using.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BBock on 6/17/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by BBock

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am on my 2nd bottle of this. I know everyone's skin is different so I understand this may not work for everyone, but it works very well for me. I have oily skin but I use gentle, natural products so my skin won't be stripped and create even more oil. This face wash is gentle, lathers amazingly with just the tiniest bit, smells amazing, and lasts forever. And it's cheap. What more could you ask for? Oh yes, it also doesn't contain any harmful chemical ingredients! Needless to say I really love this face wash.
The only time this is slightly drying is in the dead of winter, and then i switch it out for something a little more moisturizing. I start using it again as soon as the weather becomes warm. I also use it as a body wash for my back and chest after working out. For those of you whose skin it is drying out, try using a little less. I seriously use less then a pea size and it creates incredible lather. That's saying a lot since it's sulfate free! I also use toner afterwards and my skin still isn't dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sweettmaidenn on 5/14/2010 10:55:00 PM more reviews by sweettmaidenn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for a few days, and am very happy! I have super sensitive skin, and this doesn't irritate or dry me out. I was looking for something natural and simple to balance with my Obagi Clenziderm line which is really harsh on my skin. Good product! I use it with the toner! I thought Vit C would be good bc I have the microdelivery peel from Philosophy that has Vit C and that did wonders for my skin. Try it!


EDIT: I ended up tossing it because it did nothing for my skin. It did not irritate, but it did not help my oily skin either. I changed it for something more specific for me. I also got rid of the Obagi products because they were too harsh...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clearady on 5/5/2010 3:59:00 AM more reviews by clearady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at a sale at my local Whole Foods and was anxious to try it as it is organic, and so far I've had tremendous fortune in natural skincare.

Little background: My skin is pretty oily, or at least was oily when I used many drugstore brands of cleansers. I always thought my problem skin was due to the fact of my diet, or my habits (hair not off my face, touching my face, not eating correclty). Well, needless to say, my skin was, and still is, tough. I've never been sensitive to anything. I've tried a lot of ridiculous things in my time, and feel as if I've treated my face as some people do to their hair. Damaging, while in attempts at making it more beautiful, or something it wasn't. I used St Ives horrible rough scrub, and many other harsh, chemical-ridden cleansers, then to top it off, i'd add the cherry of Benzoyl Peroxide, Retin-A, or Sacyclic Acid. My skin was always inflamed and always oily. I never understood why, and just blamed my stars/genes lol.
Now that I've transferred to organic type products, it has been working with my skin. not against it. no drying, no peeling, and a hell of a clearer complexion.
I was excited to try this. I wanted it to work since it's a lot cheaper than the other organic cleansers that i had luck with (Suki, Mychelle, Fresh, etc) and nearly half the price of the cheapest one I've had luck with (John Masters). As far as I can remember, despite all the harsh things I did to my skin, I never reacted horribly to a product.


This made my face itch so bad and a tad drying (even a bigger turnoff than the first to me). Based on these reviews, I'm not the only one that's had a reaction toward it, so I'd advise filling a sample plastic of it at your local Whole Foods, and then buying it at Walmart if you like it (since it's cheaper there). Still, I will never touch the bottle again. Kind of relieved in a way, since the packaging is quite an eye sore. Not a pretty bottle to have and to hold. lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlai08 on 3/17/2010 5:55:00 PM more reviews by jlai08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the third bottle of this. I love it. It washes out all my makeup...including eye makeup. (It is PH balanced so I don't worry about getting it too close to the eye area.) I love that it has Vit. C and antioxidants because most makeup removers don't provide them. I usually rub it on my face for more than 20-30 seconds so my skin has time to absorb the vitamins. Even though it is not listed as a makeup remover, I found that it is mild enough for my whole face. My face is totally refreshed and energized every evening. It is so clean for my night time regimen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 madisonelsewhere on 3/9/2010 2:13:00 PM more reviews by madisonelsewhere

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Nice simple cleanser for normal to oily skin. The smell is AMAZING and my skin is clear and bright. The pump on my first bottle was broken when I bought it, although I can still get it to work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 3/2/2010 8:02:00 AM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This and the matching toner has seriously been my favorite natural brand finds of everything I have tried. On top of that I couldn't get enough of the amazing orange smell. However using them I realized I don't do well with Lavender which is their first ignredient. Why oh why lol!. No other Vitamin C products I have tried even begin to measure up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjenn on 2/27/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by cjenn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

So far so good, I love the heavenly orange scent of this wash and it doesn't seem to dry out my normal skin at all. I couldn't decide between this and the cleansing milk, but I think I made the right choice, as I prefer something that actually foams when washing my face. Seems to be a great product so far. Will update if I experience any adverse reactions like irritation or break outs.

Continues to be a great product after over a year of on and off use. Other vit c products have caused my skin irritation or redness, but this one is lovely and gentle, yet effective. The scent I could live on alone, it's wonderful.

Note: This was a review for the Facial Cleansing Gel, not the Cleansing Milk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xDOLLFACEx on 2/15/2010 5:39:00 PM more reviews by xDOLLFACEx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This worked okay for a while but now im starting to break out from it :(. Its also very drying and makes my skin flakey. Im surprised this didn't work for me cuz their vitamin c serum works great for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products