Avalon Organics Botanicals • Vitamin C Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(118 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clearady on 5/5/2010 3:59:00 AM more reviews by clearady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at a sale at my local Whole Foods and was anxious to try it as it is organic, and so far I've had tremendous fortune in natural skincare.

Little background: My skin is pretty oily, or at least was oily when I used many drugstore brands of cleansers. I always thought my problem skin was due to the fact of my diet, or my habits (hair not off my face, touching my face, not eating correclty). Well, needless to say, my skin was, and still is, tough. I've never been sensitive to anything. I've tried a lot of ridiculous things in my time, and feel as if I've treated my face as some people do to their hair. Damaging, while in attempts at making it more beautiful, or something it wasn't. I used St Ives horrible rough scrub, and many other harsh, chemical-ridden cleansers, then to top it off, i'd add the cherry of Benzoyl Peroxide, Retin-A, or Sacyclic Acid. My skin was always inflamed and always oily. I never understood why, and just blamed my stars/genes lol.
Now that I've transferred to organic type products, it has been working with my skin. not against it. no drying, no peeling, and a hell of a clearer complexion.
I was excited to try this. I wanted it to work since it's a lot cheaper than the other organic cleansers that i had luck with (Suki, Mychelle, Fresh, etc) and nearly half the price of the cheapest one I've had luck with (John Masters). As far as I can remember, despite all the harsh things I did to my skin, I never reacted horribly to a product.


This made my face itch so bad and a tad drying (even a bigger turnoff than the first to me). Based on these reviews, I'm not the only one that's had a reaction toward it, so I'd advise filling a sample plastic of it at your local Whole Foods, and then buying it at Walmart if you like it (since it's cheaper there). Still, I will never touch the bottle again. Kind of relieved in a way, since the packaging is quite an eye sore. Not a pretty bottle to have and to hold. lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlai08 on 3/17/2010 5:55:00 PM more reviews by jlai08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the third bottle of this. I love it. It washes out all my makeup...including eye makeup. (It is PH balanced so I don't worry about getting it too close to the eye area.) I love that it has Vit. C and antioxidants because most makeup removers don't provide them. I usually rub it on my face for more than 20-30 seconds so my skin has time to absorb the vitamins. Even though it is not listed as a makeup remover, I found that it is mild enough for my whole face. My face is totally refreshed and energized every evening. It is so clean for my night time regimen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 madisonelsewhere on 3/9/2010 2:13:00 PM more reviews by madisonelsewhere

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Nice simple cleanser for normal to oily skin. The smell is AMAZING and my skin is clear and bright. The pump on my first bottle was broken when I bought it, although I can still get it to work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 3/2/2010 8:02:00 AM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This and the matching toner has seriously been my favorite natural brand finds of everything I have tried. On top of that I couldn't get enough of the amazing orange smell. However using them I realized I don't do well with Lavender which is their first ignredient. Why oh why lol!. No other Vitamin C products I have tried even begin to measure up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjenn on 2/27/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by cjenn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

So far so good, I love the heavenly orange scent of this wash and it doesn't seem to dry out my normal skin at all. I couldn't decide between this and the cleansing milk, but I think I made the right choice, as I prefer something that actually foams when washing my face. Seems to be a great product so far. Will update if I experience any adverse reactions like irritation or break outs.

Continues to be a great product after over a year of on and off use. Other vit c products have caused my skin irritation or redness, but this one is lovely and gentle, yet effective. The scent I could live on alone, it's wonderful.

Note: This was a review for the Facial Cleansing Gel, not the Cleansing Milk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xDOLLFACEx on 2/15/2010 5:39:00 PM more reviews by xDOLLFACEx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This worked okay for a while but now im starting to break out from it :(. Its also very drying and makes my skin flakey. Im surprised this didn't work for me cuz their vitamin c serum works great for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beckhamlvr on 1/24/2010 3:03:00 AM more reviews by beckhamlvr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After trying the moisturizer, I decided to try the cleanser. I love it! I just use eye makeup remover to take off my eye makeup and this cleanser takes off all the rest of my makeup. Not a trace is left! Cleans very nicely but doesn't leave my face feeling dry or tight. I've only been using it less than a week but it seems to really be improving my skin! I'll update if anything changes but so far I highly recommend it.
UPDATE: I love this cleanser! My skin has completely changed. It's cleared up, and any discoloration is gone. It really get's my face clean. I've been using the toner and moisturizer too. I almost got discouraged there for while, because it did take a few months but it is 100% worth it! I think my face even got a little worse before it got better. This is a must try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 asaltzer on 1/21/2010 9:28:00 AM more reviews by asaltzer

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

have looked for cleansers up and down for a long time - this is one I've found that I think I'll stick with! Have been using for about 5 weeks and the pleasant smell makes me look forward to washing my face. I also think it has helped even out my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 joyfirend on 1/18/2010 10:47:00 PM more reviews by joyfirend

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

don't buy this if you have sensitive skin! i wanted to like this product so much. it smells nice and it stripped all the makeup off my face, even mascara and liquid eyeliner. after two days of using it, i noticed my skin was rashy. the third day, my face turned neon pink and felt like it was on fire! it gave me like a wierd chemical burn. terrible! the wierd thing is i gave it to my husband and he loves it. it's the only cleanser he'll use now. he doesn't have sensitive skin like mine. his is oily and slightly acne prone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AokiJ on 1/18/2010 8:53:00 PM more reviews by AokiJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Wow! what can i say??
so i have been after this product for a while. Its not that widely available worldwide and was tempted to buy from overseas, instead i waited.
and TADAH! i have the cleanser, toner and moisturiser with spf.
I tried this on my birthday in the shower, i had a lovely long shower and used 2 pea sizes of the cleanser on my face and neck. And the first thing i noticed was the lovely soothing satsuma orange fragrance, its not over powering its just lovely and refreshing! the second thing i noticed is that it lathers up straight away like a dream! making your face feel like a fluffy marshmallow! God i love this stuff! i think i'd be lost if avalon discontinued this :(! i have skin that is combination and get premenstrual and hormonal spots especially from stress, but The vitamin c line did not break me out, or make my spots worse!
So i definitely recommend this to anybody who has combination skin or skin that doesn't know whither its coming or going.
The ingredient list just puts a smile to my face, it has lots of essential vitamins, white tea, green tea and lovely lavender, camomile, essential oils and more! i could go on for ages about the vast natural ingredients but i wont!. This is a healthy product for somebody who is aware of the nasty ingredients in commercial facial products.
ive seen a good difference in my skin. just a bit before i was using a bit of peroxide benzoyl gel so my skin was peeling a lot! but using these products have helped calm my skin right down and after the peeling using the product has been making my skin feel so much more softer and radiant!
Amazing line, amazing brand.
Would continue buying even though it is quite expensive
if something is worth it it is worth it
Plus, clarins costs more and i have a lot of their toners, but this beats clarins :)

Get this girls!!! im ordering you lol!~~

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products