Ouidad • Climate Control Gel • Styling Products

rated 3.7(111 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theurbanhippie on 11/21/2007 10:18:00 AM more reviews by theurbanhippie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I know this is the HG for a lot of curly heads, but this stuff just doesn't work for me. I've tried it on and off over the years, and I must be doing something wrong. It makes my scalp itch and leaves my curls with the weirdest texture and feel, almost like plastic. I have better results using drugstore gel or mousse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mldavis79 on 6/28/2007 4:23:00 PM more reviews by mldavis79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I know a lot of people rave about this product, but I just don't get it. I wanted to like this gel, I really did, but it just didn't work for me. Every time I used it, it seemed like my hair just wouldn't dry. It left my curls super crunchy and they appeared "wet" all day long. It definitely cured the frizz, but that's only b/c my hair was extremely hard. Who knows, maybe I applied the gel all wrong?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Poohbear9796 on 5/16/2007 3:48:00 PM more reviews by Poohbear9796

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have thick, coarse, very curly hair. An ex-coworker of mine told me about Ouidad, and I am absolutely indebted to her. I have been using Ouidad's products for 7 years and will not even think about using anything else. I started with the this product and from there started with the "Tame" line of products. I briefly tried the "Quench" line, but found that the "Tame" line worked much better for my curls. It did, however, take at least 2 months of continuous use of the shampoo and conditioner before I saw a dramatic results. For me, this is it!!!! Wonder if anyone has gone to one of Ouidad's salons and gotten the "Carving & Slicing"? Let me know, I'd be interested to know how it came out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kim38 on 5/10/2007 2:13:00 PM more reviews by kim38

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wasn't sure if I was going to like this product and I was afraid that it might weigh down my fine, thin curls, but it didn't at all. This is a really great product for naturally curly hair. I have absolutely no frizz whatsoever. This product does exactly what it says it will. It really works - so paying the extra $$$ doesn't bother me, because I have wasted so much money in the past on products that don't do as they claim. I will continue to buy this product and recommend it. It is especially good now that the weather is getting really humid. You should definitely try this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kkt1210 on 4/5/2007 12:01:00 PM more reviews by kkt1210

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

generally not too impressed. did strange things to my hair and i suspect it's given me, on multiple occasions, some kind of bizzare irritation on my forehead and sides of face. not the worst stuff, but for the price, should have been much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rida on 6/26/2006 11:59:00 PM more reviews by Rida

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure about the frizz control of this product but for those who wanna where a straight style this is an excellent heat protector. It gives the hair an unbelievable shine and it feels like silk when your done styling. I love it for straight styles, as a hair gel for wet stlyes it doesnt do very much for me. This was why I originally bought the product, to wear my hair wet and give the waves some definition but it's just not for my hair type when it comes to that. I was happy to see that the directions also let you know that it was a dual purpose product, so for those of you with curly hair that wanna go straight sometimes, and/or didnt like this product for your curls, give it a try for your straight styles. You might be pleased.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tmccray2 on 4/29/2006 2:12:00 PM more reviews by tmccray2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Nothing can beat the performance of this product for my naturally curly hair. I first use Balancing Rinse as a leave-in, and follow with this. It does have a wet or crunchy look when it first dries, but you're going to get this with almost any curl enhancing product. I just run my hands over it in the ponytail method, and I get the best soft bouncy spiral curls I've ever been able to achieve with any other products... and I'm a product junkie.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lgrieco on 3/15/2006 9:53:00 AM more reviews by Lgrieco

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have coarse hair that I get chemically relaxed. I normally blowdry and flat iron/curl iron. Whenever I need to give it a break I let it air dry, and it turns very curly/nappy. This gel gives my hair control. A little goes a long way. I apply it mostly to the ends, otherwise I find that it weighs my hair down too much. But it really does keep the frizzies away! I like to mix in a little glossing serum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmnixa on 12/13/2005 4:30:00 PM more reviews by pmnixa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a staple for me, probably my favorite hair product. I can't live without it even in the winter when it's not humid. I use a diffuser to dry my curls so it helps my hair stay soft and not frizzy. I follow this product with Paul Mitchell Styling Foam.

Recently I tried mixing this gel with the Ouidad Shine Hair Glaze (just a small amount) and I really like that combo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 snissie on 10/8/2005 8:36:00 PM more reviews by snissie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this product but it took a little experimentation to get the results I wanted. Applied alone, it is far too stiff and crunchy. I mix it with the Tress F/X gel and/or the Curl Quencher gel. I apply only a little of this to the ends, since I don't like stuck-together ends, and I apply more of it at the root area, where I like more definition since my fine hair tends to go flat and limp at the top. I bought the professional-size bottle over a year ago and I still haven't run out, so it's a pretty good value if used sensibly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ouidad products

More Styling Products products