Physicians Formula • Matte Collection Quad Eye Shadow in Canyon Classic • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(126 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 dpav on 11/11/2009 1:28:00 PM more reviews by dpav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:

* it's totally matte (just as being told in the name). There are too many shimmery e/s in the market already. Sometimes, you just want a total matte one

* silky and smooth application

* reasonably priced

* nice package ( sturdier package than a lot of drugstore e/s package)


Cons:

* can't think of any right now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rubybreath on 11/5/2009 1:09:00 PM more reviews by Rubybreath

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my absolute favorite eye shadows. Completely matte and superb for blending. It's amazing how inexpensive it is as well. Honestly, I like this quad and the nudes quad better than most of the eye shadows on the market. It's very hard to find truly matte eye shadow without shimmer or shine and with good quality. This is a true gem of a product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 helyli on 9/27/2009 4:24:00 AM more reviews by helyli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I would like the shadow to be more finely milled or somewhat creamier, but for the price, this quad is great. It's really hard to find matte eyeshadow quads, but this quad has good color coordination and good quality. I can't speak to creasing since almost no eyeshadow creases on me, but lasting power is pretty good, much better with TFSI, but it only fades a bit without. The darkest shade is also perfect for my brows (I have black hair but am fair-skinned) The packaging is not too pretty, but useful. I like having the mirror for emergencies.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nnalie on 8/10/2009 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Nnalie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Fantastic, usable every day. Okay; I'm fair skinned caucasian and the nude/cauc-skin colored eye shadows in this are a great base to help cover up little veins and stuff to make your color shadow show up better. If you have over glittered or over colored your eyelid and would rather not wipe it all off, this can tone it down for you perfectly. Also, the gray is very nice to give you a slightly dressy/formal look that works with a little black dress and a t-shirt alike. The packaging is very high quality, although I apply with a brush, especially for a drug-store brand. Love this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meriel65 on 6/27/2009 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Meriel65

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to write a review--a great one--for this product in hopes that it would inspire others to go out and buy it, the company would see that the product sells, and they therefore would never discontinue it. So, here I go. I agree the packaging is bare bones, not luxury. But since eyeshadow compacts eventually get thrown away, unless they can be refilled, I don't want the bulk of my money going towards packaging. The mirror is a bit too small to be useful, the applicators adequate. But I figure, if you are reading MakeupAlley reviews, you probably have better brushes and mirrors anyway. That said, this is a great matte eyeshadow, with good color coordination of the four colors. There is a cream or vanilla color, two mid-range brown shades, one a bit warmer with a hint of orange, one a more neutral to cool brown, and the darkest shade is a deep greyed brown. This palette is great for a classic eye design for women with warm to neutral complextions. I don't know how well this would work on a truly cool complexion. It might not have enough pink to liven up the eye. So, be aware of that. The shadows are pigmented enough to suit darker skin tones, too, I think. They are finely milled, apply easily and also blend well. These shadows easily equal or exceed the quality of far more expensive shadows, and are a real value. Shimmer is best left to the youthful and the unlined eyelids of said youth. Matte is more versatile anyway; you can always dress up a matte eye with a touch of highlight somewhere, and this would work well with that extra bit for a more glamorous look. You can use the darkest shade dry or wet to line the eyes, it is sufficiently dark and pigmented. I have dark ash brown hair, now with a good deal of grey in my hair and also coming out in my brows. Sigh. But I have never found a better color to use on my brows, to fill in some thinner spots. I have thought to send a few shavings of the color to Three Custom Color and have it custom made into a large pan, I love the color so much. Maybe when I get my next tax return. I've tried to match the color at the MAC, Bobbi Brown, Lancome, Prescriptives and other colors and they just don't have it. It is a truly neutral color and just perfect. Drugstore makeup can be fabulous--you just have to know what to pick. If you want the classic matte eye, to shape and shade and look very pulled together, this is a true must have and a bargain to boot--if you use one of the coupons that Ulta comes out with frequently, it is just criminally inexpensive for a great product. Enjoy!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rholynn on 4/3/2009 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Rholynn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great quad!

I used the beige color on my entire lid, used the light brown (one of the two, they're pretty similar in color) on my outer V into the crease, and for an added pop I put a light wash of a UD Peace up and around/a little bit over the crease...and for the browbone I used UD SIN. Lined my waterline with a random white liner. Finished off with mascara and and my elf felt tip black liner.

It came out really pretty, sounds like a lot of work but it really wasn't. Oh and I use the grey color on my brow, just wet it down a bit with MAC studio fix so it'd darken up the pigment a bit.

Nothing special about the packaging, but that's why its less expensive, which is A-OK with me, and it was around 6 bucks or so...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 incoehoots on 4/3/2009 11:09:00 AM more reviews by incoehoots

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is absolutely awesome. The colors are good, but the staying power OMG! I was tired of creasing and having that oily look! Also my color was seeping.
I read the reviews here and looked at it at drugstore twice before buying it. I took the plunge when I was having no luck even with primer. This lasts all day until you take it off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cerecita on 3/25/2009 4:46:00 PM more reviews by cerecita

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

first time I used it, I didnt like it...

couple of months later, I find out I do!

this is really natural looking and it doesnt crease after many hours, it actually stays put better then my favourite PF mineral duo....and even looks more natural then the PF mineral duo..I'm using this alot more and ditching the mineral duo.....looks like this is gonna be my new HG...

I really love the 3rd lightest brown, perfect.
and all the other colors are perfect, the lightest shade, highlight...the darker colors , in the crease or use as a liner...all the colors have a purpose...

i'm liking this more and more!....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Baiju on 3/10/2009 more reviews by Baiju

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I know that everyone loves this one. I found this one make me look muddy. It is also difficult to get the color on the skin, very dry, chalky, and hard to blend. I may try it again. For now, I just try to stay away from the browns.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zepgirl6 on 2/26/2009 11:21:00 AM more reviews by zepgirl6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this eyeshadow i use it almost on a daily basis...i love the lightest shade for a highlight..the colors are different but really nice and matte...its just really pretty and natural...i love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Eye Shadow products