Physicians Formula • Matte Collection Quad Eye Shadow in Canyon Classic • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(129 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* labu on 2/5/2010 9:23:00 PM more reviews by labu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

These are my HG eyeshadows for so many reasons, and I say eyeshadowS plural (not referring to the entire quad) because the shadows are so blendable and neutral that each can be used individually with so many other colors. First of all, the formula is extremely smooth, like velvet, it's incredible, which makes for smooth application and a really nice, soft finish. Also, the colors are neutral and skin toned, yet highly pigmented. I find that whether I put an eyeshadow base or just apply them on my nude skin, they leave a nice finish either way that is basically my own skin but better. The colors go together great as a quad, or, like I said, used with other shadows. They're super versatile because you can switch which colors you use on the lash line, lid, in the crease, etc. to make for different looks that are appropriate for a variety of occasions, from the simple and casual to more elegant... yes, elegant, because I believe matte looks are very classy, and these are the best matte shadows with absolutely no shimmer, sparkle, shine or frost that I've ever used. In other words, this one quad makes for numerous looks. The applicator is pretty decent and works better than the generic ones that come with most drug store eyeshadows, although using a brush is far better. Don't expect to get super dramatic or highly pigmented looks with these shadows, but do expect to get soft, smooth, pleasant-toned eyes. The taupe colors, by the way, are PERFECT for blending and for soft transitions between crease colors and highlight colors at the brow. My skin tone is warm/yellow, and these work perfect. The package is sleek and thin, perfect for storage or packing away without taking up too much space. I can't believe this thing sells at the price it does (under $7), it's a steal in my book and well worth every penny.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shiaobundan on 2/2/2010 12:26:00 AM more reviews by shiaobundan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

To start off, I'm used to using MAC, UD, Lancome, Stila every day. I almost NEVER wear d/s eyeshadows.

That said, this quad is FABULOUS. The color shows up perfectly fine on me (I'm NC30, which is a lighter medium tone) and I LOVE how soft, matte and easy to blend they are. The gray in this palette can also be layered on for a subtle, smokey look. I find that as long as I have Carbon or Black Tied by MAC (or even a dark brown, dark maroon from any other higher end brand) I have EVERYTHING I need for a classic smokey eye or a night out. Basically this quad is versatile enough for everyday where, but can be dressed up simply with one more dark color for more drama.

Would definitely buy if I ran out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 1somthinsouthern on 1/26/2010 8:16:00 PM more reviews by 1somthinsouthern

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoy this palette. It's a no fuss, takes out the guess work of choosing colors and it blends beautifully. For a drug store eyeshadow, this is really top notch for an everyday, weekend, whenever look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dpav on 11/11/2009 1:28:00 PM more reviews by dpav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:

* it's totally matte (just as being told in the name). There are too many shimmery e/s in the market already. Sometimes, you just want a total matte one

* silky and smooth application

* reasonably priced

* nice package ( sturdier package than a lot of drugstore e/s package)


Cons:

* can't think of any right now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rubybreath on 11/5/2009 1:09:00 PM more reviews by Rubybreath

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my absolute favorite eye shadows. Completely matte and superb for blending. It's amazing how inexpensive it is as well. Honestly, I like this quad and the nudes quad better than most of the eye shadows on the market. It's very hard to find truly matte eye shadow without shimmer or shine and with good quality. This is a true gem of a product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 helyli on 9/27/2009 4:24:00 AM more reviews by helyli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I would like the shadow to be more finely milled or somewhat creamier, but for the price, this quad is great. It's really hard to find matte eyeshadow quads, but this quad has good color coordination and good quality. I can't speak to creasing since almost no eyeshadow creases on me, but lasting power is pretty good, much better with TFSI, but it only fades a bit without. The darkest shade is also perfect for my brows (I have black hair but am fair-skinned) The packaging is not too pretty, but useful. I like having the mirror for emergencies.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nnalie on 8/10/2009 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Nnalie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Fantastic, usable every day. Okay; I'm fair skinned caucasian and the nude/cauc-skin colored eye shadows in this are a great base to help cover up little veins and stuff to make your color shadow show up better. If you have over glittered or over colored your eyelid and would rather not wipe it all off, this can tone it down for you perfectly. Also, the gray is very nice to give you a slightly dressy/formal look that works with a little black dress and a t-shirt alike. The packaging is very high quality, although I apply with a brush, especially for a drug-store brand. Love this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meriel65 on 6/27/2009 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Meriel65

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to write a review--a great one--for this product in hopes that it would inspire others to go out and buy it, the company would see that the product sells, and they therefore would never discontinue it. So, here I go. I agree the packaging is bare bones, not luxury. But since eyeshadow compacts eventually get thrown away, unless they can be refilled, I don't want the bulk of my money going towards packaging. The mirror is a bit too small to be useful, the applicators adequate. But I figure, if you are reading MakeupAlley reviews, you probably have better brushes and mirrors anyway. That said, this is a great matte eyeshadow, with good color coordination of the four colors. There is a cream or vanilla color, two mid-range brown shades, one a bit warmer with a hint of orange, one a more neutral to cool brown, and the darkest shade is a deep greyed brown. This palette is great for a classic eye design for women with warm to neutral complextions. I don't know how well this would work on a truly cool complexion. It might not have enough pink to liven up the eye. So, be aware of that. The shadows are pigmented enough to suit darker skin tones, too, I think. They are finely milled, apply easily and also blend well. These shadows easily equal or exceed the quality of far more expensive shadows, and are a real value. Shimmer is best left to the youthful and the unlined eyelids of said youth. Matte is more versatile anyway; you can always dress up a matte eye with a touch of highlight somewhere, and this would work well with that extra bit for a more glamorous look. You can use the darkest shade dry or wet to line the eyes, it is sufficiently dark and pigmented. I have dark ash brown hair, now with a good deal of grey in my hair and also coming out in my brows. Sigh. But I have never found a better color to use on my brows, to fill in some thinner spots. I have thought to send a few shavings of the color to Three Custom Color and have it custom made into a large pan, I love the color so much. Maybe when I get my next tax return. I've tried to match the color at the MAC, Bobbi Brown, Lancome, Prescriptives and other colors and they just don't have it. It is a truly neutral color and just perfect. Drugstore makeup can be fabulous--you just have to know what to pick. If you want the classic matte eye, to shape and shade and look very pulled together, this is a true must have and a bargain to boot--if you use one of the coupons that Ulta comes out with frequently, it is just criminally inexpensive for a great product. Enjoy!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rholynn on 4/3/2009 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Rholynn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great quad!

I used the beige color on my entire lid, used the light brown (one of the two, they're pretty similar in color) on my outer V into the crease, and for an added pop I put a light wash of a UD Peace up and around/a little bit over the crease...and for the browbone I used UD SIN. Lined my waterline with a random white liner. Finished off with mascara and and my elf felt tip black liner.

It came out really pretty, sounds like a lot of work but it really wasn't. Oh and I use the grey color on my brow, just wet it down a bit with MAC studio fix so it'd darken up the pigment a bit.

Nothing special about the packaging, but that's why its less expensive, which is A-OK with me, and it was around 6 bucks or so...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 incoehoots on 4/3/2009 11:09:00 AM more reviews by incoehoots

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is absolutely awesome. The colors are good, but the staying power OMG! I was tired of creasing and having that oily look! Also my color was seeping.
I read the reviews here and looked at it at drugstore twice before buying it. I took the plunge when I was having no luck even with primer. This lasts all day until you take it off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Eye Shadow products