Revlon • Colorburst Lip Butter - Berry Smoothie • Lipstick

rated 4.2(161 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 spacecowgirlredux on 5/8/2013 4:12:00 PM more reviews by spacecowgirlredux

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have medium/deep berry pink pigmented lips, and this shade just makes them look slightly redder. I'm beginning to lose enthusiasm for the Colorburst Lip Butters - they hardly add any pigment to my lips, yet are incredibly drying. I have to wear them over lightly blotted balm, which means they don't stick around any longer than plain old balm/gloss. Anyway, this shade also has some tiny colorless sparkles, but nothing I notice except on the tissue/napkin after wiping my mouth. Has a very slight vanilla scent. The very pretty tube is a giant pain in the ass to open, almost impossible if you've used lotion recently, thereby adding a significant annoyance to my morning. Colorburst Lip Butters are fine if you want a formality to make you feel like you're putting on and wearing lipstick, especially with the posh-looking packaging, but you can find better tinted balms (NYX Lip Spa) and l/s (NYX Black Label) at the same price point or lower.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dolcefan on 5/2/2013 5:30:00 PM more reviews by dolcefan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I generally like lip butters....and I used to really love this shade. It was my go-to summer color last year. I don't know what happened, but lately I don't love it anymore. All of a sudden its shimmer and the shade of pink look retro and tacky on me (I've seen swatches on others which don't look anything like this). The color is cooler than I originally thought and I won't be buying this one again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dlittlegarden on 4/30/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by dlittlegarden

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This color isn't quite what I was hoping for -- it's a lot cooler toned than I expected and it has like a silvery glitter in it, which really cheapens the color in my opinion. Also the glitter makes the lip butter appear chunky if you swipe more than once across your lips. I also noticed that after wearing for about an hour, my lips were gross and pasty and/or stringy in some areas.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertrose08 on 4/20/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by desertrose08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was a little apprehensive buying this color because I thought it would be a deep purple that I wouldn't be able to wear every day but it's actually a lot more wearable than I expected! On me, Berry Smoothie is just a shade or two deeper than my natural lip color and is a flattering pinky plum. I love how moisturizing the formula is and how it doesn't settle in my lip lines at all. I would say that this and Sweet Tart are my favorite of the lip butters I have tried so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jhulagurl on 4/15/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Jhulagurl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

LOVE this color. It is a very pretty mauve/pink color. It isn't too bright, so its a perfect everyday color. I have blue eyes and light blonde hair and this really brightens up my face and brings out my eyes. It also very hydrating to the lips and makes them look fuller. I only wish this lasted longer on the lips, since it tends to wear off VERY QUICKLY. Otherwise, I adore the color : )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amycarys97 on 4/3/2013 5:33:00 AM more reviews by amycarys97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is definitely my favourite of the lip butters. I love berry colours and this one doesn't disappoint. Along with the other shades, this is very creamy and moisturising and ridiculously easy to apply. It's quite sheer at first but is very buildable - I normally just sweep one layer on as I like sheer lip colours. I've purchased another shade called Sugar Frosting in the past and I have no idea why, but it MELTED. Yep, melted. I live in the UK for god's sake and it actually fell apart in the packaging. I haven't seen anyone else have this problem so it might have just been me, but be careful anyway :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashcarole on 3/25/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by ashcarole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is nice but it isn't the best lip butter out there. I had heard about this product from a beauty guru I watch on YouTube. After watching her video I went out and bought this lip butter in Berry Smoothie. I loved the color but thought it would have been a little lighter, not a darker berry color. When I put it on it wasn't that smooth or soft. When I rubbed my lips together I felt little specks of glitter. I absolutely HATE that. If they're naming it a lip butter it should be soft, but it wasn't. I loved the packaging, it was chic and extremely cute. The color didn't last very long, I kept having to reapply every so often because it would dry up. The only reason I'd ever purchase this again would be to try other colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yoshiii on 3/20/2013 3:39:00 AM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love, love, love Berry Smoothie!! It's such a pretty pink color and probably would work with most skintones. Even though this is a lip balm, it provides enough pigment as a lipstick. The color is a bit sheer, but still work-appropriate (it's pretty easy to just use less product to tone down the shininess).


I loved my Clinique Chubby Stick in Mega Melon, but thought it had little product for the value. So I am so happy to find a dupe that is almost 1/3 of the price when on sale (yet, I do disclaim that if MM comes out coral pink on you, Berry S prob won't look the same). Although people complain that lipbutters do not have enough product and only last a couple of months, chubby stick also doesn't have much product for the cost either, but is way more expensive.


Lipbutters are great, because the product last for a few hours and doesn't have any sticky feel to it (stickiness is why I avoid most lipglosses). It may dry your lips slightly when it wears off, but I think this is best avoided if you just don't apply it every hour or two (you shouldn't need to anyway). Plus, the dryness feeling will happen with frequent overapplication of any lipbalm/lipgloss, anyway.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarah1325 on 3/5/2013 12:18:00 PM more reviews by Sarah1325

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this colour. Its a sparkley medium pink. I just wish it was more hydrating but I love the thick texture and its easy to apply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoriajane89 on 3/1/2013 3:24:00 PM more reviews by Victoriajane89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This colour really suits my skin tone. It is relatively sheer but quite pigmented. It is glossy as well. It is a pinky brown neutral colour. Similar to benefits rocket pop. Great for the price and will definitely be trying out the other colours! Has good lasting power for a balm lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products