Revlon • Photoready 3D Volume • Mascara

rated 3.6(180 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Missyboo1287 on 6/14/2013 12:06:00 PM more reviews by Missyboo1287

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only mascara I have ever tried where one tiny coat makes my lashes look huge. I like to use it when I am in a rush because its very dark and makes my lashes full and long with one coat. However, it does NOT hold a curl no matter what I do which is so frustrating because when I curl my lashes and use this it looks beautiful, but the curl falls out right away. It also flakes a little onto my under eye area. Otherwise I love this brush and the way it makes my lashes look for the first 5 min haha. I still reach for it though when I am in a rush but it doesn't hold curl like say, covergirl lash blast waterproof or l'oreal voluminous million lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 drbrn_grl on 6/3/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by drbrn_grl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

As we all do, I've been on the search for a great mascara. I love the way the Cover Girl Clump Crusher looks on my lashes -- but it flakes after a very short time. So the search continues.

I bought this (the waterproof version) on an impulse purchase. I think CVS was doing a buy 1, get 1 at 50% off on Revlon a few weeks ago. I used the mascara several times and just thought it was okay, but nothing special.

Until today -- I had a meeting in the morning and used this. Came home and spent time working outside (cutting the lawn, weeding, etc.) The temperature outside was comfortable (high 50s) but it was full sun and I got plenty sweaty in no time.

This stuff didn't budge. It didn't flake, smear or smudge. I was kind of astonished. It even kept the curl in my lashes. I also ended up watching the end of a sad movie while I was eating my lunch and shed a few tears. It did smudge a bit, but probably I would be the only one who would notice since it was so minor.

I will say that I'm blessed with dark, fairly full lashes, so I'm not looking for a lot in a mascara. I just want my eyelashes but better. For me, this gives just the right amount of volume and length. However, for someone who wanted more than that, I can't say how this would work.

I am also a contact lens wearer and this has never irritated my eyes in any way.

Glad I kept using it to see how much it really works. :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katesheep on 6/3/2013 1:28:00 AM more reviews by Katesheep

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara is the best one I've ever tried. It was on discount at Myer because I had purchased other revlon items and I decided to give it a go. It separates my lashes and doesn't clump, I like a very natural look and this does just that but it is buildable. I may or may not buy it again because I think it's overpriced for a mascara, it'll depend if I feel like splurging or not hahaha

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IrynaHarpy on 6/2/2013 1:13:00 AM more reviews by IrynaHarpy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this as a freebie with purchases made at Chemist Warehouse (actually, my husband got it as I would have just told them to save it for someone who actually wanted it). I would never have purchased this mascara for two reasons: I use waterproof or water-resistant mascara exclusively due to dribble-eye; the only products Revlon have ever been any good at are foundations & powders.

I couldn't resist trying it because of the brush and was really pleasantly surprised. I've always favoured comb-style applicators for mascara because they're the best at coating every lash & building for length & volume while keeping the lashes separated & avoiding fibre buildup sticking out in every direction except upwards. Admittedly, I've tried the L'Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes in waterproof which has the same style of brush but is a disaster due to the formula - the fibres adhere to each other and build on themselves so you end up with a fan of ragtaggle lashes springing halfway out of each other like twiggy bushes.

No, it doesn't build volume, only length. I usually like to go ballistic and build up several layers to produce volume. Try that with this mascara and you'll have spider legs (albeit straight, unclumped spider legs) past the top of your eyebrows... and I have short lashes! I decided to try for a mere 3 layers today and they're very, very long without looking scruffy, but there's no volume worth noting.

This is my fourth or fifth use and I still haven't experienced any fallout or panda eyes as others have noted. It's a Sunday & I've only done my usual cleansing & moisturising: I have oily skin around my eyes and T-zone &haven't got anything else on other than a bit of lipstick (no primers on face or eyes; no foundation; no setting powder).

Yes, I wear contacts but this mascara hasn't caused any irritation or dropped pieces into my eyes to lodge under them. I wear reading glasses but, if I'm going for long, long lashes I perch them just beneath my nose as any lengthening mascaras are going to catch and flake (or, at the least, be really annoying brushing against the lens, just as false eyelashes would drive me batty if I wore my glasses close to them).

What I DON'T like about 3D Volume is that the tiniest bit of watering from the eyes whips it straight off. You can't even do a quick blot with a tissue and keep your eye open until it dries out and resets: it's gone virtually immediately. This is strange considering that it managed to withstand humidity, oiliness and sweaty conditions on other days I experimented with it.

I'd almost be tempted to try out the waterproof version but many years of experience with Revlon mascaras has taught me that they're shockers to remove. I use good waterproof eyemakeup removers that don't have any problems dissolving any other brand of waterproof mascara. Revlon waterproof mascaras require inordinate amounts of remover, cleansing and tugging at the delicate skin around the eyes to remove. Even then, they always leave a bit of residue you didn't know was there until you wake up the following morning only to discover dark patches directly under the lower lashes.

WHO WOULD IT BE GOOD FOR? It'd be a very good mascara for someone who doesn't have problems with watery eyes and has short lashes with a bit of volume in the first instance. It really does create length and great everyday lashes that don't look like clumps of mascara - all this in moments. Seriously, two layers really does the trick & I think we all love as many quick and failproof cosmetics to cut down our everyday makeup routines. I haven't tried it with eyelash primer as it isn't a keeper for me simply because it isn't waterproof, but that might just be the clincher for volume.

WHAT DO I REALLY LOVE ABOUT IT? I LOVE the brush. IT'S A KEEPER! Why are we moving back to the fat, clumsy brushes that slather mascara over our eyelashes quickly but just create clumpy messes? I don't care whether they're curved, straight or any other variation on the theme because they all create messy lashes. I'm keeping this brush to use as part of my lash comb and disposable wand collection. It's going to be much faster to separate a clump than grabbing a comb and working out which way it should be facing. By the time I work it out, the clump has dried too much to do anything other than try to comb it out, thereby yanking at the lashes.

PS I don't give mascaras more that 4 lippies simply because I've never found one that really performs the way I'd like it do.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 5/24/2013 1:21:00 PM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this on a whim at Walmart mainly because it is waterproof. It did nothing for my lashes other than tint them a light black. Waste of $8.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cailee on 5/23/2013 10:12:00 PM more reviews by Cailee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Even when I don't wear my glasses, this always, without fail, smudges and flakes onto my upper eyelid and beneath my eyes before I even make it out the door. Sometimes it transfers onto my CHEEKS. It's a nice consistency (a little wet of a formula, but nothing too drastic; it was VERY thin when I first opened the tube, and hardly any deposited onto the brush, but it's thickened up a bit, and the perfect amount is dispersed onto the brush now) and it does give my lashes nice separation and length. I like the square packaging and the brush IS quite similar to the Benefit They're Real brush. However, I can NEVER keep this stuff on my lashes, and my lashes ONLY, without it flaking off in less than 10 minutes! The regular Photoready 3D and the waterproof version were on sale at my local grocery store for $2 and some change, but...I didn't read reviews on it first, and I'm now regretting that, because that's 2 bucks down the drain....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jaseyrae on 5/18/2013 3:00:00 AM more reviews by jaseyrae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this hoping it would be a dupe for Benefit's They're Real, as the wands are very similar.
I like this mascara but do not like it enough to repurchase.
It gives good volume and separation, but the bristles on the wand poke my eyes at the base of my lashes and it is a little uncomfortable.
This also flakes on me after I wear it for a long period of time.
If I scratch or rub my eye/eyelid/lashes at all it flakes too.
This also smudges on me when I wear a hydrating under eye concealer.
Not a bad mascara, but I didn't love it.
There are better drugstore mascaras for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattiekins05 on 5/1/2013 6:55:00 AM more reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am a mascara fanatic... let me tell you. so i am rather picky when it comes down to me loving a mascara. Did i love this product? For a drug store mascara, YES. I am not a huge fan of revlon make-up because I think that its a bit over-priced (for being in a drug store), but after reading some reviews I thought I would give it a go. At Ulta, almost all of their revlon make up was buy one get one 50% off- a huge find ig your looking to try something new but dont want to pay full price. As a matter of fact, cover girl and lorel were also buy one get one 50% off, and they allowed me to mix and match brands- so I bought my staple makeup and tried a few new products at half off. When shopping at Ulta, they tell you that you are not able to mix and match, but if you read the cupon/advertisment- it says that you are able to (just a little heads up, for those that shop at Ulta). The pros about the mascara: I loved the bottle, and more importantly loved thr mascara wand. It was rather small and pliable/bendable. It made it really easy to get those itty bitty lashes, and those in the corners without covering your eyes and face with mascara. The brush bends so when you take it out of the tube, you can easily tilt it and adjust the amount of product you want on the wand. This is a must for me because i want more product when applying to my top lashes and less with the bottom... so it was easy to make the adjustment. I love that it comes in numerous colors (most of them in store, but a few I found were online only). You can get it in different shades of black, blue and brown- for those who want a spicific match, or others who want to try something new... I always hated that most of the brands that sell the funky colors of mascara usually suck, either i hate the wand, or the consistency of the product doesnt work well. I wish that blues and burgandys would always be a staple for colors of mascara, but this is the first mainstream brand that I have come across that has some edgy colors. I loved the consistency of the product, that it was right in the middle of not too thick, not too thin. It was easy to get the perfect amount on the wand, and onto my lashes without clumping and drying too fast. I love that it was so easy to build with this mascara, depending upon how dramatic you want your look to be. With that being said, after applying one layer, i got good length and a reasonable amount of volume. This mascara would work well for your everyday, but I use something with more volume and drama for nightime. Overall, this was very solid, and after a few days of using it- I will be purchasing it again after I run out. I will reccomend this product to anyone who is looking for your everyday mascara wear and use- looking for a mascara that gives you more of a natural look. If you looking for a mascara that will give you more of a falsies appearance- I would look for something else..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MakeupAddiction93 on 5/1/2013 6:10:00 AM more reviews by MakeupAddiction93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I didn't really find this mascara that great at all, I honestly wanted to like it but I found that it transfered onto my lids and under my eyes REALLY badly I did like the brush because it was easy to get all the little lashes especially the bottom ones but I found that the brush didn't get swiped enough on the way out of the bottle, leaving it with wayy too much product. I didn't find that it made my lashes much longer (thicker, yes but also a little clumpy) and it was very hard to get off even with a high end eye makeup remover. Have given this to my sister, hopefully she will like it as much as some of the other reviewers (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 4/19/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Claims - True or False?
1) Big volume lashes with two coats: True
2) Easily reach every single lash for maximum dimension: True

Packaging:
My first experience with Revlon mascaras and I'd say the packaging gets a solid average rating. Points for being a very basic, simple, classic design. The handle and length of the wand are on the shorter side but I find that this does not affect application. The tube is square, which I actually love because it is easy to set down on your counter without it rolling around everywhere. The opening of the tube however.. it's basically a cavern. Huge opening which does not help to grab onto extra product on the brush. The brush is plastic and is fairly long - probably about an inch - and straight.There are a lot of little skinny teeth which cover the whole surface of the brush, including the tip. The brush picks up a LOT of product, mostly at both ends of the brush.

Formula:
On the wetter side but closer to being a good medium wetness, so it doesn't dry too quickly but isn't wet on the lashes for ages (which can cause my lashes to start sticking together). I got the shade Blackest Black and it looks quite black without being harsh on my lashes. When applied properly, the formula is fairly lightweight and seems to work pretty well with curled lashes, although weighs it down when over-applied. No strong scent, very easy to remove.

Performance:
This mascara gives me AMAZING length, separation, and nice volume without being clumpy... but excess needs to be removed from the brush in order to get this result. I thoroughly dab the tip into the back of my hand, then roll the whole brush over my hand a few times, and then squish the bottom of the brush onto my hand over the whole circumference. This takes about 5 seconds to do overall , then the mascara is ready to be applied. To apply, I then comb it through my lashes, slightly rotating the brush as I comb (mostly for the roots). Once most of the lashes have some product on them I just continue to comb. Using this method of application gives me very long, defined, separated, natural lashes in one coat; a second coat gives me the desired volume without clumps or losing the separation. The second coat is also applied after removing excess from the brush and gets combed through only. I used the brush vertically (using the end of the brush) to get to the very inner and the tips of the outer lashes, and also to help make sure the outer lashes are 100% separated. No smudging or smearing, no flaking, and it feels comfortable on my lashes. If I apply it straight from the tube I get quite clumpy and non-separated lashes, and it feels uncomfortable at my lash roots. I've worn this overnight as well, and I actually had it on for almost 2 days and there was almost no flaking other than on the side I slept most on.

Bang for your Buck:
Around $11CAD for 10ml at Shoppers Drug Mart. I've not checked other retailers but I'm sure it'd be a bit cheaper at other locations. It's less than CoverGirl mascaras in amount given and a bit more expensive, but not too much more expensive to be a bother to me.

Final Consensus:
Not a mascara to use if you like to get your lashes done very quickly, but very much worth trying if you will take the time to remove excess product and apply two coats. I've not used it for a very long time, but so far I'm thinking that it may turn into my go-to mascara.
* Overall Rating: 4.5/5
* Price: 2/5
* Packaging Quality: 3/5
* Repurchase: Yes

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Mascara products