Illamasqua • Skin Base foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(129 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Chinadoll3 on 11/3/2012 11:05:00 AM more reviews by Chinadoll3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ahhh, I want to love this foundation so badly after spending almost 30 on it, but i just cant! I have oily skin, and although this claims to suit all skin types it just creates an oily mess on me that turns cakey when i blot with powder and is removed all together with a blotting sheet. The MA at the counter matched me with shade 5 and i think this is slightly too dark and pink/orange toned for my skin (around NW15/20 in MAC) I am really disappointed. I have been applying with a real techniques stippling brush, but i will try with a sigma F82 and update. I dont use a primer and i set with rimmel stay matte, and this will last less then 5/6 hours. The finish is gorgeous, dewy and light, whilst providing medium coverage, if only it were more long lasting and held its own against oil then i'd love it. This will probably become an evening foundation only - although this does photograph VERY shiny, even with powder, i dont think it has an spf though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sammie1990 on 10/29/2012 6:39:00 PM more reviews by Sammie1990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

After so much hype around this foundation I decided to give it ago!
In the UK this is 27 so not by any means cheap but not as much as much as the Chanel Matt Lumiere I used (and loved!) previously.

I initially bought this product in shade 8 on the advice of the SA. When I returned home I really liked the finish but the colour was just too pink for me. I decided to buy it again in shade 7.5 and it is now too yellow!

I do like the finish on the foundation although some may think it is a little 'flat'. I would say that when it is applied it is more of a matte finish. I like this the best when it has been on for about an hour as it looks slightly more dewy, however this does not last the whole day. As a teacher I do not always have time to touch up my makeup but if I don't with this by the end of the day it is an oily mess.

Overall it is an okay foundation but nothing to rave about.
I am still searching for a foundation that can replace my discontinued Chanel matte lumiere! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ninetalesx on 10/24/2012 12:08:00 AM more reviews by Ninetalesx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased illamasqua skin base foundation in 01 as an alternative to "Manic Panic pure white foundation", and I have to say I am very impressed! I like the packaging (no risk of breaking the bottle, easy to squeeze) as the pure white colour isn't chalky or cakey, and mixes perfectly with my MAC NC15 to create the perfect pale shade for my skin, even though it is a little pricey, I will get 3 times the use out of all my other foundations which are too dark for me, and its perfect for highlighting! so in the end I have saved a lot of money! Very happy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzea on 10/23/2012 6:11:00 AM more reviews by lizzea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with many reviewers who say this is their HG foundation, because it certainly is for me. Having found no luck over the years with shades being too pink and finishes too sheer or unable to cope with my oily skin, I've found this one is just the right combo of perfect shade, coverage and formula. Doesn't make me break out at all but will fade after 5 hours on my skin as oiliness shows through after this time. It's very expensive for 30ml and I've only applied it with fingers but will try a brush as I found I used a lot of product with fingers, so a brush application is likely best. It covers my acne scarring and blemishes quite well but will require concealer for fuller coverage. Foundation is flawlessly buildable. Well done illamasqua!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 belovedhope on 10/20/2012 10:54:00 PM more reviews by belovedhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So....I think I found my HG foundation.

PROS:
- Natural, buildable coverage. I am so impressed with how well this covers my blemishes/acne scars, yet you can still see my own skin. It doesn't look cakey, and it feels very lightweight. Perhaps this is because a little goes a long way.
- Packaging. I do not find myself needing a lot of this product (I use about a pea-size amount), so the squeeze bottle is really helpful to me in controlling how much product comes out.
- Blends easily. I apply this with a MAC 188 (small stippling brush), and it blends like a dream! I find when I use my stippling brush with other foundations, the coverage ends up looking streaky, but with this foundation, it looks flawless. It also dries fast, but not too fast that you can't work it all in.
- Color selection. This foundation is available in 17 different colors, which is fantastic. I'm NC42, and the 12 (medium deep olive with neutral undertone) is perfect for me. Their comparison chart suggests mixing 10 and 12 for NC42's, but I personally don't find this necessary.
- Photographs beautifully!

CONS:
- The smell. It's not the most pleasant. It almost smells a little like paint. But it's not intolerable in my opinion.

I am just so impressed with this foundation, but I will admit that I haven't been using it for very long. So I don't if it'll eventually cause breakouts or if I'll find something better along the way, but for now it's HG love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DCarter23103 on 10/8/2012 5:49:00 PM more reviews by DCarter23103

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I've worn this several times now and wanted to get some good use out of it before I submitted my review. For reference, I have this in 5.5. I am an NW20 in MAC, BR20 in vitalumiere , 3.0 in UD Naked.

When I think of a product with the word "skin" in its name, I think of a product that buffs down into a "skin like" experience. That has not been the case for this product and, thus, I have not decided if I will purchase it again. It is expensive for the amount that you receive and it is much ore difficult to work with than some other foundations (even some of my drugstore foundations are more natural looking and easier to work with than this one). I'm all for giving it a shot with different brushes and tools to apply and will lbe adding to my review later. So far I haven't figured out a good way to get this foundation to "lay down" without streaking and settlng into what are (usually) non existant pores. More to come.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PShanahan on 10/8/2012 8:20:00 AM more reviews by PShanahan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Grey    

I love this foundation! I have very pale skin and have always had trouble finding the perfect foundation max. I bought this in #2 and it is perfect
I use it with the Illamasqua primer which is also fantastic and well worth buying. The combo leave my skin with a luminous dewy finish. That kind of healthy glow without being oily or shiny.
I have tried all of the high end foundations and have not found one with as good a colour match or as high performing as this one. The packaging is a little lame and i can see it being frustrating when the time comes to squeeze the last drop out. Aside of that I am in love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 korrok on 10/2/2012 9:35:00 AM more reviews by korrok

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was very taken with a number of Illamasqua's products, and really love their brand aesthetics. So when back home in the UK, I visited one of their counters to be matched on the skin base foundation, fully expecting to purchase some. From the site there seemed to be a great range of colours, which I need because I have pale Celtic skin! The makeup artist tried out a bunch of different shades on me (some I could have told her wouldn't work!) before settling on 3.5 (over the matte primer). The look under store lighting didn't look quite right so I decided to go spend the day wearing it to see how it felt - and I'm so glad I did. Everyone told me it made me look yellowy, jaundiced and sickly! Add to that, every time I touched my face at all, even lightly, I came away with a bunch of foundation. Even my cheapest foundations haven't done that. I put some of my own powder over it to set it a few hours later, which eased the problem a little...but still not to a satisfactory degree. My face was also constantly somewhat shiny, even with the matte primer. Overall the shade was the biggest killer: it was horrible and yellowed, even though supposedly that has a pink base. 2 days later I went to the Estee Lauder counter in the same store and was matched to Double Wear 1c1 Shell which is perfect and wears so much better and more naturally. So no, the only reason this gets 2 lippies is that it had reasonably good coverage. Otherwise, very poor!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlbre5 on 10/1/2012 9:22:00 PM more reviews by jlbre5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

The wait for me is over - HG foundation, FINALLY! I think its love and the marriage/forever kind. Not the Chanel Perfection Lumiere crush kind.
I have pale-ish (MAC NC15-20, BB Sand, Chanel Beige 20), combo break-out prone skin. I have this in #4, use this with Illamasqua Matt Primer. Skin Base is actually a BB cream base, so great for all skin-types (allegedly)
Pros: Long lasting coverage that goes slightly dewy in my greasy T-zone by the end of a work (nurse) day. Medium (very) buildable coverage. Finish is matte-slight luminousity. HD foundation, photographs beautifully. Bottle is plastic and therefore you'll be able to get out every drop. Illamasqua Australia has dropped their prices in-line with UK/Europe, $41 for a bottle and I can buy it in a store rather than online (YAY!). Bottle looks small but you still get 30mls - same as most other high-end foundations, and a little bit goes along way. BB cream that doesnt break me out
Cons: .....*shrugs* Actually made in Thailand is a off-put
VERDIT: HG for sure! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thealmightyboots on 10/1/2012 7:47:00 AM more reviews by thealmightyboots

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm surprised this hasn't received better reviews...It's the best foundation I've ever found!
When I first bought it and opened the packaging I felt a bit ripped off, as it seemed like such a small amount in such a flimsy little plastic bottle. However it contains 30ml of product, which is the same as...well, every other foundation I own. And the packaging has grown on me - it's very light weight, I can't smash it if I drop it, and the lid is secure, which makes it the perfect traveling companion. I also find it easy to get the right amount of product without slipping and wasting half the product (pay attention Estee Lauder!)
I wouldn't call it a full coverage foundation as some of the previous reviewers have - I'd call it a very buildable light to medium coverage. It's extremely versatile, as it's a light to medium coverage if you use a very small amount and really buff it lightly across the skin for a natural look, or you can really work it in and layer it on to get a perfectly flawless - but not cakey - look.
Their shade selection is brilliant - from WHITE through to very dark, and with every imaginable tone in between - I really struggle to match my skin normally as I am very pale, and very few of the available pale shades seem to be a good match for me - however 3.5 is lovely on my skin.
Once it settles in it gives the most beautiful natural glow without being shiny, and it contains no SPF so it photographs beautifully, and it lasts very well through a long day of work. The one negative that I can think of is that I wouldn't recommend it for oily skin. I have fairly dry skin except on my nose and eyelids where I can get quite oily and on my nose if I have applied no primer and not powdered it shines up rather quickly and is gone after about 4 hours. I combat this by applying a tiny amount of either Estee Lauder double wear or primer just on my nose before applying my Skin Base.
This is a desert Island product for me (as long as I remember to pack the SPF!), I truly love it!
And just want to add how grateful I am to Illamasqua for dropping their prices in Australia to be on par with the rest of the world. Makeup is horrifically expensive here in Aus, just to give you an idea, our australian dollar is usually around the same as the american dollar, and a Benefit blush is $51, Diorshow mascara $65, YSL eyeshadow quad $90. The 'cheap' drugstore brands are $20-30 for a mascara and $30-40 for a foundation. This price drop has put Illamasqua products at around the same price as what we have to pay for Revlon or Max Factor - I know what I'll be buying!
Thanks Illamasqua!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Illamasqua products

More Liquid products