L'Oreal • EverSleek Intense Smoothing Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.2(130 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 DD1969 on 2/18/2012 12:25:00 PM more reviews by DD1969

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the EverSleek Reparative version of this shampoo (the label says it's for chemically straightened or damaged hair). I spent a lot of time trying to choose which Ever product I was going to use and settled on this one. It smelled like cough medicine when I washed my hair! I used the conditioner too (same smell) and the smell lingered. My husband noticed it too.
Also, I wasn't impressed with how my hair felt after using it. It was very soft, but also kind of dry and static-y. I took both products back to the store because of the smell and I was lucky that they were able to give me a refund. CVS rocks! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellbing on 2/5/2012 9:05:00 PM more reviews by angellbing

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'd had good luck with another shampoo and conditioner combination from the "Ever--" line, so when this was released, I thought I'd give it a try to see if I liked it just as well. Unfortunately, where the combination I had used before worked well and left my hair soft and manageable, this, along with the matching conditioner, made my hair dry and hard to detangle. It smelled okay and felt nice during the wash, but my hair felt pretty stripped afterward.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 2/2/2012 10:47:00 PM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried several SLS free shampoos lately (including most of l'oreals, but also higher-end ones like pureology,) and this is one of my favorites. You need only a very small amount, so long as you emulsify it properly between your hands first, and it DOES LATHER. no idea why people are claiming that it doesn't, but I've noticed SLS-free shampoos do require that hair is soaking wet first, so maybe thats it. I love that my coarse, wavy hair doesn't feel stripped after using it, and I actually love the scent, which is girly without being flowery (reminds me a bit of kerastase oleo relax serum.) I would repurchase this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RaeRae2 on 1/30/2012 8:56:00 PM more reviews by RaeRae2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this shampoo! I use the EverSleek conditioner as well, and my hair feels so much healthier. I have very long hair and instead of feeling thin, straw-like, and wispy, my hair feels dense, heavy/swingy, and very healthy. Yes it might build up over time but my hair was so dry and fly-away, that it really needs some build up! I have used many of the high end salon brands for $25 a bottle, and I am MUCH happier with this. I will definitely purchase again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilyMakeupEvan on 1/29/2012 6:54:00 PM more reviews by LilyMakeupEvan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

There are two shampoos in this line. I use the one for dry hair. It come in a clear tube. Honestly, im not really impressed with this shampoo because its consistency is like water, therefore you have to use more. I run out of this stuff really quickly and for the price, I honestly dont think its worth it. Also, unless you use a clarifying shampoo every week, this stuff will not clean your hair enough and you'll end up with limp roots. This did increase the shine of my hair and was all natural but wont repurchase because of price. Overall I liked it though.
Check out my review on other hair care products and let me know if this review was helpful or not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elmindreda on 1/9/2012 1:44:00 PM more reviews by Elmindreda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this shampoo. I started growing out my straight perm about a year and a half ago, and I've been struggling to find a shampoo that would cater to both my natural hair and the 4 inches of treated hair at the ends. This shampoo worked wonders for me. For the first time in months, my hair is shiny, soft, and manageable.

For the people who say they experience dry scalp - that is because your scalp is so used to having heavy moisturising chemicals rubbed into it. It's reacting how the skin on your face would if you stopped using a heavy moisturiser in favour of a lighter one. If the problem continues, though, you can just do a weekly olive oil treatment (just rub some extra virgin olive oil into your scalp, leave over night, and wash out in the morning) and you'll be good to go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BraveFool on 1/3/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by BraveFool

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo has wrecked my hair after only three uses. If I could give it zero stars, I would. Or negative stars!

After using it, my fine, curly hair was more frizzy (so much for 48-hour frizz control!), limp, and dirty-looking than I've ever seen it. It also felt really greasy. I gave it three chances, just in case this was some sort of acclimatization problem, but I shouldn't have. This product just sucked for me. And my hair still doesn't look right, days after switching back to my old shampoo (Nature's Gate, which is a genuine hippie shampoo without SLS or silicone) - I guess this is what I get for straying!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susee on 12/28/2011 12:16:00 PM more reviews by Susee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I only used this once, so I honestly can't say what the long term effects are, if it protects color well or dries out my hair like other reviewers state. But the smell was enough to make me want to take it right back to the store. It reminded me of being in the dentist's office. It seemed to clean well without stripping. I did like the
packaging with the flip top and tube.
Edit: just realized I wrote the review for the wrong shampoo; I used the eversleek moisture for color treated hair in the pinkish tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 summerstock on 12/23/2011 3:13:00 PM more reviews by summerstock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was using Pantene for years, but just stopped as I was told that Pantene is "famous" for causing frizzies and I've had frizz problems for ages! Flyaways are also a major issue for my hair. I just started using the EverSleek, both shampoo and conditioner. I've only used them twice so not much of a history to draw on, however I was very pleased immediately with the results: much less frizz and hardly any flyaways. The down side is that my hair now feels greasy and it is also very flat. My hair is long, quite straight, but with a bit of wave to it, however as a result of using the EverSleek, it's now just straight and flat! I've noticed many of the previous reviews have mentioned dryness as a consequence of this product. But no one has mentioned greasiness. As I said, I've only used the product twice, and it has helped both the frizz and flyaways, however I don't like the feel of my hair at all. I suppose this is the trade-off for eliminating the frizz/flyaways. However I don't know if I'll buy the product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heykerrieann on 12/17/2011 1:34:00 AM more reviews by heykerrieann

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted a sulfate-free shampoo/conditioner, but I was tired of the high prices I was paying. When this came onto the market, I had color treated hair and was using the EverPure. I immediately fell in love with it. But since I've been growing my hair out to donate it, I wanted a different product. My hair is very long and stick-straight, but it would always look like there was frizzy breakage and I could never tame it. I hated the idea of using silicone treatments, as I've been told time and time again they can get to a point where they do not wash out of your hair. I tried this version of the Ever shampoos and was immediately hooked. Not only did it smell awesome, it smoothed my hair out nicely. After I dry it, I brush through it with an ion-charged brush (to tame fly-aways) and my hair looks so shiny, smooth and well, beautiful! I AM getting tired of the long, hippy hair look and can't wait to cut it and send it off to Locks of Love, but I'll still be using this shampoo.

Update 12/26/11: I went to have my hair cut, and the woman cutting my hair said I had a dry scalp and asked if it was itchy. I was so sad. :( I guess I'll be changing my shampoo again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Shampoo products