L'Oreal • EverSleek Intense Smoothing Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.1(124 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 BraveFool on 1/3/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by BraveFool

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo has wrecked my hair after only three uses. If I could give it zero stars, I would. Or negative stars!

After using it, my fine, curly hair was more frizzy (so much for 48-hour frizz control!), limp, and dirty-looking than I've ever seen it. It also felt really greasy. I gave it three chances, just in case this was some sort of acclimatization problem, but I shouldn't have. This product just sucked for me. And my hair still doesn't look right, days after switching back to my old shampoo (Nature's Gate, which is a genuine hippie shampoo without SLS or silicone) - I guess this is what I get for straying!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susee on 12/28/2011 12:16:00 PM more reviews by Susee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I only used this once, so I honestly can't say what the long term effects are, if it protects color well or dries out my hair like other reviewers state. But the smell was enough to make me want to take it right back to the store. It reminded me of being in the dentist's office. It seemed to clean well without stripping. I did like the
packaging with the flip top and tube.
Edit: just realized I wrote the review for the wrong shampoo; I used the eversleek moisture for color treated hair in the pinkish tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 summerstock on 12/23/2011 3:13:00 PM more reviews by summerstock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was using Pantene for years, but just stopped as I was told that Pantene is "famous" for causing frizzies and I've had frizz problems for ages! Flyaways are also a major issue for my hair. I just started using the EverSleek, both shampoo and conditioner. I've only used them twice so not much of a history to draw on, however I was very pleased immediately with the results: much less frizz and hardly any flyaways. The down side is that my hair now feels greasy and it is also very flat. My hair is long, quite straight, but with a bit of wave to it, however as a result of using the EverSleek, it's now just straight and flat! I've noticed many of the previous reviews have mentioned dryness as a consequence of this product. But no one has mentioned greasiness. As I said, I've only used the product twice, and it has helped both the frizz and flyaways, however I don't like the feel of my hair at all. I suppose this is the trade-off for eliminating the frizz/flyaways. However I don't know if I'll buy the product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heykerrieann on 12/17/2011 1:34:00 AM more reviews by heykerrieann

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted a sulfate-free shampoo/conditioner, but I was tired of the high prices I was paying. When this came onto the market, I had color treated hair and was using the EverPure. I immediately fell in love with it. But since I've been growing my hair out to donate it, I wanted a different product. My hair is very long and stick-straight, but it would always look like there was frizzy breakage and I could never tame it. I hated the idea of using silicone treatments, as I've been told time and time again they can get to a point where they do not wash out of your hair. I tried this version of the Ever shampoos and was immediately hooked. Not only did it smell awesome, it smoothed my hair out nicely. After I dry it, I brush through it with an ion-charged brush (to tame fly-aways) and my hair looks so shiny, smooth and well, beautiful! I AM getting tired of the long, hippy hair look and can't wait to cut it and send it off to Locks of Love, but I'll still be using this shampoo.

Update 12/26/11: I went to have my hair cut, and the woman cutting my hair said I had a dry scalp and asked if it was itchy. I was so sad. :( I guess I'll be changing my shampoo again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 belovedhope on 12/13/2011 11:21:00 PM more reviews by belovedhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I'm really surprised to hear that so many people have had allergic reactions to this shampoo. I have experienced an allergic reaction to pretty much every drugstore shampoo out there--Pantene, Herbal Essences, Sunsilk, Aussie, you name it--except this one. No scalp issues, no other skin reactions....I was so happy to have found this because I now have a cheaper option when I don't have to money to buy my favorite Matrix products.

Second of all, I have EXTREMELY thick and currently damaged hair (growing out highlights). This stuff, along with the matching conditioner, makes my hair feel thinner, more manageable, and less frizzy... YES! The scent took a little while for me to get used to (smelled musky at first), but I actually really like it now.

Different reactions for different people I guess... but I hope they keep this product out for a while just for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 harmatvivi on 11/27/2011 6:38:00 PM more reviews by harmatvivi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this a few weeks ago. I usually wash my hair every day or every second day. It depend on how tired I am. Anyway, the end of my hair is a little wavy and I have very frizzy hair. After the first wash I noticed I have dandruff. I had it before so I wasn't supriesed but I didn't had a long time ago. Than I used it again and again and my dandruff got worse. I don't know if I'm allergic to something that this shampoo has or what but for now my scalp is very itchy and it's driving me crazy. It also didn't made my hair any sleek so it didn't do anaithing for me. hate it...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 becdr2 on 11/27/2011 4:18:00 PM more reviews by becdr2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product for the sulfate free. Not doing any resurch into it. after useing a week and a half, every other day! My hair is corse, thick, wavy, curly, and straight pices mostly on the crown of my head were it is the thickest. I color it to. Like I stated after useing it my hair did com soft, shinny, I also used the instyler tool wich made it even look in better shap. It did do what it is advertised to do. Just over time of use it went down hill to were my hair was breaking off for it would strech when wet (wich is a good indacator it is healty) then break off. Now I have thick thined hairthat looks like crap. I had used the Panten beautiful lenghts to get it all an even lengh and thick. I had a national pag. in Oct. Hair condition is of up most to what I do. To have flyaways do to hair being treated with oils only will dry out for this L'Oreal has alchol that is the drying efect. It did give me the bad head itch and flacks that were big enough to see in blond hair. Going back to what I usedn even though it does not sleek it. But I want to keep what I have!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lisegolightly on 11/27/2011 11:39:00 AM more reviews by lisegolightly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted this product to work. Which it did. After a week my 'cone-laden hair had gone from brittle to smooth & shiny. Except my scalp started itching. And after a week (used every other day with Eversleek deep conditioner) I woke up to huge amounts of dandruff, Yuck!!!! I used a different shampoo and conditioner and things calmed right down. Aughh!!! I've had trouble with other L'Oreal shampoos before; I'm wondering if I'd have problems with any of the Hair Expertise line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kjrose101 on 11/22/2011 7:28:00 PM more reviews by kjrose101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I started using this shampoo/conditioner duo when I got my hair colored. I had heard that sulfate free products are better for color preservation and just overall better for your hair. I used this product for about a month every other day, in order to keep my hair healthy and not wash out the color. Gradually my head became itchy. I work at an elementary school and I feared the worst. Lice. I had my mother and the school nurse check my head but she insisted that i didn't have lice. I was racking my brain trying to figure out what it must be. I google itchy scalp and I got hits about how if your scalp doesn't get a deep cleaning then oil can build up and cause your scalp to itch. I used my regular dove shampoo for about a week, and no more itch. This shampoo didn't cleanse my scalp at all. I couldn't work it into a lather to thoroughly wash my hair. I dont know if this has happened to other people, but I would personally never purchase this product again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 haila19 on 11/13/2011 9:54:00 PM more reviews by haila19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This shampoo and conditioner were absolutely life saving. I have been looking for almost 6 months for a shampoo that suits my hair. I have super thick, coarse, straight to sort of wavy hair. As soon as you rinse it off, you can feel how sleek and smooth your hair is. I definitely recommend it, and plus the bottles are quite flashy and cool

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Shampoo products