E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(745 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 glitterandsparkles42 on 11/10/2013 11:41:00 AM more reviews by glitterandsparkles42

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Its really cheap and works so well! I have really oily eyelids and it makes my eyeshadow stay on all day without creasing. I've tried the UD Primer Potion and it didn't work as well!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hannahn631 on 11/10/2013 12:16:00 AM more reviews by hannahn631

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Unfortunately this primer did not work for me at all. I have somewhat oily eyelids and this primer did nothing to stop my eyeshadows from creasing within a few hours. It also didn't improve the vibrancy of my eye shadow colours at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candlelights on 11/7/2013 9:21:00 PM more reviews by candlelights

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

$1!!! Are you freaking kidding me!

I could buy 30 of these for the price of the Urban Decay primer! (Which I used to use.)

First of all, keep in mind this primer is $1!

I don't wear eyeshadow so I can't say anything about how this primer effects that. I used to wear black gel liner, which turned into raccoon eyes on me within 30 minutes if I didn't wear this primer. With the primer on, it was able to last a few hours before it smudged. So I still had to do touch ups but I'm not complaining since this primer was only $1...

I don't wear eyeliner or eyeshadow anymore but I still use this primer because I have extremely oily lids. If I didn't use this primer, my BB cream would slide off. With the primer on, my BB cream stays put on my eyelids all day.

PROS:
- AMAZING affordable price
- Wand dispenser works well. Some people don't like it, but I like that you can get the proper amount every time unlike a tube.
- It works!

CONS:
- Black gel liner still smudges a bit (I have oily eyelids)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StephKatz1 on 11/4/2013 1:18:00 AM more reviews by StephKatz1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My eyelids can get oily.


I tried both of the eyeshadow primers ELF has now. I tried the ELF Mineral primer for $3 and also the regular ELF primer for $1. The one for a $1 worked better for me, but that is not saying much.

The shadows show up okay, but they crease after about 4 hours. I tried different techniques and none worked well. I just didn't like product all around very much

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 11/1/2013 9:46:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So affordable!!! This is only one dollar!!

Only issues I had was that there is a lot left over in the tube that you can't get out. Also the product is a little greesy by nature. Go to target to get this, it is super cheap

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ncballerina on 10/30/2013 3:44:00 PM more reviews by ncballerina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am SO impressed with this eyeshadow primer! It blends on my eyelids seamlessly and doesn't feel greasy what so ever. The doe foot applicator is a little unhygienic and you can't get the last bit of the product out of the tube, but for $1 that's fine to me. This primer also keeps my eyeshadow colors vibrant and makes them last all day with NO creasing! I will definitely repurchase because I swear this is the EXACT same formula as all of the high end primers for a fraction of the cost!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 musiqphile on 10/29/2013 4:08:00 PM more reviews by musiqphile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Oh how I wish this worked on me but unfortunately it doesn't. My lids are left almost as oily as if I hadn't used this primer and my eyeshadow doesn't last much longer than normal. I haven't noticed it making a difference in the color of my shadow (i.e. intensifying it as some other users have reported). If I use this then apply a layer of a finishing powder as the last step in my eye routine, the cosmetics do stay crease-free longer, but that might be the work of the powder alone.

This product comes in a pink opaque tube with a doe-foot applicator like a lip gloss, but there isn't a lot of product in the container and the handle on mine detached from the wand. The label also rubbed off within days. All of that doesn't affect the performance of the primer, but then again, it wasn't performing well for me anyway. I've tried putting on quite a bit, dabbing on just a thin layer, rubbing til absorbed, leaving a few minutes to let it soak in, etc., etc., but nothing has made it work for me. However it does only cost a dollar or so which makes it worth trying on the chance it does what it's supposed to for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CarlieJacobsLove on 10/29/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by CarlieJacobsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great eyeshadow primer for dollar.


A few complains: First it's impossible to get everything out the tube, but for a buck I just cut the tube and squeeze it out. Second it's a little greasy. Third, t's alway sold out at my local Target...so when i'm there and the stock has been replenish I grab about 5 of them. I don't like purchasing it through ELF website

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 10/28/2013 9:56:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been this primer for multiple years!. I've had oily and shine-prone skin all my life until recently. I have tried a few eye primers--Mary Kay, mark, Clinique--and have found that (especially for $1) this primer works just as well or in most cases better. The only thing I have found is that if I have forgotten to use my eye cream that my eyelids can look a little dry with this, but that is easily correctable with a small amount of creamy/moisturizing concealer. One bonus to this product that I think is very nice is that this primer actually helps cover my dark circles, it makes my eyelids a little lighter. I've never tried UDPP or TFSE, but the way I look at it I won't need to as long as I have this. Also, you can see thru the tube and see how much you have in the container.

I really love the wand and it comes in handy so often!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CamiWillians on 10/27/2013 9:06:00 PM more reviews by CamiWillians

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got this product in a gift set that featured 5 items, it normally retails for $1 (this review is not for the Mineral version in the Studio Line that retails for $3).

This primer creased on itself, was difficult to blend over and did not grab color, so I used a TON of e/s to achieve an otherwise simple look. Needless to say, the additional work I put in ended up in a sloppy mess. I even tried it under their own e/s and it seemed incompatible still:( I wore this three days consecutively until I decided it is not for me.

On the plus side: The formulation feels comfortable on, is more moisturizing than most primers, dirt cheap and I like the consistency of the product.

I will not repurchase this item.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products