Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(128 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 milkandtaxes on 10/25/2011 12:15:00 PM more reviews by milkandtaxes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Yes. My favorite nail polish. Go buy it. That is all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KiKiDisney on 9/28/2011 2:20:00 AM more reviews by KiKiDisney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my all time favorite nail polish. It's a gorgeous grey with purple undertones or the other way around. something like that. anyway this color is so pretty. it also lasts a long time. it has very good staying power. my favorite thing about this color is that is season neutral. it looks good any time of year and it always looks good. i absolutely love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ripper on 9/26/2011 8:23:00 PM more reviews by ripper

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am a nail polish addict and am always looking for the new shade for the season. I love this color, it is a grey/taupe/purple. It is a nice neutral shade and can be warn as a neutral all year long. I love the brush as it is a nice size and easily applies. The only think about this nail polish that is a negative is that it does chip easier than my OPI brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starburst1824 on 9/26/2011 8:19:00 PM more reviews by starburst1824

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This color is perfect for fall-- but could be worn year round! I'm a huge fan of essie polishes and this one did not disappoint! perfect gray with a bit of purple- flattering on all skin tones!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NCBrowneyyes on 9/18/2011 12:12:00 AM more reviews by NCBrowneyyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm never a fan of neutral/taupe/brownish colors, but this is so classic and wonderful. I am very pale, but this color looks fantastic with my tone. Really, it will compliment all tones. It's primarily grey with brown undertones as others have said. I only notice the lavander undertone when I'm outside in natural light.



The only irritation of mine is that it's a little streaky due to how watery the formula is. Essie is handsdown my fav nailpolish and I don't generally wear anything else, but lately I have been getting a few watery colors formula wise. Still perfect nonetheless, you just need 3 coats for a totally opaque look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Grachy on 9/13/2011 2:32:00 PM more reviews by Grachy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This color was the color that sparked my nail polish addiction. Bought it last Fall 2010 after seeing someone wearing it and ADORE it. I also did not even know about MUA until then! I used to wear nail polish only in the summer and only on my toes, but this color changed it all and a year later I dont even remember the last time that my nails were naked! *gasp* I just happen to be wearing this color again and still love it like the first time. It is a gray with hints of brown and lavender, I have no color like it in my growing collection. For reference I am cool toned NW20/N4

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vgirlygirl on 8/9/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by vgirlygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

Bought this yesterday, applied last night and today I got my first chip. Ugh. The color is beautiful-it's straight up gray on me-there is no lavender or taupe as other reviewers have said. The color is much lighter than Metro Chic or Merino Cool as well. I needed three coats to get opaque and no streaks. What is up with the brush? The width is so narrow that I felt like I was using a stick to apply the polish--really disappointed with the brush and the fact that it chipped the first day with a base and top coat. On the upside the color is beautiful. So, would I repurchase? Not sure......

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ashnkb8 on 8/5/2011 10:52:00 PM more reviews by Ashnkb8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing Greyish silver color. It's perfect for all skin tones, I love Essie polish it is long lasting I got so many compliments while wearing it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 superpony123 on 8/5/2011 8:20:00 PM more reviews by superpony123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this color! Normally I'm not a fan of neutrals/taupes, but I made an exception for this beauty. It was an impulsive buy. I saw the color and knew I needed it. As soon as I swatched it at home I was in love :) This is going to be a great fall color! It's classy and pretty. It's also not really streaky (and Essie is usually streaky..) at all which pleased me. Opaque in 2 coats. Great formula!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CRB2411 on 7/18/2011 12:31:00 AM more reviews by CRB2411

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My favorite color by far. I've tried a bunch of different greys but I always come back to this one. I always get compliments when I wear it. I feel like this color in particular is pretty long lasting too; If I apply a top coat every day or every other day I can get my manicure to last two weeks, but I've tried a few other Essie colors and they didn't last as long. My only complaint is that the bottle has become very goopy, making it difficult to apply, plus the layer is then so thick it takes a thousand hours to dry. However, I usually get my manicures done at a nail place, which is the reason I continue to get this color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products