Essie Chinchilly

4.6

135 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/27/2012 9:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Chinchilly is a warm-toned grey creme on me. Warm-toned because it has a brown hint to it on my NW15-20 skin. it applies nicely but usually needs 3 coats for streak-free opacity. Overall it's a nice color that's very suitable to lots of clothing styles and colors.



on 1/20/2012 4:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I find myself reaching for this all the time and have to literally slap my hands away from the bottle. It's an office-friendly griege color that's ultra chic. The application is quite smooth and two coats is opaque enough.


on 1/9/2012 1:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just love this colour ... It's a staple bottle in my nail polish collection. And have repurchased a few times. It looks fantastic in the winter .. may be a bit too dark for summer for some, but I am more of a grey/brown kind of person when it comes to nail colour, so I wear it year round. I like neutral, so it goes with every thing. Great job Essie!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2012 7:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I adore this colour! Its such a gorgeous taupe/grey and it looks classy without being too boring or too over the top. Perfect shade for my Nc25 skintone. Get loads of compliments on it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2011 11:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My favorite shade for fall! It's a muted purple/gray and I like it because it's a fall color, but I don't like to wear dark fall colors considering they stain my cuticles. This is such a pretty color on any skin tone (I'm NC35) and it's a cream finish which I look for in most polishes. I'm wearing it right now, and I love the name too!


on 11/9/2011 3:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My all-time favorite nail polish! Creamy, neutral yet a little sexy, versatile, opaque at 2 coats, long wearing. Personally I like Essie's small brush, I have really small hands & nails. Perfection.


on 11/2/2011 12:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

*This is primarily a first-impressions review, which I will edit once I've used the polish for a longer period of time.


What it Claims:
"A sleek granite gray. DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free. For best results first apply a base coat to clean, bare nails. Then apply 2-3 coats of colored polish (depending on its consistency and thickness). For long lasting wear finish with a top coat."


Packaging:
Very aesthetically pleasing. Simple design consisting of a clear glass container, an embossed logo on the sides, and a sticker with the name of the polish on the top of the brush cap. There is no real information about the polish or brand, which can be seen as a downside to buyers; there is no sticker disclosing ingredients. The cap is easy to twist on and off, although the shape and size of the bottle makes cap removal a bit awkward for me. The brush is longer, thin and rounded, and does not spread/separate that much on the nail - this can be a bit annoying on wider nails.


Consistency:
I personally find this formula to be on the thinner, runnier side. I was able to get a completely opaque finish with three coats, so it's still one of the thicker formulas for the brand, but doesn't not feel thick on the nails. I didn't get any real flooding issues into the cuticles, and I didn't really notice any initial streakiness, even with the first thinner coat. Not a super fast-drying polish, but dried quick enough - maybe 3-5 minutes. A completely creamy shade without any sparkle or shimmer. Creates a nice shiny finish, but not over-the-top, which I prefer. It definitely has a warmer undertone to it against my skin tone, kind of a taupey dark grey. I'm not sure how this would work against cooler skin tones, but since it is a neutral it's probably worth checking out, as it may pull cooler against cooler skin tones versus warmer on warmer skin tones.


Wear time:
I only wore it for a few days, but after those few days I saw some minor wear and one chip (although the chip might have actually been the nail itself, not the polish).


Bang for your Buck:
13.5ml or 0.46 oz at $11.00CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart. Definitely pricey, especially for such a small amount of polish. I do see this shade as being dupe-able, but the formula is quite nice, so I do feel like the price was worth it.


Final Consensus:
With initial application, I really like this shade. It's a nice fall shade, but doesn't feel completely gloomy. It works nice as a dark neutral, it can work well for casual or dressy attire, and overall it just seems quite versatile. Based on finish and formula, I'd repurchase; it is, however, a dupe-able colour (as greys are not uncommon among brands), so if the price seems too steep then hold off and check out cheaper/higher quantity brands.
- Pros: nice packaging, beautiful colour and finish, no visible streaking, dries nicely, easy to apply.
- Cons: Pricey for a drug-store brand, brush can be a bit small, takes 3 coats for opacity


Overall Rating: 4.5/5
Price: 2/5
Packaging Quality: 4/5
Would you buy this product again: Yes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2011 4:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love grey earthy shades of polish and 'Chinchilly' is a good example of that. This is a cool toned medium grey with a slight hint of taupe. It's very chic and would flatter many skintones. The formula is a little thicker than usual. I used two thin coats and it was opaque.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2011 12:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Yes. My favorite nail polish. Go buy it. That is all.


on 9/28/2011 2:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is my all time favorite nail polish. It's a gorgeous grey with purple undertones or the other way around. something like that. anyway this color is so pretty. it also lasts a long time. it has very good staying power. my favorite thing about this color is that is season neutral. it looks good any time of year and it always looks good. i absolutely love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
139 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Nail Polish
Nail Polish
215 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

53 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
Back to Top