Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 11/2/2011 12:53:00 AM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

*This is primarily a first-impressions review, which I will edit once I've used the polish for a longer period of time.


What it Claims:
"A sleek granite gray. DBP, Toluene and Formaldehyde free. For best results first apply a base coat to clean, bare nails. Then apply 2-3 coats of colored polish (depending on its consistency and thickness). For long lasting wear finish with a top coat."


Packaging:
Very aesthetically pleasing. Simple design consisting of a clear glass container, an embossed logo on the sides, and a sticker with the name of the polish on the top of the brush cap. There is no real information about the polish or brand, which can be seen as a downside to buyers; there is no sticker disclosing ingredients. The cap is easy to twist on and off, although the shape and size of the bottle makes cap removal a bit awkward for me. The brush is longer, thin and rounded, and does not spread/separate that much on the nail - this can be a bit annoying on wider nails.


Consistency:
I personally find this formula to be on the thinner, runnier side. I was able to get a completely opaque finish with three coats, so it's still one of the thicker formulas for the brand, but doesn't not feel thick on the nails. I didn't get any real flooding issues into the cuticles, and I didn't really notice any initial streakiness, even with the first thinner coat. Not a super fast-drying polish, but dried quick enough - maybe 3-5 minutes. A completely creamy shade without any sparkle or shimmer. Creates a nice shiny finish, but not over-the-top, which I prefer. It definitely has a warmer undertone to it against my skin tone, kind of a taupey dark grey. I'm not sure how this would work against cooler skin tones, but since it is a neutral it's probably worth checking out, as it may pull cooler against cooler skin tones versus warmer on warmer skin tones.


Wear time:
I only wore it for a few days, but after those few days I saw some minor wear and one chip (although the chip might have actually been the nail itself, not the polish).


Bang for your Buck:
13.5ml or 0.46 oz at $11.00CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart. Definitely pricey, especially for such a small amount of polish. I do see this shade as being dupe-able, but the formula is quite nice, so I do feel like the price was worth it.


Final Consensus:
With initial application, I really like this shade. It's a nice fall shade, but doesn't feel completely gloomy. It works nice as a dark neutral, it can work well for casual or dressy attire, and overall it just seems quite versatile. Based on finish and formula, I'd repurchase; it is, however, a dupe-able colour (as greys are not uncommon among brands), so if the price seems too steep then hold off and check out cheaper/higher quantity brands.
- Pros: nice packaging, beautiful colour and finish, no visible streaking, dries nicely, easy to apply.
- Cons: Pricey for a drug-store brand, brush can be a bit small, takes 3 coats for opacity


Overall Rating: 4.5/5
Price: 2/5
Packaging Quality: 4/5
Would you buy this product again: Yes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 10/25/2011 4:48:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love grey earthy shades of polish and 'Chinchilly' is a good example of that. This is a cool toned medium grey with a slight hint of taupe. It's very chic and would flatter many skintones. The formula is a little thicker than usual. I used two thin coats and it was opaque.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 milkandtaxes on 10/25/2011 12:15:00 PM more reviews by milkandtaxes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Yes. My favorite nail polish. Go buy it. That is all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KiKiDisney on 9/28/2011 2:20:00 AM more reviews by KiKiDisney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my all time favorite nail polish. It's a gorgeous grey with purple undertones or the other way around. something like that. anyway this color is so pretty. it also lasts a long time. it has very good staying power. my favorite thing about this color is that is season neutral. it looks good any time of year and it always looks good. i absolutely love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ripper on 9/26/2011 8:23:00 PM more reviews by ripper

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am a nail polish addict and am always looking for the new shade for the season. I love this color, it is a grey/taupe/purple. It is a nice neutral shade and can be warn as a neutral all year long. I love the brush as it is a nice size and easily applies. The only think about this nail polish that is a negative is that it does chip easier than my OPI brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starburst1824 on 9/26/2011 8:19:00 PM more reviews by starburst1824

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This color is perfect for fall-- but could be worn year round! I'm a huge fan of essie polishes and this one did not disappoint! perfect gray with a bit of purple- flattering on all skin tones!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NCBrowneyyes on 9/18/2011 12:12:00 AM more reviews by NCBrowneyyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm never a fan of neutral/taupe/brownish colors, but this is so classic and wonderful. I am very pale, but this color looks fantastic with my tone. Really, it will compliment all tones. It's primarily grey with brown undertones as others have said. I only notice the lavander undertone when I'm outside in natural light.



The only irritation of mine is that it's a little streaky due to how watery the formula is. Essie is handsdown my fav nailpolish and I don't generally wear anything else, but lately I have been getting a few watery colors formula wise. Still perfect nonetheless, you just need 3 coats for a totally opaque look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Grachy on 9/13/2011 2:32:00 PM more reviews by Grachy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This color was the color that sparked my nail polish addiction. Bought it last Fall 2010 after seeing someone wearing it and ADORE it. I also did not even know about MUA until then! I used to wear nail polish only in the summer and only on my toes, but this color changed it all and a year later I dont even remember the last time that my nails were naked! *gasp* I just happen to be wearing this color again and still love it like the first time. It is a gray with hints of brown and lavender, I have no color like it in my growing collection. For reference I am cool toned NW20/N4

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vgirlygirl on 8/9/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by vgirlygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

Bought this yesterday, applied last night and today I got my first chip. Ugh. The color is beautiful-it's straight up gray on me-there is no lavender or taupe as other reviewers have said. The color is much lighter than Metro Chic or Merino Cool as well. I needed three coats to get opaque and no streaks. What is up with the brush? The width is so narrow that I felt like I was using a stick to apply the polish--really disappointed with the brush and the fact that it chipped the first day with a base and top coat. On the upside the color is beautiful. So, would I repurchase? Not sure......

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ashnkb8 on 8/5/2011 10:52:00 PM more reviews by Ashnkb8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing Greyish silver color. It's perfect for all skin tones, I love Essie polish it is long lasting I got so many compliments while wearing it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products