Lancome • Hypnose Drama • Mascara

rated 3.3(466 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 libbier on 12/15/2013 12:21:00 AM more reviews by libbier

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I found this one to be the best out of the hypnose and definicils because it looks great on both upper and bottom lashes. i have medium length and not so thick lashes so when i wear mascara everything looks natural. i have received so much compliments about how my eye makeup looks gorgeous and when i went home and looked in the mirror, i noticed that my eyes look like it had very well done eyeliner on when i wasnt wearing any! i do agree with the name "drama", it does give you a dramatic look. Fairly expensive ($58 NZD) but the amount of product, packaging, brush and product itself are worth it. I agree on how the curvy brush picks up alot of the product but it lasted a very long time for me. I go to high school and wear it mon-fri including some weekends and this lasted 4 months without drying out. after 4 months i was still able to use the mascara which has become a bit drier but it still has some left in it and was usable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 username2468 on 11/29/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by username2468

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got a free sample of this mascara from my local drugstore. It's important to mention that I almost never wear eye makeup, so I don't have a whole lot of experience with it, but it's definitely not a good mascara.
The brush seems to pick up too much product, making the application messy and clumpy. It does accomplish the task of making my eyelashes look thicker, and the smell is pleasantly floral, but you can buy much better, cheaper mascaras (I understand it's sold for about $30).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 11/26/2013 8:30:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is everything I hate in a mascara....thick (not in a good way), clumpy, messy brush that applies too much product and contributes to the clumpy effect. I'm not one of those people who wants her lashes to look like bottle brushes; I like them to look believably "natural" but a bit longer, darker, thicker and each lash more defined. NOT at all what I get with this mascara.

UPDATE: Liking this somewhat better now that it seems to be drying out a bit. I still need to brush through with a dry spoolie or eye lash comb and using the comb actually prompted me to try one of Wayne Goss's techniques for great natural looking lashes. He recommends running the mascara wand over a lash comb (one with metal teeth - I use the Tweezerman one) and then using the comb to apply the mascara. While the comb itself looks lethal (take your time and be careful) the results are fabulous especially if, like me, you don't want that "bottle brush" effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Napeshni on 11/9/2013 8:41:00 AM more reviews by Napeshni

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Clumpy. Brush pulls way too much product. I bought the water proof. Ill stick with MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fridanordlund on 11/8/2013 11:31:00 AM more reviews by fridanordlund

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Oh my god! I can't believe this mascara has gotten so many bad reviews, when it's actually super! This mascara i absolutely fabolous! I bought this on my trip to Paris, France and I use it almost every day.

PROS
- It doesn't smudge.
- Gives lots of volume even if you don't curl your lashes.
- Holds the curl.
- Stays on ALL day.
- Doesn't flake.
- Easy to remove.
- Gives lots of length.
- Thickens lashes.
- Separates well.
- Beautiful, black colour.

CONS
- Can give some clumps.
- A bit expensive.

This mascara is really show-stopping and does wonders for your lashes. I couldn't believe the results when I first tried it on! You get wonderful, false-like lashes. If you are going for the natural look, this is not the mascara for you. Overall, it's a great mascara.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MeikoSama on 10/8/2013 10:56:00 PM more reviews by MeikoSama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara worked great for the first week I opened it and was very volumizing. However after one week it became very goopy and make my lashes look very spidery with even one coat! Pretty sure I was closing it tight so maybe just the way the formula is as it starts to dry. With the price, not worth just using for a week unfortunately so won't repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Indrii on 10/8/2013 10:02:00 AM more reviews by Indrii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

This was awful! It clumped like nothing before! And yes it was drama, but not in a positive way. I'm gonna throw it right away. And it was were expensive!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kfunk on 10/4/2013 8:51:00 AM more reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

There are 2 things I don't like about this mascara...the brush and the smell. It has a very floral/rosy scent which hung around long after applying. I really loved the volume and length it gave my lashes though. The only reason I would not repurchase is the high price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emaj on 9/2/2013 9:27:00 PM more reviews by emaj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love Lancôme Hypnose. I bought drama hoping for something...well, a bit more dramatic. The formula itself is good. The brush is a bit tricky to use (use it in a u shape then flip) but the bad thing is that WAY too much product gets on the brush - it clumps horribly and I end up wasting so much of it combing it or scooping it off the brush. I have taken to dipping my old Dior wand into the tube and using that - which somehow doesn't get way overcoated in product. If you look at photo number 3, that girls lashes are exactly what mine turn out like when I use the overcoated brush. If you like that look you will love this product. If you want a less clumpy look, it takes work and isn't worth it - buy something else. For reference my faves are Dior show, Lancôme Hypnose and benefit they're real.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AnikaAnswer on 9/1/2013 4:45:00 PM more reviews by AnikaAnswer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My lashes are really long but unfortunately they're also thin. This is one of the only mascaras that gives me so much length and volume! At first I thought the brush was weird but as I experimented around it, it definitely paid off. Plus if you spend $2 more you get the new Lancome Show packaging which isn't really needed but it just looks cuter. Another plus is that the formula is I guess you could say more wet or moisturizing so it's easier to remove without tugging or losing lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products