MAC • Lustre in Lady Bug • Lipstick

rated 4.4(123 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 jbojangles on 6/25/2010 4:08:00 AM more reviews by jbojangles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A wearable red lipstick for warm skin tones. The lustre finish imparts a nice sheen that's not too drying. It's a lot less severe than opaque, matte reds. For that reason, it doesn't really require a lip liner and all the work that is necessary when wearing a "serious" red lipstick. Throw it on and let it fade to a stain after a few hours. A good "let your hair down" kind of red.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bristow on 6/24/2010 1:17:00 AM more reviews by bristow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy this product; the consistency, application, and colour are beautiful. To me, its the perfect basic red. I would like it to have a little more staying power, but that may be because of the lipliner I use with it, since I haven't found one I like. Overall, its a beautiful colour, and definitely the lipstick you want to go for if you're looking for a classic red.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Blackrosesyellow on 4/9/2010 3:48:00 PM more reviews by Blackrosesyellow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I could not be happier with Lady Bug. I am not usually a bright- or noticeable-lipcolour wearer but I decided that every girl needs a red in her collection. The reds that I usually see are matte, pigmented, deep, and blue toned. They look beautiful on other ladies but they make me look like a little girl playing with her mom's lipstick. When I went to MAC last weekend I looked at the Lustre lipsticks (as usual.) This colour is an almost pure, straight red leaning on the warm side. It is shiny and the perfect pigmentation for me. Reminds me of a tomato colour! This is more of a fun and juicy red colour than a sophisticated, elegant matte red for me. That's why I love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sugarblast918 on 3/7/2010 1:28:00 AM more reviews by sugarblast918

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ladybug was the first red lipstick I ever tried. At the time I wanted something sheer. If that is what your looking for, than this lipstick is perfect for you. But don't get me wrong, you can build the color and make it more vibrant. This is great for someone who doesn't want a bright red lipstick, but something that is easier to wear and apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kmakie3414 on 3/3/2010 9:54:00 PM more reviews by Kmakie3414

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got this free with the back to mac program and i decided to get ot because i dont have any red lipstick. I really love it its so bright and vibrant and doesnt dry out my lips. You dont need any gloss with it because it has its own shine. I really love this ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetgardenangel on 2/26/2010 1:26:00 PM more reviews by sweetgardenangel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

"Ladybug", a lustre lipstick by Mac, is an awesome red.


I've admired models who portray the front of magazines with a "nothing there" look with outstanding lips and eyes. So I went for the blush and the lipstick at the same time!


This wonderful lipstick lasts and lasts. I can have coffee and nibble at my desk on biscotti and by lunch time, have only a bit of a stain that could stand on its own by itself!


I experimented with "Star Nova" gloss over it, but that wasn't an advisable thing to do unless you want that REALLY WET LOOK! Plus Star Nova is a lustreglass in pink, so really, what was I thinking?!!?


This will be my "go to" look if I'm wearing a touch of red for that day!


Technical wise, it doesn't float around on your lips; it can cooperate with lip liner that is even in the "rose category"; it doesn't become a hybrid of a different color 2 hours later; it has a lasting impression of red that may end up as a beautiful red stain; and you can build the intensity of the red if you so desire!


It's a keeper!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BrownEyes01 on 2/17/2010 6:35:00 PM more reviews by BrownEyes01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this red. I am pale skinned with brown hair and brown eyes. The MAC MUA put this on me and said it looked great (whether or not she was just trying to make a sale, i don't know!). I do like it but I like to apply it better with a brush and put a gloss over it so it's not so intense. It isn't compared to other reds but I am new to reds so I have to ease myself into it. Very good choice to do so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 2/17/2010 6:22:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first red lipstick I have owned and I love it. It is actually more of a tomato red color. The finish isn't flat because it is a lustre but i think that makes it so much easier to apply and wear especially for newbies to red lipstick like myself. The lipstick lasts an ok amount of time and leaves a nice stain to your lips as it wears off that still looks beautiful in my opinion. Lady Bug is so much more flattering to my skin then Russian Red was and isn't quite so drying like the matte lipsticks are. Such an easy red to wear, i would definitely purchase again if i ever have to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 one_teaspoon on 1/7/2010 5:31:00 AM more reviews by one_teaspoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I was after a red lipstick, and was initially recommended one of the Cremesheens - I think it was called Brave Red - because I had asked for something moisturising. I was about to purchase it, but they didn't have any in stock, so this Lady Bug lipstick was suggested instead. I'm glad I tried it, initially I thought it looked such a bright red in the tube, but it's great! It's actually smoother and easier to apply than the Cremesheens.

The staying power is great, it does leave some sort of a stain on your lips, so you don't look like a total blank canvas after you've just eaten it off with your meal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Yushimi on 12/2/2009 12:37:00 PM more reviews by Yushimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I FOUND IT. My HG red for my NC25 skin!! Love love love omggggg. Top it off with a red gloss and I'm set to go! Lovely red for those NC25 who's been searching and searching. Totally recommended! oxox

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products